Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

bbgoat
post Oct 2 2015, 04:52 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Oct 2 2015, 02:26 PM)
I went HLB but was blocked at the entrance,
they said system down nationwide, and hongleong connect is down also.
Has anyone got insider news about this?
Yes, HL Connect was down just now. At 4.50pm it was OK already. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 2 2015, 02:33 PM)
the promo ends at end of Oct...cannot be so early reach target..i need to move my OCBC to this UOB promo at 30th Oct..finger crossed
Yesterday was thinking of putting some into UOB but thinking of the extra dinner for 10 people for the 0.06% extra that I can obtain from HL. Anyway Monday still have some fund that I can place in either UOB, OCBC or others, not sure yet. biggrin.gif

Actually fund available tomorrow from RHB 7.8% FD. drool.gif Lose out for 2 days interest ! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 2 2015, 05:04 PM
bbgoat
post Oct 2 2015, 08:02 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Oct 1 2015, 09:40 PM)
Can the STEP UP FD be withdrawn at the end of 9th or 12th month without lossing the interest, as published?
Why you wanted to ask this even with MBB step-up ? tongue.gif

I did not ask as no intention of doing so. PBB wise for their step-up, no issue. But for HL case, cannot find any detailed T & C. Seems to say refer to std banking rules. So I am not sure likely like normal FD rules if you terminate before end of step-up terms. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Oct 2 2015, 07:11 PM)
7.8% with UT?
Yes, the one that RHB was offering with ASNB. End of the 6 mths 7.8% FD. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 2 2015, 08:03 PM
bbgoat
post Oct 2 2015, 08:30 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 2 2015, 10:38 AM)
Bro, I just got back yesterday and headed straight to my watch dealer - no time to read any posts here yet to update Post #1.

It's a new month and we can expect some new FD Promos. This thread is close to 2500 post and time for a new thread. And you rightly pointed out recently that Post#1 has not been updated frequently (as I was away most of the time). And I will be flying off again next week. Therefore, I won't be starting new V.10.

I propose that cybpsych takes over this thread and start V.10 immediately as many times he was the first to highlight many of the new FD promos.

And Bro Ramjade, as for the nonsense claim, well, what you said about the GTR is true because there is not such card, hahahaha. That article Maybank 3 Cards was written for the benefit of those new to credit card and to highlight to them that they can get really good cash back from FREE FOR LIFE credit cards. So, for those new to credit cards, click here and read about the nonsense but FREE FOR LIFE Maybank 3 Cards GTR.

Anyway,for those who just bought a Rolex, or thinking of getting one - click here to my Facebook page to read what I posted yesterday night.
Welcome back High/Frequent Flyer !! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

I will be taking time to read your Facebook post about London trip etc. Have read your FD blog.

As to banker's cheque (for FD related),

For MBB, charge is free before, now is RM0.53 per banker's cheque from FD.

For PBB, charge is RM0.68 deduct from FD principal. If not RM6 !!
bbgoat
post Oct 2 2015, 08:32 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Oct 2 2015, 08:26 PM)
Checked with HLB today, if withdraw before full term, even fulfilled partial/some of the STEP UP FD period, interest will be halved sad.gif((
I think that is normal bank rules for immature withdrawal. Have never done it before. biggrin.gif

PBB, RHB step up's are OK. No issue. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 2 2015, 10:19 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 2 2015, 09:09 PM)
No experience with Ocbc
How is their customer service?
OCBC customer service should be super. 4 years ago I went in to enquire and asked for wash room. One leng lui take me inside behind their counters and allowed me to use their wash room.

But now I am their PB customer. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 2 2015, 10:50 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 2 2015, 10:24 PM)
Wat is the criteria to join as PB customer?
For OCBC, 300k AUM. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 2 2015, 11:01 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 2 2015, 10:34 PM)
hello frens you guys receive your SCB 15month/18month FD promo, 6 monthly interest on time? automatically credited into SA without the need to call SCB?

Mine 6 monthly int due on 8.10.15..
Your previous ones any issue ?

Their system not very stable. I do have problem but was resolved after complain to RM. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 2 2015, 10:53 PM)
RM300k is beyond my means
Btw, just realize u r a HNWI  notworthy.gif
There are others more worthy of HNWI than me. tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 3 2015, 08:58 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 1 2015, 07:57 AM)
In fact, Maybank offer is similar to MBSB offer @ 4.50%
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 1 2015, 08:12 AM)
I agreed to certain extent. But the profit rate of MBSB is more or less guaranteed. I said guaranteed as it is an Islamic product.

Both are NOT capital guaranteed.  tongue.gif

Have already put in some eggs in MBSB, will be adding more soon.  biggrin.gif
I took a look again at the MBSB offer of 18 mth 4.5%. I think what @wil-i-am said is correct. Both are general investment i product. Even MBSB return is not fixed as it is Islamic product.

MBB manager admitted that it is NOT a FD product. Another MBB branch said capital is guaranteed by MBB but it is NOT capital guaranteed.

Looking at the 2, MBB one is better at 12 mth and also monthly interest. biggrin.gif

Also MBB one is invested on its sister Islamic Bank so safer in a way ? MBB is a much bigger bank. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 3 2015, 09:02 AM
bbgoat
post Oct 3 2015, 12:46 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Vincent9696 @ Oct 3 2015, 10:45 AM)
MBB GIA account need go to branch to open? Is that can use maybank 2u?
I doubt if you can use M2U. This is a general investment i type of account. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 3 2015, 02:58 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 3 2015, 02:23 PM)

My first payment, needed few calls, otherwise SCB wont pay, said only pay at maturity!

i plan to call SCB monday remind them i want interest paid 6 monthly.

