87 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Bottom

Business Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA)

kinwing
post Apr 2 2013, 11:02 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(Emery @ Apr 1 2013, 04:33 PM)
Hey guys, I'm actually contemplating in taking CFA. Would like to clarify this as I've done some research and it says that in order to get the CFA title you'll have to have 4 years of working experience.

Would like to ask is it similar to CPA as in where in terms of CPA, have 3 years work exp in auditing/accounting field or just in general 4 years in any line of work? Since CFA is 4 years, I'm assuming we must have 4 years of work exp in the financial field in order to achieve the CFA title?

This is because I'm actually getting contradicting information where some people have told me that it could be in any line of work, and some say it must be in the financial line.

Thanks in advance, cheers! smile.gif
Why not go check out the CFA Institute's website instead of listening to hearsay? If you continue to follow hearsay, I doubt you are capable to take on the CFA Program.

Here is the reference

"Enroll & Register
1. Meet the entrance requirements:
•Have a bachelor's (or equivalent) degree ◦ or be in the final year of your bachelor's degree program at the time of registration*
◦or have four years of professional work experience (does not have to be investment related)
◦or have a combination of professional work and college experience that totals at least four years. Part-time positions do not qualify, and the four-year total must be accrued prior to enrollment. "
http://www.cfainstitute.org/programs/cfapr...ages/index.aspx

"Become a CFA Charterholder
To earn a CFA charter, you must:
•Have four years of qualified investment work experience,
•Become a member of CFA Institute, "
http://www.cfainstitute.org/programs/cfapr...ages/index.aspx

"Work Experience Guidelines
http://www.cfainstitute.org/about/membersh...ence.aspx"

Those who told you "it could be in any line of work" is only applicable when you are registering to be the candidate of the CFA Program, not to be the CFA Charter. And to become a CFA charter, having 4 years of working experience in financial line is not sufficient, you need to further prove that your 4-year financial experience is related to investment decision making.
kinwing
post Apr 2 2013, 11:08 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(saab900 @ Apr 2 2013, 05:49 PM)
The 4yrs experience is very strict, pls be careful when considering the jobs you want to apply. my last submission was failed despite being research analyst in stock broking firm. CFA institute wants something very concrete experience and you must be in the process of investment decision.
I just got the CFA Charter. My experience is 2 years in corporate finance, 1 year in corporate advisory, 8 months in financial modelling, 6 months in equty research and 3 years in IT business consultant. With that more than 50% of my work experience qualified in "Directly involved in the investment decision-making process" and "Engaged in responsibilities and/or producing a work product that informs or adds value to that process".

So for your case, I think you still can try to appeal to prove that out of your 4-year experience which was 50% directly involved in the investment decision-making (i.e. 2 years).

This post has been edited by kinwing: Apr 2 2013, 11:09 PM
reeve-826
post Apr 6 2013, 04:51 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(siew14 @ Mar 31 2013, 05:56 PM)
that is early awesome.. 2 months before exam...
rclxms.gif

gambateh!
need to pick up abit  like fino... already in revision mode liao...  tongue.gif

gambeteh!
6 copies... they will ship it you for USD20 , under UPS i think...
of course orignal version.... forget about the softcopy.... caues u will most likely get the schweser notes in soft copy... lol...
Do you recommend me take both hardcopy and softcopy or only harcopy? biggrin.gif
siew14
post Apr 6 2013, 06:35 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(reeve-826 @ Apr 6 2013, 04:51 PM)
Do you recommend me take both hardcopy and softcopy or only harcopy?  biggrin.gif
depends what kind of person are u? prefer to read a hard copy book or prefer reading article in pc?

pick which ever version can make you focus and study.... tongue.gif
reeve-826
post Apr 6 2013, 08:44 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(siew14 @ Apr 6 2013, 06:35 PM)
depends what kind of person are u? prefer to read a hard copy book or prefer reading article in pc?

pick which ever version can make you focus and study....  tongue.gif
Both softcopy and original copy are the same study sources?

Any different between softcpoy and original copy?

