[Home Appliances] Water Filter/Purifier Thread V2, Drinking Water Treatment System

jo707
post Nov 10 2016, 01:46 PM

19 posts

I am researching water filter for my new condo. Currently narrow down to 3M DWS 2500T-CN and Amway eSpring. Any suggestion where it get it cheap, or any better recommendation out there?

This post has been edited by jo707: Nov 10 2016, 01:54 PM
jo707
post Nov 10 2016, 01:51 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(lipfung @ Nov 10 2016, 12:21 PM)
Need a water dispenser. Any recommendation? Preferably with hot and cold function.
Northern region.

Considered Coway, but its RO water.
How about Cuckoo ? Mild-Alkaline water.
Does Aquaphor has a dispenser? As the website is down, couldn't get much information.
I saw 3M offers this one which might be an interest to you:

http://solutions.3m.com.my/wps/portal/3M/e...ilter-Products/
jo707
post Nov 11 2016, 11:39 AM

19 posts

Any 3M reseller here? Got quote for eSpring but no offer for 3M DWS 2500T-CN. Is Aquaphor up to the standard as well?
jo707
post Nov 11 2016, 04:55 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(lipfung @ Nov 11 2016, 02:14 PM)
Does it consume a lot of electricity with the dispenser? As compared to refrigerator.
Not that I'm going to use a lot of hot water. Will use it for coffee in the morning, coffee at night, cup noodle maybe, reheat milk yes once in a while as some of the time will be using warmer.
COld water also, as will need to make drinks at night as well.

Will the filter be easily available in Penang, and how long do I need to change it? How about the dispenser, do I need to wash it frequently ?
Should look for those dispensers with instant hot water function, not those with hot water tank I think. Cheaper and safer.
jo707
post Nov 19 2016, 08:27 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(vyruzj @ Nov 18 2016, 08:34 PM)
Great review. One question, can we individually turn on/off hot and cold for the water? I am dun really drink cold water. All in all how much?
I would recommend you get a instant hot water dispenser without boiler instead of this, especially if you don't really need the cold water.

I used to have something like that at home as well. But it has been left in my storeroom ever since the arrival of instant hot water dispenser.

Instant hot water dispenser is much smaller (space saving), safer (without boiler tank), cheaper and energy saving. Mine has 3.5L capacity, more than enough for a small family. I don't need to top up everyday.
jo707
post Nov 22 2016, 12:10 PM

19 posts

Seriously...Even water rationing comes into consideration when buying a water dispenser. Perhaps it is not so rationale after all...
jo707
post Nov 25 2016, 08:21 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Nov 25 2016, 11:47 AM)
Yup, NESH wins in terms of sterilize and deodorize thing as it has ozone.
http://nesh.com.my/Nesh2014/en/product/env...care/nesh-qoozo

Aquaphor win in terms of filtration technology, price, space saving and no electricity required
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4orAkJ_n8...TNCcmFpX2M/view

Just compared the filter media used in both brands and you will be able to tell which is better smile.gif

However, do google on risk and disadvantage of Ozone water as well to have a read.
Here is one of them, i have research a little on this and it is still not 100% clear how harmful it is in the long run but in the short run it is definitely safe
http://scientificlogic.blogspot.my/2010/09...ne-as-food.html
AFAIK, Aquaphor Crystal Eco is not NSF certified.
Possible to provide independent report to support 8000L/1-year lifespan claim?
jo707
post Mar 3 2017, 01:32 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(exsakai @ Mar 3 2017, 01:02 PM)
Honestly, how do we expect a regular end user to be so knowledable in choosing a good filter. Hence, i bought mine because it is cheap and with nsf logo.

After facing the clogging issue, i start to do more reseach myself. Dws2500 the most expensive filter has nsf 42 and 53 with particulate class 1, ap easy has the same as well. Both rated capacity 750gallon. After the clogging issue, the salesperson recommended me to get dws2500 for higher capacity but as per catalog they are the same. After further explanation, dws2500 has a pleated filter and hence able to trap more dirt and prevent clogging. Such info was not provided by nsf and not told to me when i purchase my ap easy complete, salesman just push me to get ap easy because of my budget.

