Which to choose as my first sportbike?, Beginner SportBike

TSterencewtc
post Jul 1 2015, 04:45 PM, updated 11y ago

See a lot of video about comparison between the 250cc sport bike and 500cc
Still cannot make up my mind

My budget is RM 35,000 and normal usage (sometimes weekend ride and long distance ride)
My love-in-the-1st-sight bike is Ninja 250 but the hp for the yzf r25 attracted me, soon I found CBR500R and change my mind again.
I did a lot of searching on the internet but still couldn't get any help on choosing my first bike.

Need help from all the sifu and rider malaysia to give some comment on 250 and 500 -ish sportbike

Reason I want to ride is I love it since I was a kid, my uncle fetch me with his Kawasaki ZXR400 (if not mistaken) and I'm enjoying my long distance ride every time. Feeling awesome when cruising and stop-by in the best places to have the best foods.

Thanks Sifu-s
arepit
post Jul 1 2015, 04:47 PM

397 posts

u have the budget...go for 500cc la

TSterencewtc
post Jul 1 2015, 04:55 PM

QUOTE(arepit @ Jul 1 2015, 04:47 PM)
u have the budget...go for 500cc la
That's what I was thinking but how about the quality and negative comment?
Maybe there are some others bike which is better and around the price range
ConfusedMan4ever
post Jul 1 2015, 04:58 PM

ER-650

TSterencewtc
post Jul 1 2015, 05:01 PM

QUOTE(ConfusedMan4ever @ Jul 1 2015, 04:58 PM)
ER-650
Nice bike tho
Want to get more comment from the owner
Know any of ER6F owner?
MISMan
post Jul 1 2015, 05:33 PM

718 posts

QUOTE(terencewtc @ Jul 1 2015, 05:01 PM)
Nice bike tho
Want to get more comment from the owner
Know any of ER6F owner?
for long distance, get 500, not 250.
both cb 500 / er6N/F will give u much comfort needed.
more power as well.

for cheaper maintenance, a 250 is just nice.

jeerie
post Jul 1 2015, 06:22 PM

42 posts

go get xj6..or topup to get z800...

dont go for 2 inline if u want to impress others... or u will end up thinking to upgrade your bike all the time..
stewPik
post Jul 1 2015, 07:07 PM

28 posts

Very much depends on what u need, want and looking for...250 is more of a daily ride, better looking and safer to ride compared to kapchai ....if u looking for looong distance ...look for 500cc and above....bare in mind the bigger the bike the heavier it is...and they r exact opposite...big bikes are bad daily....so u plan to ride it often and in city 250, u use it as weekend and long distance 500 above
TSterencewtc
post Jul 1 2015, 08:08 PM

QUOTE(jeerie @ Jul 1 2015, 06:22 PM)
go get xj6..or topup to get z800...

dont go for 2 inline if u want to impress others... or u will end up thinking to upgrade your bike all the time..
Thanks for the advice! i think i'll go for 600cc as starter bike. skipped 250cc
TSterencewtc
post Jul 1 2015, 08:12 PM

QUOTE(stewPik @ Jul 1 2015, 07:07 PM)
Very much depends on what u need, want and looking for...250 is more of a daily ride, better looking and safer to ride compared to kapchai ....if u looking for looong distance ...look for 500cc and above....bare in mind the bigger the bike the heavier it is...and they r exact opposite...big bikes are bad daily....so u plan to ride it often and in city 250, u use it as weekend and long distance 500 above
I'm going to use it in town daily.
250 nowadays is good looking too.
I think i'll stick with 250 and get a 1000cc few years later!
Thanks for the advice!
kahjye
post Jul 1 2015, 08:28 PM

4,494 posts

Why dowan 2013 z800???
eddievh
post Jul 1 2015, 10:33 PM

3,218 posts

Benelli tnt300. The fake inline4 sound motor. If you use loud exhaust on this bike it sounded very good.
stewPik
post Jul 2 2015, 10:27 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Jul 1 2015, 08:28 PM)
Why dowan 2013 z800???
Have u ever tried riding z800 as a daily? Try it 1st then tell me if its suitable
lucifah
post Jul 2 2015, 10:29 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

S1000RR

#noregret

#yolo
lucifah
post Jul 2 2015, 10:33 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(stewPik @ Jul 2 2015, 10:27 AM)
Have u ever tried riding z800 as a daily? Try it 1st then tell me if its suitable
can. many of us use z-lipan everyday

lucifah
post Jul 2 2015, 10:33 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(stewPik @ Jul 1 2015, 07:07 PM)
i ride 650cc er6n everyday to work for 2 yrs last time

heavy city traffic no prob cos it's a nekid bike laugh.gif
kahjye
post Jul 2 2015, 10:40 AM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(stewPik @ Jul 2 2015, 10:27 AM)
I have not.. Is it uncomfortable?
stewPik
post Jul 2 2015, 11:24 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jul 2 2015, 10:33 AM)
i ride 650cc er6n everyday to work for 2 yrs last time

heavy city traffic no prob cos it's a nekid bike  laugh.gif
Er6n yes as its naked.....z800, many frens used it after awhile put aside due to the hassle...heavy and over powered for daily...well....I guess it depends...didn't say u cant use it daily...I just said it's a pain compared to 250, now think back, I was mainly advising based on full fairing....hmmmm...

