Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai V2
ahmadfaizadnan
Oct 26 2017, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(NoKusshon @ Oct 26 2017, 08:25 PM) Thank you for great explaination. Btw, I just ask Starpicker about Q1 MK2, she told me that, there is chances some of Android phone may not compatible with it. My phone is Nexus 6P & Xiaomi Mi A1, I'm worried now. Hmm. QUOTE(skystrike @ Oct 26 2017, 09:40 PM) i wonder if fiio q1 mk2 compatible with sony xperia xz premium... I guess the best way is to bring your source(s) and try them with Q1 mkii at starpickers. My previous mojo was not compatible with my galaxy s6. They never got the right sampling rate; everything goes to 192kHz and for some songs, it makes the quality worse. But the mojo works like a charm with my other sources (apple product especially). So, try the amp with your source and see if they are compatible or whether you like the way it sounds. This post has been edited by ahmadfaizadnan: Oct 27 2017, 04:54 AM
b3x
Oct 27 2017, 12:10 AM

QUOTE(NoKusshon @ Oct 26 2017, 08:25 PM) Thank you for great explaination. Btw, I just ask Starpicker about Q1 MK2, she told me that, there is chances some of Android phone may not compatible with it. My phone is Nexus 6P & Xiaomi Mi A1, I'm worried now. Hmm. safest is to try it before buying it. Someone seems to bump into this problem too with K1 and Q1 seems to work with Nexus 6. https://forum.xda-developers.com/nexus-6/ac...1-dacs-t3327457
hariznordin
Oct 27 2017, 03:14 PM
Hi guys, Planning to buy a portable dac/amp combo.. Budget below rm500 Fiio q1mk2 out of stock Can u guys recommend me...
b3x
Oct 27 2017, 05:01 PM

QUOTE(hariznordin @ Oct 27 2017, 03:14 PM) Hi guys, Planning to buy a portable dac/amp combo.. Budget below rm500 Fiio q1mk2 out of stock Can u guys recommend me... fiio E17k?
hariznordin
Oct 27 2017, 09:12 PM
QUOTE(b3x @ Oct 27 2017, 05:01 PM) Hard to find right? Old stock?
b3x
Oct 27 2017, 10:56 PM

