4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

blanket84
post Nov 16 2019, 06:11 PM

1,520 posts

Anyone know where to get good price for aircond in Shah Alam or its vicinity? I’m buying 7 units so i was hoping to get extra discount.
blanket84
post Nov 16 2019, 06:54 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(doxb @ Nov 16 2019, 06:18 PM)
Hmmm my experience is not much different. I went to a few fairs and compared with my neighbourhood shop, price diff only different by less than rm100. Same with fans. Really throw price till not much diff
If rm100 per unit less, i would save 7 x RM100. That’s a lot for someone on budget like me.

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Nov 16 2019, 06:27 PM)
D'Legend in SS2 is not bad and I got a number of things from them (although not aircons as my house comes with aircons) but I don't think the price will vary a lot as electrical appliances are very competitive. You don't need to limit to Shah Alam only as I am sure all deliver in KV.

But there is no guarantee that your savings is greater than your toll and gas money to come to PJ! 🤣
That’s why I am trying to limit shah alam & vicinity that i don’t have to travel far. But if i could get rm100 less for each unit, i could save a lot for 7 units. Just like last week i traveled to publika and save close to 1k for 3 major kitchen appliances (compare to best internet price). Worth the trip.
blanket84
post Nov 19 2019, 03:33 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(se800i @ Nov 19 2019, 09:41 AM)
buy from lazada la....
yeah ... at starting point.. The inverter will use up quite a lot of energy right? then slowly the inverter system will adjust according to your room temperature and maintain it till u off it correct?

my aircond open from 9pm to 5Am (next day) , should be OK for inverter right?
Not really confident buying 7 large appliances from lazada unless it is from official store. Still prefer physical store but with online price.
blanket84
post Nov 19 2019, 04:45 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Nov 19 2019, 04:38 PM)
Many people are buying online. Many are still skeptical. The trick is do your proper research. I agree that unless the savings are substantial buying aircond with local shop may make sense.

I bought Synology NAS and hard disks, PS4, Router, kdk ventilation fan, etc from Lazada, shopee. I don't always buy from cheapest but highly rated supplier with a number of similar units sold. Look through all the buyer feedback and comments. Then mostly you will be ok
It’s not that i doubt the seller. But i am not so confident of how logistic people handle the air-conditioner. At least physical shop will have their own people to deliver and you can complaint directly to them if there is damage to the item delivered.

And yeah i bought plenty of things online including recently my RM1,111 built in microwave oven. But buying item like aircond online is different level.
blanket84
post Jun 3 2020, 08:59 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Jun 3 2020, 02:15 PM)
How about this ? Which one should i choose?

[attachmentid=10508106]
I’m comparing the two same brand albeit different model. Mitsubishi 2+7 years warranty looks tempting. But I like panasonic design better and its advertised EER & noise level are also better.

But people says it’s easier to clean the mitsubishi indoor unit.
blanket84
post Jun 3 2020, 11:13 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 3 2020, 10:57 PM)
From experience the Mr Slim series is very quiet.
The indoor unit for Mitsu seems to be uprated (17kg) than the Pana (12kg)..in the sense that the cooling performance at indoor unit should be better because more metal laugh.gif

Noise level about the same at maximum fan both also 44db.
Any experience using panasonic? I prefer panasonic just because of the elongated design instead of the typical squarish indoor unit. Since I have no experience using both Panasonic & Mitsubishi, I very much rely on the advertised specs/info and info I gather from the internet. My current rented place I bought cheapest acson since I never plan to take the unit with me when I move out.
blanket84
post Jun 3 2020, 11:32 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 3 2020, 11:19 PM)
Not firsthand experience but my auntie ran it on 16 hours duty cycle everyday, and it was prone to dripping water every time I went there - hence I was reluctant to recommend.  bangwall.gif

My Mr Slim was installed prior to 2011 (by the previous owner of my place) and it still works well today. I think it should be a R410 unit, now latest one R32 should be just as good.
Dripping at which section? I would not fault the aircond itself for dripping because most of the time dripping happened because of poor installation or maintenance.
blanket84
post Jun 3 2020, 11:48 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 3 2020, 11:39 PM)
Dripping out of the indoor unit. Which is something really strange, maybe drain pipe clogged with algae.
Dripping indoor unit isn’t really something uncommon. Like I said, probably due to poor maintenance. The usual suspect would be algae or mold. Thorough cleaning would most likely solve the problem.
blanket84
post Jun 11 2020, 12:18 PM

1,520 posts

When you guys install aircond, do you guys specify the thickness of copper tube & insulations, the route of copper tube & drain pipes & the location of outdoor compressors? Or you guys just leave it to the installer?

And for copper piping at external wall to the compressor, does your installer put it in some kind of casing or let it bare?
blanket84
post Jun 11 2020, 04:27 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 11 2020, 02:20 PM)
It depends.. its just like for electrical cable. Some people don't know/don't care as long as it works. Some of us will spec in Mega Kabel / Caramay / Fajar cables only (better made)

Usually I will specify or provide the right piping (Inaba Denko paircoil) if own stay. They mfg 0.8mm thick pipes.

The common stuff is thinner at 0.6 0.7mm but may be susceptible to leaks years later.

