Fix to restore savegames for players affected by a specific issue with freighter expeditions Fix for an occasional white screen crash during loading Fix for frigates not reporting their damaged state correctly Fix for an issue that could block players in the “fuel the warp drive” stage of the tutorial Fix for repairing broken ship slots in Creative Mode Improvements to exocraft laser damage Improvements for animations while turning, jetpacking, and standing on objects Memory optimisations to improve stability Preventative fix for potential stability issue with mission handling
Good day, i've been reading reviews about the game previously & it's not that promising. So i would like to ask is it ok to get the game now since it has been updated & coincidentally it's on sale on steam. Thanks
this game has alot of history and i do not know which reviews you read. and i do not know what games you like, what you have played before in the past and your gaming tolerance. so all i can say is below.
it originally was mostly single player.
there is 2/3 different 'story-lines' to follow. but they are not actual quests to complete. and you have to read alot to appreciate the stories. if you don't like reading, or putting stories together (like a jig-saw puzzle), then essentially there is no quest and you will eventually find it boring.
there is better handholding (compared to the past patches) in terms of understanding the game and crafting mechanics. but otherwise treat it as a sandbox survival game.
if you cannot set your own goals yourself, or need alot of handholding then you will find it boring and lonely. much of this game emphasizes on self discovery.
This post has been edited by pyre: Aug 2 2018, 03:21 PM
this game has alot of history and i do not know which reviews you read. and i do not know what games you like, what you have played before in the past and your gaming tolerance. so all i can say is below.
it originally was mostly single player.
there is 2/3 different 'story-lines' to follow. but they are not actual quests to complete. and you have to read alot to appreciate the stories. if you don't like reading, or putting stories together (like a jig-saw puzzle), then essentially there is no quest and you will eventually find it boring.
there is better handholding (compared to the past patches) in terms of understanding the game and crafting mechanics. but otherwise treat it as a sandbox survival game.
if you cannot set your own goals yourself, or need alot of handholding then you will find it boring and lonely. much of this game emphasizes on self discovery.
Thanks for the reply. I play lot of adventure games except strategy. A survival game i played was subnautica & i found it's good.
From what you mentioned, there are a lot of readings with NMS & i'm not sure i could tolerate with it, i played wither 3 too & i found it's good too but much talking, guess i'm not a RPG guy.
Since it's on sale & i'm thinking to try getting it and try out, from what i've seen from youtube, everything seems nice after the updates. Just worry that i'll lost track on what i should do in the game, i lost my way back in subnautica too.
Thanks for the reply. I play lot of adventure games except strategy. A survival game i played was subnautica & i found it's good.
Since it's on sale & i'm thinking to try getting it and try out, from what i've seen from youtube, everything seems nice after the updates. Just worry that i'll lost track on what i should do in the game, i lost my way back in subnautica too.
there are options to track and remind you of what is needed to do.
and if you missing some item to craft or don't know how to craft or find a resource, u can set it to be tracked and the game will assist you as much as possible. the actual finding you have to execute yourself.
there are options to track and remind you of what is needed to do.
and if you missing some item to craft or don't know how to craft or find a resource, u can set it to be tracked and the game will assist you as much as possible. the actual finding you have to execute yourself.
Sounds exciting, will going to get & begin the exploration tonight, hope it's going to be real fun since this game has been through a lot until today & people are making a come back.
How many hours are you into the game if you don't mind me asking. =)
Sounds exciting, will going to get & begin the exploration tonight, hope it's going to be real fun since this game has been through a lot until today & people are making a come back.
How many hours are you into the game if you don't mind me asking. =)
very little. maybe 30-40 hrs only. i dun have much time to play lately.
consider it a scenic minecraft and exploration in space. and pyre's description is pretty much ON POINT. Can't think of better description of the game.
If you like subnautica, I think you will like this as well. Just that... expect quite a far bit of bugs (one or two game-breaking even) in its current state. It is an ambitious game by a studio with less than 20 people. Major props for them pulling it this far.
Look for guides on how to farm credits and stuff though (look specifically for NEXT, since this is basically a whole new game when it comes to crafting and grinding compared to previous), or else you will be grinding for 50 hours and barely make one tenth of progress/discoveries in terms of the overall content this game have to offer. i'd say 99.9 space sim lovers that quitted this game are because of the grind.
If you like subnautica, I think you will like this as well. Just that... expect quite a far bit of bugs (one or two game-breaking even) in its current state. It is an ambitious game by a studio with less than 20 people. Major props for them pulling it this far.
Since launch of NEXT they have been actively addressing game breaking bugs and I think so far they should have most fixed by now (which is about 1 week after launch). And i recall reading the latest size of HG is less than 15.
QUOTE(nders @ Aug 3 2018, 12:57 PM)
Look for guides on how to farm credits and stuff though (look specifically for NEXT, since this is basically a whole new game when it comes to crafting and grinding compared to previous), or else you will be grinding for 50 hours and barely make one tenth of progress/discoveries in terms of the overall content this game have to offer. i'd say 99.9 space sim lovers that quitted this game are because of the grind.
HG actually closed off a few duplication glitches in the last few patches, including the Cryo Pump one. I was actually occupied with other stuff so no time to play, but actually you can make alot of seed money - just need some time. The easiest is probably the Whispering Eggs - u can easily farm those to get you into your first millions.
