66 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai V2

soonlee33
post Dec 11 2016, 05:03 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(ssyycc @ Dec 11 2016, 12:41 PM)
Driving what headphones??
If iem may be a good day is sufficient.
Ath t500
Sony mdr xb450
Sometimes feel the volume alrdy max and lack of sound refinement
E1 - AKG
post Dec 11 2016, 09:38 PM

Your personal audio store!
6,439 posts

QUOTE(neohardcore @ Dec 4 2016, 03:48 PM)
Guys,sorry to jump in..im listening lot of rock/hard rock/classic rock and some heavy metal likes iron maiden,metallica,GnR,led zepp,aerosmith. sometime also I include incubus,nirvana,oasis,RHCP and muse in my daily playlist..base on these genre,can u guys recommend me any setup for headphone and amp?my source will be from pc >> ibasso D1 DAC >> Amp >> Headphone.Perhap I can go to 3-4k max in budget including decent cable.thanks guys..
Aune X1s + X7s flex.gif
E1 - AKG
post Dec 11 2016, 09:38 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Dec 11 2016, 10:52 AM)
can anyone recommend me a good headphone amp used mostly on my iPhone
The upgraded Oppo HA-2SE bruce.gif

liquidgal
post Dec 11 2016, 11:04 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(neohardcore @ Dec 4 2016, 03:48 PM)
Guys,sorry to jump in..im listening lot of rock/hard rock/classic rock and some heavy metal likes iron maiden,metallica,GnR,led zepp,aerosmith. sometime also I include incubus,nirvana,oasis,RHCP and muse in my daily playlist..base on these genre,can u guys recommend me any setup for headphone and amp?my source will be from pc >> ibasso D1 DAC >> Amp >> Headphone.Perhap I can go to 3-4k max in budget including decent cable.thanks guys..
For your budget and preference, I will recommend you to set up a destop system. D1 can for tempolary use but I guess it will become the bottleneck if you go for the 3-4k destop amp + headphone. tongue.gif

Plan A:
Spend all your budget to get the Focal Elear first. Prbably D1 can't really release its potential but should be able to provide enough volume. So you can start saving the money again and plan to get a better DAC/amp that can drive Elear well in the future.

Plan B:
Sennheiser HD600 or HD650. So you will still left RM1500-2250 to get a decent DAC/amp.
Around this price range, you can consider:

1. Aune X1s/ T1SE + Aune X7s combo. Smoother sounding, good details and clarity. Beautiful outlook and tiny size. X7s comes with balance out too.

2. Aune X1s/ T1SE + Musical Paradise MP-301mk3. MP301 is a class A tube integrated amp for speaker and headphone. Warm, solid and punchy sound.

3. Audio-GD NFB-15. DAC with build in amp. Using ES9018 chip. Supports DSD native. Strong driving power. Solid imaging. Neutral and not much color. Slightly thick sound.
faidz85
post Dec 14 2016, 11:39 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

I am looking for something external to connect both my speaker and my headset(with mic). Closest I found so far is the Asus Xonar U7.

I just want something decent for the convenience of having all my equipments connected and just having to toggle between them for the output.

Currently using the PCIe Creative x-fi titanium HD professional from years back. It cannot use the front panel header of my case.

Thanks for the suggestions.
dlyz
post Dec 29 2016, 04:14 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

removed mega_shok.gif

This post has been edited by dlyz: Jan 8 2017, 04:22 PM
jimbet1337
post Jan 8 2017, 04:09 PM

meh
2,671 posts

Anyone got Schiit Jotunheim?
xxneverendsxx
post Jan 25 2017, 06:55 PM

79 posts

Hi all sifus, I just got a used Beyerdynamics DT880 Pro 32Ohm version & loving it! Is there any recommendation for AMP/DAC for desktop use? Mainly using it for video editing, movies & some gaming.

