126 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Photography Nikon D40/D40X, finally, dslr for noobs

littlegreen
post Feb 26 2007, 02:38 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Feb 26 2007, 10:47 AM)
look clearly at ur view finder
even though u r manual
u can see the green light there
if the light is ON means object is in focus
yup..this one i have tried many times.. but sometimes need very precise movement ,...to get the light.... that is the hardest part..

cant imagine if taking fashion with manual tele... sure many blur photo rite... cos the model is fast and how u can get to turn to green light so fast... smile.gif
ifer
post Feb 26 2007, 03:08 PM

4,637 posts

i got to say... i am really impress with this camera.
i teach photography and half of my class's students got this camera due to the price. but the colour balance of this camera suprise me.

it's really nice
shinchan^^
post Feb 26 2007, 03:20 PM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(littlegreen @ Feb 26 2007, 02:38 PM)
yup..this one i have tried many times.. but sometimes need very precise movement ,...to get the light.... that is the hardest part..
cant imagine if taking fashion with manual tele... sure many blur photo rite... cos the model is fast and how u can get to turn to green light so fast... smile.gif
who say cannot shoot one
years back tongue.gif ppl dont shoot fashion using FM camera?

QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 26 2007, 03:08 PM)
i got to say... i am really impress with this camera.
i teach photography and half of my class's students got this camera due to the price. but the colour balance of this camera suprise me.

it's really nice
ya the Auto WB has improve

even my D80 always correct the enviromental light
i need to set kelvin back to set back original lighting
ifer
post Feb 27 2007, 03:25 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Feb 26 2007, 03:20 PM)
who say cannot shoot one
years back tongue.gif ppl dont shoot fashion using FM camera?
it is indeed harder to use the manual focus with the current dslr cameras. i find problem in using my 85mm f1.4 manual lens on my d200... hard to focus leh. but no problem when i use it on my FM2. maybe it's the size of the finder... and the difference focusing screen
shinchan^^
post Feb 27 2007, 03:27 PM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 27 2007, 03:25 PM)
it is indeed harder to use the manual focus with the current dslr cameras. i find problem in using my 85mm f1.4 manual lens on my d200... hard to focus leh. but no problem when i use it on my FM2. maybe it's the size of the finder... and the difference focusing screen
ya full frame rox hehe
littlegreen
post Feb 27 2007, 05:43 PM

505 posts

why is the older cam easier to do the manual focus..erm size of the finder ???

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Feb 27 2007, 03:27 PM)
ya full frame rox hehe
full frame ... what is that btw

sry if i am asking noob question....

This post has been edited by littlegreen: Feb 27 2007, 05:44 PM
wkcheang
post Feb 27 2007, 06:26 PM

130 posts

Yeah, the focusing screen. Lovely stuff.
linkokkeen
post Feb 28 2007, 02:38 PM

278 posts

anyone can share their photo whcih use thid D40 to shot? thanks smile.gif
Evirober
post Feb 28 2007, 04:18 PM

636 posts

linkokkeen: Dude check out my pics at the photo session..

Gonna post new pics tonight. Check it out yeah...

Pics from melaka and the melaka zoo.
maRx
post Feb 28 2007, 05:38 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(linkokkeen @ Feb 28 2007, 02:38 PM)
anyone can share their photo whcih use thid D40 to shot? thanks smile.gif
hey dude, check out my photo album.. just take my pics as a raft guide, since im not good at photography yet.. especially my composition. tongue.gif
kenlui
post Mar 1 2007, 01:21 AM

2,380 posts

@littlegreen

Full frame (FF) means the size of the sensor is equal to the size of a 35mm negative. Normally DSLR have a crop factor of either 1.3, 1.5 or 1.6 depending on models. But high end models offers FF, for example the canon eos 5D. When on FF, you get what you see, ie your focal length will be exactly as it is.