Now that we come to this...TS looking at naked or full fairing? As this 2 r different breed of bikes altogether
stewPik
post Jul 2 2015, 11:27 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Jul 2 2015, 10:40 AM)
I have not.. Is it uncomfortable?
Really depends on a lot of things....e.g, the road u using paths.. Time...nature of work..bla bla bla

Comfort is subjective....but 1 thing for sure its a really torqy n heavy bike...so if u stuck in jam a lot...it may b a pain
lucifah

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(stewPik @ Jul 2 2015, 11:24 AM)
Er6n yes as its naked.....z800, many frens used it after awhile put aside due to the hassle...heavy and over powered for daily...well....I guess it depends...didn't say u cant use it daily...I just said it's a pain compared to 250, now think back, I was mainly advising based on full fairing....hmmmm...

Now that we come to this...TS looking at naked or full fairing? As this 2 r different breed of bikes altogether
z800 is also naked. have u ridden on it?

yup, it's heavier, but only 15kg heavier than the nimble er6n

many of your friends might be those newbie who got attracted to z800 just because of the inline 4 sound, deswai la z800 2nd hand market is flooded now

-speedz-

169 posts

You can't go wrong with the options you have. All are good first bikes; they're light, easy to manouver and have enough low-end torque to get around town.

Whatever bike you choose, bear in mnid to have a budget for good riding gear that is comfortable and protective. Have a checklist for gloves, helmet(fullface/modular/open), jacket(mesh/textile), pants and boots.
stewPik
post Jul 2 2015, 11:42 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jul 2 2015, 11:27 AM)
z800 is also naked. have u ridden on it?

yup, it's heavier, but only 15kg heavier than the nimble er6n

many of your friends might be those newbie who got attracted to z800 just because of the inline 4 sound, deswai la z800 2nd hand market is flooded now

Exactly, and TS is also a beginner, u think he can handle z800 as daily? Also look back he is mainly looking at full fairing, and for full fairing sports...250 is for daily, cbr500 is also OK as its not super sports....anything else to me is a big no no for daily...but that's just my honest opinion
lucifah
post Jul 2 2015, 11:43 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(stewPik @ Jul 2 2015, 11:42 AM)
Exactly, and TS is also a beginner, u think he can handle z800 as daily? Also look back he is mainly looking at full fairing, and for full fairing sports...250 is for daily, cbr500 is also OK as its not super sports....anything else to me is a big no no for daily...but that's just my honest opinion
better for him to get 500cc

if TS wanted 250cc, go for a used one smile.gif
technod
post Jul 2 2015, 11:47 AM

58 posts

The bigger cc got higher maintenance and insurance cost.

Back then, my friend suggest me bigger cc than 250cc bike. i really appreciate the advice. sometimes i ride to work and rarely go on weekend ride. the brotherhood in bikers sometimes impressed me. we wave, horn whenever we are come across. even when u meet, u greet each other. that's what atleast for me, will u be expecting when u come with big bike.
stewPik
post Jul 2 2015, 11:52 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jul 2 2015, 11:43 AM)

if TS wanted 250cc, go for a used one  smile.gif
QUOTE(technod @ Jul 2 2015, 11:47 AM)

Back then, my friend suggest me bigger cc than 250cc bike. i really appreciate the advice. sometimes i ride to work and rarely go on weekend ride. the brotherhood in bikers sometimes impressed me. we wave, horn whenever we are come across. even when u meet, u greet each other. that's what atleast for me, will u be expecting when u come with big bike.
As mentioned cbr500 is the most I will suggest..anything else is a very bad beginner bike, pls bare in mind...ts is asking for daily + beginner......I'm assumming he don't even ride a bike now? So if he gets a 1st bad experience or find it a hassle to ride....he won't be a biker for long.....

Now u said u get bigger cc, but Sometimes ride to work and rarely weekend ride...means u hardly use it...so is it a daily? Can u use it as a daily?
FlamingFox
post Jul 2 2015, 01:59 PM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

Why not go for something in between 250 and 500? KTM Duke 390!
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:02 AM

QUOTE(kahjye @ Jul 1 2015, 08:28 PM)
Why dowan 2013 z800???
Z series are good looking but z800 over budget
need time to save money on that
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:04 AM

QUOTE(eddievh @ Jul 1 2015, 10:33 PM)
Benelli tnt300. The fake inline4 sound motor. If you use loud exhaust on this bike it sounded very good.
for me i'm looking for performance, durability but not sound
Anyway, thanks for the advice bro
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:05 AM

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jul 2 2015, 10:29 AM)
S1000RR

#noregret

#yolo
sound true but budget problem
I will get 1 if i could! brows.gif
kahjye
post Jul 3 2015, 12:06 AM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(terencewtc @ Jul 3 2015, 12:02 AM)
Z series are good looking but z800 over budget
need time to save money on that
ehhh??

below 35k can get la bro for 2013.
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:09 AM

QUOTE(stewPik @ Jul 2 2015, 11:24 AM)

I'm more likely to the full fairing
But mostly with the same engine and performance as i know
As i mention, I do care about performance and durability, looks is second consideration
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:12 AM

QUOTE(-speedz- @ Jul 2 2015, 11:27 AM)
You can't go wrong with the options you have. All are good first bikes; they're light, easy to manouver and have enough low-end torque to get around town.