Other than 2 times have problem with SCB on the 6 mth interest issue, all other times are OK. I have 9 FD's with SCB which pay 6 mth interest.

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 3 2015, 02:23 PM)
that MBSB 18m 4.5% pays interest only at maturity, good meh?
better go for the MBSB Excl 5  4.7%pa, 6 monthly interest.
You know of any current promo 4.5%pa paying 6 monthly?
Now I was thinking MBB offer of 12 mth 4.5% (monthly interest) is better than MBSB 18 mth 4.5% (interest on maturity).

MBSB 5 years 4.7% is the best. But still kind of hesitating on 5 years and MBSB's entity. If they became a full fledge bank, then will have more confidence. I did put in some eggs there recently. They told me they are trying to move into the direction of a full fledge bank.
bbgoat
post Oct 3 2015, 03:32 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 3 2015, 03:13 PM)
i started with 4  on 8.10.14, 1st interest payment on 8.4.15, took interest money added 2 more FD, now got 6. expect get 14+ on 8.10.15 buy ASW

MBB got 4.5% paying monthly interest? then i may skip that MBSB Excl 5...
MBB one was discussed several page back. Similar to MBSB general investment i. No PIDM. 12 mth step up eff rate 4.5% monthly interest.
bbgoat
post Oct 3 2015, 04:09 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 3 2015, 03:48 PM)
I dun think Mbb will pay 4.50% every mth as 4.50% is the effective rate
I suppose they will follow the table schedule namely 1st 6 mths @ 4.00%, 2nd 4 mths @ 4.50% n bal 2 mths @ 6.00%
Bro, that one is for sure. The first 6 mth is 4% per month. I was trying to say eff rate is 4.5%. Pay out monthly. biggrin.gif

I did say "step-up". biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 3 2015, 04:10 PM
bbgoat
post Oct 3 2015, 05:49 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 1 2015, 07:47 PM)
Part 2:  tongue.gif

Then placed FD in HL for the 15 mth step up with eff rate of 4.26%. HL branch claimed they just received the brochure TODAY while in the brochure it said start Sept 1st !  doh.gif Weighted heavily on HL vs AmBank as the extra 0.06% is enough for a good dinner for 10.  tongue.gif

I think so far for PIDM coverage, the HL 15 mth 4.26% is the best.  rclxms.gif Monthly interest payment some more.  rclxms.gif

QUOTE(mamamia @ Oct 3 2015, 05:09 PM)
https://www.hlb.com.my/main/assets/files/tw...tion-tnc-en.pdf

Based on the HLB 15 months step up promotion tnc, only certain branches got such offer.. no wonder some forummer reported no such promotion when they check with the branch officer... I checked their HQ at Wisma HL also not in the list...
Good, you got the full T & C on this offer ! Thanks ! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

As I mentioned on Thursday, that branch that I went in said they are allowed this offer on 1/10 only ! They also said they have to apply to the HQ to have this offer for their customers. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Ha, for Penang that list only show mainly mainland side ! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 3 2015, 05:55 PM
bbgoat
post Oct 3 2015, 06:52 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 3 2015, 06:42 PM)
best part is, hlb published 3 languages for the T&Cs, but not the promo page.  blink.gif

monthly interest crediting seems nice, but a bit mahfan to open another CASA for HLB  sweat.gif furtheremore, HLB doesnt have good high-interest CASA too.
For me no issue as already have SA with them. Debit card wise was told by RM that no charges. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 4 2015, 10:11 AM

6,614 posts

Wa, this HL Money Box account has to have activity for every 6 months. shakehead.gif Opened that account and no activity for 6 months and become dormant. Have to re-activate it luckily can be done online. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 4 2015, 10:11 AM
bbgoat
post Oct 4 2015, 10:28 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Oct 4 2015, 10:24 AM)
HLB 4.26% 15m with CASA (not sure how much) requirement means the effective 4.26% is not true.

anyone wants to calculate the real effective rate incl casa requirement?
No need CASA placement, just open CASA for monthly interest deposit. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 4 2015, 10:30 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 4 2015, 10:27 AM)
casa for interest creditiing la. but just treat the interest in casa as negligible lor, so the 4.26% is for FD only.
Your reply crossed mine. tongue.gif The interest can be used for makan makan and if bigger amount go for another FD placement. tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 4 2015, 10:35 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 4 2015, 10:31 AM)
yalor, good also geh  thumbup.gif
Wanted to mention go for CX, then kena lagi. tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 4 2015, 11:48 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 4 2015, 11:42 AM)
Unker goat, Just use Ambank Truesavers 2.8%. Way higher compare to HL Moneybox of only 1.8% (1.8% if got >10k)  No need minimum. No need need to keep deposit money inside. Free IBG some more.  icon_idea.gif Even unker boom also open ambank truesavers.  laugh.gif
laugh.gif Tun/unker, I opened Money Box just to get ready for their FD promo, not for the interest for the balance money inside there. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 4 2015, 11:49 AM
bbgoat
post Oct 4 2015, 02:02 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 4 2015, 01:31 PM)
diff bank may define 'activity' differently.

I kena 2 times from pbb. casa went into dormant. but I know I got interests credited into it. to reactivate it, I must make withdrawal over-the-counter.
I kena from PBB too. Have to go to do OTC withdrawal. They said anyone can do deposit. Need to do withdrawal to re-activate the acct. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 4 2015, 01:45 PM)
Nope
If u have online banking, I wud suggest u perform 'inter bank transfer' transaction via IBFT (either outgoing or incoming) since the charges is FOC until 31/12/2015
For HL Money Box, online transfer can re-activate the acct. rclxms.gif

18 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 >Top

0.0252sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:28 AM