4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

aeiou228
post Jul 24 2015, 12:44 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jul 24 2015, 09:45 AM)
if not y they linked themselves to it? well, its kinda missleading.

I don't know. There is no reason BSN need to use PIDM logo to mislead people because it will be consider a "self downgrade" if they do that. Its full government guarantee is much more superior that PIDM insurance.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jul 24 2015, 12:52 PM
aeiou228
post Jul 24 2015, 01:33 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Jul 24 2015, 01:25 PM)
a few months back, i said it doesnt make sense for govt run financial institutions to have PIDM. but then a poster replied PIDM is an insurance so it's more superior to govt guarantee smile.gif
Can you share the link of that post?
aeiou228
post Jul 24 2015, 05:55 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Jul 24 2015, 02:39 PM)
with the insurance, the govt is bounded by legal obligation whereas for br, bsn and mbsb, the govt can say no?

see

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=74532452
I'm think cherroy was not refering to full sovereign guaranteed deposit taking financial institions.
Off hand, I can only think of three names ie. BSN, SSPN and KWSP are Di Jamin penuh oleh kerajaan Malaysia. Please add to the list if you can think of any other name.

Read here for the limitation of PIDM. (Of course, better than nothing la)
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=75241935
aeiou228
post Jul 24 2015, 06:25 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 24 2015, 06:07 PM)
In recent high tea hosted by BR, they claimed FD are fully guaranteed by gomen. I have posted this not too long ago.  biggrin.gif
And what do you reckon biggrin.gif ?
Your FD receipt got stated Di Jamin or not ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jul 24 2015, 06:28 PM
aeiou228
post Jul 24 2015, 06:32 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 24 2015, 06:28 PM)
Hahaha, same as what BSN claim, you believe what u want to believe.  tongue.gif

I don't place too much emphasis on PIDM protection as the sum that I put in may exceed that limit in 1 bank. BR some more no PIDM. So PIDM to me just oh yeah, has PIDM.  biggrin.gif
BSN proudly stated in black and white there are fully jamin by gomen. Not same with BR wor.
aeiou228
post Jul 24 2015, 06:56 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 24 2015, 06:42 PM)
Just saw the edited post. If something happens, what is printed "jamin" NOT important any more. You want to take them to court ?  tongue.gif
If it is officially declared and stated in their public domain or in the receipt that your money is fully guaranteed by the government, then you have a recourse.
If nothing black and white or just by hearsay and It goes under, the FD receipt is all your have. No recourse whatsoever. Unless gomen under no obligation decide to bail your banker out.
aeiou228
post Jul 24 2015, 07:55 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 24 2015, 06:58 PM)
Well as I said, you believe what you want to believe. BR also claim that it is in B/W.  tongue.gif
Fair enough.
Do update this forum if you found the BR's B/W. Will ask TS to list it in the first page as the 4th deposit taking financial institutions with sovereign guarantee after BSN, SSPN and KWSP.
aeiou228
post Jul 25 2015, 02:39 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(koo_83 @ Jul 25 2015, 02:01 PM)
with min deposit amount 25k right?
Since the promo has ended, a better option would be RHB 12 mths quarterly step up FD at average rate of 4.20%, with flexibility to withdraw without penalty every rollover and interest payment every quarter.
From the RHB's book, the effective rate is slightly higher than 4.20% because of the payment of quarterly interest.

aeiou228
post Jul 25 2015, 05:07 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Nom-el @ Jul 25 2015, 04:24 PM)
Who knows? hmm.gif Maybe they treat it as cash. In the end, they got to charge me extra RM8.10 (RM5.98+2.12) for it. 

Btw, anyone knows how FD upliftment works in OCBC? Besides uplifting over the counter, are there any other options? Can uplift online or over the phone? Does OCBC offer eFD? If yes, does it work like Public Bank or Maybank? Meaning can uplift online or need to go to branch to do it?
So buying banker's chq no need CASA ?

As for OCBC, I received an email recently that effective 1st June, premier customers can perform fund transfer, FD placement, renewal and withdrawals over the phone. Need to do a one time sign up at your premier centre.
aeiou228
post Jul 26 2015, 08:16 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jul 26 2015, 05:00 PM)
notworthy.gif bro suka guna short form.  rclxms.gif

but why the other fellow aeiou want to place bsn dan kwsp, sspn together in page 1? we onli talk about banks fd. doh.gif
yygo, I never thought by merely ignoring a troll question from you could have inflict such emotional distress to you.
Your question in post#854 to me was absurd and foolish thus I chose to ignore you in order to avoid unnecessary exchanges in this thread but unfortunately it made you even more agitated.
If you care to read all the past FD threads, we discussed about deposit placements in KWSP, BSN, SSPN at length.

Please behave maturely and stop making an up·roar out of small petty thing like what is to be listed in page 1.
Frankly, it doesn't really matter whether it get listed or not. It's entirely up to TS and I doubt TS has time for it.

