The official WoW connection rant thread, 2k pings? Insane lag? Come in here!
kawaii74
Mar 17 2006, 03:46 PM

The thing about connections is a two-way thing.
Most of the time I get a 218.x.x.x connection, but I do use a router and set port forwarding. On other days, I do get 219.94.x.x which is OK.
My latency is from 300-400ms to 600ms max.
I think its the location and where your connection nodes are... I stay near the Telekom Tower near Mega Mall. So I'm not sure about other areas.
george1979
Mar 18 2006, 07:55 PM
minde
Mar 26 2006, 06:43 PM
now u dont go for 218.XXX anymore....try getting 218.111.XXX ip's ... has better international bandwith...and my latency at max playing garithos server is 270ms...nvr goes up unless dl things..
This post has been edited by minde: Mar 26 2006, 06:43 PM
minde
Mar 27 2006, 09:47 PM
say...even 218.111.xxx.. today oso lag...i getting 1k ping for the 1st time...omfg....fuk tMnUT
neo_sabbath
Mar 28 2006, 01:04 PM

ai...tonight is patch night for 1.10...god i hope that with the rain and wat-not.....wont further LAG the freakin game or worse still...crash the server !!! ai...
AzureSkies
Mar 29 2006, 12:29 PM

So many servers still down as of now. Wahsai, 1.10!! >_<
Maverick_Neutron
Apr 11 2006, 02:10 PM
WOW...u guys can get less than 500ms ar...now my average is 1350ms!!! How u guys do it?, I already forwarded my port, but still my connection sucks...I wonder is Guild Wars have the same problem....
Insyderz
Apr 16 2006, 08:13 PM

Hey, my friend told me tht if i put proxy ip like for Aussie...the connection ping is lower...anyone did this b4? does it work?
ArcAngelD
Apr 17 2006, 07:39 PM
Im actually retiring from the WOWusa scene... my latency... around 3k-->9k With lag like that.. instant cast are a 10minute wait...
chow_vincevince
Apr 20 2006, 02:54 PM
daytime now (rarely) 550...and usually 650-880. Night time always 950-1100 around. Still playeable but very painful.
dazzywazzy
May 6 2006, 01:09 AM
anyonehas probs with playing wow tonight?
i keep getting no response from the server after a coupel of minutes playing.. i can move my char.. but nothing responds to me.. after waiting 5 minutes i get dced
it happens every single time.. any idea? maybe cuz i just changed toa new router? aztech dsl600er
tape23
May 6 2006, 03:17 AM
guys...how do u set the proxy..or ip stuff? my average latency now is like 1300-2000ms which sucks...and most of all...WHEN i raid MC, i get this fukin huge lag...which when i heall...it goes like stuck and then dc...wtf is going on.. if someone can help ...i would really much appreciate it...coz i dont want to get kick again during guild raid times..
intothefantasy
May 11 2006, 11:26 AM
which port is wow using?
kawaii74
May 11 2006, 01:51 PM

intothefantasy, http://www.blizzard.com/support/wow/?id=aww0790p for Port Forwarding Info. tape23, if you use a router, everytime you connect, you will get a login IP. 218.xxx.xxx.xxx are the best for connection. 219.94.xxx.xxx is fairly ok too. Note: Connection speeds are dependant on which are you are residing in.
intothefantasy
May 12 2006, 04:09 AM
i think...only 218 can really play wow better....this morning i get 218 and i am very happy and decide not to dc for 1 month = =....but for some reason my stupid pc auto restart and i have to suffer with 219 again with 1k ping...as for 218 i get 200ping only
Souledout
May 24 2006, 09:46 AM
both 218 and 60 lag for me. 800 ms pings. why is tmnet so inefficient, fark.
Souledout
May 24 2006, 10:25 AM
EDIT: Need to rephrase it.
This post has been edited by Souledout: May 24 2006, 12:27 PM
badtooth
May 24 2006, 12:14 PM
Dude , tmnet just announced on their website that they were having international link distruptions. I have like 1.9k pings with my 218.111 ip now ..
Anyways they said that it will be fixed by the 25th .. so i'm waiting for another day, if the problem still presists, i will sign the petition. But, seriously, other days the connection for me was real good on the 218.111 ip ... 300ms pings ftw.
Souledout
May 24 2006, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(badtooth @ May 24 2006, 12:14 PM) Dude , tmnet just announced on their website that they were having international link distruptions. I have like 1.9k pings with my 218.111 ip now .. Anyways they said that it will be fixed by the 25th .. so i'm waiting for another day, if the problem still presists, i will sign the petition. But, seriously, other days the connection for me was real good on the 218.111 ip ... 300ms pings ftw. actually, the connection is good now, around 300 - 400, i agree. i should edit the petition, saying that the connection is not consistent, sometimes it's good, and sometimes its not.
kawaii74
May 25 2006, 06:34 PM

Connection issues always a major headache... because it HAS so many problems.
1. ISP (TMNet, Streamyx) - Yeah, inconsistent connections, like 218.xxx, 219, etc. - International links, maintenance, blah blah. - THE BAD: we are using copper cables... not fibre-optic!
2. Home-User - How are your cables wired? Next to the phone line/port? 5-20 metres away? - The longer your cable to your comp and more bends... the worst the latency. - Is your LAN card working on par? - Is your router/modem good? is it always on 24 hours? are the connections in order... any faulty ports or cables? - If you're using wireless, is there an interupting frequency? Yes it happens. Sometimes my wireless connections goes to low because there's another wireless user and it affects mine and so does obstructions.
3. Server Side - Is WoW server up and running fine? Especially when lots of ppl are logging in the same time and patching.
To sum some of the problems faced, when some of my friends ask me to help em... I always get a headache explaining it.
This post has been edited by kawaii74: May 25 2006, 06:35 PM