Wow, they have an impressive array of products... Seems like most of the GPS devices are on sale at the above-1k price range though...
GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!
Jan 13 2007, 09:25 AM
5,005 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: A galaxy far, far away... |
Wow, they have an impressive array of products... Seems like most of the GPS devices are on sale at the above-1k price range though...
Jan 13 2007, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 13 2007, 10:00 AM) Just to add..Dun think Mapking support Palm! Their website only mentioned about PPC version, PC version & Smartphone Version (V7 only)...nothing mentioned about Palm ???? Aiyo, that bad ah... Like dat, this means its more likely that my Z72s will have to be a non-GPS handheld for now! |
Jan 15 2007, 01:10 PM
That GPS Bluetooth device can work with a Zire 72 or not, just to ask? I was told that MalsingMaps are not able to run with PalmOS handhelds, btw...
Jan 15 2007, 08:10 PM
Thanks... How about the Mapopolis maps? I think those are quite suitable as they can run on PalmOS (i have downloaded these maps before)...
Anyway, i was at the IT Planet in Ikano just now and when i asked whether they sell GPS devices, the sales ppl said no... Too bad... |
Jan 15 2007, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 15 2007, 10:02 PM) Mapopolis is outdated & there is no update on this map....but I did a research just for u....u should hv done more homework urself! Thanks a lot for your help, bro... U must be very well-versed in GPS technology eh? After searching PalmX.org & link to Garmin website, I gathered that the only compartible GPSr for u is Garmin GPS 10 Read this link: Garmin GPS10 However Minimum Palm requirements = Palm OS 5 (enabled with Bluetooth wireless technology), 4 MB program memory So go look for Garmin GPS 10 (And dun confuse this wth the latest Garmin GPS10X as I dun think this latest GPSr compartible wth Palm O/S.. I guess my Z72s will be able to fit the bill... My handheld has BT and also contains FAR more than 4MB in memory! |
Jan 16 2007, 04:58 PM
Aiyo, but they still don't have PalmOS-based maps ah? I don't see those guys in the Malsing Forums talking about those maps also...
Jan 16 2007, 11:57 PM
Icic... Btw, is the Garmin GPS 10 available in the local GPS shops? And how much is it retailing for? I can't even find it on eBay worldwide, so i'd thought of checking it out on a first-hand basis at the shop... Just want to test whether the GPS10 works with my Z72s or not...
Jan 17 2007, 10:12 AM
Thanks, bro... Will u be there, btw?
Jan 17 2007, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(easirider @ Jan 15 2007, 10:27 PM) Actually Gps10x is compatible with palm; but need higher spec: Well, i checked out the GPS 10x via this link and looks like my Zire is unable to work with this one... The handheld's OS is only v5.2, despite meeting all of the other requirements (too bad!)... I think the most compatible to the Z72s is the GPS 10...Minimum Palm Requirements: Palm OS 5.4 or newer (enabled with Bluetooth wireless technology), 8 MB program memory, 128 MB storage card minimum, 2 GB storage card for full coverage see www.garmin.com/mobilephones/ for compatibility of specific devices http://www.garmin.com/products/garminmobile10/ And you can run on garmin newer mobileXT --3d navigation (something like mapking UI). But this gpsr is a lot more expensive. This post has been edited by THT United Gadgets: Jan 17 2007, 10:20 AM |
Jan 19 2007, 08:31 PM
Jan 19 2007, 11:22 PM
Wow, like dat means i have a problem... The 10x can only run with PalmOS v5.4 and above but my Zire is only at v5.2...
Jan 22 2007, 03:20 PM
What is the difference between both GPS networks, just to ask? I have heard about the Galileo network that wil lbe launched soon but how will this influence the current US network?
Jan 22 2007, 08:22 PM
Yups, at least we, the consumers, will have an alternative other than the ever-dominant US GPS... But any idea when the Galileo network will be functional?
Jan 31 2007, 01:43 AM
What is the manufacturer of this receiver, btw?
Feb 1 2007, 12:28 PM
Cool, but how much is your investment on the GPS system? From what i know, Garmin is one of the biggest manufacturers as well as the more reliable systems around ya?
Feb 3 2007, 12:47 AM
QUOTE(Vervain @ Feb 2 2007, 10:54 PM) actually i find daily commute from my work place back to home quite useful. i mean when everyone is busy getting thru the normal path, you can try to assign it to travel on other routes which are less likely to be jammed. ofcourse its not 100% fast but at least you get to know that there are alot of mice path to reach to your destination True true, thats the beauty of GPS... At least u can source around for alternatives when the regular routes are all congested... Works well in cities like Bangkok, Los Angeles, and KL with the perpetual traffic jams! |
Feb 6 2007, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(March05 @ Feb 6 2007, 11:09 PM) Hey guys, it looks like China has sneaked up and overtaken Galileo! It has already launched its 4th Beidou satellite for its own satellite navigation system covering China only. That explains everything lor... At least it should be a much more accessible and (hopefully) more affordable alternative other than the GPS and Galileo systems currently available!Word is that China plans to continue to launch as many as 30 satellites for its worldwide Compass Navigation Satellite System....... Now we know why so many new cheap GPS receiver designs are coming from China nowadays. |
Feb 7 2007, 12:49 PM
Hehehehe, sorry ya, my mistake... What i meant was the availability of cheaper (and hopefully workable) GPS devices from China, not the service itself!
Feb 27 2007, 12:26 AM
Bros, just to ask, i checked out Amazon.com and had a look at the Zire 72 (Silver) that is sold there... There is this TomTom Navigator Bluetooth available that can be paired with the Z72s actually, but unfortunately the item can only be shipped within the USA...
How is this GPS device actually? It comes with both the software as well as a BT receiver ya? |
Mar 27 2007, 03:00 PM
Wah, if got BT GPS device, then i want!
But still, most GPS devices work well with WM handhelds... Hard to get those that are compatible with PalmOS PDAs though... Other than that shop in Seremban, any shops that have those GPS devices for testing-out purposes? |
| Change to: | 0.0325sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:05 AM |