Discussion best captain in EPL?, who do you think?
Monstar
Nov 9 2006, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Nov 9 2006, 08:14 PM) i am all for fiery captains ok. i am disagreeing with the post saying that captain are supposed to be calm.  I'll agree with you if you get a point everytime your captain is sent off. Stevie is calm yet combative. He is combative when it comes to his playing style, but always keeps a cool head. This post has been edited by Monstar: Nov 9 2006, 09:06 PM
qintian
Nov 9 2006, 11:15 PM
a captain muz be calm all the times.. thats the most important thing..
how can a firely leader leads his team when he is on fire?
and for thos example u pointed out.. did u see it happened repeatedly??
it can happened to any1 on the field.. and guess wat? i think they will regret on wat they have done on the field after they got a red card
bubucaca
Nov 9 2006, 11:45 PM
keano and zidane is fiery. but they still the best player & captain. =)
This post has been edited by bubucaca: Nov 9 2006, 11:45 PM
Daven81
Nov 10 2006, 12:47 AM
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Nov 8 2006, 03:21 PM) I suspect that everyone will choose captains of their teams. Just to make it more interesting, I'd go for Gary Speed because he is a steadying influence in the middle and has bags of experience. not really. i am a die-hard arsenal fan and i chose gerard...
@rissband
Nov 10 2006, 12:51 AM
the best to me is Keano, but since he is retired now.. i choose stevie G, but my vote in the poll goes to G. Neville!!!
heeren
Nov 10 2006, 01:02 AM
QUOTE(@rissband @ Nov 10 2006, 12:51 AM) the best to me is Keano, but since he is retired now.. i choose stevie G, but my vote in the poll goes to G. Neville!!!  haha coz u r a Man Utd fan?
em_meel
Nov 10 2006, 02:41 AM

hhm... i'm also think Steve G is the best captain... but henry is good also..
@rissband
Nov 10 2006, 03:14 AM
QUOTE(heeren @ Nov 10 2006, 01:02 AM) haha coz u r a Man Utd fan?  yup.. ups and downs..
nck_ck
Nov 10 2006, 05:04 AM
QUOTE(bubucaca @ Nov 9 2006, 11:45 PM) keano and zidane is fiery. but they still the best player & captain. =) Zidane was never a good captain, he's way too quiet and doesn't stamp his authority on the ground. What the great man does is, he inspires his teammates to perform well with his wizardry, but that doesn't happen all the time. The only reason he was made captain in WC06 was because he's the player with the most experience in the France squad and was going to retire after that. I personally thought Thuram would've been a better captain.
kobe8byrant
Nov 10 2006, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(nck_ck @ Nov 10 2006, 05:04 AM) Zidane was never a good captain, he's way too quiet and doesn't stamp his authority on the ground. What the great man does is, he inspires his teammates to perform well with his wizardry, but that doesn't happen all the time. The only reason he was made captain in WC06 was because he's the player with the most experience in the France squad and was going to retire after that. I personally thought Thuram would've been a better captain. which is why a calm person can never be a leader IMO. the more bad tempered u are, the better it is.  for me at least. i always admired the captain who would go up to his teammates and give him a rollocking if he thinks they are playing badly. Great example is Roy Keane laying his hands on Phil Neville (Phil looked like he was going to cry  ) I think Terry is leadership itself. When I watched the Reading game and Terry had the nerves to go up and become goalkeeper when no one else dared and how he gives referees a piece of his mind is just refreshing.
+3kk!
Nov 10 2006, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(nck_ck @ Nov 10 2006, 05:04 AM) Zidane was never a good captain, he's way too quiet and doesn't stamp his authority on the ground. What the great man does is, he inspires his teammates to perform well with his wizardry, but that doesn't happen all the time. The only reason he was made captain in WC06 was because he's the player with the most experience in the France squad and was going to retire after that. I personally thought Thuram would've been a better captain. claims that zizou aint much of a captain can be argueable. we know zizou has his lieutenant's and so on, where even certain people claim that they were in charge of france's team. so good captain? maybe id vote terry chelsea supporter
GrandElf
Nov 10 2006, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Nov 10 2006, 01:27 PM) which is why a calm person can never be a leader IMO. the more bad tempered u are, the better it is.  for me at least. i always admired the captain who would go up to his teammates and give him a rollocking if he thinks they are playing badly. Great example is Roy Keane laying his hands on Phil Neville (Phil looked like he was going to cry  ) I think Terry is leadership itself. When I watched the Reading game and Terry had the nerves to go up and become goalkeeper when no one else dared and how he gives referees a piece of his mind is just refreshing. but i dun remember terry r very bad tempered......i know roy keane r....but after some times he also know tat he need to calm down n analysis thing correctly....in the last few game tat he play for manu he also didnt receive many card as before.....so ain't a captain should be calm n not bad tempered??
