67 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!

THTgadgets.com
post Jan 15 2007, 11:46 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 15 2007, 10:02 PM)
Mapopolis is outdated & there is no update on this map....but I did a research just for u....u should hv done more homework urself! biggrin.gif

After searching PalmX.org & link to Garmin website, I gathered that the only compartible GPSr for u is Garmin GPS 10

Read this link: Garmin GPS10

However Minimum Palm requirements = Palm OS 5 (enabled with Bluetooth wireless technology), 4 MB program memory

So go look for Garmin GPS 10 (And dun confuse this wth the latest Garmin GPS10X as I dun think this latest GPSr compartible wth Palm O/S..
Thanks a lot for your help, bro... U must be very well-versed in GPS technology eh? thumbup.gif

I guess my Z72s will be able to fit the bill... My handheld has BT and also contains FAR more than 4MB in memory!
maba
post Jan 16 2007, 01:27 AM

23 posts

Running Symbian gps with garmin map?

Nokia N95 will mark a new symbian phone with built in gps, but looking at the current scenario the gps map provider is a bit slow for this region. Hopefully this will not delay the launching of this new model in Malaysia.

All the well known gps map provider with navigation and lots of places of interest links such as Tom tom and Navigon on symbian will not support this region.

Garmin Mobile for symbian looks promising, but will this software support the good free map from malsing and will it run on other gps receiver beside garmin gps 10?

Then I am still stuck with my old ipaq 4150, Holux Slim Gps and Que. Best experience of cruising gps is during balik kampung season. Malsing maps provides updated and accurate maps for all those remote areas such as Pagoh, where these helps a lot during my night driving.

stimix
post Jan 16 2007, 09:38 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(maba @ Jan 16 2007, 01:27 AM)
Running Symbian gps with garmin map?

Nokia N95 will mark a new symbian phone with built in gps, but looking at the current scenario the gps map provider is a bit slow for this region. Hopefully this will not delay the launching of this new model in Malaysia.

All the well known gps map provider with navigation and lots of places of interest links such as Tom tom and Navigon on symbian will not support this region.

Garmin Mobile for symbian looks promising, but will this software support the good free map from malsing and will it run on other gps receiver beside garmin gps 10?

Then I am still stuck with my old ipaq 4150, Holux Slim Gps and Que.  Best experience of cruising gps is during balik kampung season. Malsing maps provides updated and accurate maps for all those remote areas such as Pagoh, where these helps a lot during my night driving.
Go and visit malsingmaps.com

The free up to date Malaysia & SG maps are now supportiung symbian format! However it is not routable
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 16 2007, 04:58 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Aiyo, but they still don't have PalmOS-based maps ah? I don't see those guys in the Malsing Forums talking about those maps also...
easirider
post Jan 16 2007, 08:58 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 16 2007, 04:58 PM)
Aiyo, but they still don't have PalmOS-based maps ah? I don't see those guys in the Malsing Forums talking about those maps also...
Malsingmaps is just the "map". Malsingmap "map" can be used on garmin product ; or ppc/palm/pc running garmin que or the newer version garmin mobileXT.

This post has been edited by easirider: Jan 16 2007, 09:50 PM
TSBaronic
post Jan 16 2007, 10:29 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

now got Mapking also wat. and Mapking for palm os got mar. so use the malsing maps, mapking format lor
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 16 2007, 11:57 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Icic... Btw, is the Garmin GPS 10 available in the local GPS shops? And how much is it retailing for? I can't even find it on eBay worldwide, so i'd thought of checking it out on a first-hand basis at the shop... Just want to test whether the GPS10 works with my Z72s or not...
stimix
post Jan 17 2007, 09:01 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 16 2007, 11:57 PM)
Icic... Btw, is the Garmin GPS 10 available in the local GPS shops? And how much is it retailing for? I can't even find it on eBay worldwide, so i'd thought of checking it out on a first-hand basis at the shop... Just want to test whether the GPS10 works with my Z72s or not...
Probably GPS10 is too old liow. Its has been replaced wth GPS10x..& as mentioned by easirider its works on Palm too..but pls check the spec...U can try the KL gps shop....or probably u can join the gathering this Friday at 8PM @ Gazebo Subang Jaya S15..probably one of the GPS geeks brought their GPS10 or GPS10x....for sure one of the moderator of Malsingmaps will be there.... biggrin.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 17 2007, 10:12 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Thanks, bro... Will u be there, btw?
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 17 2007, 10:19 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(easirider @ Jan 15 2007, 10:27 PM)
Actually Gps10x is compatible with palm; but need higher spec:

Minimum Palm Requirements: Palm OS 5.4 or newer (enabled with Bluetooth wireless technology), 8 MB program memory, 128 MB storage card minimum, 2 GB storage card for full coverage see www.garmin.com/mobilephones/ for compatibility of specific devices

http://www.garmin.com/products/garminmobile10/

And you can run on garmin newer mobileXT --3d navigation (something like mapking UI). But this gpsr is a lot more expensive.
Well, i checked out the GPS 10x via this link and looks like my Zire is unable to work with this one... The handheld's OS is only v5.2, despite meeting all of the other requirements (too bad!)... I think the most compatible to the Z72s is the GPS 10...

