5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Business Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA)

siew14
post Nov 7 2011, 01:52 PM

845 posts

does anyone know where to buy the ti ba plus calculator???
i checked MPH, but they dont sell the calculator liao.. =(

This post has been edited by siew14: Nov 7 2011, 01:52 PM
siew14
post Nov 7 2011, 05:24 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(gooni3 @ Nov 7 2011, 02:54 PM)
go to kasturi and buy it =p
u serious?? lol.. how much they charge to non katsuri student?? =S
siew14
post Nov 7 2011, 09:06 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(fino_abama @ Nov 7 2011, 05:51 PM)
Which mph did u go to? Try the one at midvalley. If nt, kinokuniya at klcc has it.

Why do you look like you're in a rush? Dec exam kah?  smile.gif
i went to mid valley one.. but dont have... klcc huh?? hmmm.... thanks!

uh nope.. june 2012! haha.. wana start get use the calculator first... hehe.. =D
siew14
post Nov 8 2011, 09:28 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Nov 8 2011, 12:14 PM)
You are preparing to fail the coming December exam if you still don't have the prescribed calculator by now laugh.gif .
haha.. i registered for june 2012 bro.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(kinwing @ Nov 8 2011, 12:20 PM)
I dont think Kasturi college will sell financial calculators to outsiders, and they did not sell Kaplan books to outsiders last time.
noted...

btw guys, does becoming a credit analyst will count towards the experience required to become a chartholder???
siew14
post Nov 9 2011, 08:14 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(fino_abama @ Nov 8 2011, 10:04 PM)
Choose the one that applies to your case:

1) credit analyst that analyzes fixed income securities/bonds - YES

2) credit analyst that analyzes and approves loans in retail/commercial banks - NO
QUOTE(kinwing @ Nov 9 2011, 10:22 AM)
Work experience required by the CFA Institute

When you apply for CFA membership, you enter your work experience descriptions as part of your application.

Your work experience determines your eligibility for membership and impacts whether you are recommended for affiliate membership or regular membership.
To be recommended for regular membership you must have completed four years (48 months) of qualifying work experience in activities that consist to a majority extent of:

Evaluating or applying financial, economic, and/or statistical data as part of the investment decision-making process involving securities or similar investments, which includes, but is not limited to, publicly traded and privately placed stocks, bonds, and mortgages and their derivatives; commodity-based derivatives and mutual funds; and other investment assets, such as real estate and commodities, if these other investment assets are held as part of a diversified, securities-oriented investment portfolio; or

Supervising, directly or indirectly, persons who practice such activities; or

Teaching such activities. 

If you have not accrued 48 months of qualifying work experience, you may still apply for membership and will be considered for affiliate membership status.
Entering your work experience as part of your application:

Job titles are not sufficient; you must include specific details about your job responsibilities.

Once you submit your application, you cannot subsequently update the work experience attached to that application.

Subsequent changes to your work experience will only be considered when you withdraw your application and then reapply with the updated information. To withdraw your application: Select "Manage My Membership" from the Account Home page and then select "Begin Withdrawal."
Work experience accrual criteria:

May be accrued while you're in the CFA Program, after you've passed all three exam levels, or in previous positions.

At least 50 percent of your work experience must be: Directly involved in the investment decision-making process
Engaged in responsibilities and/or producing a work product that informs or adds value to that process

Part-time positions do not qualify.

Managing your own investments does not qualify.
noted... thanks heaps....

Added on November 9, 2011, 8:24 pmoh and i called the Statworks, TI distributor in malaysia.... we can buy from them... i ma go buy on fri.. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by siew14: Nov 9 2011, 08:24 PM
siew14
post Nov 22 2011, 03:25 PM

845 posts

how is everyone doing??? i just finish book 1... exam on jun... xD
abit slow liao....

siew14
post Nov 28 2011, 07:54 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(gooni3 @ Nov 24 2011, 11:04 PM)
siew u're not slow

some of my classmates havent even gotten their text books
knight, have u passed level 1? if u havent, then better think of passing level 1 first
oh wow....