Currently, im gonna complete in my degree. I'm still consider to take or not to take CFA. Any recommendation? tongue.gif blush.gif tongue.gif blush.gif

This post has been edited by reeve-826: Apr 6 2013, 09:11 PM
siew14
post Apr 6 2013, 10:42 PM

845 posts

the difference is just, one is printed version, the other one is softcopy ...everything is the same...

have you read all over 60 pages of this CFA thread? it helps... also, try search cfa/equity research/investment banking in job careeer section, will give you a rough idea wat u wana be, and does CFA is the paper i wana pursue.. smile.gif
aaron1kee
post Apr 11 2013, 02:16 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(reeve-826 @ Apr 6 2013, 08:44 PM)
Both softcopy and original copy are the same study sources?

Any different between softcpoy and original copy?

Currently, im gonna complete in my degree. I'm still consider to take or not to take CFA. Any recommendation?  tongue.gif blush.gif  tongue.gif  blush.gif
I chose both. Mainly to read it on my iPad and do exercise on the hardcopy.
reeve-826
post Apr 14 2013, 03:24 PM

334 posts

Currently, im a degree student, I wish to start revision before registration. Anyone mind share their CFA softcopy to me =D
Tiffany Yang
post Apr 15 2013, 04:36 PM

I am new in this forum smile.gif

Plan to take CFA L1 in Kasturi College.

Looking for any potential classmate that is going to Kasturi as well.

Need some companion to fight the war together.

Kasturi just release their timetable. PM me if you want to have a look at it.

Need some advice? Is that possible to score more than 70% in each subject in L1 paper as I plan to get back the rebate offer by Kasturi tongue.gif

fino_abama
post Apr 15 2013, 04:53 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(Tiffany Yang @ Apr 15 2013, 04:36 PM)

I am new in this forum smile.gif

Plan to take CFA L1 in Kasturi College.

Looking for any potential classmate that is going to Kasturi as well.

Need some companion to fight the war together.

Kasturi just release their timetable. PM me if you want to have a look at it.

Need some advice? Is that possible to score more than 70% in each subject in L1 paper as I plan to get back the rebate offer by Kasturi tongue.gif
Yes, it's possible to get more than 70% for each subject (Source: Done that myself).

Been quite a while since I heard from students from Kasturi in this forum. Lol
mthiessenrox
post Apr 29 2013, 05:01 PM

13 posts

Hi all, I'm taking the Dec 2013 L1 exam smile.gif Gonna buy calculator soon; In lowyat it's RM168 for Texas Instruments BAII plus. Is it a good price?? Anywhere else selling?

Also, anyone have any idea on the Schweser online study packages? They include video instruction in there too. Was wondering if anyone knows how's the teaching compared to the teaching in the centres around KL.
fino_abama
post Apr 29 2013, 05:10 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(mthiessenrox @ Apr 29 2013, 05:01 PM)
Hi all, I'm taking the Dec 2013 L1 exam smile.gif Gonna buy calculator soon; In lowyat it's RM168 for Texas Instruments BAII plus. Is it a good price?? Anywhere else selling?