@ifer

D40 good buy? Maybe i'll consider getting it? hehe tongue.gif Shooting film and digital together gonna be fun haha
clemong_888
post Mar 1 2007, 06:29 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Mar 1 2007, 01:21 AM)
@littlegreen

Full frame (FF) means the size of the sensor is equal to the size of a 35mm negative. Normally DSLR have a crop factor of either 1.3, 1.5 or 1.6 depending on models. But high end models offers FF, for example the canon eos 5D. When on FF, you get what you see, ie your focal length will be exactly as it is.

@ifer

D40 good buy? Maybe i'll consider getting it? hehe tongue.gif Shooting film and digital  together gonna be fun haha
yes it is thumbup.gif but buying 2 systems would cost alot..
m|ng
post Mar 1 2007, 12:04 PM

U want a piece of me?!
1,863 posts

Just to enquire, How much would a 50mm or telephoto lens cost for the D40? Nonit high-end one lar..just 'can-use' kind.

I know that the cam has to rely on the lenses motor to auto focus..those lens cost more exp rite?

littlegreen
post Mar 1 2007, 02:51 PM

505 posts

that is the bad thing about it ... i am now traning manual.. any great tip for manual focus... other than the green led.... use eye to see clear also need good skill like to see clear image...
Evirober
post Mar 1 2007, 02:54 PM

636 posts

m|ng: Yup they cost a bit more.

kenlui : Check out my shots on the D40 power !! hehehe
vic7or
post Mar 1 2007, 03:13 PM

74 posts

D 40 Kit + AF-S DX 18-55 f/3.5-56.G ED II = around RM2300

A good buy?
Evirober
post Mar 1 2007, 03:23 PM

636 posts

vic7or: For that price u should be getting a 1 GB SD Card + Filter + Camera Bag +/- (I thinks someone also got a tripod too)
wkcheang
post Mar 1 2007, 04:11 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(m|ng @ Mar 1 2007, 12:04 PM)
Just to enquire, How much would a 50mm or telephoto lens cost for the D40? Nonit high-end one lar..just 'can-use' kind.

I know that the cam has to rely on the lenses motor to auto focus..those lens cost more exp rite?
As of today, there are no 50mm lenses which can AF with the D40.

No-AF with D40:
AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D, around RM400.
AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D, around RM1k

---

There are a few telephoto zoom choices (all below RM1000, budget stuff)

Will AF with D40:
AF-S DX Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED

No-AF with D40:
AF Nikkor 70-300 f/4-5.6D ED
AF Nikkor 70-300 f/4-5.6G
Sigma 70-300mm F/4-5.6 APO DG
Tamron AF 70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di LD

---

Just in case you suddenly came up with more spare cash to get a mid range lens:

Consider the:
Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX HSM DC - this has the same angle of view as film 50mm (RM 1.7k)
AF-S Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G VR - much better than the budget versions, and with VR (RM2k+)
- these two lenses will AF with the D40

This post has been edited by wkcheang: Mar 1 2007, 04:21 PM
cjtune
post Mar 1 2007, 08:46 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(littlegreen @ Mar 1 2007, 02:51 PM)
that is the bad thing about it ... i am now traning manual.. any great tip for manual focus... other than the green led.... use eye to see clear also need good skill like to see clear image...
Don't forget about the 1/3:2/3 ratio rule-of-thumb for positioning the depth-of-field optimally around your subject.

Basically, the DOF spans 1/3 of its total length in front of your focal point, and the other 2/3 of its total length behind your subject.

Added on March 1, 2007, 8:50 pm
Yeah, I think the old film SLRs have bigger mirrors and bigger prisms and thus bigger viewfinders, compared to DSLRs of today which have smaller APS-C sized sensors and smaller mirrors and prisms to match it.

Old film SLRs also have those split-prism focusing screens that help in determining focus.

This post has been edited by cjtune: Mar 1 2007, 08:50 PM
kenlui
post Mar 1 2007, 08:50 PM

2,380 posts

@clemong

Yeah... shooting on both sys gonna cost me a bomb. That's why im still on film now. Film rocks haha...

@ming

Since the D40 doesn't has a internal motor to do the AF, the lens that you used on this body got to have that AF motor.

126 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.79    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:30 PM