Which to choose as my first sportbike?, Beginner SportBike

TSterencewtc
post Jul 1 2015, 04:45 PM, updated 11y ago

See a lot of video about comparison between the 250cc sport bike and 500cc
Still cannot make up my mind

My budget is RM 35,000 and normal usage (sometimes weekend ride and long distance ride)
My love-in-the-1st-sight bike is Ninja 250 but the hp for the yzf r25 attracted me, soon I found CBR500R and change my mind again.
I did a lot of searching on the internet but still couldn't get any help on choosing my first bike.

Need help from all the sifu and rider malaysia to give some comment on 250 and 500 -ish sportbike

Reason I want to ride is I love it since I was a kid, my uncle fetch me with his Kawasaki ZXR400 (if not mistaken) and I'm enjoying my long distance ride every time. Feeling awesome when cruising and stop-by in the best places to have the best foods.

Thanks Sifu-s
TSterencewtc
post Jul 1 2015, 04:55 PM

QUOTE(arepit @ Jul 1 2015, 04:47 PM)
u have the budget...go for 500cc la
That's what I was thinking but how about the quality and negative comment?
Maybe there are some others bike which is better and around the price range
TSterencewtc
post Jul 1 2015, 05:01 PM

QUOTE(ConfusedMan4ever @ Jul 1 2015, 04:58 PM)
ER-650
Nice bike tho
Want to get more comment from the owner
Know any of ER6F owner?
TSterencewtc
post Jul 1 2015, 08:08 PM

QUOTE(jeerie @ Jul 1 2015, 06:22 PM)
go get xj6..or topup to get z800...

dont go for 2 inline if u want to impress others... or u will end up thinking to upgrade your bike all the time..
Thanks for the advice! i think i'll go for 600cc as starter bike. skipped 250cc
TSterencewtc
post Jul 1 2015, 08:12 PM

QUOTE(stewPik @ Jul 1 2015, 07:07 PM)
Very much depends on what u need, want and looking for...250 is more of a daily ride, better looking and safer to ride compared to kapchai ....if u looking for looong distance ...look for 500cc and above....bare in mind the bigger the bike the heavier it is...and they r exact opposite...big bikes are bad daily....so u plan to ride it often and in city 250, u use it as weekend and long distance 500 above
I'm going to use it in town daily.
250 nowadays is good looking too.
I think i'll stick with 250 and get a 1000cc few years later!
Thanks for the advice!
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:02 AM

QUOTE(kahjye @ Jul 1 2015, 08:28 PM)
Why dowan 2013 z800???
Z series are good looking but z800 over budget
need time to save money on that
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:04 AM

QUOTE(eddievh @ Jul 1 2015, 10:33 PM)
Benelli tnt300. The fake inline4 sound motor. If you use loud exhaust on this bike it sounded very good.
for me i'm looking for performance, durability but not sound
Anyway, thanks for the advice bro
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:05 AM

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jul 2 2015, 10:29 AM)
S1000RR

#noregret

#yolo
sound true but budget problem
I will get 1 if i could! brows.gif
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:09 AM

QUOTE(stewPik @ Jul 2 2015, 11:24 AM)
Er6n yes as its naked.....z800, many frens used it after awhile put aside due to the hassle...heavy and over powered for daily...well....I guess it depends...didn't say u cant use it daily...I just said it's a pain compared to 250, now think back, I was mainly advising based on full fairing....hmmmm...

Now that we come to this...TS looking at naked or full fairing? As this 2 r different breed of bikes altogether
I'm more likely to the full fairing
But mostly with the same engine and performance as i know
As i mention, I do care about performance and durability, looks is second consideration
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:12 AM

QUOTE(-speedz- @ Jul 2 2015, 11:27 AM)
You can't go wrong with the options you have. All are good first bikes; they're light, easy to manouver and have enough low-end torque to get around town.

