Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

mIssfROGY
post Feb 29 2008, 09:51 PM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(zzoom18 @ Feb 29 2008, 09:22 AM)
Dear all...
Im confuse to work in Singapore or Malaysia.
I got 2 offer - Let say
Singapore offer me SGD 4K in .NET (contract)
Malaysia offer me RM 3k in SAP (permanent+2 month bonus min)

I have total of 2 years exp in .NET and 0 experience in SAP
Should i work in Malaysia to gain experience in SAP or Try .NEt job in SG?

I believe with SAP experience can easily get up to 4-5K SGD.
What should i do now?
With 3 years & above of sap exp u get around 4-5k sgd in singapore...but u get around RM10k++ if u work in malaysia...With SAP experience, malaysia companies pays far higher (even after exchange rates conversion)....thats y many really good and experienced sap fellas stays in malaysia becoz singapore cannot afford to pay them. But this of coz does not paint the whole picture, there are exceptions. Freshies saps however will earn more in singapore. If i am u, i ll stay in malaysia and do up sap ler.

This post has been edited by mIssfROGY: Feb 29 2008, 09:55 PM
mIssfROGY
post Apr 21 2008, 04:00 PM

2,155 posts

u cannot buy sg flats in sg..u can only go for private condos which cost above sgd500k the last time i checked, that also the condo is quite far from mrt.. Only if 2 married PRs or Singaporeans can buy their flats...not sure if not married but related like mom and son or bro and sis and etc can mo.

This post has been edited by mIssfROGY: Apr 21 2008, 04:01 PM
mIssfROGY
post May 1 2008, 12:44 AM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(Dyong @ Apr 30 2008, 05:21 PM)
athlic , what field of work is your friend in?

Nothing is easy these days.
Especially in foreign land, you're without home-ground advantage .

You have to be better than good.
Focus and Specialise, then you will be paid premium.
Yes definately...very easy if u specialize in something they wan icon_rolleyes.gif They will be desperate for u, trust me.
mIssfROGY
post Jun 25 2008, 02:04 AM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(bbmars @ Jun 23 2008, 11:48 PM)
I am not her to boost about Oliva Lum's case and her scholarship from SG.  However, she was featured in SG documentary, her life and success all the way to CEO of Hyflux.  I can't remember much as it was shown on TV several years ago.  However, one thing for sure, about her SG Scholarship,  Upon graduation, she was already being employed by SG Gov as it was a requirement for all scholarship holder regardless of nationality.  She worked her way up the laddle.  That had been the way SG scholarship requirement, nothing's free.  And those days it was a big thing to get a scholarship let alone for a non Singaporean. 

Along with that series of documentary, also features people from other countries doing good and well in SG, all being singled out as outstanding individuals as example, not necessary being a Singaporean, but even foriegners can do good too in their adopted land.
Many msians are doing really good in sg. SIngapore top doctors, mostly are msians. 70% of doctors in Mount Elizabeth Hospital SG are msians. IF not mistaken, the doctor who founded BOTOX was a singaporean (who was a msian). basically if u r good, SG recognize u, no matter where u come from. ALL i can say is...malaysia really lost many good people. hmm.gif these people could have generated tonnes of money for malaysia instead of others.... shakehead.gif
mIssfROGY
post Jun 25 2008, 10:05 PM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(ubsacc2004 @ Jun 25 2008, 07:37 AM)
wat is BOTOX ? hm but u must compare our govt rules with SG lah.
why compare rules?? for wat??

Boox ah....do google it
mIssfROGY
post Jun 27 2008, 07:08 PM

2,155 posts

wow i say its harder to get a job in sg coz u r looking at International Competition there where else in msia?? Errr errr...btw, the good ones dont stay in msia ler. If the good ones stay in msia, the average dun stand a chance. (sorry dont mean to say the ones staying back here not good....of coz there are good ones but less oredi coz oredi cabut elsewer like sg, i hope u get wat i mean) And the rich ones in msia.....well ya most rich in msia are biznes people....and i do agree that there are more biznes opportunity here in msia compare to sg becoz of its population. (that also depends nowdays..most rich business are "grab" away liaoz loo)

This post has been edited by mIssfROGY: Jun 27 2008, 07:09 PM
mIssfROGY
post Jun 28 2008, 09:01 PM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Jun 28 2008, 11:48 AM)
You are suppose right but you forget one thing. Who those who earn less than 20k per year does not eligible for tax. So your example does not require to pay tax
Does not apply to non-resident. If not mistaken, even if u earn less tha 20k perannum, u still have to pay 15% tax. Those who are in SG less than 183days are considered non-residents. So still have to pay 15% regardless how much u earn. How i know..coz kena be4.
mIssfROGY
post Jun 28 2008, 10:39 PM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(plplpl @ Jun 28 2008, 10:32 PM)
no...if u earn less than 20k...u don have to pay tax...i think min income is 20k to get taxed....

sg goverment will even give u a msg "Thank you for your nation building"
Thats for residents woh. Non-resident still kena..coz i earn less than 20k and becoz i worked less than 183day, i kena taxed 15%. (12k to be exact) Unless u work less than 2 mths, then u wont be taxed. But if u work more than 2 mths and less than 183days, then u ll kena.

Did they recently changed the rule?

just checked in the http://www.iras.gov.sg, and this is what i have got;

If You are Here for 61 Days to 182 Days in a Year
You will be regarded as a non-resident. The number of days in Singapore include weekends and public holidays.

As a non-resident:

You will only be taxed on all income earned in Singapore.
You will not be entitled to tax reliefs.
Your employment income will be taxed at a flat rate of 15% or the progressive resident rates depending on which results in a higher tax.

This post has been edited by mIssfROGY: Jun 28 2008, 11:15 PM
mIssfROGY
post Jun 29 2008, 12:39 AM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Jun 29 2008, 12:16 AM)
@mIssfROGY

So Miss Froggy, let say i stay in S'pore for a month and worked for 9 days then quit and wait for new Job offer.

Let say, starting from monday (30/6/08 onwards) till end of December + 9 days i had work previously do i entitle for 15% tax?

or can I add the period i stay at S'pore starting from 1month + 30/6/09~31/12/08?
i am not sure..but i think can add kua. If u add to more than 183days in a year i think u r taxed the resident rates. Not sure about this scenario, better ask sg incometax.
mIssfROGY
post Jun 29 2008, 03:44 PM

2,155 posts

Open bank account i tot u just need company letter oredi no need to pay deposit? DUnnola...last time i open no need deposit woh...just gib bank my company letter. I think i just open with SGD20.
mIssfROGY
post Jul 15 2008, 02:02 PM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(topxcard @ Jul 14 2008, 03:27 PM)
hi
i always have a dream that i can work  abroad. can you tell me how can i get a job there?
now i am in china. and there is no problem in English, and i specialize in interenational trade.

waiting for your reply
mail: wuqianyiyun@gmail.com
msn: wuqianyiyun@hotmail.com
Sorry peepz i dont work there anymore and i dun recruit anymore since a year ago. biggrin.gif GOod Luck.
mIssfROGY
post Jul 16 2008, 04:53 PM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(spammenotspam @ Jul 15 2008, 05:38 PM)
erm... need to get touch on any recruiter? BI related jobs wanted...please PM me for details.. thx thx
r u the recruiter or finding for BI jobs??

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0208sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:55 PM