126 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

LYN Scuba Divers Club V6.0, Say hi to the fishes..

KHOdin
post Jan 26 2016, 03:19 PM

7 Stars Newbie
2,928 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Jan 26 2016, 02:07 PM)
Honestly I would suggest you use a rented one 1st until you are sure you want to continue diving. I mean why spend a few hundred if your not gonna use it after your course.

Anyways just get a normal cheap snorkel would do. Most of us here don't even keep our snorkel on unless we are doing some courses.
That being said, snorkel have some benefits such as reducing air consumption on water surface if it is choppy.
what do you mean by dont keep snorkel ? get a new one every time you go diving ?
EvanSoon
post Jan 26 2016, 03:50 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Jan 26 2016, 03:19 PM)
what do you mean by dont keep snorkel ? get a new one every time you go diving ?
What I mean is we detach it from our mask and keep it in our dive bag and let it grow dust.

TSmunkeyflo
post Jan 26 2016, 03:57 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Jan 26 2016, 01:54 PM)
hi guys,Im going to take my PADI Open water certification at Tioman during the end of March.
The dive center is offering some package which include mask,snorkel and fins.
But im planning to get only the mask and snorkel.
does the purge valve system on snorkels make a big difference ?
or is okay to go with basic snorkel without purge valve system ?
We pretty much don't use the snorkel at all. So just rent all the necessary equipments for the course from the dive center. Only buy what you will use and need in the future.

Most of us usually get our mask first, some before (generally due to short sightedness hence needing power mask) and some after our course (different face/nose shape requires better fitting mask for easier equalization). Then move on to booties & fins, wetsuit, then either the camera first or reg and BCD.
fubs
post Jan 26 2016, 03:58 PM

201 posts

snorkel is not really a necessity while diving thus many just leave it at home. Less item to handle tongue.gif
KHOdin
post Jan 26 2016, 04:50 PM

7 Stars Newbie
2,928 posts

alright thanks smile.gif more money to spend for CNY biggrin.gif
jay5840
post Jan 26 2016, 09:00 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jan 26 2016, 04:57 PM)
We pretty much don't use the snorkel at all. So just rent all the necessary equipments for the course from the dive center. Only buy what you will use and need in the future.

Most of us usually get our mask first, some before (generally due to short sightedness hence needing power mask) and some after our course (different face/nose shape requires better fitting mask for easier equalization). Then move on to booties & fins, wetsuit, then either the camera first or reg and BCD.
How much a mask cost normally? tongue.gif

During the OW, can I bring camera too? Hope to take some photo for record. sweat.gif
Ji3MOON
post Jan 26 2016, 11:02 PM

Eat Sleep Dive Repeat
1,633 posts

QUOTE(jay5840 @ Jan 26 2016, 09:00 PM)
How much a mask cost normally?  tongue.gif

During the OW, can I bring camera too? Hope to take some photo for record. sweat.gif
it depends on what brand n model u r looking.. rm100 seapro brand can do well.. biggrin.gif no need to waste money for a expensive mask..for camera it depends on ur instructor..some instructor didnt let u bring a camera for u open water course..if u have a gopro,sjcam or yicam u can mount it to ur mask for record n take photo brows.gif
jay5840
post Jan 27 2016, 07:36 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(Ji3MOON @ Jan 27 2016, 12:02 AM)
it depends on what brand n model u r looking.. rm100 seapro brand can do well..  biggrin.gif no need to waste money for a expensive mask..for camera it depends on ur instructor..some instructor didnt let u bring a camera for u open water course..if u have a gopro,sjcam or yicam u can mount it to ur mask for record n take photo  brows.gif
Oh.. i can't afford gopro.... xiaomi yi can la. brows.gif

TSmunkeyflo
post Jan 27 2016, 10:29 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(jay5840 @ Jan 26 2016, 09:00 PM)
How much a mask cost normally?  tongue.gif

Prices for masks range from rm100 to rm500 or so. What's important is that it fits your face. Last time can get rm50 mask (before currency went down the drain) and it was one of my favourite mask. If you're looking for a mask, check out Scubatex shop, they have some of the cheapest mask around. If you have a very Asian face, check out Tusa brand. Details of shops and brands all on first page of thread.

As for camera, not advisable during your course. Your buoyancy will most of the time be terrible in the beginning. However, if you have it, then just bring along. If you're good and your instructor allows you to bring it for diving, then you can bring it for like the last few leisure dives before the end of your trip.
ericcc
post Jan 27 2016, 12:30 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Jan 26 2016, 01:54 PM)
hi guys,Im going to take my PADI Open water certification at Tioman during the end of March.
The dive center is offering some package which include mask,snorkel and fins.
But im planning to get only the mask and snorkel.
does the purge valve system on snorkels make a big difference ?
or is okay to go with basic snorkel without purge valve system ?
as the others have mentioned, we dont use snorkel. there's already so many things around the face area, and i used to get confused which is which. e.g. snorkel vs inflator hose. mine is always in the bag. yellowed from under-use!
Ji3MOON
post Jan 27 2016, 02:55 PM

Eat Sleep Dive Repeat
1,633 posts

QUOTE(ericcc @ Jan 27 2016, 12:30 PM)
as the others have mentioned, we dont use snorkel. there's already so many things around the face area, and i used to get confused which is which. e.g. snorkel vs inflator hose. mine is always in the bag. yellowed from under-use!
snorkel good to use for snorkeling thumbup.gif diving really kacau tongue.gif
jay5840
post Jan 30 2016, 07:33 PM

40 posts

Hmmm... how long you guys take to get your AOW after getting your OW cerfication?
Less than a month? 1/2 year? a year? or more than a year?
Is that good to have more dive before get your AOW?
b5n111
post Jan 31 2016, 12:29 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(jay5840 @ Jan 30 2016, 08:33 PM)
Hmmm... how long you guys take to get your AOW after getting your OW cerfication?