Whatever bike you choose, bear in mnid to have a budget for good riding gear that is comfortable and protective. Have a checklist for gloves, helmet(fullface/modular/open), jacket(mesh/textile), pants and boots.
Agree,
Have reserve RM4000 for safety kits and boots

TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:16 AM

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jul 2 2015, 11:43 AM)
better for him to get 500cc

if TS wanted 250cc, go for a used one  smile.gif
Sound true
Many are selling their 250 after few years of riding
getting a 500cc takes me longer to upgrade

Have to try out the 500++cc bike
Thanks for the advice folks!
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:20 AM

QUOTE(kahjye @ Jul 3 2015, 12:06 AM)
ehhh??

below 35k can get la bro for 2013.
nod.gif
have to check
i'm ipoh mari

TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:24 AM

QUOTE(technod @ Jul 2 2015, 11:47 AM)
The bigger cc got higher maintenance and insurance cost.

Back then, my friend suggest me bigger cc than 250cc bike. i really appreciate the advice. sometimes i ride to work and rarely go on weekend ride. the brotherhood in bikers sometimes impressed me. we wave, horn whenever we are come across. even when u meet, u greet each other. that's what atleast for me, will u be expecting when u come with big bike.
everytimes i ask about the bike price, i must be prompt for the maintenance fees
Few biker that i know told me that too, bigger cc, skipped 250cc if you can afford for the bigger
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:29 AM

QUOTE(stewPik @ Jul 2 2015, 11:52 AM)
As mentioned cbr500 is the most I will suggest..anything else is a very bad beginner bike, pls bare in mind...ts is asking for daily + beginner......I'm assumming he don't even ride a bike now? So if he gets a 1st bad experience or find it a hassle to ride....he won't be a biker for long.....

Now u said u get bigger cc, but Sometimes ride to work and rarely weekend ride...means u hardly use it...so is it a daily? Can u use it as a daily?
I'm riding a kapcai with only 110cc doh.gif
and many have told me, beginner better start with a 2nd hand bike, less pain when falls
It's true that above 600 is too much for me, i'm only 169cm but really enthusiastic to sportbike

TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 12:31 AM

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Jul 2 2015, 01:59 PM)
Why not go for something in between 250 and 500? KTM Duke 390!
Are you KTM owner?
They have announced new KTM RC250 right?
KTM RC390 is it durable and can tahan for long distance ride(like penang - kl)?
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 06:47 PM

QUOTE(2tan @ Jul 3 2015, 06:08 AM)
Go get bfull first bro, otherwise juz stick wit ninja 250, very good beginner bike tho.
yeah!
Now taking Full B
TSterencewtc
post Jul 3 2015, 06:49 PM

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 3 2015, 01:48 PM)
u got ur B full already?

if not go get B full first, find a school that have er6n and u will know how easy it is to handle a 650 bike

no nid to get 250 300 390, waste time n money only...  biggrin.gif
alright! now taking Full B
TSterencewtc
post Jul 5 2015, 11:44 PM

Anyone owned a YAMAHA YZF R25
Is the quality good compare to Honda and kawi?
Durability? Easy to get hot?
TSterencewtc
post Jul 6 2015, 09:57 PM

QUOTE(SpeedyTaco @ Jul 6 2015, 09:08 AM)
I've been riding my Ninja 250R for almost 4 years.
3 years going to long distance ride almost every week. JB - Kuala Selangor.
And it is working wonders ! In my opinion as long you can maintain around 140 - 150 on the highway, its good enough. And it is a good beginner bike.
Ninja 250R 2011? It's a single cylinder?
You must be maintain the bike well!
Your top speed on that bike?
What do you think about 2013 Ninja 250?
TSterencewtc
post Jul 6 2015, 09:58 PM

QUOTE(pallmall @ Jul 6 2015, 08:23 AM)
Durable...depends. but if long distance travel, not suitable.

1 cylinder, riding position can make u suffer

i would go for mt-09  thumbup.gif
1 cylinder and 2 parallel cylinder, what's the difference? Only in term of higher hp and torque?

0.0215sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:47 AM