Whatever bike you choose, bear in mnid to have a budget for good riding gear that is comfortable and protective. Have a checklist for gloves, helmet(fullface/modular/open), jacket(mesh/textile), pants and boots.
Agree,
Have reserve RM4000 for safety kits and boots

TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:16 AM

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jul 2 2015, 11:43 AM)

if TS wanted 250cc, go for a used one  smile.gif
Sound true
Many are selling their 250 after few years of riding
getting a 500cc takes me longer to upgrade

Have to try out the 500++cc bike
Thanks for the advice folks!
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:20 AM

QUOTE(kahjye @ Jul 3 2015, 12:06 AM)
ehhh??

below 35k can get la bro for 2013.
nod.gif
have to check
i'm ipoh mari

TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:24 AM

QUOTE(technod @ Jul 2 2015, 11:47 AM)

everytimes i ask about the bike price, i must be prompt for the maintenance fees
Few biker that i know told me that too, bigger cc, skipped 250cc if you can afford for the bigger
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:29 AM

QUOTE(stewPik @ Jul 2 2015, 11:52 AM)
As mentioned cbr500 is the most I will suggest..anything else is a very bad beginner bike, pls bare in mind...ts is asking for daily + beginner......I'm assumming he don't even ride a bike now? So if he gets a 1st bad experience or find it a hassle to ride....he won't be a biker for long.....

Now u said u get bigger cc, but Sometimes ride to work and rarely weekend ride...means u hardly use it...so is it a daily? Can u use it as a daily?
I'm riding a kapcai with only 110cc doh.gif
and many have told me, beginner better start with a 2nd hand bike, less pain when falls
It's true that above 600 is too much for me, i'm only 169cm but really enthusiastic to sportbike

TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:31 AM

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Jul 2 2015, 01:59 PM)
Why not go for something in between 250 and 500? KTM Duke 390!
Are you KTM owner?
They have announced new KTM RC250 right?
KTM RC390 is it durable and can tahan for long distance ride(like penang - kl)?
lucifah
post Jul 3 2015, 04:46 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(terencewtc @ Jul 3 2015, 12:29 AM)
I'm riding a kapcai with only 110cc doh.gif
and many have told me, beginner better start with a 2nd hand bike, less pain when falls
It's true that above 600 is too much for me, i'm only 169cm but really enthusiastic to sportbike
Nah, u should be alright

I was from scooter (automatic) to fully clutch manual gear er6n and has no transition problem
2tan
post Jul 3 2015, 06:08 AM

Go get bfull first bro, otherwise juz stick wit ninja 250, very good beginner bike tho.
adamhzm90
post Jul 3 2015, 07:56 AM

1,386 posts

xj6...cant go wrong with yamaha durability..2nd hand also not so expensive now
stewPik
post Jul 3 2015, 11:08 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Jul 3 2015, 07:56 AM)
xj6...cant go wrong with yamaha durability..2nd hand also not so expensive now
Except theblooks of xj, its a cross country bike....to me itsvlike an oversized scrambler....hehe
FlamingFox
post Jul 3 2015, 12:48 PM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

QUOTE(terencewtc @ Jul 3 2015, 12:31 AM)
Are you KTM owner?
Nah I'm not a KTM owner, my friend rides one and he says it is relatively light. Not sure about the durability though.

Yeah, they announced the new KTM250, I always get my news from moto malaya . net (no spaces)
H2D
post Jul 3 2015, 01:48 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(terencewtc @ Jul 3 2015, 12:09 AM)
I'm more likely to the full fairing
But mostly with the same engine and performance as i know
As i mention, I do care about performance and durability, looks is second consideration
u got ur B full already?

if not go get B full first, find a school that have er6n and u will know how easy it is to handle a 650 bike

no nid to get 250 300 390, waste time n money only... biggrin.gif
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 06:47 PM

QUOTE(2tan @ Jul 3 2015, 06:08 AM)
Go get bfull first bro, otherwise juz stick wit ninja 250, very good beginner bike tho.
yeah!
Now taking Full B
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 06:49 PM

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 3 2015, 01:48 PM)
u got ur B full already?

if not go get B full first, find a school that have er6n and u will know how easy it is to handle a 650 bike

no nid to get 250 300 390, waste time n money only...  biggrin.gif
alright! now taking Full B
soonlee33
post Jul 3 2015, 07:45 PM

2,677 posts

I'm riding duke200 and yes I'm planning to upgrade to xj6 not even two years
mozact89
post Jul 3 2015, 10:24 PM

~KAWASAKI NINJA~
1,137 posts

Kymco xciting 400
TSterencewtc
post Jul 5 2015, 11:44 PM

Anyone owned a YAMAHA YZF R25
Is the quality good compare to Honda and kawi?
Durability? Easy to get hot?
pallmall
post Jul 6 2015, 08:23 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(terencewtc @ Jul 3 2015, 12:31 AM)
Are you KTM owner?
Durable...depends. but if long distance travel, not suitable.

1 cylinder, riding position can make u suffer

i would go for mt-09 thumbup.gif
SpeedyTaco
post Jul 6 2015, 09:08 AM

I've been riding my Ninja 250R for almost 4 years.
3 years going to long distance ride almost every week. JB - Kuala Selangor.
And it is working wonders ! In my opinion as long you can maintain around 140 - 150 on the highway, its good enough. And it is a good beginner bike.
arepit
post Jul 6 2015, 09:16 AM

397 posts

hehe i didnt recommend er6n as i noticed TS prefer more full fairing type...