Doubt that Time frame eg days months... is a good tool here tongue.gif

QUOTE(jay5840 @ Jan 30 2016, 08:33 PM)

Certainly.. YES... Absolutely

Personally suggest having min 30-50 dives b4 AOW
jay5840
post Jan 31 2016, 11:30 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(b5n111 @ Jan 31 2016, 01:29 AM)
Doubt that Time frame eg days months... is a good tool here  tongue.gif
Certainly.. YES... Absolutely

Personally suggest having min 30-50 dives b4 AOW
30-50 dives..... blink.gif blink.gif
shocking.gif shocking.gif

it would be so long sweat.gif

difficult to get AOW?
demetrius
post Jan 31 2016, 07:10 PM

The snorkel is a bit of a controversial piece of gear. In the past where purge valves were not the 'standard', snorkels could double as a rescue device where you can perform mouth to mouth breathing to the victim, besides being a gear that saves you air on the surface.

On the downside, it's a potential hazard too. Strong currents might tug on the snorkel and unseal your mask, causing undue stress. Rarely but possibly, it might snag onto stuff and unmask you.

I therefore advocate the use of foldable snorkels. When I need it I take it out of my bcd pocket and attach it. And vice versa.

They're also useful for, well, snorkeling and a bit of freediving. Lol

QUOTE(jay5840 @ Jan 31 2016, 11:30 AM)
30-50 dives.....  blink.gif  blink.gif
shocking.gif  shocking.gif

it would be so long sweat.gif
difficult to get AOW?
It is precisely the opposite. AOW is too easy to get, and the upgrade in title is usually disproportionate to the skill upgrade. I'd say you need 20-30 adequately spaced dives to be comfortable enough for the title 'advanced'

wKkaY
post Feb 1 2016, 09:25 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(jay5840 @ Jan 30 2016, 07:33 PM)
I did AOW two weeks after OW. For what the AOW covers, I actually think that there is more to gain from it if you take it earlier rather than later... because when you go on trips, chances are that you will be led to do those kinds of dives anyway. So why not do it with an instructor and get some supervised experience and textbook knowledge first.

But everyone's different, so consider it only after you complete OW. If you find that you're not comfortable diving then it's probably not time to pursue additional certification... additional training/mentoring would be better?
jay5840
post Feb 1 2016, 10:43 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(demetrius @ Jan 31 2016, 08:10 PM)
The snorkel is a bit of a controversial piece of gear. In the past where purge valves were not the 'standard', snorkels could double as a rescue device where you can perform mouth to mouth breathing to the victim, besides being a gear that saves you air on the surface.

On the downside, it's a potential hazard too. Strong currents might tug on the snorkel and unseal your mask, causing undue stress. Rarely but possibly, it might snag onto stuff and unmask you.

I therefore advocate the use of foldable snorkels. When I need it I take it out of my bcd pocket and attach it. And vice versa.

They're also useful for, well, snorkeling and a bit of freediving. Lol
It is precisely the opposite. AOW is too easy to get, and the upgrade in title is usually disproportionate to the skill upgrade. I'd say you need 20-30 adequately spaced dives to be comfortable enough for the title 'advanced'
thumbup.gif yup, certified in AOW didn't means skill upgrade. For me, need to think about time. haha, since I don't have enuf morning to go dive frequently in a year.
jay5840
post Feb 1 2016, 10:44 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Feb 1 2016, 10:25 AM)
I did AOW two weeks after OW. For what the AOW covers, I actually think that there is more to gain from it if you take it earlier rather than later... because when you go on trips, chances are that you will be led to do those kinds of dives anyway. So why not do it with an instructor and get some supervised experience and textbook knowledge first.

But everyone's different, so consider it only after you complete OW. If you find that you're not comfortable diving then it's probably not time to pursue additional certification... additional training/mentoring would be better?
rclxms.gif so aggressive. I just think about to get it after few months if I got my OW this round.
EvanSoon
post Feb 3 2016, 10:51 AM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

QUOTE(jay5840 @ Feb 1 2016, 10:44 AM)
rclxms.gif so aggressive. I just think about to get it after few months if I got my OW this round.
Take your time la. No need to rush these kind of things.
Enjoy the water more.
Devil4life
post Feb 3 2016, 12:37 PM

986 posts

How's the diving in redang? I gotten my OW license last July and plan to go April for fun dives as friends going there for OW and AOW one shot.

I only plan go for fun dives and get more dives under my belt before going AOW. Any reasonable priced accommodations there and how's the diving experience there?

Hope sifu here can advise

126 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0450sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:24 AM