This post has been edited by THT United Gadgets: Jan 17 2007, 10:20 AM
stimix
post Jan 17 2007, 10:23 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 17 2007, 10:12 AM)
Thanks, bro... Will u be there, btw?
No. Could not make it this Friday..hopefully the Drtamil from palmx.org will be there too to assist u...he was there during last gathering...Log-in to malsinmaps & put ur name under the "member staying around Subang Jaya" thread...

lilcool
post Jan 17 2007, 10:52 AM

46 posts

I am using h4150 and Holux bluetooth receiver. I ordered it from U.S. the bluetooth cost me about RM400+ include shipping and negligible tax as the company underdeclare the item biggrin.gif. So far both are working good.

From my experience:
1) I can tell u that gps signal is weak when you are near high rise building. I keep on losing signal when i am at the city in Singapore and also Malaysia.
2) You must know your exact destination on the gps map(not a rough road/place). Else, you might get lost even with a gps.
3) It will drain your h4150 battery very fast. Use a car charger.
4) Malsingmaps map is very detailed. biggrin.gif

TSBaronic
post Jan 17 2007, 11:00 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

how fast is very fast lilcool? wanna check bluetooth GPS battery consumption vs GPS consumption. Built in GPS PDAs run approximately 2.5-3 hours from fully charged to dead
TSBaronic
post Jan 17 2007, 11:02 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 17 2007, 10:23 AM)
No. Could not make it this Friday..hopefully the Drtamil from palmx.org will be there too to assist u...he was there during last gathering...Log-in to malsinmaps & put ur name under the "member staying around Subang Jaya" thread...
hey, i stay practically 5 mins drive from that location. what do u normally do there usually?
stimix
post Jan 17 2007, 11:14 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Jan 17 2007, 11:02 AM)
hey, i stay practically 5 mins drive from that location. what do u normally do there usually?
Normally borak-borak on the areas not cover & who to cover those unmapped areas...current unmapped areas surrounding Klang valleys are the Northern regions esp Rawang...latest info on Malsingmaps in Mapking format and etc..

Also discussed on latest gadget< Nuvi, tablet PC, GPS10X and etc (TH united might interested to know about it... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

BTW, talking about battery life using GPS...no good ...it last me only 1.5-2hr on full charge! Thus to solved this I got myself a car charger & also an extended battery (2500Mah instead of ori 1200Mah...this battery rocks..can last>5 hrs wth GPS....)

This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 17 2007, 11:15 AM
TSBaronic
post Jan 17 2007, 12:55 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

waliow, extended battery?? i went and got my self a good car charger is good enough. It charges the battery faster than i can drain it using GPS. So after driving for about 1 hour plus, my pda is fully charged haha.

ah, borak borak like that i feel out of place lol. and yea, Rawang is unmapped. Been there before, got lost, and malsing maps totally screwed me up lol.
stimix
post Jan 17 2007, 01:52 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Jan 17 2007, 12:55 PM)
ah, borak borak like that i feel out of place lol. and yea, Rawang is unmapped. Been there before, got lost, and malsing maps totally screwed me up lol.
Haha ..that is why just hope more members living there that can contribute their track-logs...rite now Rawang maps are contributed by casual visitors there... sad.gif sad.gif
Nxt time u r there should collect more tracks... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
TSBaronic
post Jan 17 2007, 01:55 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

I not going there again lar. I wanted to go Shah Alam from SUbang Jaya. Haha, dunno how i ended up in Rawang. Nightmare, driving for 4 hours straight, when i shud have taken Kesas 20 mins. Had an accident. Had to pay a local to guide me out of Rawang. Reach home at 1 am. TRIPPLE KILL!!!!
TSBaronic
post Jan 17 2007, 03:27 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

I selling my dopod p100, those GPS lovers out there.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=98&t=399264
stimix
post Jan 17 2007, 03:34 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Jan 17 2007, 03:27 PM)
I selling my dopod p100, those GPS lovers out there.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=98&t=399264
Wah u going to upgrade to higher spec -huh?...Eten Glofish? Asus P535? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

67 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:11 AM