TS.. u should have those bikes a trial first just to get a fell..

i used my er6n for my daily rides and it work wonders blazing thru jams in KL...

maintenance sides..just jaga minyak hitam n oil filter the most la...

oh ya one more thing....dont listen to people asking u to change your tire every 10k... change only when you need to...
ejan_
post Jul 6 2015, 10:23 AM

148 posts

for first bike, better get kawasaki brand... easy parts.. less headache.. R25 also ok... but KTM not recommend.. quality and after sales not really good.. but the design outstanding... cool2.gif
TSterencewtc
post Jul 6 2015, 09:57 PM

QUOTE(SpeedyTaco @ Jul 6 2015, 09:08 AM)
I've been riding my Ninja 250R for almost 4 years.
3 years going to long distance ride almost every week. JB - Kuala Selangor.
And it is working wonders ! In my opinion as long you can maintain around 140 - 150 on the highway, its good enough. And it is a good beginner bike.
Ninja 250R 2011? It's a single cylinder?
You must be maintain the bike well!
Your top speed on that bike?
What do you think about 2013 Ninja 250?
TSterencewtc
post Jul 6 2015, 09:58 PM

QUOTE(pallmall @ Jul 6 2015, 08:23 AM)
Durable...depends. but if long distance travel, not suitable.

1 cylinder, riding position can make u suffer

i would go for mt-09  thumbup.gif
1 cylinder and 2 parallel cylinder, what's the difference? Only in term of higher hp and torque?
TSterencewtc
post Jul 6 2015, 10:03 PM

QUOTE(arepit @ Jul 6 2015, 09:16 AM)
hehe i didnt recommend er6n as i noticed TS prefer more full fairing type...

TS.. u should have those bikes a trial first just to get a fell..

i used my er6n for my daily rides and it work wonders blazing thru jams in KL...

maintenance sides..just jaga minyak hitam n oil filter the most la...

oh ya one more thing....dont listen to people asking u to change your tire every 10k... change only when you need to...
Thanks for the suggestion!
I have make a very long thought because don't want to waste money and time
Either straight away go to 500cc or 600cc and change bike after 10 years
OR
Go for the 250cc for 2-3 year and 1000cc later
rclxub.gif
TSterencewtc
post Jul 6 2015, 10:07 PM

QUOTE(ejan_ @ Jul 6 2015, 10:23 AM)
for first bike, better get kawasaki brand... easy parts.. less headache.. R25 also ok... but KTM not recommend.. quality and after sales not really good.. but the design outstanding... cool2.gif
Thanks for the advice!
How about Honda CBR250R
although it's a single cylinder, lower power, but i heard the quality and handling is the best among the 250cc. What do you think?
That's why need to find someone who got the bike and test-drive...
SpeedyTaco
post Jul 7 2015, 02:52 PM

QUOTE(terencewtc @ Jul 6 2015, 09:57 PM)
Ninja 250R 2011? It's a single cylinder?
You must be maintain the bike well!
Your top speed on that bike?
What do you think about 2013 Ninja 250?
Its a parallel twin cylinder bike.
The fastest speed i ever archived was around 170kmh.
and thats it.
Haha. 2013 ? Quite good. I do think it is faster than the old ninjas.

mr-2
post Jul 8 2015, 01:27 PM

733 posts

Just sharing my experience to TS. Just got my ER6N 1 week ago for daily work commuting. Didn't expect it to be so easy to breeze through kl traffic and jam. I upgraded from my old Kawa 150 cc bike and I must say the power and torque is superb and a joy to have. Car used to not let me pass now also move aside automatically. thumbup.gif

On the highway or straight road, can easily pull away from traffic with a light twist on the throttle. Never felt so easy to hit 200kmh. My mind was blown the first time and coming from a 2 stroke 150cc torqueless bike.

No regret and very happy I got this bike. smile.gif
TSterencewtc
post Jul 8 2015, 05:20 PM

QUOTE(mr-2 @ Jul 8 2015, 01:27 PM)
Just sharing my experience to TS. Just got my ER6N 1 week ago for daily work commuting. Didn't expect it to be so easy to breeze through kl traffic and jam. I upgraded from my old Kawa 150 cc bike and I must say the power and torque is superb and a joy to have. Car used to not let me pass now also move aside automatically.  thumbup.gif

On the highway or straight road, can easily pull away from traffic with a light twist on the throttle. Never felt so easy to hit 200kmh. My mind was blown the first time and coming from a 2 stroke 150cc torqueless bike.

No regret and very happy I got this bike.  smile.gif
thanks for sharing!
safe drive bro!
TSterencewtc
post Jul 8 2015, 05:22 PM

QUOTE(SpeedyTaco @ Jul 7 2015, 02:52 PM)
Its a parallel twin cylinder bike.
The fastest speed i ever archived was around 170kmh.
and thats it.
Haha. 2013 ? Quite good. I do think it is faster than the old ninjas.
170kph? got modified or tuned to achieve such speed?
stable when >150kph?
VictorKeong
post Jul 8 2015, 09:04 PM

599 posts

if u love smooth cruising on highways.. at @110kmh - 150kmh... dont take 250
250 starts to have quite alot of vibrations starting 100 onwards.. rpm reaching 7 >.<...
if u dont mind the sound of an inline 2 engine
cbr500 will be great. my friend has one. very smooth, silent, nice pickup.
ER6. same goes to ninja 250r wont exactly recommend at the moment, few of my friends having problems with the valves. this bikes are starting to be very sensitive. especially their timing chain tensioners.
but somehow versys seems to be okay.. how bout secondhand Z800? not as powerful as other 800cc. but its nice.