Also, anyone have any idea on the Schweser online study packages? They include video instruction in there too. Was wondering if anyone knows how's the teaching compared to the teaching in the centres around KL.
The price is reasonable. For the centers in KL (i.e. Kasturi, Noesis & Sunway), you can check out the reviews in this thread. Never tried Schweser videos before so can't tell. You doing December exam?
mthiessenrox
post Apr 29 2013, 05:13 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(fino_abama @ Apr 29 2013, 05:10 PM)
The price is reasonable. For the centers in KL (i.e. Kasturi, Noesis & Sunway), you can check out the reviews in this thread. Never tried Schweser videos before so can't tell. You doing December exam?
Ok thanks smile.gif Yup December exam. I heard for L1 it's not good to do December exam?? Cos of timing issues with L2 and L3 or something like that. Is this true?
fino_abama
post Apr 29 2013, 07:31 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(mthiessenrox @ Apr 29 2013, 05:13 PM)
Ok thanks smile.gif Yup December exam. I heard for L1 it's not good to do December exam?? Cos of timing issues with L2 and L3 or something like that. Is this true?
If you do the December exam, you'll only get your results at the end of January, leaving you to only start studying for Level II in February (that's about 4 months). But it can be done, have seen lots doing that.
mthiessenrox
post Apr 30 2013, 12:09 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(fino_abama @ Apr 29 2013, 07:31 PM)
If you do the December exam, you'll only get your results at the end of January, leaving you to only start studying for Level II in February (that's about 4 months). But it can be done, have seen lots doing that.
Oh ok. The reason I registered for the December exam was that I was pass the first deadline for the June 2013 exam (there are three deadlines, first deadline was in Sept 2012 I think), so I would have to pay more. If I will receive my results next January, does that mean I'll have to pay extra for the June 2014 L2 exam since I'm registering quite late for it?? Or are there no 1st, 2nd, or 3rd deadlines for L2 onwards?
fino_abama
post Apr 30 2013, 12:33 AM

520 posts

QUOTE(mthiessenrox @ Apr 30 2013, 12:09 AM)
Oh ok. The reason I registered for the December exam was that I was pass the first deadline for the June 2013 exam (there are three deadlines, first deadline was in Sept 2012 I think), so I would have to pay more. If I will receive my results next January, does that mean I'll have to pay extra for the June 2014 L2 exam since I'm registering quite late for it?? Or are there no 1st, 2nd, or 3rd deadlines for L2 onwards?
You'll miss the 1st deadline at that time.
siew14
post May 10 2013, 08:06 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(mthiessenrox @ Apr 29 2013, 05:01 PM)

In lowyat means lowyat forum, garage sales or lowyat complex or wat? lol. Hope RM168 is not second hand.. hahaha...
you can try go sek 14 there to buy. here is the address

3 Two Square, Suite A-28-06, No 2 Jalan 19/1, 46300 Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia. company name is statworks

kinda sucks that i couldnt find any job in stockbroking/asset management industry with cfa lvl1 (not even an interview for associate position and local boutique as well)

current job is too bored, and i m looking forward for july to register lv2... thats my aim for now.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by siew14: May 10 2013, 08:09 AM
T3N5AI
post May 12 2013, 07:09 PM

172 posts

Potential CFA level 1 candidate here.
Engineer without any relevant finance experience or knowledge taking CFA examinations.

As the exams are in early December, thus I'm down to 5.5 months of material studying and 1 month of revision before the final date.

What i want to know is that is there an effective and cheap way to actually nail this exam? Coz currently i'm kinda lost in my syllabus and reluctant to go for classes as they costs a bomb, which is something i cannot afford.

Please someone help me out. Anyone with similar experiences?
atlantiz0
post May 12 2013, 07:44 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(T3N5AI @ May 12 2013, 07:09 PM)
Engineer without any relevant finance experience or knowledge taking CFA examinations.

As the exams are in early December, thus I'm down to 5.5 months of material studying and 1 month of revision before the final date.

What i want to know is that is there an effective and cheap way to actually nail this exam? Coz currently i'm kinda lost in my syllabus and reluctant to go for classes as they costs a bomb, which is something i cannot afford.

You probably should start now given you do not have any prior knowledge. I think the difficult part about CFA is the breath of the materials covered.

There are video lectures prepared by kaplan schweser which I think is kinda comprehensive. Watch those video lectures, then study the notes. I think the part that made all the differences to me was the question bank - It's a software by kaplan whereby you can take topic by topic practice questions on your PC and each questions are supplied with detailed answer explanations. You will know where to find these materials whistling.gif

I don't find reading the textbook useful. In fact, there are so many non-critical information stuffed in the book I find hard to understand anything from the book.

fino_abama
post May 12 2013, 11:48 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(T3N5AI @ May 12 2013, 07:09 PM)

If you have no previous knowledge on finance, I would recommend that you read through the textbooks at least once.

87 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:56 AM