BTW, I hardly see any valuable post from you pertaining to FD discussion since you active in this thread.
Looking forward to see more meaningful and constructive post from you.

aeiou228
post Jul 27 2015, 08:18 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jul 26 2015, 09:17 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif kwsp can understand.sspn?tetapi kwsp dan sspn bukan bank.sini talk about fd. laugh.gif
QUOTE(yygo @ Jul 26 2015, 09:17 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif kwsp can understand.sspn?tetapi kwsp dan sspn bukan bank.sini talk about fd. laugh.gif
Such trivial and petty, is that what you want to argue about ?
You are spamming this thread unnecessarily with foolish reply. I didn't see any post here claiming KWSP n SSPN are banks.
This thread existed long before you joined LYN. We discussed all things about savings and deposit placement and the interest rates. Savings n Deposit placements do not confine only to commercial banks only, non bank DFIs such as BR and BSN are deposit taking FI as well. KWSP n SSPN also taking contribution and deposit that yields returns, thus it is relevant to discuss and compare. Occasionally, we also discussed FD related matters such as priority banking, CASA, fund transfer, etc as and when we touched on these issues. This thread even discussed about bank's red packets designs during CNY season.

So what is your problem actually ?

Please help keep this thread clean from unconstructive spam postings.

aeiou228
post Jul 27 2015, 10:10 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jul 27 2015, 08:58 AM)
laugh.gif i did not see much contribution from u either. icon_rolleyes.gif
Please go to /k, we don't debate in such manner in Finance, Business and Investemnt forum.
aeiou228
post Aug 1 2015, 12:01 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Aug 1 2015, 07:10 AM)
1. 5 years tenure rates good, but what if you need cash in the 4th year?
2. Priority banking gives you maybe an extra 0.05% rate, free coffee, free parking, and an annoying relationship manager
1. Still have some solutions like temporary credit facility pledged against FD if the FD placement is with the commercial banks. Splitting to several receipts with different deposit amount will also help to reduce premature withdrawal penalty.

2. One privilege that only available to PB customer is the Safe Deposit Box service. I'm sure a PB customer would have some valuables and important documents to be kept away from home. Only handful of banks in Klang valley have SDB service.
aeiou228
post Aug 1 2015, 02:28 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Aug 1 2015, 01:45 PM)
Not 100% safe but I can safely assumed that it will be more than 100% safer than keeping valiables at home.
If you have a choice, ( though in reality, you don't have much) choose a bank that occupy a standalone building. A fine example is OCBC bank in Puchong. The bank occupy the standalone building entirely, the reinforced vault is located at the upper floor, accessible only by a dedicated lift. Security guard 24/7. No way ordinary home can match this type of high security facility.

Sorry OT a bit. tongue.gif
aeiou228
post Aug 3 2015, 02:02 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Aug 3 2015, 01:31 PM)
Not really good deal. The effective rate is less than 4.2%. How do i get this?

If you put RM100,000 to BSN 4.5% pa, after 5 years you get RM122,500

However if you compound the interest for RM100,000 at 4.2% for 5 years, you get RM122,839

Banks should offer at least 5% pa for 5 years FD, imho.
I thought BSN gives half yearly interest, No ??
If compound half yearly interest, it's approx 5% total compound interest over 5 years. EIR remain at 4.5% p.a.
aeiou228
post Aug 3 2015, 02:52 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Aug 3 2015, 02:30 PM)
I dun think so. In the article it illustrates only simple 4.5% is given.

If they really give half yearly interest, it would be very good for this deal!

Anyway i really doubt if they do...banks are not stupid...
That's kind of weird though.
For shorter 15 mths FD placement, they give half yearly interest pulak.
aeiou228
post Aug 3 2015, 11:21 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 3 2015, 08:50 PM)
No lah.. Affin did not give me any gift.

The bank teller laughed when I tried to ask for it...
I placed RM 50K..

Not sure this is a right decision or not for 15 months...?? hmm.gif
I think to take UOB 5 months FD is better...

Last year April placed effective rate 3.87% with OCBC for 15 months has been the
pain on my chest for many months since last year July...  Ai  sad.gif
Put shorter term la boom, any winter melon & tohu in the market, can straight away pack up. tongue.gif
I think Affin only pay interest upon completion of 15 months for this 4.33% promo. So if you discount the half yearly compound interest, the annualize EIR should be less than 4.33%.

aeiou228
post Aug 4 2015, 10:59 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(jonathanchee315 @ Aug 4 2015, 01:30 AM)
tomorrow i am going Affin Bank to place my FD around 200k. Hope i can get the rate u given. Is there anything free gift i can request? Any term and condition i need to fulfill for that kinda interest rate? TQ
Affin 4.33% 15mths FD without half yearly interest payout is the same as 4.26% 15mths FD with half yearly interest payout.
Not sure RHB 4.21% 15m step out FD still available or not, it offers quarterly interest crediting to your CASA on every roll over and that boast up the compounded interest rate to approx 4.25% to 4.26% and the bonus from RHB FD is that you have 4 withdrawals opportunities without penalty thru out the 15 months tenure.

aeiou228
post Aug 4 2015, 11:29 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Plutoman @ Aug 4 2015, 11:23 PM)
RHB 4.21% FD not for 12 months placement? Got 15 months placement?
You are right, 12 months FD.
aeiou228
post Aug 5 2015, 12:18 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(jonathanchee315 @ Aug 4 2015, 02:36 PM)
The CASA account got term and condition apply ? Like need to deposit a certain minimum amount into the account ? Or just need to open a CASA account that's all  to eligible for the 4.21% 15 month step out FD?
Casa no TnC.
Sorry the RHD step up is 12m.

QUOTE(screwedpeep @ Aug 4 2015, 09:30 PM)
Dear Sifus,

Do you think it's wise to invest in FD not covered by PIDN especially when suddenly our economy state goes west?
It goes without saying, with pidm is better than without pidm.
Gomen guarantee > pidm > non pidm.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0244sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:12 PM