Benelli TNT also. i wont recommend, heard alot of issues as well
u can consider Blade 650 though, my brother have one. yeah got its "manja" side as well..but not so bad compared to 2011 model. got alot more... xj6, is pretty gooding as well.u can get diversion for around 36k

if u really wanna start off on a 250..... n really wanna upgrade in a short period of time....
dont get a new 250..
ill recommend u to go oldschool HAHAHA
ZZR250 is da best 9k for full refurbish, 6k can get for tiptop and running well. icon_rolleyes.gif
faster n more powerful than most 250 bikes actually, other than zx2r

This post has been edited by VictorKeong: Jul 8 2015, 09:11 PM
TSterencewtc
post Jul 8 2015, 09:45 PM

QUOTE(VictorKeong @ Jul 8 2015, 09:04 PM)
if u love smooth cruising on highways.. at @110kmh - 150kmh... dont take 250
250 starts to have quite alot of vibrations starting 100 onwards.. rpm reaching 7 >.<...
if u dont mind the sound of an inline 2 engine
cbr500 will be great. my friend has one. very smooth, silent, nice pickup.
ER6. same goes to ninja 250r wont exactly recommend at the moment, few of my friends having problems with the valves. this bikes are starting to be very sensitive. especially their timing chain tensioners.
but somehow versys seems to be okay.. how bout secondhand Z800? not as powerful as other 800cc. but its nice.

Benelli TNT also. i wont recommend, heard alot of issues as well
u can consider Blade 650 though, my brother have one. yeah got its "manja" side as well..but not so bad compared to 2011 model. got alot more... xj6, is pretty gooding as well.u can get diversion for around 36k

if u really wanna start off on a 250..... n really wanna upgrade in a short period of time....
dont get a new 250..
ill recommend u to go oldschool HAHAHA
ZZR250 is da best 9k for full refurbish, 6k can get for tiptop and running well.  icon_rolleyes.gif
faster n more powerful than most 250 bikes actually, other than zx2r
Good info! I have made up my mind to get a CBR500R.
I don't care about bike sound but performance
Last time i got think about second hand versys, from known owner, but missed the chance at last (the versys with two side compartment box and low mileage) cry.gif
then seen CBR250R 2015 model but too bad it is a single piston.
although CBR500R is 2013 model, quite outdated, but really like the look of her!

Thanks BRO!
H2D
post Jul 8 2015, 10:50 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(terencewtc @ Jul 8 2015, 09:45 PM)

i noticed honda bikes 250 500 series 650 sold here are kinda low in demand...

better check the resale value if u intend to upgrade,,,
soonlee33
post Jul 8 2015, 10:58 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(terencewtc @ Jul 8 2015, 09:45 PM)
I don't care about bike sound but performance
Last time i got think about second hand versys, from known owner, but missed the chance at last (the versys with two side compartment box and low mileage) cry.gif
then seen CBR250R 2015 model but too bad it is a single piston.
although CBR500R is 2013 model, quite outdated, but really like the look of her!

Thanks BRO!
Do u mean Cb500?
Its a reliable machine hard to find second unit
H2D
post Jul 8 2015, 11:01 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Jul 8 2015, 10:58 PM)
Do u mean Cb500?
cbr500r is not cb500 biggrin.gif
soonlee33
post Jul 8 2015, 11:38 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 8 2015, 11:01 PM)
cbr500r is not cb500  biggrin.gif
Same family trio right ?
Any diff ?
H2D
post Jul 9 2015, 12:06 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Jul 8 2015, 11:38 PM)
Same family trio right ?
Any diff ?
the trio is from 2013 onwards...

the earlier cb500 family till 2003...
H2D
post Jul 9 2015, 12:32 AM

598 posts

i've been checking out mid weight bikes available locally ,

the MT-07 might not be TS's cuppa tea due to the looks, but this bike is selling like hot cakes world wide, known as FZ-07 in the US, launched last year, tons of youtube vids and reviews, accessories are increasing.

Why it is a fav cos it is fun to ride, with lots of low end torque, only 179kg wet.
More low end torque than kawa vulcan s and new versys 650, these 2 kawa are specially tuned to increase low end torque but still can't beat mt-07.

Great as a daily town riding, light for beginners. That's what owners say.

The CKD version is like RM1k? more than ER6N.

Sound is addictive too, if you like V-twin sound, (mt-07 is parallel twin)

This post has been edited by H2D: Jul 9 2015, 12:37 AM
TSterencewtc
post Jul 9 2015, 12:41 AM

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Jul 8 2015, 10:58 PM)
Do u mean Cb500?
CBR500R is one of the CB500
what i know...
TSterencewtc
post Jul 9 2015, 12:42 AM

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Jul 8 2015, 11:38 PM)
Same family trio right ?
Any diff ?
actually same engine , known from the website
TSterencewtc
post Jul 9 2015, 12:45 AM

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 9 2015, 12:32 AM)
i've been checking out mid weight bikes available locally ,

the MT-07 might not be TS's cuppa tea due to the looks, but this bike is selling like hot cakes world wide, known as FZ-07 in the US, launched last year, tons of youtube vids and reviews, accessories are increasing.