You can also save your Nanites to invest in better scanners that give better payouts when scanning. Personally I don't think credits is a big issue so did not really go out of my way to glitch or farm much. I just play along and enjoy the game.
Another other trick (not for money generation) is also to look for damaged or abandoned ships. Repair only their launch thrusters and pulse drive. the rest of the damage parts just do not attempt to repair. fly to the nearest trade outpost or space station and just wait for another alien ship to appear, then trade your damaged ship for a brand new one. instant new ship.
here, some tips and tricks that won't make u glitch or feel guilty
This post has been edited by pyre: Aug 3 2018, 02:08 PM
Since launch of NEXT they have been actively addressing game breaking bugs and I think so far they should have most fixed by now (which is about 1 week after launch). And i recall reading the latest size of HG is less than 15. HG actually closed off a few duplication glitches in the last few patches, including the Cryo Pump one. I was actually occupied with other stuff so no time to play, but actually you can make alot of seed money - just need some time. The easiest is probably the Whispering Eggs - u can easily farm those to get you into your first millions.
You can also save your Nanites to invest in better scanners that give better payouts when scanning. Personally I don't think credits is a big issue so did not really go out of my way to glitch or farm much. I just play along and enjoy the game.
Another other trick (not for money generation) is also to look for damaged or abandoned ships. Repair only their launch thrusters and pulse drive. the rest of the damage parts just do not attempt to repair. fly to the nearest trade outpost or space station and just wait for another alien ship to appear, then trade your damaged ship for a brand new one. instant new ship.
here, some tips and tricks that won't make u glitch or feel guilty
still got a shload of bugs for me. Especially when playing with my friend. He had to start over because of quest locator going haywire (cos we join each other's lobby, and the game's MP logic messed up). and I died multiple times to falling out of my freighter when warping, even on latest patch. And some frigates when u land to repair, u instantly get thrown into space too. also while pulse driving to my freighter, the pulse drive decided to crash me into my freighter and im stuck there. lol.
but yeah I i don't mean glitches when looking for guides. Can refer to guides thats legit, like what you shared. Spend credits on the best components, farm the "right" stuff, trade nanites on the scanners etc. Lots of good guides on Youtube that's not glitches.
We are continuing to focus on safely addressing the highest priority issues reported by the community. As always, thank you for playing the game and taking the time to report any issues you encounter!
We have now released update 1.54 to PC, which includes the fixes detailed below. We’ll be rolling out these fixes to other platforms as soon as possible.
Bug fixes:
Fix for crash while reloading mission markers from save Fix for issue where invalid characters could be inserted into a save, causing it to fail to load Switched to using lockless small block allocator for physics to reduce memory footprint Fix for occasional crash when looking up data about substances in UI pages If you experience any issues, let us know by submitting a bug report.
We are continuing to address the highest priority stability issues reported by the community, as well as gameplay fixes and improvements. As always, thank you for playing the game and taking the time to report any issues you encounter!
We have now released update 1.57 to PC, which includes the fixes detailed below. We’ll be rolling out these fixes to other platforms as soon as possible.
Bug fixes:
Fixed an issue that prevented planets from being added to the Discovery timeline when exiting certain ship models Fixed an issue that prevented players from using the Pulse Engine to escape between waves of Sentinel space fighters Fixed an issue that could cause base NPC workers to become unresponsive after moving / deleting your base Substantially increased the length of time fuel lasts in the hydroponic trays Prevented an occasional crash on Xbox One X in scenes with a high node count Fixed a crash related to creatures Fixed a crash related to terrain generation Fix for an issue with PC shader compilation when the game is first booted which would occasionally result in a crash Various performance improvements Various improvements to load times (approximately 5-10% improvement to warp times, 30% improvement to initial game load) Fixed an issue that incorrectly limited the number of storage containers that could be built on the freighter Fixed an issue that could prevent construction in the freighter base Fixed an issue that could cause the ‘Nearby buildings’ scan on the signal booster to fail Fixed an issue that prevented exploration-focussed frigates from charging their scanners Fixed an issue that prevented damaged frigates from being completely repaired Fixed an issue that could cause the lobby not to display all available games on PS4 Marked icons are now automatically cleared on arrival at the marked target Fixed a number of cases where the HUD would prompt to mark icons that did not need marking Improved target locking for ship PvP Improved the appearance of HUD markers on player ships Fixed a number of visual issues around using the Analyser Visor in very specific circumstances Improved the mapping of the Steam Controller Removed an obsolete building product from the blueprint analyser Combat music now triggers when fighting biological horrors Slightly increased the damage dealt by biological horrors Fixed an issue that could cause expedition rewards to artificially increase after save/loading Fixed an issue where the Personal Forcefield could be deployed on 0% charge Fixed an issue where the Mining Beam and other weapon effects displayed the wrong colour in multiplayer Fixed an issue where the screen on the Multi-Tool would display the wrong ammo count for the Blaze Javelin Fixed an issue where the Multi-Tool was invisible in Photo Mode Fixed an issue where the Personal Forcefield would remain in-world forever when cycling Alt Weapon modes Fixed an issue where meleeing while sprinting could cause an animation glitch Improved the appearance of clouds in 4K/1440p modes Visual improvements made to some exotic biomes Visual improvements made to the space station technology merchants Increased the visibility of underground toxic hazards Visual improvements to buried technology modules