Volkswagen Cars Discussion: Ver. MK VIII, Das Auto
Jackofree
Jan 18 2016, 05:03 PM

QUOTE(suntharram @ Jan 16 2016, 05:35 PM) hye guys...need some piece of mind from you guys.... recently volkswagen had promotion of 45k on PASSAT ( 2014 make ) Im planning to get one.... any advice guys?? if you got a second car as standby, go ahead and buy. PEACE OF MIND AND VW DOESN'T COME ALONG
Jackofree
Jan 19 2016, 06:38 PM

QUOTE(budak minyak @ Jan 19 2016, 04:40 PM) How about polo sedan? Should be a safer bet right? Yea safer but expect the maintenance cost to be more expensive than other B segments cars
Jackofree
Feb 15 2016, 12:51 PM

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Feb 14 2016, 03:12 AM) After clutch replacement I fell like the car is not responsive as it used to be, feels like the torque doesnt kick in early.. No more push to the seat feel once u full throttle from a stand still.. Is it possible to ask the SC for a retune? mine 6 speed DSG also same case after clutch replacement. Only feel the push if I switch to S
Jackofree
Mar 14 2016, 01:47 PM

QUOTE(kcng @ Mar 14 2016, 12:45 PM) rule of the thumb... if u need a maintenance cost chart to refer too... u are not really ready to take up the maintenance of the said car...  I have to disagree bro. I see no harm planning your financial standings ahead for the future and that of cuz includes the maintenance cost of the car
Jackofree
Mar 15 2016, 12:38 PM

QUOTE(kslee79 @ Mar 14 2016, 09:11 PM) About windshield wipers. All VW wipers need that annoying clip, so I guess cannot buy generic wipers at store. Their wipers quite pricey, any solutions ugaiz have? previously, I bought from one seller in lelong at RM80 for a pair. And I have been using it for the past 6 months and it works fine. Check out lelong yourself bro
Jackofree
Mar 18 2016, 12:48 PM

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Mar 16 2016, 02:29 PM) Dear friends, Lately been looking at used Passat CC 2.0 ; in general some of my friends are discouraging it due to its DSG issues. I'm looking at used 2011-12 models. Appreciate any comments from owners and sifu's here. Cheers Hi bro, I am driving a passat cc 2.0 year 2011. Love every bit of this car although it is almost 5 years old and my warranty will be expiring soon, the looks and design of this car never gets old. Still my sexy beast In terms of cost of ownership, pretty much bulletproof except for the absorbers kinda expensive to replace. About Rm3.5k per pair but it last quite long cuz I replaced it at 4th year of ownership. In terms of handling, it can pretty much take any corner at high speed. Put it in S mode and you can really feel the push thanks to the DSG
Jackofree
Mar 18 2016, 04:16 PM

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Mar 18 2016, 03:19 PM) Thanks on your feedback...appreciated Jack SO far no issues with DSG? is it the dry or wet DSG? I'm getting which models uses the wet and dry. Does the later model like the 2013 model has the same DSG (6 speed)? Thanks again If you are talking about the 2.0TSI, it comes with 6 speed wet DSG. If you are talking about the 1.8TSI, it comes with the 7 speed dry DSG which is more problematic. My DSG so far still working well, no issues with it. If you want the 2.0 + 6 speed combo, you should be aiming year 2011 or older if my memory doesn't fail me, they came out with the facelift around 2012 which is the 1.8 + 7 speed combo. My advise is go for the 2.0 + 6 speed because its faster and more reliable
Jackofree
Mar 21 2016, 06:27 PM

QUOTE(vanguard @ Mar 21 2016, 05:28 PM) Jeez.. i got in here because i really want a Passat CC. Maybe I'll buy it off you! haha. Resale values are crazayyy - im looking for 2nd hand and it still doesnt drop below RM90k. How come no DSG issues? That's my main nightmare. Also would love a Scirocco.... hard choice but probably gonna go for Passat CC, once I can get a decent model for below RM80k. Also, is warranty transferable? DSG 6 speed is wet clutch bro so it is more durable compared to the 7 speed dry clutch considering our hot climate here. Warranty is transferable but the Passat cc stop selling around late 2011 so most of them have their 5 years warranty ending this year. But don't worry, no warranty then just service outside because vw sc service is horrendous
Jackofree
Mar 30 2016, 03:44 PM