Copper piping shud be insulated all (98%) of the way where possible. The insulation RM2.10 per 6 ft only...
I saw Inaba Denko pamphlet. It says that the paircoil is only recommended for exposed trunking installation, and if we want to use for conceal installation, we need to use thicker neocoil. Most of discussion about insulation thickness in the internet doesn't tell much about method of copper tubing installation. Is it safe to use paircoil for conceal installation? Any condensation issue?

Can you give some advise on below questions too..

QUOTE(Par@dox @ Jun 11 2020, 02:35 PM)
Always specify and check so that you don't run into leaks and other issues later.
What are the things you normally specify?

What is the recommended copper thickness?

What is the recommended insulation thickness for ceiling conceal?

Do aircond installer normally use PVC trunking for ceiling conceal?

Where do you normally drain the water? Make a connection to the rainwater drain pipe? extend the pipe downwards to drain?

blanket84
post Jun 15 2020, 12:09 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Jun 15 2020, 11:25 AM)
do you guys always set temperature to 16 or 20 degrees?

am i the only one who sets at 26 degrees?

is there a trick to save electricity consumption that i dont know about?
When engineers design HVAC system for commercial buildings, we aim the temperature to be at 25.5oC. So it is normal for you to set your airconditioner in the range of 24-26oC. If you need to set lower than that to be comfortable, then most likely your aircond is undersized or you have thick skin or high metabolism.

Problem with setting the temperature at 24-26oC is that the compressor keep kicking on and off which is why the capacitor always spoil in non inverter air conditioner. So if you prefer that range of temperature, better buy inverter air conditioner.
blanket84
post Jun 15 2020, 12:29 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Jun 15 2020, 12:15 PM)
I see... thanks.

Anyway i just kena rm340 for installation.

Rm300 for installation (6 feet copper wire)
Rm40 plug repair (my plug is apparently broken)

Is this normal?
Sorry. I can't help you with that. I can only answer theoretical question. biggrin.gif

I am here looking for answers for costing too.. for everything related to house renovation as I am doing budgeting for my own renovation.
blanket84
post Jun 15 2020, 05:33 PM

1,520 posts

For those buying 1.0hp air conditioner, how big is your room size?

And when you size the air conditioner, do you calculate based on heat load at night or during the day? If considering usage most likely we would only be using them at night, except for weekends and on the days I WFH, so, do you guys suggest I "undersized" or "oversize" my air conditioner.

If I oversize, that would be additional 3-400 per unit x 6 sweat.gif
blanket84
post Jun 15 2020, 10:10 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Jun 15 2020, 07:21 PM)
My teenage dotter room 12x12x10 (WxLxH) uses 1hp inverter set at 21° and she's very happy 😂
Most of my rooms are about that size except for master bedroom. I guess it should be fine for me to install 1.0hp in those room and 1.5hp in Master. Afterall, most of us only set the temperature at 25-26oC.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Jun 15 2020, 10:10 PM
blanket84
post Jun 16 2020, 12:06 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(thor74 @ Jun 16 2020, 07:10 AM)
Use this formula
Room W x L x H x 6
As an example 12 x 12 x 10 x 6 = 8640

1 hp (9000 Btu) will be OK
May I know where do you get this calculation? I want to read the reasoning behind the numbers.

I don’t want to go to the extreme and calculate the thermal envelope laugh.gif
blanket84
post Jun 16 2020, 03:14 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Jun 16 2020, 02:47 PM)
is it really necessary to use formula?

i cincai cincai put 1hp in room and 1.5hp in living room all okay so far  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Yes, if you want your air conditioner to perform as advertise. Otherwise no point buying 5 stars rated air conditioner sweat.gif
blanket84
post Jun 24 2020, 07:10 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(chsaf11 @ Jun 24 2020, 06:29 PM)
Yeah. Really sampah job. Such an eye sore. I am always worried that I would get this kind of installer. Which is why I plan to specify everything I want, including the routing, materials brand and the finishing (outdoor trunking, drain pipes routing & etc).
blanket84
post Jun 26 2020, 02:49 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Jun 26 2020, 01:02 PM)
Thanks for the info and good fact, haier is abit uncommon hence why i erase from the list. But very surprising and sketchy when they offered that lol. Was thinking if wana go sharp for all the rooms. But i just got the plasmacluster for master first. And surveyed on lazada and shopee. Seems like bang for bucks on midea and reading around like why so less ppl using midea haha but i guess I'll give it a go
Actually Haier also not bad. The current house I am renting is using Haier aircond in Master Bedroom. It has been almost 12 years since the aircond was installed ( I have stayed here for 8 years) and it gives me no problem except once that only need capacitor replacement, which is a typical breakdown for non-inverter aircond.
blanket84
post Jun 26 2020, 10:20 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Jun 26 2020, 10:17 PM)
Safe to say the make last time was quiet different. Similar to my grandparents place. Nowadays with different make and quality and more newer stuff (or gimmick) and putting it in own house haha is another thing to consider

Doubt anyone would simply go looking for 10year old AC haha. Anyway good thread. Good read and most of the time helpful lyn
I guess those manufacturer realized that making durable thing is not the right way to do business. Durable=less sales over time sweat.gif
blanket84
post Jul 1 2020, 10:44 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(epie @ Jul 1 2020, 08:44 PM)
I never bother haha
Now wanna move to new house.. So need to study
You must be kidding me.

Never service as in never do chemical cleaning or never service as in never even clean the filter?

If the former still okay..but the later.. wow sweat.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2945sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:19 AM