Appreciate your sharing...
Business Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA)
Sep 2 2015, 12:11 AM
1,573 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Did any count, how many hours have you spend to study for CFA level 1 till u passed the exam? And like expert to run thru the 5 books content as well...
Appreciate your sharing... |
Sep 2 2015, 07:32 AM
170 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(Kjk014 @ Aug 31 2015, 10:01 PM) Does anybody here obtain their degree in other course that is seems unrelated to finance, econs, acc and at the same time taking CFA ? eg : degree in IT, psychology etc depends on how you define finance field. Investment Banking? Account? Financial Reporting? Corporate Finance? my 2nd question is, how to get job in finance field even tho u r not majoring in finance, acc, econs etc without CFA? actually non of them require CFA. CFA just to prove that you have the knowledge of financial analyst. |
Sep 2 2015, 07:34 AM
170 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Sep 2 2015, 10:09 AM
1,573 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Sep 2 2015, 08:15 PM
845 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(Kjk014 @ Aug 31 2015, 10:01 PM) Does anybody here obtain their degree in other course that is seems unrelated to finance, econs, acc and at the same time taking CFA ? eg : degree in IT, psychology etc 1) there are people who doesnt have finance/acc/econs related degree, yet they are studying CFA though. In level 2 some more. my 2nd question is, how to get job in finance field even tho u r not majoring in finance, acc, econs etc without CFA? 2) to be precise, u just need a good cv/resume/cover letter to get an interview. the rest is up to ur interview skills liao. and they willing to call anyone for an interview if ur resume/cv/cover letter are good to catch their eye. QUOTE(OldKidz @ Sep 2 2015, 12:11 AM) Did any count, how many hours have you spend to study for CFA level 1 till u passed the exam? And like expert to run thru the 5 books content as well... hmmm. didnt really count.. lets see, i m a finance grad, for my level 1, average 1 hour per day during weekdays cause got work, 4-5 hours during weekend/public holidays. 70% consistent with the timing i mentioned cause sometime just too lazy and want to rest. Appreciate your sharing... then took 1 week off before exam. thats all lor... what i have achieved was, managed to read all text books, but barely manage to finish up the schweser notes ( abit kiasu sorry, june exam, start from nov. This post has been edited by siew14: Sep 2 2015, 11:22 PM |
Sep 2 2015, 09:54 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
95 posts Joined: Dec 2014 |
QUOTE(siew14 @ Sep 2 2015, 08:15 PM) 1) there are people who doesnt have finance/acc/econs related degree, yet they still can get into CFA related job though. I knew some of them. thanks for ur reply.. now I feel like I want to take class for CFA, previously Im a bit worried, and asking myself is that possible to learn accounting n finance since I have zero knowledge on that.. and wondering if there is anyone taking CFA without related degree for finance job.. I have no problem in learning Calc n math related sbject since Im quite profound in Math. Just the accounting and finance seems to bother me n makes me feel insecure...2) to be precise, u just need a good cv/resume/cover letter to get an interview. the rest is up to ur interview skills liao. and they willing to call anyone for an interview if ur resume/cv/cover letter are good to catch their eye. hmmm. didnt really count.. lets see, i m a finance grad, for my level 1, average 1 hour per day during weekdays cause got work, 4-5 hours during weekend/public holidays. 70% consistent with the timing i mentioned cause sometime just too lazy and want to rest. then took 1 week off before exam. thats all lor... what i have achieved was, managed to read all text books, but barely manage to finish up the schweser notes ( abit kiasu sorry, june exam, start from nov. |
Sep 2 2015, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(Kjk014 @ Sep 2 2015, 09:54 PM) thanks for ur reply.. now I feel like I want to take class for CFA, previously Im a bit worried, and asking myself is that possible to learn accounting n finance since I have zero knowledge on that.. and wondering if there is anyone taking CFA without related degree for finance job.. I have no problem in learning Calc n math related sbject since Im quite profound in Math. Just the accounting and finance seems to bother me n makes me feel insecure... sorry, i misinterpret your question 1, too tired la.. anyway, yes, seen people without finance/acc/econs related background is taking cfa too. the content in level 1 is pretty much similar to degree, a little bit in dept only. it is tailored for anyone who doesnt anything about fin/acc. certainly, those finance acc grad can progress faster in terms of studying. Besides, if you do have interest in investing, you will pick up things fast as well, cause all the stuff you learn from cfa level 1 is applicable to your investing skill. |
