10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v11, Grexit or not, Europe will sail on...

SUSyklooi
post Aug 9 2015, 09:44 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 9 2015, 09:36 PM)
I guess should be:

(1+XIRR(F2:F6,A2:A6))^(9/12) - 1

to YEARFRAC(STARTDATE,ENDDATE)

URL: https://exceljet.net/excel-functions/excel-yearfrac-function
was wondering,...since many had said that, for investment of less than1 year, the XIRR calculation is not accurate....
will using this (the above) will solve the problem?

SUSyklooi
post Aug 9 2015, 09:53 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 9 2015, 09:45 PM)
Won't as IRR is more meaningful for > 1 year.
hmm.gif
won't as in not accurate?

I recall some months back.....some forummers "posted" about their high IRR rate...
though of thinking that this formula can be used to avoid confusion...

SUSyklooi
post Aug 9 2015, 10:40 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 9 2015, 10:13 PM)
High IRR is misleading if holding is too short.

You can have high IRR from China funds if you invest less than 1 year.
yes,....
what if 'that formula" were to be used....will it shows a more accurate representation? hmm.gif
SUSyklooi
post Aug 10 2015, 01:06 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 9 2015, 10:54 PM)
Also won't. I'm an engineer. It's normal for me to use formula up to certain precision until number may not be meaningful.
yes......I would understand if it was referring to x.xxxx vs x.xxxxxxxxxx in IRR cal
but for irr cal of less than 1 yr that formula would not be good to be used also?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Aug 10 2015, 01:13 AM
SUSyklooi
post Aug 10 2015, 01:56 PM

8,188 posts

some would loves it, some would hates it, some would says there is no fun in it....
FSM Managed Portfolios—Let the Experts Manage Your Money August 7, 2015
FSM Managed Portfolios are officially launched!
http://www.fundsupermart.com.hk/hk/main/re...articleNo=10193

I would just wonder when it will come to M'sia
SUSyklooi
post Aug 11 2015, 06:38 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Aug 11 2015, 12:19 AM)
5) From the above examples, so how is that the IRR is "less accurate" when the time take by an investment is less than 1 year? As mentioned; when the maths is correct, it cannot be less accurate or more accurate.

rclxms.gif thanks for clarifying..... notworthy.gif
hmm.gif so when the maths is correct then obviously it can be used as a meaningful representation even if the investment is less than 1 year?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Aug 11 2015, 04:08 PM
SUSyklooi
post Aug 11 2015, 04:07 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Aug 11 2015, 02:39 PM)
Yes, it depends on how you use the numbers, as any numbers in itself has not much meaning. For example, the average of 3 numbers is 4. We can only confirmed that the sum of the 3 numbers is 12; we cannot tell for sure what the 3 numbers are.

They can be 4+4+4 or 3+4+5 or 42-10-20 or any other possibilities we can try to guess.

So similarly, if someone said that Fund A has a 10-year IRR of 10%; we can only tell for sure that the "end value divided by the start value" is:
= (110%)^10 = 2.5937%

rephrased the question in post# 1118...
so when the maths is correct then obviously it can be used as a meaningful representation even if the investment is less than 1 year?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Aug 11 2015, 04:08 PM
SUSyklooi
post Aug 11 2015, 07:18 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Aug 11 2015, 06:29 PM)
Please slowly read again post #1117. The answer is there, just that you are too preoccupied with a misconception, and not letting in any new info to flow into the grey cells, and allowing the misconception to hinder you from working it through on your own...  rclxub.gif
rclxms.gif notworthy.gif thanks for taking the time and patient to explain.... thumbup.gif
SUSyklooi
post Aug 11 2015, 07:45 PM

8,188 posts

deleted...already posted by David...

This post has been edited by yklooi: Aug 11 2015, 07:47 PM
SUSyklooi
post Aug 11 2015, 09:31 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Aug 11 2015, 09:07 PM)
hmm.gif what do you think now....about when the maths is correct then is it obvious that IRR can be used as a meaningful representation even if the investment is less than 1 year?
hmm.gif actually still rclxub.gif
first I am clear that on this "If the maths is correct, it cannot be 'more accurate'. Or less accurate".

then I got this..." we are projecting or extrapolating the ROI% to its annualised IRR rate, and how many times we are extrapolating it depends on how closed is the investment time to 1-year. The shorter is the invested time, the more times we are extrapolating it.

So, if you truly understand how the maths works, and the whole process of converting the ROI% to IRR, then it is up to you whether you want to do it or not. Then the answer is obvious whether it is still "a meaningful representation even if the investment is less than 1 year".

hmm.gif eventhough I am still rclxub.gif ...but will Let the above thoughts sink in first, before giving up! blush.gif ...until I can get a definite "YES" or "NO" answer to "is IRR a meaningful representation even if the investment is less than 1 year?" blink.gif sad.gif

SUSyklooi
post Aug 12 2015, 07:59 PM

8,188 posts

I got KGF....now ROI +0.34....
expected it to be negatives from Today KLCI drops
SUSyklooi
post Aug 12 2015, 08:05 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 12 2015, 08:02 PM)
Time to buy some whistling.gif
Yes.....but then there are other region/countries with more attractive valuations-wor
SUSyklooi
post Aug 14 2015, 10:42 PM

8,188 posts

Looks like there is another FH option to select if wanted to invest in Japan....
http://www.eastspringinvestments.com.my/do...nd_Infomemo.pdf

FSM don't have yet.
SUSyklooi
post Aug 14 2015, 11:06 PM

8,188 posts

page 18
http://www.eastspringinvestments.com.my/do...nd_Infomemo.pdf

SUSyklooi
post Aug 17 2015, 03:54 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Aug 17 2015, 03:33 PM)
anyone top up today? KLCI still going downwards
just switched abt my China funds to Bolehland.
RHB Em Opp fund and HSO
SUSyklooi
post Aug 17 2015, 05:14 PM

8,188 posts

31 July factsheet
Italy??

SUSyklooi
post Aug 17 2015, 08:53 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 17 2015, 08:48 PM)
But but but... sad.gif

isn't it IRR is a better showing, as it "smoothen" the ups and downs?... blink.gif
SUSyklooi
post Aug 17 2015, 08:55 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Aug 17 2015, 08:48 PM)
thanks to forex gain ?  wink.gif
looks like it,...as TA European, India also up but their indexes did not reflects thou.
SUSyklooi
post Aug 18 2015, 09:05 AM

8,188 posts

while reading thru the last weeks posts about EQ:FI ratios.....I recalled having read this data a few months back from this article.....

Mythbusting: Frequent Rebalancing Improves Portfolio Returns
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...l?articleNo=566

looks surprised! blink.gif or yawn.gif

SUSyklooi
post Aug 18 2015, 11:00 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 18 2015, 10:02 PM)
Downgrading The Stars And Stripes To 2.0 Stars “Unattractive”
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=6182

To underweight as advised by FSM?
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Aug 18 2015, 10:56 PM)
... guys. Time is coming where it is reaching my monthly  fund injection. 

I do not have coverage for developed mmarket.s... hence missing out on the titanic.

My current coverage is on Asia Pacific and boleh land. 
Both sea of red.

Thinking should I divert out to developed markets now.or continue DCA into my sea of red bringing it's weighted cost down.

Any advice is very very appreciated.
page# 63, post# 1259
maybe applicable or worth consideration?

10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0436sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:56 AM