Mobile Number Portability (MNP), Switching mobile no. to other telco
UN1T3D
Apr 3 2017, 01:04 AM
QUOTE(fastreader @ Apr 3 2017, 12:55 AM) may i know how many times can I MNP with the same number? basically , i'm now on Digi postpaid and is pplanning to go to Digi prepaid to save some expenses. So i'm planning to Port to other telco, then port back to Digi Prepaid afterwards. Is this possible? anyone got any experience doing this? Thanks. 1. No limitation for number of mnp times. 2. You can directly convert your digi postpaid to digi prepaid as long as you're no longer on contract. 3. Go to a digi svc center near you and convert P2P (postpaid-to-prepaid) for free.
fastreader
Apr 3 2017, 01:23 AM
QUOTE(UN1T3D @ Apr 3 2017, 01:04 AM) 1. No limitation for number of mnp times. 2. You can directly convert your digi postpaid to digi prepaid as long as you're no longer on contract. 3. Go to a digi svc center near you and convert P2P (postpaid-to-prepaid) for free. Thanks a lot mate for the information!!!! really appreciate it!!!  u helped me a lot!!!  currently i;m on the Digi Ambassador plan...useless plan...RM28 for 1gb internet..  its only good if one moves overseas and plan to maintain the number..
UN1T3D
Apr 3 2017, 01:34 AM
QUOTE(fastreader @ Apr 3 2017, 01:23 AM) Thanks a lot mate for the information!!!! really appreciate it!!!  u helped me a lot!!!  currently i;m on the Digi Ambassador plan...useless plan...RM28 for 1gb internet..  its only good if one moves overseas and plan to maintain the number..  You're planning to go for digi prepaid for : a. long validity ? b. free streaming ? c. internet plus ?.
fastreader
Apr 3 2017, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(UN1T3D @ Apr 3 2017, 01:34 AM) You're planning to go for digi prepaid for : a. long validity ? b. free streaming ? c. internet plus ?.  their latest , internetplus...unlimited calls, 4gb internet... basically, ALL their prepaid beats my current Digi Ambassador hands down..so, any move out of Digi Ambassador is the right move..
kokjin99
Apr 3 2017, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(adiwarna @ Apr 2 2017, 11:06 PM) Need to topup, account must active, else mnp will be rejected Noted, thank you.
KidMeNot
Apr 3 2017, 05:31 PM

Sign up U mobile postpaid and change to U mobile prepaid same day,can?Must wait and change new sim?
Port out same day?Must wait?How long?
milo.dinosaur
Apr 4 2017, 09:02 AM
I'm on a Celcom supplementary line under a family member's name. How do I port this line (without affect principal line) to another telco and also change to my name?
The usual method I read here is that you change the supp. line to individual line or to a prepaid under your name, then port.
But when I asked a guy in Celcom service center, he said changing to Celcom prepaid not possible. As for changing ownership of a postpaid line, they charge RM60.
What he recommended instead (if I understand correctly) is to port the supp. line to another telco first, then change the ownership there.
For those who have experience in this (porting only Celcom supplementary line), does this sound right? Or should I do something else?
adiwarna
Apr 4 2017, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(milo.dinosaur @ Apr 4 2017, 09:02 AM) I'm on a Celcom supplementary line under a family member's name. How do I port this line (without affect principal line) to another telco and also change to my name? The usual method I read here is that you change the supp. line to individual line or to a prepaid under your name, then port. But when I asked a guy in Celcom service center, he said changing to Celcom prepaid not possible. As for changing ownership of a postpaid line, they charge RM60. What he recommended instead (if I understand correctly) is to port the supp. line to another telco first, then change the ownership there. For those who have experience in this (porting only Celcom supplementary line), does this sound right? Or should I do something else? Need to separate the supp become single then u can Port out, make sure no contract before signing the new plan No need to separate if wanna port out all numbers together
tesh94
Apr 5 2017, 08:46 PM
Eh nk Tanya, I'm now on celcom postpaid and I'll like to mnp to umi prepaid. Using this site http://www.u.com.my/mnp boleh arr? But from this i need get a sim pack prepaid and activate and then follow the steps. Does it mean my old number will be maintained?
zhinigami
Apr 9 2017, 10:53 PM
Hello, I'm using hotlink prepaid. May I know is the balance transferable if I MNP to other telco like DiGi or Xox? If cannot bring forward, how to claim back the balance left in my prepaid?
adiwarna
Apr 10 2017, 07:51 AM
QUOTE(zhinigami @ Apr 9 2017, 10:53 PM) Hello, I'm using hotlink prepaid. May I know is the balance transferable if I MNP to other telco like DiGi or Xox? If cannot bring forward, how to claim back the balance left in my prepaid? Thanks mnp is switching telco, balance will burn use till finish or share the credit to same telco before mnp
kambing007
Apr 12 2017, 08:53 AM