Sep 2 2015, 11:55 PM
95 posts Joined: Dec 2014 |
QUOTE(siew14 @ Sep 2 2015, 11:28 PM) sorry, i misinterpret your question 1, too tired la.. anyway, yes, seen people without finance/acc/econs related background is taking cfa too. I just realized the president of board directors CFA Malaysia is an Electrical Engineering degree holder.... Not even related to finance the content in level 1 is pretty much similar to degree, a little bit in dept only. it is tailored for anyone who doesnt anything about fin/acc. certainly, those finance acc grad can progress faster in terms of studying. Besides, if you do have interest in investing, you will pick up things fast as well, cause all the stuff you learn from cfa level 1 is applicable to your investing skill. But he has MBA ... Thank you. You really answer me |
Sep 5 2015, 04:42 PM
4 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Johor |
Selling off my CFA Level 1 and Level 2 text books. Level 2 complete with notes and mock exams. PM me if anyone is interested
Sep 6 2015, 08:06 PM
520 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
Sep 8 2015, 05:49 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
32 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
hi guys, currently i am studying degree in finance (year 2 last sem)
i am keen to take cfa in the future, and i am aware that in order to start cfa level 1, i should be at least in the final year of my degree, so i think now is the best time for me to start survey and study about cfa. there are few questions i would like to know from you all 1) i wish to enroll into a cfa tuition programs, may i know which 1 do you guys would suggest and why? ps: my location is at kl 2) does all the study material same? because i would like to buy a second hand set to study first. hope to hear from you all soon thanks and cheers |
Sep 9 2015, 09:57 PM
2 posts Joined: Sep 2015 |
The predecessor of CFA Institute, the Financial Analysts Federation (FAF), was established in 1947 as a service organization for investment professionals. The earliest CFA charterholders were "grandfathered" in through work experience only. Then, the series of three exams was established along with requirements to being a practitioner for several years to qualify to take the exams. In 1990, in the hopes of boosting the credential's public profile, the CFA Institute (formerly the Association for Investment Management and Research) merged with the FAF and the Institute of Chartered Financial Analysts (ICFA). The CFA program began in the United States but has become increasingly international with many people becoming charterholders across Europe, Asia and Australia. By 2003 fewer than half the candidates in the CFA program were based in the United States and Canada, with most of the other candidates based in Asia or Europe. The number of charterholders in India and China had increased by 25% and 53%, respectively, from 2005 to 2006.[12]
Sep 9 2015, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(jrean1451 @ Sep 8 2015, 05:49 PM) hi guys, currently i am studying degree in finance (year 2 last sem) 1) save the money dont go for tuition since you are still undergrad. tuition fees is like 2k-5k. thats like one of the course fee for your university, and thye conduct the classes during weekend.i am keen to take cfa in the future, and i am aware that in order to start cfa level 1, i should be at least in the final year of my degree, so i think now is the best time for me to start survey and study about cfa. there are few questions i would like to know from you all 1) i wish to enroll into a cfa tuition programs, may i know which 1 do you guys would suggest and why? ps: my location is at kl 2) does all the study material same? because i would like to buy a second hand set to study first. hope to hear from you all soon thanks and cheers 2) they change their syllabus every year... not drastically change , but yea.. no point buying second hand to start study. |
Sep 21 2015, 10:11 PM
27 posts Joined: Sep 2011 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Anyone selling their CFA level 1 materials? pls pm me. Thanks.
Oct 12 2015, 08:39 PM
11 posts Joined: Oct 2015 |
May I know which study material is recommended for all the three levels? Currently I have a soft copy of Wiley Study Guide for Level I CFA Exam - Complete Set. Is it sufficient to pass with it?
