QUOTE(Matrix @ May 16 2015, 04:56 PM)
that's what your wife said after seeing me too. lol.on a serious note, i dont support this rohingya peeps coming into malaysia. we have enough PATI problems as it is.
Why Hannah Yeoh so pro-Rohingya?, Has family relation with Rohingya?
May 18 2015, 11:12 AM
2,200 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: OKR KL |
May 18 2015, 11:14 AM
649 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(joe_mamak @ May 18 2015, 11:05 AM) You know about all the various exercises/attempts to reduce the number of illegals in Malaysia over the years? Yet, there are still so many of them here. Not just Rohingyas but illegals from other countries. Better to smuggle in than to let them in via boat? I think that's all there is to say about the whole situation... Smuggle, no publicity, can give them what you need them to do... Come in by boat, refuge status, game over? Oh and there is also Sabah. Our borders are rather porous, I guess. They get smuggled in by all these human traffickers, which resulted in Malaysia being downgraded by the US in their annual Trafficking in Persons report. Yet Najib gets to play golf with Obama..... More things to read - http://www.unhcr.org/pages/49e4884c6.html So what if Najib plays golf with Obama? Many "unconvincing" characters had also played golf with Obama, as well as other US Presidents... |
May 18 2015, 11:14 AM
363 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(anonymous4privacy @ May 18 2015, 11:05 AM) u f**king piece of shit excuse of a human, He is trolling. Can report if you like. If you say you want to investigate, investigate properly, u f**ktard! The issue/crisis that rohingya is facing is abandanment and exile not Hannah's husaband. Dont give a shit who the husband is, black white yellow green or f**king alien. what the f**k does that gotta do with what rohingya facing. HKC! MCB, suddenly open thread to f**king ask f**ked up question. I should be asking "WHAT THE F**K is the ADMIN of LOWYAT" doing to F**tard like this. |
May 18 2015, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(Flaming_lion @ May 18 2015, 11:14 AM) Better to smuggle in than to let them in via boat? I think that's all there is to say about the whole situation... Smuggle, no publicity, can give them what you need them to do... Come in by boat, refuge status, game over? I think since that discovery of a mass grave in Thailand, the traffickers have abandoned them. So what if Najib plays golf with Obama? Many "unconvincing" characters had also played golf with Obama, as well as other US Presidents... They were supposed to be smuggled in via boat. But now they are left to their own devices. No, no big deal about Najib playing golf with Obama. But some people did make it out to be a big deal. |
May 18 2015, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(neoexcaliber @ May 18 2015, 10:57 AM) I don't see a way out for Myanmar too. Even if they did grant the Rohingya's wish for autonomy, they will face the Rohingyas' imminent militaristic expansion within the next few decades. I don't think the Rohingyas have the ability to self-govern and considering their ballooning population, it's only a matter of time till even Bangladesh is dragged in. No easy and quick solutions. But the clock is ticking for some of them on boats...Plus, this isn't a good precedent to set. Illegal immigrants grabbing your land because of human rights doesn't sound fun if you imagine the Filipino migrants in Sabah demanding autonomy. |
May 18 2015, 11:20 AM
9,692 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Mongrel Isle |
May 18 2015, 11:22 AM
649 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(joe_mamak @ May 18 2015, 11:17 AM) I think since that discovery of a mass grave in Thailand, the traffickers have abandoned them. The methods of smuggling hardly changes... Entry points will change though... They were supposed to be smuggled in via boat. But now they are left to their own devices. No, no big deal about Najib playing golf with Obama. But some people did make it out to be a big deal. Of course... US is considered a "devil"... LOL... They forget lucifer is in their own backyards... |
May 18 2015, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(ALeUNe @ May 18 2015, 11:20 AM) Provided the boats don't sink. Still want to talk about Bangladesh. Here, go read - http://refugeesinternational.org/content/b...urma-bangladesh Borders already closed.... |
May 18 2015, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(joe_mamak @ May 18 2015, 11:25 AM) Provided the boats don't sink. Find their ways to walk back to Bangladesh lah, like how they sailed from Bangladesh to the South. Still want to talk about Bangladesh. Here, go read - http://refugeesinternational.org/content/b...urma-bangladesh Borders already closed.... Deswai I said they should walk back 70 years ago. |
May 18 2015, 11:32 AM
May 18 2015, 11:35 AM
256 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
So all the supporters, think which area is the best place to take in the refugee? Langkawi? Penang? Kedah? or Perak? or maybe a remote island off the coast?