Why it is a fav cos it is fun to ride, with lots of low end torque, only 179kg wet.
More low end torque than kawa vulcan s and new versys 650, these 2 kawa are specially tuned to increase low end torque but still can't beat mt-07.

Great as a daily town riding, light for beginners. That's what owners say.

The CKD version is like RM1k? more than ER6N.
I think the 500cc is enouf for me
and 179kg is really light!
The acceleration, the top speed just ngam!
thanks for the info anyway

This post has been edited by terencewtc: Jul 9 2015, 12:46 AM
alexei
post Jul 9 2015, 10:01 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

terencewtcCBR500R is 470cc at 28k. MT-07 is 689cc for ~RM35k (CKD).
Power: 43Nm vs 68Nm
Torque at 3000 RPM: 25Nm (58%) vs 40Nm (59%)
Torque at 4000 RPM: 27Nm (63%) vs 44Nm (65%)
Weight: 192 kg vs 172 kg (Both are kerb/wet weight, comparison is equal)
- MT07 is much more responsive in city ride.
- Highway cruising for MT07 will be more efficient between 4-5k RPM (95~120kmh) since there is a tuned peak around that rev range. For CBR, it would have to be at 5-6k RPM to reach that speed.
*RPM and speed calculation based on engine gear ratio and rear wheel size.

Maintenance:
Tyre size, front/rear are 120/160 vs 120/180, respectively. Rear tyre on MT07 will be significantly high.
Chain type: Presume both uses 520/525 chains... replacement about equal.
... and so on.

For the amount that you are going to pay maintaining these bikes, my personal opinion is to buy the more expensive one.

If you can afford it, the 3-cylinder MT-09 is even more interesting, at RM54k CKD.
In this case, the full-fairing bike only looks nice, but ride quality is uninteresting. Aka, boring bikes...
stewPik
post Jul 9 2015, 10:16 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 9 2015, 10:01 AM)
- Highway cruising for MT07 will be more efficient between 4-5k RPM (95~120kmh) since there is a tuned peak around that rev range. For CBR, it would have to be at 5-6k RPM to reach that speed.

Maintenance:
Tyre size, front/rear are 120/160 vs 120/180, respectively. Rear tyre on MT07 will be significantly high.
... and so on.

For the amount that you are going to pay maintaining these bikes, my personal opinion is to buy the more expensive one.

If you can afford it, the 3-cylinder MT-09 is even more interesting, at RM54k CKD.
In this case, the full-fairing bike only looks nice, but ride quality is uninteresting. Aka, boring bikes...
So..that's like paying rm280/ extra HP....can elaborate what u mean by boring bike? Thanks
H2D
post Jul 9 2015, 10:17 AM

598 posts

I read in the many fz/mt 07 forums, they r not buying 09 but going for 07 instead, 09 is like hving some issues with not sure wht...
mockv1per
post Jul 9 2015, 10:34 AM

ܝܘܚܢܢ ܒܝܬ ܐܦܪܝܡ
4,010 posts

07 is forgiving, easier to handle for new/beginner riders.

i'll recommend you to get 07. best bang for the buck.
VictorKeong
post Jul 9 2015, 10:54 AM

599 posts

MT07 can be scary for new beginners. the torque.. ngaummmmmm haha

ts seems to fancy faired bikes.. maybe he can buy a naked and add on custom fairing tongue.gif

This post has been edited by VictorKeong: Jul 9 2015, 10:56 AM
SpeedyTaco
post Jul 9 2015, 11:22 AM

QUOTE(terencewtc @ Jul 8 2015, 05:22 PM)
170kph? got modified or tuned to achieve such speed?
stable when >150kph?
A few tweaks here and there. Change of Airfilter . using BMC Filter.
Alongside with exhaust upgrade. >150kph ? Goyang abit. but nothing that regular bikers cant handle.
alexei
post Jul 9 2015, 11:24 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(stewPik @ Jul 9 2015, 10:16 AM)
So..that's like paying rm280/ extra HP....can elaborate what u mean by boring bike? Thanks
I didn't mention HP, only torque. Notice other people also reply you with torque. HP sells cars\bikes, but torque wins races.

You're paying 25% more, for 60% more torque. At the far end of mid-cc bike, there's the KTM690 at >60Nm torque, that's another 33% more than the MT-07.

A boring bike is without character, where its strength lies in the fact that it has no weaknesses.
3 months after you own it, you will begin to feel the burden of needing to pay for it.
You start it, and doesn't excite you. Riding it doesn't send chills down your spine, and it behaves as it is expected to be.

Since this is your first bike, you might not feel it. But, have I'm sure you have heard of people saying things like 'oh, I miss riding my old bike or their previous car'... as compared to less interesting bikes, people will miss it for things like breaking down less often.
soonlee33
post Jul 9 2015, 11:24 AM

2,677 posts

Maintenance:
... and so on.

Ckd under 50k what
alexei
post Jul 9 2015, 11:26 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

FZ07 at stock, gear 6, 9000 RPM, is rated to reach 214kmh.
H2D
post Jul 9 2015, 11:40 AM

598 posts

Ride sensibly it should not be a problem for beginner. Too bad hly is always lame in promoting ymh bikes, where as kawa organise rides for journo siap with reg ready vulcan s + new versys...