So i ended up wasting my filter and changed to aquaphor now which is able to last me 1 year+ without clogging.
If Aquaphor is so good, why they are not NSF certified?
This is just like a car manufacturer claiming their cars offering best safety, yet refuse to send for Euro NCAP test. Proton claims their cars are tougher than you imagine, but do they outperform Volvo? I afraid no...far from it actually.

The water coming out from your Aquaphor is bright and clear, even after 1 year plus. However, you don't know what you are drinking unless you send for thorough test. The contaminants are not visible with just your naked eyes perception.
jo707
post Mar 10 2017, 02:38 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 10 2017, 02:24 PM)
My experience with a local S branded 3sec instant hot water flask, spoiled 3 times during warranty, each time they gave replacement unit instead of repair. The last unit spoiled 3 months after warranty.
No wonder the big brands never manufacture this type of instant hot water flask.
Wah...sounds bad indeed.
Mine is a no brand instant hot water dispenser (or maybe is a famous brand in China which i don't know), bought from TaoBao. Used for 1 year plus, still going strong.
Maybe it depends on luck. 3M manufactures instant hot water dispenser as well right?
jo707
post Mar 14 2017, 11:18 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(laith @ Mar 14 2017, 09:58 AM)
Is this model good enough as unboiled daily drinking water?

3M Aqua-Pure Under Sink Dedicated Faucet Water Filter System AP-DWS1000
Yes. I am using this model.
jo707
post Mar 14 2017, 12:11 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(laith @ Mar 14 2017, 11:58 AM)
I see. How much did you purchase for the unit? Also replacement catridge?
~RM1.6K. I bought from a seller here.
Yet to replace the cartridge so far.
jo707
post May 26 2017, 08:45 PM

19 posts

Maybe you like to enlighten us how Aquaphor able to determine an effective lifespan of 8000L without NSF certification?

NSF certified products have their lifespan tested and determined by NSF. Aquaphor spec means nothing more than just a self claimed figure, which any Tom, Dick or Harry able write whatever they want on the website.

To be honest, if you have compared all NSF product data spec online, such self claimed figure of 8000L is out of the world. In fact, it sounds too good to be true. It beats all the other inventions by major manufacturers in the world. Perhaps 3M and Amway should fire their scientists straightaway, and find this Aquaphor employee immediately from Russia/Eastern Europe. laugh.gif
jo707
post Sep 15 2017, 09:25 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(lostandfoundlove @ Sep 15 2017, 08:44 PM)
After reading around the reviews it seems that aquaphor has the most transparency in the product specification and i like that there is a lot of video/explanation behind it, most of the other products either have limited information or rely on contract for servicing which in my opinion traps you into using them long term.

So far has anyone using the product had any bad experience? I am 99% close to making a purchase on crystal aquaphor.
So if i say my Proton Persona is faster and more powerful than Lamborghini Aventador. Do you think such statement is valid, and with 'most transparency'?
jo707
post Sep 16 2017, 10:55 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(lostandfoundlove @ Sep 15 2017, 09:54 PM)
are you taking a video to show it?
Nope. Video proves nothing other than self proclamation.

When a guy says his English command is reasonably good, you expect him to show you an A+ in his STPM cert. You don't expect him to shoot an own directed video to prove you the case.

When a car manufacturer claims their products offer the best safety standard in the world, you expect high score in the Euro NCAP, not through a video on Youtube.

So does Aquaphor offer any recognized certification to back up its claims?

Remember Proton Savvy had a slogan when it first launched? 'Tougher than you imagine', with TUV 'endorsement'. Did anyone bother about it? TUV stamp looks good indeed, but too bad they are not qualified entity to certify the safety of the car.

Think about it...

This post has been edited by jo707: Sep 17 2017, 01:12 AM
jo707
post Oct 28 2017, 09:00 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Sep 18 2017, 08:41 PM)
herm, for those interested with the repeated debate, can read here
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3615495/+680

jo707, if u wanna promote your 3M, please do it the proper way

TO other members who area reading, if you wan to know whether the comment given by a forumer is a genuine forumer or seller (possible duplicate account), check "Find member's posts", read their posts and u can tell

CERTIFICATES FOR AQUAPHOR (LGA-Germany) AND LABTEST in malaysia

For those who really spend hours reading previous thread will find a lot of my videos and postings on how i reply back to competitors queries with supporting facts and even website links, that is why people like lostandfoundlove agree i have nothing to hide, i even cut open my product to show. While many brands just boast on their products but if u cut it up, it is just a tiny carbon block or even worst just granular carbon.
Sorry to burst your bubble. I have nothing to sell here. You are accusing anyone doubting the integrity of your product as your competitor.
I have 3M at home, and Amway Espring as well. Both bought from the sellers in Lowyat. So are you saying i am selling Amway since i have it?
Sad to say none of your published test results able to show your product is safe to drink for 8000L/1 year. Just one word answer, Yes or No?