QUOTE(adiwarna @ Mar 23 2017, 10:14 PM) no need to separate the number bcos u wanna mnp both number yes, settle the outstanding 1st Hi sorry to ask, I am on Maxis postpaid with one supplementary line (my wife) under my name. I want to port out both lines to Digi Prepaid, there's an option online but it says "make sure no supplementary lines under your name" So what is the procedure to do? Do I need to change supplementary line 1st to principal? And need to do at Digi straight? Or need to go Maxis 1st? I'm assuming both numbers are under my name, and I don't mind if both lines are registered under my name also at Digi. So I can do on my own without my wife right? Thanks!
adiwarna
Apr 12 2017, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(kambing007 @ Apr 12 2017, 08:53 AM) Hi sorry to ask, I am on Maxis postpaid with one supplementary line (my wife) under my name. I want to port out both lines to Digi Prepaid, there's an option online but it says "make sure no supplementary lines under your name" So what is the procedure to do? Do I need to change supplementary line 1st to principal? And need to do at Digi straight? Or need to go Maxis 1st? I'm assuming both numbers are under my name, and I don't mind if both lines are registered under my name also at Digi. So I can do on my own without my wife right? Thanks! go to digi straight since u wanna switch both number
FollowMeRogerThat
Apr 14 2017, 10:10 AM

I got 5 numbers in under my name and I want to port out all numbers under this account with Maxis to maybe Umobile or Digi
However, I've got one number still under contract for a phone I've got last time for my kid.
Is it possible to port out all the other numbers while they are under same account and name?
Pls help thanks. Wanna get out of Maxis asap!
mushigen
Apr 22 2017, 09:22 PM
I want to switch from digi prepaid to hotlink. As I still have about RM70 in digi prepaid account, I will need to convert from digi prepaid to digi postpaid, and then port to Hotlink. Questions: 1. Is there any cooling period after I convert my digi prepaid to digi postpaid before I can port to Hotlink? Different shops tell me different stories.
2. Am I allowed to MNP from digi postpaid to Hotlink? No need to be digi prepaid to MNP to Hotlink right?
UN1T3D
Apr 22 2017, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(mushigen @ Apr 22 2017, 09:22 PM) I want to switch from digi prepaid to hotlink. As I still have about RM70 in digi prepaid account, I will need to convert from digi prepaid to digi postpaid, and then port to Hotlink. Questions: 1. Is there any cooling period after I convert my digi prepaid to digi postpaid before I can port to Hotlink? Different shops tell me different stories. 2. Am I allowed to MNP from digi postpaid to Hotlink? No need to be digi prepaid to MNP to Hotlink right? So much trouble for rm70 ? What's your digi prepaid plan ? Best / Easy / Smart / Live ? if Live then be creative and use up your credits ... If Easy or Smart then convert to Best 2016 and sell of your credits .... then mnp to hotlink ... if already Best then sell off your credits now and then mnp to hotlink ....
mushigen
Apr 23 2017, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(UN1T3D @ Apr 22 2017, 09:51 PM) So much trouble for rm70 ? What's your digi prepaid plan ? Best / Easy / Smart / Live ? if Live then be creative and use up your credits ... If Easy or Smart then convert to Best 2016 and sell of your credits .... then mnp to hotlink ... if already Best then sell off your credits now and then mnp to hotlink .... Thank you for the suggestion on converting to best 2016 and selling/giving away the credit. RM70 may be kacang putih to you, but it is a lot of money for me to simply throw away.
UN1T3D
Apr 23 2017, 06:47 PM
QUOTE(mushigen @ Apr 23 2017, 11:12 AM) Thank you for the suggestion on converting to best 2016 and selling/giving away the credit. RM70 may be kacang putih to you, but it is a lot of money for me to simply throw away.  Sorry ya ... what I meant to say was that converting from digi prepaid to postpaid is itself a hassle and a waste of money for a postpaid plan that you may not need since you're going to hotlink in the end ... Selling off the credits may get you ~80% of your credits for hotlink use instead.
mushigen
Apr 24 2017, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(UN1T3D @ Apr 23 2017, 06:47 PM)  Sorry ya ... what I meant to say was that converting from digi prepaid to postpaid is itself a hassle and a waste of money for a postpaid plan that you may not need since you're going to hotlink in the end ... Selling off the credits may get you ~80% of your credits for hotlink use instead.  No offence taken, bro. It is indeed a hassle to convert to postpaid and I don't know if there is any cooling period - which defeats the purpose as the cheapest postpaid Digi plan is no longer RM28. No wonder I could not see credit transfer option in this account, as it is a Digi Smart plan. I have another Digi prepaid line, so the credit can be transferred to this account. Meanwhile, I just realised I can extend the validity of this line one day at a time at RM1 to slowly finish the credit off.
acbc
Apr 24 2017, 10:40 AM
I port out from UMobile to Celcom, done under 2 days automatically.
Worse is Maxis. Need to reply to their SMS within specific timeframe. If miss, need to wait.