Frankly I think Malaysia government will let them come ashore soon. Especially UN has already call up nearby nations to take action. It just needs time to plan out and figure out a way to isolate them. The biggest headache is what is the next step after sheltering them because Myanmar and Bangladesh both do not want them back. |
May 18 2015, 11:36 AM
May 18 2015, 11:38 AM
4,631 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
QUOTE(tabletman @ May 18 2015, 11:35 AM) So all the supporters, think which area is the best place to take in the refugee? Langkawi? Penang? Kedah? or Perak? or maybe a remote island off the coast? lock them up in the supporters house Frankly I think Malaysia government will let them come ashore soon. Especially UN has already call up nearby nations to take action. It just needs time to plan out and figure out a way to isolate them. The biggest headache is what is the next step after sheltering them because Myanmar and Bangladesh both do not want them back. |
May 18 2015, 11:38 AM
May 18 2015, 11:40 AM
http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...scue-rohingyas/
M’sia has a legal obligation to rescue Rohingyas May 18, 2015 The Responsibility to Protect law dictates that no country should return refugees to places where they are persecuted or subjected to danger COMMENT By Charles Santiago Over the last few days, we have tried to appeal to Prime Minister Najib Razak’s humane side and his conscience, to rescue the thousands of Rohingya refugees who are adrift at sea. This approach seems to have failed. Therefore, we are now forced to look at the international laws that Malaysia has flouted by pushing the refugee boats back. There is a legal obligation, under the international maritime law, to rescue people in distress at sea if the rescuing country does not put itself in imminent danger by doing so. Malaysia has however craftily translated distress to mean sinking boats and drowning people, before it jumps in to offer aid. At least ten refugees have died and news reports say they were forced to drink their urine to keep alive. It cannot get any worse than this, with the exception of dead bodies reaching our shores. We have made our way into the United Nations Security Council. This is good news but it also means that there are provisions and rules that we need to adhere to. Malaysia’s UN Security Council role, compels it to uphold the Responsibility to Protect (RtoP) through Resolution 1674 (Para 139). Asean can no longer hang on to the belief of non-interference, not when there is a clear and present danger to humanity. According to these rules, it is mandatory that we accept all Rohingya refugees and not just the ones who are facing imminent death at sea, as this is mandatory under the international law of non-refoulement. This law dictates that no country should return refugees to places where they are persecuted or subjected to danger. The minority Rohingya continue to face state-sponsored violence in Myanmar. They are also subjected to various discriminatory laws, which restrict their movement, ability to work or own assets. If this is not enough, they were recently banned from having more than two children. We have seen heartbreaking pictures of women and children, cramped in boats and left to drift aimlessly at sea. Malaysia has a duty and obligation to rescue these women and children as it has ratified the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW) and also the Child Rights Convention (CRC). Our very own law, the Anti-Trafficking in Persons makes it compulsory that as soon as someone is identified as the victim of trafficking, Malaysian authorities must present them before a magistrate within 14 days and secure an interim protection order. Then the trafficked victim must be placed in a government shelter. It does not take a genius to figure out that all the people on the boats were victims of trafficking, abandoned at sea by the traffickers. It is sad that we need to leverage upon existing legislation to compel a government to act with conscience. But just as the Rohingya Muslims are left with no choice but to flee, we are left with no choice but to get Malaysia to act by the book now, to save the lives of thousands of Rohingya refugees. Charles Santiago is the Member of Parliament of Klang With a firm belief in freedom of expression and without prejudice, FMT tries its best to share reliable content from third parties. Such articles are strictly the writer’s personal opinion. FMT does not necessarily endorse the views or opinions given by any third party content provider. |
May 18 2015, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(joe_mamak @ May 18 2015, 11:38 AM) Why you want to go around while you can tell Rohingya straight in the face "walk back to Bangladesh"? Let them find their ways back to Bangladesh. They have the balls sail South, they have the balls waging wars, they have no balls to walk back to Bangladesh? |
May 18 2015, 11:52 AM
2,209 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
May 18 2015, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(ALeUNe @ May 18 2015, 11:44 AM) Why you want to go around while you can tell Rohingya straight in the face "walk back to Bangladesh"? You can go charter a boat out there and tell them that. Let them find their ways back to Bangladesh. They have the balls sail South, they have the balls waging wars, they have no balls to walk back to Bangladesh? |
May 18 2015, 11:55 AM
| Bump Topic Add ReplyOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0214sec
5 queries