QUOTE(Disciple @ Nov 27 2011, 07:09 PM)
i enrolled in sept and its end of nov now, 3 months and im still at quantitative methods, do i still have a fighting chance? i  read word by word from the text book, thats why it took so long..do i still have time? but only after 2 months i realized that its not gonna workout if i read word by word..

how long did it take to study for you guys? like 5 months?
i think 3 months = 1 text book is consider slow la.. i 5 weeks 1 textbook also think abit slow liao... cause got 6 book, if average 1 month = 1 textbook, by the time u finish reading, should have 1 month time to revise leh... xD (the ideal is to finish all textbook 2 months before exam )... bro, u need to fight harder!! flex.gif

i also struggling right now....

siew14
post Nov 30 2011, 11:25 PM

845 posts

-solved-

This post has been edited by siew14: Dec 1 2011, 07:37 AM
siew14
post Dec 1 2011, 07:42 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(fino_abama @ Nov 30 2011, 11:26 PM)
Usually exam will follow the mock exam from the CFA Institute
hi bro,
actually, does cfa lv1 exams is as easy as the one in the textbook question??? xD
is the question straightforward enough???

QUOTE(gooni3 @ Nov 30 2011, 11:31 PM)
siew, i think right, u said u were very slow.. but i think u're the fastest on the forum here so far rofl.. can't answer ur question yet.

btw, how are stalla's question different from the cfa books questions?

is it harder or easier
xD ... sample size in cfa thread is insufficient large to say i m fast... lulz...

siew14
post Dec 18 2011, 11:33 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Dec 18 2011, 09:17 AM)
What make you think you can achieve above average result in CFA exams if you are not doing well in your degree?

OK, my advice to you is that if you really need to sit for Level I next year June instead of December, you have another 6 months to study from now. If you are working, you have to study 2 to 3 hours work everyday after work, assuming your work does not require you to work OT. And then on Saturday and Sunday (assuming you do not work on Satuday), you have to stay home to study another 8 to 10 hours and thus you do not really have leisure time to go shopping or meeting friends during these 6 months.

Since you have mentioned you only achieved below average in degree, I believe you have to put more effort to above average result for Level I. Studying the CFA program need a huge commitment, and if you cannot take it, better postpone or just don't waste your money and time.
totally agreee... especially you ar working.. it is hard to squeeze out time to study... the best time to study is during weekends, which is u need to sacrifrice ur social life...

siew14
post Apr 16 2012, 10:47 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(fino_abama @ Apr 4 2012, 08:55 PM)
Schweser?

You can do it if you work hard enough. ;-)
hi fino,

2 weeks ago, i finish read all 6 textbook, read doesnt include memorizing, just understand the concept and tried the textbook questions...

as of today, i only revised textbook 5: equity & bonds only (quite slack for the past 2 weeks), then today i just switched to Schweser notes...

Also, I realized that the notes is quite short , direct and didnt pin point some of part in textbook, so i m wondering, should i fully concentrate on the notes , and totally ignore the textbook????

QUOTE(gooni3 @ Apr 4 2012, 11:53 PM)
try lor.. work hard got la.. but smart enough for it not sure lah.. =p

cuz.. it's like no time ler.. work reach home adi 7 plus.. dinner shower 9.. 11ish need sleep cuz 6.30 wake up.. left bout 2 hours per day.. then weekends lor.. >.>

someore i read demmmmm slow one.. better read the notes.. cuz the books i find that alot of "stories"
same as you.... not enough time to study during weekdays, and quite slack during weekend.. die. =(

now i m peeing my pants right now.. cant recall the stuff that i read, must start memorizing... sigh..

btw, i m a lv1 candidate for june 2012.
wink.gif
siew14
post Apr 17 2012, 07:00 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(fino_abama @ Apr 16 2012, 11:11 PM)

Fino,

Thanks for your advice.. appreciate it.