QUOTE(kcng @ Mar 30 2016, 03:06 PM) i have an official VW Malaysia Jetta / Polo Blaupunkt 835 for sale... brand new unopened...  got special price of lowyat forumers?
Jackofree
Apr 14 2016, 11:36 AM

Pumped RON100 last night and my butt dyno feels that the car is more powerful and my gf claim that the engine is smoother and quieter. Anyone experience the same with their vw?
ps: Mine is a 2.0TSI with 6DSG
Jackofree
Apr 15 2016, 10:02 AM

QUOTE(LittleMin @ Apr 14 2016, 06:19 PM) Hahaha u got me right?  Well i never drive Honda and Mazda before but for Toyota sorry i can only say it's a passenger car, not a driver's car LOL. I drove GTi mk5 before, n ever since tat GTi is in my dream car list, haha I think you can get mk5 gti around 70k if im not wrong. I would advise you to stay away from 1.4TSI like other forumer said. The 2.0TSI + 6DSG is much more reliable
Jackofree
Jun 1 2016, 04:31 PM

QUOTE(manx @ May 31 2016, 05:35 PM) I am really considering selling of my CBU Jetta once the 5year warranty finishes but wonder how much it can be sold. Bought at rm148,888 in early 2012  . wahhhh, I feel your pain bro. I bought my passat cc back in 2011 for 235k and now secondhand car dealer offer me 90k only
Jackofree
Jun 2 2016, 12:28 PM

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jun 1 2016, 04:42 PM) seriously, if you get an offer for 90k take it. Most of them are asking for rm70k. My cousin sold one last year Dec (he didnt inform me...sigh!) He trade in for a Merc Lol if its that low, I rather keep it cuz mine still low mileage and good condition
Jackofree
Jun 3 2016, 09:57 AM

Guys, I will be heading to Hamburg and dusseldorf at Germany next week. Any idea where and what poison I can get there?  ps: Wanna get something for my beloved passat cc 2.0TSI
Jackofree
Jun 3 2016, 11:12 AM

QUOTE(fr0sti3 @ Jun 3 2016, 11:07 AM) 4motion unit? haha  LOLOL, any other suggestion? Purchasing parts from Germany should be cheaper than china right? Since the parts are made in Germany
Jackofree
Jun 22 2016, 03:47 PM

Guys, my Passat cc wheel speed sensor gave up on me. Rm380 quoted by outside shop is reasonable?
Jackofree
Jun 30 2016, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(cysun @ Jun 30 2016, 03:32 PM) It's about there. I replaced 3 units in Jan. I posted an article somewhere here that it gets dirty and the cleaning job can be done in 15 mins DIY. no special tools required. Just jack up, clean, replace. There's even a YouTUbe video showing you how to do it so what you meant is instead of replacing it immediately, can try cleaning it?
Jackofree
Nov 15 2016, 12:12 PM

QUOTE(ValityMental @ Nov 5 2016, 11:49 PM) Beetle 1.2TSI owner here, i installed the Race Chip Response controller in my car, it did give me better pick up speed but will it hurt the car in the long run? Anybody mod their Beetle here, any other mod to recommend? Currently only using Response controller + BMC Air filter? Anyone using BMC air filter here? i took off the cover for the filter , where the sound when u step on the paddle got abit like BOV Your bmc is open pod or drop in?
Jackofree
Jan 4 2017, 03:05 PM

QUOTE(sabrina222 @ Jan 4 2017, 09:08 AM) [attachmentid=8351030] Hmm... Estimated cost written 1.1k lol But parts and stuff seems like what u mentioned. I asked him to avoid all optional service already hahha GB Auto service manager once told me that polo hatchback and polo sedan generally cost more to service than VW with TSI engine. But I didnt bother asking him why cuz mine is 2.0TSI
Jackofree
Apr 27 2017, 04:12 PM

QUOTE(ABCDEFAT @ Apr 27 2017, 06:28 AM) Hi, sifus. I am interested in getting 2nd hand 2012 Scirocco 1.4 Tsi. It has low mileage of 26k and is available for 70k. However, I have read issues about the clutch problems in older scirocco. How serious is the problem actually? I am only driving during weekends so there will be very minimal usage of the car which is one of the reason for me to get a 2nd hand car instead of new one. Please provide some advices. top up abit, get an older scirocco 2.0TSI. More fun and less trouble than the 1.4TSI