All these reg versys, I wonder where it will end up aft the press ride...

Kawa msia was able to price vulcan s lower than 30k wit gst.. even direct convert can't get this price...

This post has been edited by H2D: Jul 9 2015, 11:57 AM
epicapple
post Jul 9 2015, 06:19 PM

120 posts

ill tell you what, are you looking for sound? or just a sportbike?

Have you ever ridden a sportbike? with a clutch, id advise you to start on a 250 but its not impossible to start on a 500+ just the learning curve is steeper.

if youre planning to get a cbr500f chip in a little and you could get an xj6. Imo i think its abit terrible to get a cbr 500, it looks ecactly like a 250, but with 2 cylinders, pricey too. but an xj6, that things a beast and a really good learner bike.

If youre looking at the 250cc class, your best would be the yamaha r25, cheap and has real good powerband.

There also bikes like the kawasaki vulcan S. it goes for 28k you can check that out smile.gif

This post has been edited by epicapple: Jul 9 2015, 06:21 PM
Mubarak90
post Jul 9 2015, 06:32 PM

482 posts

Suggestion is not to go for a bike with a power of over 60HP for first time riders. Easier to learn with a bike with smaller power. Going with either a 150/200/250/300/390/500 is fine.

The smaller the capacity, the cheaper and usually goes the same way the other way around.

If you want the most out of the below RM30K learners bike, the bigger capacity should do better.

If you're a beginner in sportsbike arena, and are not that much into motorcycles, go with the more popular ones as they would be easiest to maintain (yes, I mean ninja/z 250/300).

Single cylinder bike usually will sound more like a motorized grass cutter compared to twin cylinder bikes. But the differences in terms of sound aren't as apparent when compared to 3 and 4 cylinder bikes.

Bigger bike usually uses bigger tires too so keep that in mind if you do travel a lot and have a rather constraint budget.
TSterencewtc
post Jul 10 2015, 06:35 PM

Maintenance:
... and so on.

Yeah! The fairing only help in Looking sporty and streamline design!
Naked bike isn't that bad looking as well.
Hmmph....
1 more things, I used to think about buying 600cc above bike, but soon I think those are too much for me.
I don't need to speed up like 150-200 kph. Feel like 500-650cc just ngam for me.

I got this from 1 sifu: there is no difference in brand and model of superbike, only things is how you maintain your bike well.
TSterencewtc
post Jul 10 2015, 06:39 PM

QUOTE(VictorKeong @ Jul 9 2015, 10:54 AM)
MT07 can be scary for new beginners. the torque.. ngaummmmmm haha

ts seems to fancy faired bikes.. maybe he can buy a naked and add on custom fairing tongue.gif
YAYA! Full-fairing really look sporty! I persuade myself to get a naked, save money but failed!
Can ar? naked with add on fairing??!??!
are you kidding me?
TSterencewtc
post Jul 10 2015, 06:41 PM

QUOTE(SpeedyTaco @ Jul 9 2015, 11:22 AM)
A few tweaks here and there. Change of Airfilter . using BMC Filter.
Alongside with exhaust upgrade. >150kph ? Goyang abit. but nothing that regular bikers cant handle.
That's more things to learn in the BIKE WORLD
Thanks for the info bro!
TSterencewtc
post Jul 10 2015, 06:59 PM

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 9 2015, 11:24 AM)
I didn't mention HP, only torque. Notice other people also reply you with torque. HP sells cars\bikes, but torque wins races.

You're paying 25% more, for 60% more torque. At the far end of mid-cc bike, there's the KTM690 at >60Nm torque, that's another 33% more than the MT-07.

A boring bike is without character, where its strength lies in the fact that it has no weaknesses.
3 months after you own it, you will begin to feel the burden of needing to pay for it.
You start it, and doesn't excite you. Riding it doesn't send chills down your spine, and it behaves as it is expected to be.

Since this is your first bike, you might not feel it. But, have I'm sure you have heard of people saying things like 'oh, I miss riding my old bike or their previous car'... as compared to less interesting bikes, people will miss it for things like breaking down less often.
Sound great!
I got my Nissan Cefiro and really enjoy with her!
I have try with Nissan Teana but dont have the feeling like Cefiro.
TSterencewtc
post Jul 10 2015, 07:03 PM

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 9 2015, 11:40 AM)
Ride sensibly it should not be a problem for beginner. Too bad hly is always lame in promoting ymh bikes, where as kawa organise rides for journo siap with reg ready vulcan s + new versys...

Kawa msia was able to price vulcan s lower than 30k wit gst.. even direct convert can't get this price...
Vulcan got any problem?
Heard some rumor about the bike, but they dunno how to tell the problem.
So need help on that!
TSterencewtc
post Jul 10 2015, 07:11 PM

QUOTE(epicapple @ Jul 9 2015, 06:19 PM)
ill tell you what, are you looking for sound? or just a sportbike?

Have you ever ridden a sportbike? with a clutch, id advise you to start on a 250 but its not impossible to start on a 500+ just the learning curve is steeper.

if youre planning to get a cbr500f chip in a little and you could get an xj6. Imo i think its abit terrible to get a cbr 500, it looks ecactly like a 250, but with 2 cylinders, pricey too. but an xj6, that things a beast and a really good learner bike.