Budget around 600, if possible, an amp that can increase its bass slightly will be great. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by xxneverendsxx: Jan 25 2017, 06:59 PM
liquidgal
post Jan 28 2017, 04:20 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(xxneverendsxx @ Jan 25 2017, 06:55 PM)
Hi all sifus, I just got a used Beyerdynamics DT880 Pro 32Ohm version & loving it! Is there any recommendation for AMP/DAC for desktop use? Mainly using it for video editing, movies & some gaming.

Budget around 600, if possible, an amp that can increase its bass slightly will be great.  thumbup.gif
Can top up a bit and get the Aune T1se or X1s. biggrin.gif
They are more to DAC but since you are using the 32ohm version 880, it won't be a big problem.
T1 is a tube DAC, you can adjust the sound signature by tube rolling. X1se comes with more input such as coaxial and optical. Sound wise, X1s slightly smoother and T1 has tubish sounding and more sparkling treble. Both can support DSD natively
latios507
post Jan 28 2017, 08:37 PM

123 posts

Hi, I need suggestion:

I just recently entered the realm of HiFi and it's my new hobby! I'm looking for a portable DAC/AMP combo to pair up with my MSR7. I don't want anything expensive (maybe budget < 1k) because I'm planning to upgrade my headphone in the near future (either HD800 or LCD-2/LCD-3) and maybe get myself a Chord Mojo/Hugo afterwards.

I tend to listen to music/watch anime & occasionally game, but I emphasise on music/anime.

So for this first purchase, I might eventually hand it over to my brother or just keep it as a spare. I tend to travel a lot, hence I'm looking for portability.

I did some reading and found so far have only found these:

Xonar U7 - It's a soundcard but I don't know how it'll perform compared to other portable DAC/AMP. I know it'll give me a good soundstage for gaming but if other portable device can give a better sound quality at the expense of some soundstage... then so be it smile.gif

E17k - Generally good reviews & quite cheap!

nuPrime uDSD - Low review on the the web, but most of them said these are good. I'm concerned about the ability to drive high impedance headphones though (some said they have problem running headphones above 150 ohm. I tried looking for ohm specs and it only shows 32 ohm which is kinda low?)

I appreciate your time for reading this and I gladly welcome your feed backs, Thanks smile.gif
Zeuss1220
post Feb 3 2017, 02:45 PM

469 posts

Hi philes, need some generic sifu opinions.

I'm not an audiophile by any definition. But i need some advice for listening to my music in my car.

I'm driving Iriz Premium, all this while i keep albums (pirated) on my SD card and insert it into the stock in-car media unit. I'm pretty content with the sound (like I said, not an audiophile).

But recently, I've been listening to Spotify much more as it's more convenient to get more music. I tried playing Spotify on my phone and connect the AUX cable to the 3.5mm jack in the car, the sound is noticeably poor, i need to ramp the speaker volume really high to get good audibilty, but its more noisy and the rap songs are worse because the poor sounding bass overwhelms the rest of the elements.

It suspect is the poor DAC on my phone: Flash Plus 2 (~700RM, 2016, China). My friend used her iPhone SE, the sound is much better.

Even thru headphones, the audio from my phone is noticeable poor and low volume.

So what I learnt past few days is that I can use the OTG feature in Android to output songs digitally via the microUSB to an external DAC. My question is what DAC should I get just to get the same or better quality than my stock car media unit or iPhone? Do I need need an amp also? Will Rm100 - 200 second-hand equipment be sufficient for my needs?

Native USB ports for power is available in my car, and additional USB ports can be made available via the 12V legacy car charge port.

Thanks in advance

Adrian_Alastair
post Feb 9 2017, 04:57 PM

372 posts

I'm planning on getting a portable amp/DAC in the future to use along side my phone (Nexus 6P) and tablet (Microsoft surface). Fiio offers both portable amps and portable DAC/Amp combos, any other reason to choose the Amp alone besides being able to drive more power hungry headphones?

For the portable DAC/Amp we cant use both the amp and DAC at the same time?
VagueConcerns
post Feb 19 2017, 08:43 PM

888 posts

Are there any DACs that have dual line outputs? This is for speaker bi-amping. Ideally I wouldn't want to split a single lineout, I'd rather feed full voltage to the 2 amplifiers. Also naturally the dual lineouts would have to be active at the same time, rather than having to select between the two.