At this rate, i guess i will just ignore the textbook and memorize the whole notes + lots of practice!!!

siew14
post May 17 2012, 05:58 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(aaron1kee @ Apr 27 2012, 12:01 PM)
I've a question.

In interest rate parity, a domestic currency will depreciate relative to the foreign currency when the domestic interest rate is higher.

But in macroeconomics terms, a currency will actually appreciate when it raises its interest rate.

Can anyone help me to explain this contradiction? Thanks.
that is a really good question....

maybe IRP is refering to the short term interest rate whereas macroeconomic is refering to the long term interest rate ( policy rate ) gua....

thats why got difference.. xD

siew14
post Jun 3 2012, 08:42 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(gooni3 @ Jun 3 2012, 06:13 PM)
it's done.. finally
nice!!

how to u find the papers??? afternoon sessio paper is harder IMO, not sure it is whether i had wore out during the morning sessions..

overall, paper is not that hard than i thought.. xD
siew14
post Jun 4 2012, 02:57 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(Danielyo @ Jun 4 2012, 02:55 AM)
should i go for acca or cfa after graduating my degree??for me,im more interested in investment stuff than accounting.
if you are really into investment and wana be equity analyst or fixed income analyst, and you should purse CFA.

CFA doesn't guaranty can secure an analyst job , but increase your chances to go for an interview and more knowledge regarding the investment field.

QUOTE(Eve90 @ Jun 4 2012, 02:42 PM)
You're level 1 right?
I also find the afternoon session harder. Don't know whether is it because I'm tired after lunch  sweat.gif
yeap.. level 1...

This post has been edited by siew14: Jun 4 2012, 03:01 PM
siew14
post Jun 7 2012, 09:47 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(fino_abama @ Jun 6 2012, 08:26 AM)
Now all we can do is wait ;-)
i dislike waiting.. .=.=

every 2 days, i go read analystforum and google cfa passing rate.... it make me worried... zzzz

accidentally saw my senior's old comments in fb, he got band 10... (top scorer and smart student) , make me more worryyyy

haih...

siew14
post Jun 14 2012, 08:28 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(glengoh @ Jun 12 2012, 11:46 AM)
Is cfa exam 2013 open for registration? I couldnt complete the final step of registration sad.gif
it should open by now, try check the website and see...
siew14
post Jun 20 2012, 05:24 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(Dolphee @ Jun 15 2012, 10:24 AM)
Normally when do the results come out?
just recieved an email....

result will be release on 24th July after 9am EDT..

which is tues morning 2am if i m not wrong..

Sigh....zzzz

Added on June 20, 2012, 5:33 pmsorry.. wed morning.. and this month is june... crap.. lolz!!

This post has been edited by siew14: Jun 20 2012, 05:33 PM
siew14
post Jul 21 2012, 01:45 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(asil66 @ Jul 18 2012, 02:52 PM)
Anybody wanna sell their texas instrument BA II Plus calculator? Anyone know where can I buy this calculator?
i bought mine at sek14...

STATWORKS (M) SDN BHD
3 Two Square, Suite A 28 06
No 2 Jalan 19/1
46300 Petaling Jaya, Selangor DE
Malaysia
Tel: 603 7955 5288
Fax: 603 7955 5388
Email: sales@statwks.com
Email: mahes@statwks.com
Web: www.statwks.com

check them out...

Added on July 21, 2012, 2:09 pmand guys, result will delivered to your email after 24 th July 9AM EDT, means malaysia time, 24th july after 9pm???
can anyone double confirm ??? wink.gif

i m so nervous right now ... sad.gif

This post has been edited by siew14: Jul 21 2012, 02:09 PM
siew14
post Jul 24 2012, 09:09 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(Eve90 @ Jul 24 2012, 09:05 PM)
9 something already still have not receive results sad.gif

Fingers crossed. Good luck everyone
should recieve it within an hour???? i think...

anyway, good luck guys...

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0400sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:48 AM