kobe8byrant
Nov 10 2006, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(GrandElf @ Nov 10 2006, 02:52 PM) but i dun remember terry r very bad tempered......i know roy keane r....but after some times he also know tat he need to calm down n analysis thing correctly....in the last few game tat he play for manu he also didnt receive many card as before.....so ain't a captain should be calm n not bad tempered??  not bad tempered just fiery. lead or be led and in england, gerrard is led by terry but its all a matter of opinion. i do respect people's opinion on why gerrard is a great leader but for me, he's a great player and he leads the team through his performances. he wins liverpool games. similiar to henry, but vieira and terry and KEANO (sorry for emphasis on Keane but i love the man), they dont score goals to win games but they lead their team
taor3n
Nov 10 2006, 02:57 PM
and terry has the quality...tats y...england chosen him as the captain....great inspire to the team
This post has been edited by taor3n: Nov 10 2006, 02:58 PM
Duke Red
Nov 10 2006, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Nov 9 2006, 07:42 PM) to the post saying that captain material are calm.
remember roy keane horro tackle against the manc feck? remember roy keane sent off after a few words from shearer? remember cantona's whack against cyrstal palace fan> remember gerrard's stamp during merseyside derby?
captain must be combative...willing to fight with a gut sticking out. Yes and a captain must also stay on the pitch. Please don't bring up his tackle against Haaland again. He admitted that it was deliberate and it was inexcusable. There should be no place for that in football. Being combatitive is one thing but being an absolute barbarian is another. And it wasn't a post to say that all captains are calm. It was a post to suggest that all captains should be calm. Use their heads and not their fists.
kobe8byrant
Nov 10 2006, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Nov 10 2006, 03:30 PM) Yes and a captain must also stay on the pitch. Please don't bring up his tackle against Haaland again. He admitted that it was deliberate and it was inexcusable. There should be no place for that in football. Being combatitive is one thing but being an absolute barbarian is another. And it wasn't a post to say that all captains are calm. It was a post to suggest that all captains should be calm. Use their heads and not their fists. well didnt keane stay on the pitch at most times? didnt terry do that at most times? heck even beloved gerrard got red carded as well for "silly" challenges. and keano was man enough to admit that he did it intentionally and he paid for it with the punishment. get over it. if u want to bring up keano's tackle being sickening, what about gerrard's stamp that tore flesh out of the evertonian during the merseyside derby!!!
GrandElf
Nov 10 2006, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Nov 10 2006, 03:59 PM) well didnt keane stay on the pitch at most times? didnt terry do that at most times? heck even beloved gerrard got red carded as well for "silly" challenges. and keano was man enough to admit that he did it intentionally and he paid for it with the punishment. get over it. if u want to bring up keano's tackle being sickening, what about gerrard's stamp that tore flesh out of the evertonian during the merseyside derby!!! well...gerrard tackle was not intentionally though....at least he was not trying to end his opponent career......but with keane deliberately trying to end haaland career with those kind of tackles...really is hmm.......
Duke Red
Nov 10 2006, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Nov 10 2006, 03:59 PM) well didnt keane stay on the pitch at most times? didnt terry do that at most times? heck even beloved gerrard got red carded as well for "silly" challenges. and keano was man enough to admit that he did it intentionally and he paid for it with the punishment. get over it. if u want to bring up keano's tackle being sickening, what about gerrard's stamp that tore flesh out of the evertonian during the merseyside derby!! Why are you in the habit of repeating everything I've said? I already said that it should not be brought up again. And I also said that Keane admitted to it, so what's your point? I am over it because I was never under it in the first place. You were the one that brought up the issue of captains having to be combatitive and you cited examples where the respective players were sent of for their unruly behaviour rather than combatitive spirit. I then said, it's important for captains to stay on the pitch. Why the hell are you putting words into my mouth? Did I ever defend Gerrard for making reckless challenges though his wasn't deliberate? Read and then try to comprehend my posts before jumping to conclusions. This post has been edited by Duke Red: Nov 10 2006, 05:32 PM
GrandElf
Nov 10 2006, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Nov 10 2006, 05:30 PM) Why are you in the habit of repeating everything I've said? I already said that it should not be brought up again. And I also said that Keane admitted to it, so what's your point? I am over it because I was never under it in the first place. You were the one that brought up the issue of captains having to be combatitive and you cited examples where the respective players were sent of for their unruly behaviour rather than combatitive spirit. I then said, it's important for captains to stay on the pitch. Why the hell are you putting words into my mouth? Did I ever defend Gerrard for making reckless challenges though his wasn't deliberate? Read and then try to comprehend my posts before jumping to conclusions. duke red....no need to be too angry about it....i think this fella is just shooting everyone tat agree Stevie G is a good captain(from previous page).....he is lik defending watever Roy Keane do is right....
Duke Red
Nov 10 2006, 05:48 PM
Thing is I was attacking or defending anyone which is why I said it was better not to cite those examples because it can potentially get everyone started on attacking the players involved. The fact that I was attacked for saying that those were bad examples of what a captain should be surprised me. I for one will not defend any player be it my own, if they commit atrocious acts. Gerrard was reckless during the earlier parts of his careers, no doubt and I personally do not condone such behaviour. I just think it was a case of being overly defensive when there was no need to.