This post has been edited by VagueConcerns: Feb 19 2017, 08:47 PM
Enigmatic
post Feb 20 2017, 01:07 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(Zeuss1220 @ Feb 3 2017, 02:45 PM)
Hi philes, need some generic sifu opinions.

I'm not an audiophile by any definition. But i need some advice for listening to my music in my car.

I'm driving Iriz Premium, all this while i keep albums (pirated) on my SD card and insert it into the stock in-car media unit. I'm pretty content with the sound (like I said, not an audiophile).

But recently, I've been listening to Spotify much more as it's more convenient to get more music. I tried playing Spotify on my phone and connect the AUX cable to the 3.5mm jack in the car, the sound is noticeably poor, i need to ramp the speaker volume really high to get good audibilty, but its more noisy and the rap songs are worse because the poor sounding bass overwhelms the rest of the elements.

It suspect is the poor DAC on my phone: Flash Plus 2 (~700RM, 2016, China). My friend used her iPhone SE, the sound is much better.

Even thru headphones, the audio from my phone is noticeable poor and low volume.

So what I learnt past few days is that I can use the OTG feature in Android to output songs digitally via the microUSB to an external DAC. My question is what DAC should I get just to get the same or better quality than my stock car media unit or iPhone? Do I need need an amp also? Will Rm100 - 200 second-hand equipment be sufficient for my needs?

Native USB ports for power is available in my car, and additional USB  ports can be made available via the 12V legacy car charge port.

Thanks in advance
Before that - have you tried using Bluetooth connectivity from your phone to your Iriz? Last I've tried it you'd need to bump up the volume a bit but it wasn't too bad.

salimbest83
post Feb 20 2017, 04:15 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,642 posts

hi guys. need help with recommendation and possibly a seller or two here

problem is my onboard audio is dead ( after my speaker powersupply capacitor leak and overvoltage the entire system )

so i bought a cheap RM30 pcie 3d soundcard. the problem is now there hissing and crack sound coming from there..

do USB dac will help in this situation?
pls recommend me any way to fix this..
need to use pc for hearing assingment. ( need to hear lung sound etc.. these hissing noise really not helping )
E1 - AKG
post Feb 21 2017, 09:25 AM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Feb 20 2017, 04:15 PM)
hi guys. need help with recommendation and possibly a seller or two here

problem is my onboard audio is dead ( after my speaker powersupply capacitor leak and overvoltage the entire system )

so i bought a cheap RM30 pcie 3d soundcard. the problem is now there hissing and crack sound coming from there..

do USB dac will help in this situation?
pls recommend me any way to fix this..
need to use pc for hearing assingment. ( need to hear lung sound etc.. these hissing noise really not helping )
Definitely a YES. What is your budget?
salimbest83
post Feb 21 2017, 09:28 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,642 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Feb 21 2017, 09:25 AM)
Definitely a YES.  What is your budget?
the less damage possible to my wallet / bank account blush.gif
wong_86
post Feb 23 2017, 12:07 PM

DUDE
565 posts

Need advise for DAC

Currently use Asus Xonar Essence STX, wanna test different between internal sc and DAC

Device : Swan Hivi MK200III and Sony MDR-1R
Source : Epic Music , movie soundtrack , Acoustics music, Alternative rock - all from PC & Spotify
Requirement : Desktop

Budget within Rm500

This post has been edited by wong_86: Feb 23 2017, 12:11 PM
latios507
post Mar 3 2017, 03:29 PM

123 posts

I got myself a Final Audio Design Pandora Hope VI (aka. Sonorous VI).
Despite being 8 ohm, what would be a good amp for it?

I got an E17k but I'm sure I can get the best out of this can with a proper Amp. Budget around 1000 ish
emil1234
post Mar 4 2017, 04:38 PM

Stoner Acoustic is currently offer group buy of their ud125 DAC/AMP combo on lowyat, with custom casing for Malaysian only, MOQ is 100 units

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4211910

66 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:57 AM