Oct 13 2015, 08:42 AM
1 posts Joined: Oct 2015 |
Hi all. Thank you for sharing all the info in comments. I just graduated as an engineer, working full time now but I have great interest in finance and investment long ago so i decided follow my interest and go for CFA in June 2016. It's now or never haha. Just some quick questions from me, hope someone could provide me some ideas:
1) Is 2015 CFA syllabus applicable for 2016 examination? 2) Is there any community/platform where candidates can exchange ideas or preparation progress where I could benchmark my own progress? Perhaps a fb group =)? 3)I am planning to take up schwener notes and it's questions bank for self study. But it's not cheap. Any better alternative? Appreciate any reply from you guys! |
Oct 14 2015, 08:17 PM
69 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(darqiouz @ Oct 12 2015, 08:39 PM) May I know which study material is recommended for all the three levels? Currently I have a soft copy of Wiley Study Guide for Level I CFA Exam - Complete Set. Is it sufficient to pass with it? It depends on your level of competency (grasp) of certain topic area. Personally, I like the Wiley guide because its straight to the point and easier to digest. But I also went through the curriculum text before diving into Wiley as I am the one that needs to revisit what I had read consistently. SO, I believe its sufficient to pass with Wiley only if you practice hard on CFA Mock exams and end of chapter question in the text book. |
Oct 14 2015, 08:22 PM
69 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(yuanwei92 @ Oct 13 2015, 08:42 AM) Hi all. Thank you for sharing all the info in comments. I just graduated as an engineer, working full time now but I have great interest in finance and investment long ago so i decided follow my interest and go for CFA in June 2016. It's now or never haha. Just some quick questions from me, hope someone could provide me some ideas: Hope I can help you out a lil bit.1) Is 2015 CFA syllabus applicable for 2016 examination? 2) Is there any community/platform where candidates can exchange ideas or preparation progress where I could benchmark my own progress? Perhaps a fb group =)? 3)I am planning to take up schwener notes and it's questions bank for self study. But it's not cheap. Any better alternative? Appreciate any reply from you guys! 1) I believe you should check the CFA website for syllabus change else just head on to reddit CFA 2) You can join the CFA LinkedIn group, there are people from all over the world using Whatssapp group chat (personally I haven joined one...yet) 3)Can't really help you here....you might need to be extra resourceful in searching from websites. (I use curriculum but have to start real early to prepare) |
Oct 14 2015, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(darqiouz @ Oct 12 2015, 08:39 PM) May I know which study material is recommended for all the three levels? Currently I have a soft copy of Wiley Study Guide for Level I CFA Exam - Complete Set. Is it sufficient to pass with it? use google and look for schweser. suggest the curriculum +schweser together. QUOTE(yuanwei92 @ Oct 13 2015, 08:42 AM) Hi all. Thank you for sharing all the info in comments. I just graduated as an engineer, working full time now but I have great interest in finance and investment long ago so i decided follow my interest and go for CFA in June 2016. It's now or never haha. Just some quick questions from me, hope someone could provide me some ideas: 1) usually no. syllabus will change every year, especially level 1 and 2. just register for the damn exam instead of looking at the old the syllabus. 1) Is 2015 CFA syllabus applicable for 2016 examination? 2) Is there any community/platform where candidates can exchange ideas or preparation progress where I could benchmark my own progress? Perhaps a fb group =)? 3)I am planning to take up schwener notes and it's questions bank for self study. But it's not cheap. Any better alternative? Appreciate any reply from you guys! 2) i seen faceboook group before, need to search... or linkedin, there are few whatsapp group if you follow the cfa institutte. 3) use google, 2016 schweser should be releasing around jan 2016. |
Oct 14 2015, 09:38 PM
11 posts Joined: Oct 2015 |
QUOTE(siew14 @ Oct 14 2015, 09:11 PM) use google and look for schweser. suggest the curriculum +schweser together. May I know how drastic the changes in the syllabus will be?1) usually no. syllabus will change every year, especially level 1 and 2. just register for the damn exam instead of looking at the old the syllabus. 2) i seen faceboook group before, need to search... or linkedin, there are few whatsapp group if you follow the cfa institutte. 3) use google, 2016 schweser should be releasing around jan 2016. |
| Change to: | 0.0269sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:25 PM |