QUOTE(hariznordin @ Oct 27 2017, 09:12 PM) Hard to find right? Old stock? i suppose so. not a bad option too if you can find it.
ahmadfaizadnan
Oct 28 2017, 04:11 AM
QUOTE(hariznordin @ Oct 27 2017, 03:14 PM) Hi guys, Planning to buy a portable dac/amp combo.. Budget below rm500 Fiio q1mk2 out of stock Can u guys recommend me... I guess if you can wait for the Q1 mkii to restock, that would be amazing. I used to have E17K and it is a great amp/dac but I thought Audioquest dragonfly black does it a little better.
hariznordin
Oct 28 2017, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(ahmadfaizadnan @ Oct 28 2017, 04:11 AM) I guess if you can wait for the Q1 mkii to restock, that would be amazing. I used to have E17K and it is a great amp/dac but I thought Audioquest dragonfly black does it a little better. Thx.. I'll just wait for the q1 mk2 then
crumpetss
Oct 30 2017, 04:34 PM
Hello guys, so im looking at a r2r 11 dac amp for 1.6k ringgit. i currently have a aune t1se tube dac amp which is worth 780 ringgit trade in so making the r2r 11 dac amp 820 ringgit. im pairing it with ath r70x. is it worth the swap? i am also thinking about about a hd800 down the road
ahmadfaizadnan
Oct 31 2017, 01:06 AM
QUOTE(crumpetss @ Oct 30 2017, 04:34 PM) Hello guys, so im looking at a r2r 11 dac amp for 1.6k ringgit. i currently have a aune t1se tube dac amp which is worth 780 ringgit trade in so making the r2r 11 dac amp 820 ringgit. im pairing it with ath r70x. is it worth the swap? i am also thinking about about a hd800 down the road I have a friend in Malaysia who bought the r2r 11 couple weeks ago. The unit is already burned in I supposed. He's on head fi but I am not sure if he's in lowyat forum. I own a r2r dac and I can give a few impressions but it might not be the same with r2r 11.
crumpetss
Oct 31 2017, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(ahmadfaizadnan @ Oct 31 2017, 01:06 AM) I have a friend in Malaysia who bought the r2r 11 couple weeks ago. The unit is already burned in I supposed. He's on head fi but I am not sure if he's in lowyat forum. I own a r2r dac and I can give a few impressions but it might not be the same with r2r 11. great! what do you think about the r2r dac?
Lego Warfare
Oct 31 2017, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(crumpetss @ Oct 30 2017, 04:34 PM) Hello guys, so im looking at a r2r 11 dac amp for 1.6k ringgit. i currently have a aune t1se tube dac amp which is worth 780 ringgit trade in so making the r2r 11 dac amp 820 ringgit. im pairing it with ath r70x. is it worth the swap? i am also thinking about about a hd800 down the road I have the NFB11 which is supposed to be almost similar to the R2R 11. (Same amp diff DAC). From general opinions so far, the R2R 11 is slightly smoother sounding compared to NFB11. I doubt the differences between both will be big since the amp section is the same.
crumpetss
Oct 31 2017, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Oct 31 2017, 03:26 PM) I have the NFB11 which is supposed to be almost similar to the R2R 11. (Same amp diff DAC). From general opinions so far, the R2R 11 is slightly smoother sounding compared to NFB11. I doubt the differences between both will be big since the amp section is the same. ive found online nfb11.28 is a little less harsh and more friendly than r2r 11, but less bass, can confirm?
ahmadfaizadnan
Oct 31 2017, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(crumpetss @ Oct 31 2017, 03:25 PM) great! what do you think about the r2r dac? My HOLO Spring dac is on the warmer side yet resolving. I love the micro detail it gives that able it to picks up all the small details in the music without being harsh. My previous DS dac is brighter that gives me a sense of extra power coming from it. I love the tonality of r2r dac although till now I only heard a couple (yggdrasil, gumby, holo spring dac, bimby and mimby); but, they give a similar vibe although one might be superior to other in terms of detail retrieving.
crumpetss
Nov 1 2017, 12:05 AM
QUOTE(ahmadfaizadnan @ Oct 31 2017, 09:55 PM) My HOLO Spring dac is on the warmer side yet resolving. I love the micro detail it gives that able it to picks up all the small details in the music without being harsh. My previous DS dac is brighter that gives me a sense of extra power coming from it. I love the tonality of r2r dac although till now I only heard a couple (yggdrasil, gumby, holo spring dac, bimby and mimby); but, they give a similar vibe although one might be superior to other in terms of detail retrieving.  thx for letting me know, now only need to hunt people using the amp
Lego Warfare
Nov 1 2017, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(crumpetss @ Oct 31 2017, 03:39 PM) ive found online nfb11.28 is a little less harsh and more friendly than r2r 11, but less bass, can confirm? Haven't tried the r2r 11, so can't confirm on that. But when it comes to dac/amp for your headphones, synergy plays more importance than other aspects. I'd bring your headphones to audio shops to test them with other amps in case you found something you like better.
ahmadfaizadnan
Nov 2 2017, 09:22 PM
QUOTE(crumpetss @ Nov 1 2017, 12:05 AM)  thx for letting me know, now only need to hunt people using the amp My friend use the r2r 11 for awhile now but he still prefer mojo sound over it, even after 300 hours burn in.
crumpetss
Nov 3 2017, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(ahmadfaizadnan @ Nov 2 2017, 09:22 PM) My friend use the r2r 11 for awhile now but he still prefer mojo sound over it, even after 300 hours burn in. price is a heavy concern here, r2r 11 is only 1.7k on stars picker, chord mojo is 2.7k, is it worth it
Lego Warfare
Nov 3 2017, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(crumpetss @ Nov 3 2017, 08:33 AM) price is a heavy concern here, r2r 11 is only 1.7k on stars picker, chord mojo is 2.7k, is it worth it For that price I’d rather go for ifi micro iDSD black.
kamal007
Nov 3 2017, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(crumpetss @ Nov 3 2017, 08:33 AM) price is a heavy concern here, r2r 11 is only 1.7k on stars picker, chord mojo is 2.7k, is it worth it If you dont mind second hand, the price for Mojo is about RM1.5k