If youre looking at the 250cc class, your best would be the yamaha r25, cheap and has real good powerband.

There also bikes like the kawasaki vulcan S. it goes for 28k you can check that out smile.gif
i'm looking just a sportbike, sound doesn't matter.
I have try little yamaha125
never try with the sportbike
what do you think about Vulcan? Hve you try with that? Torqy? quality?
TSterencewtc
post Jul 10 2015, 07:13 PM

QUOTE(Mubarak90 @ Jul 9 2015, 06:32 PM)
Suggestion is not to go for a bike with a power of over 60HP for first time riders. Easier to learn with a bike with smaller power. Going with either a 150/200/250/300/390/500 is fine.

The smaller the capacity, the cheaper and usually goes the same way the other way around.

If you want the most out of the below RM30K learners bike, the bigger capacity should do better.

If you're a beginner in sportsbike arena, and are not that much into motorcycles, go with the more popular ones as they would be easiest to maintain (yes, I mean ninja/z 250/300).

Single cylinder bike usually will sound more like a motorized grass cutter compared to twin cylinder bikes. But the differences in terms of sound aren't as apparent when compared to 3 and 4 cylinder bikes.

Bigger bike usually uses bigger tires too so keep that in mind if you do travel a lot and have a rather constraint budget.
Thanks bro!
intel_centrino33
post Jul 10 2015, 08:38 PM

59 posts

any ppl here can advise me on either choosing 2nd hand 2013 Ninja 250, or 2nd hand 2012/2013 Yamaha XJ6.

I have both budget to buy without loan and planning only to use it on weekend for leisure. Not for daily riding purpose.

How much do I need to spare a month minimum for these 2 bike maintain? Roughly standby RM200? My spare only for maintenance purpose, not including petrol.

Initially I only thinking bout Ninja 250 but after hearing In Line 4 engine sound, I'm in love with XJ6..is XJ6 maintain higher than Ninja 250 by a lot? as in double or triple the cost of maintaining it? Pls advise me if any of you had the experience
adamhzm90
post Jul 10 2015, 09:14 PM

1,386 posts

QUOTE(intel_centrino33 @ Jul 10 2015, 08:38 PM)
any ppl here can advise me on either choosing 2nd hand 2013 Ninja 250, or 2nd hand 2012/2013 Yamaha XJ6.

I have both budget to buy without loan and planning only to use it on weekend for leisure. Not for daily riding purpose.

How much do I need to spare a month minimum for these 2 bike maintain? Roughly standby RM200? My spare only for maintenance purpose, not including petrol.

Initially I only thinking bout Ninja 250 but after hearing In Line 4 engine sound, I'm in love with XJ6..is XJ6 maintain higher than Ninja 250 by a lot? as in double or triple the cost of maintaining it? Pls advise me if any of you had the experience
xj6 lorh..sweet inline 4 sound will make your day after a stressfull day brows.gif
H2D
post Jul 10 2015, 09:56 PM

598 posts

here's a review comparing mt07 - cbr650r - er6f

http://www.motorcyclistonline.com/reviews/...mparo-road-test

now fully faired xj6f after gst is ~2k cheaper than b4 gst... biggrin.gif

good as it sounds the inline4 but the low rev torque tarak cukup .... biggrin.gif need to rev high high = makan petrol...

review said xj6 gear not long enough, compare to mt-07

This post has been edited by H2D: Jul 10 2015, 10:22 PM
mr-2
post Jul 10 2015, 11:44 PM

733 posts

TS, Since you considering the CBR500, do more research before putting in your $$$. For CBR500 I got the feedback from mechanic is quite a number have ignition issue and there were recall in the U.S recently. for oil leak I think. Not sure in MY. So far Yamaha bike are still ok, didn't hear problem with the XJ6 or MT 07. If got the budget go for it. I have no budget for the Yamaha hence I settle for ER6N. cry.gif

This post has been edited by mr-2: Jul 10 2015, 11:51 PM
H2D
post Jul 11 2015, 12:17 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(terencewtc @ Jul 10 2015, 07:03 PM)
Vulcan got any problem?
Heard some rumor about the bike, but they dunno how to tell the problem.
So need help on that!
where u heard got problem ? biggrin.gif

the engine same as er6. versys.. proven, except got valve issue last time, now not a problem anymore i think...
grixis
post Jul 11 2015, 05:07 AM

82 posts

go for mt-09
good bike for beginner (in b-mode of course for the 1st month)
easy thru traffic

and lots of power that should keep you busy for a year or two
H2D
post Jul 11 2015, 06:15 AM

598 posts

Fz-09 recall....

http://www.cycleworld.com/2015/04/09/yamah...-gearbox-issue/
VictorKeong
post Jul 11 2015, 05:51 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(terencewtc @ Jul 10 2015, 07:39 PM)
YAYA! Full-fairing really look sporty! I persuade myself to get a naked, save money but failed!
Can ar? naked with add on fairing??!??!
are you kidding me?
with money, all is possible bro xD
especially if u head down to serdang, selangor. whew... near equine park there. haha
got dobot all those
VictorKeong
post Jul 11 2015, 06:06 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 9 2015, 12:40 PM)

they gonna sell the versys after this?? keep me posted rclxm9.gif

0.4620sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:13 PM