This post has been edited by jo707: Oct 28 2017, 09:46 PM
jo707
post Oct 31 2017, 11:50 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Oct 30 2017, 05:47 PM)
Lab tested with Permulalab which is a lab accredited by our local MOH, tested on drinking water quality and pass the test as shown and posted many times, i bliv u saw it

Tested and passed LGA european standards also posted the certificates and test result. U saw it as well.

TESTED in BOTH EUROPE AND MALAYSIA, IT IS SAFE TO DRINK

The way u reply and the words u use, it is more like a competitor trying to sabotage, that is why i asked members to read your previous posting and decide. Genuine customers asked politely and i reply nicely, but the way u post  is like trying to condemn my product and not asking for the sake of gaining knowledge
I urge you stop playing around with words. My question was simple and straightforward, and i have asked long before this.

Is Aquaphor Crystal ECO safe to drink for 8000L/1 year?

You chose to ignore the the critical part of 8000L/1year, and came back to me with the same old certificates. As far as i can read, none of these certificates are able to prove it has such a extreme long lifespan of 8000L.

The tests were carried out on brand new filters sent in by Aquaphor. Basically there is no lifespan determination in any part of the tests. So the filters might be good for just 1 week? 1 month? 500L? 2000L? God knows.

For others who like to know more about Aquaphor. Actually i have written an email to Aquaphor HQ enquiring on their products. Everything went silent when i posted the question on test standard employed to determine the 8000L/1 year lifespan.

Maybe zheilwane knows the product even better than the manufacturer themselves. I look forward to his enlightenment.

For readers here who are looking for 3M or Amway Espring. Sorry i can't offer you anything. At no point i try to solicit any sale here by referring to any sales person (feel free to read my previous post). There are plenty of sellers here (which in fact i think more than the actual buyers). Some are less than ethical with very misleading claims, so please open your eyes and do your research carefully.
jo707
post Nov 2 2017, 02:19 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(outpace @ Nov 1 2017, 03:25 PM)

You mean quality difference between 1st liter and 7999th liter right? Is the HQ in Russia?
Filters deteriorate with usage/time. There is a valid lifespan for all filtration products.
I don't know where their HQ located. Russia/Eastern Europe? I just emailed them directly, and their customer support manager stopped corresponding with me after i enquired on the validity of the 8000L/1 year lifespan.
jo707
post Nov 2 2017, 04:35 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Nov 2 2017, 03:34 PM)
Yes, espring have a chip and u can find lots of info on it but it does not measure the water quality. The warning to replace cartridge is based on 1 year or 5000L capacity.

So, if you wan to really monitor on the water usage, can buy a water meter. Some nowadays are so advanced, connected to home wifi and u can monitor with your phone. but cost $$$. Or just get a regular low meter less than RM 100
I beg to differ. The 1 year or 5000L capacity is based on NSF certification. Consumers know it is safe to drink, as long as it is within the lifespan. So the info provided by chip is more than sufficient.

No manufacturer can provide their end product with built-in water quality measurement. You can't shift the whole NSF lab to your home right?

When you pay thousands to buy a water filter, you don't expect the necessity to buy any additional kit. Same idea as you pay RM4K for an Iphone 8 Plus. Do you expect yourself to pay another fee for an add on kit to measure the battery level of it?

jo707
post Nov 17 2017, 11:15 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(thailover @ Nov 17 2017, 11:07 PM)
Walau eh ...

Luckily you tell me. So should I go for the 3M AP902? Because i prefer not to use the stainless steel. Scare people steal it.
aeiou228 suggested a budget POE water filter below RM600, known as Secure Backwash. I bought one as well, and it works well for me. Maybe you can take a look at it.

0.1846sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:27 AM