Dec 20 2015, 12:28 AM
809 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(hidz7 @ Dec 19 2015, 11:58 AM) Hi all taikos and sifus, There are part time tutor/trainer jobs available in the market if you have the right qualifications and attitude just in case the contract not renewed.It's good to see a lot of discussions here in this forum. I still remember my last post here asking whether to jump ship from construction industry (permanent post) to O&G (contract post), and finally I did. However, currently I am in dilemma, I am fairly new to this industry, about 2 years of experiences and on contract basis. My contract has been renewed in April this year without salary revision, reason is that industry is in very bad situation (also the reason why I am not absorbed into permanent position although my bosses had recommended my name to the HR). And since it is just 1 year extension, it is more or less about 3 months plus until the expiry of my current contract. I have discussed with my boss and he cannot guarantee that I will be absorbed into permanent position at current situation, or getting any salary revision next year (if HR approves to extend my contract for another year). Fyi, my year end appraisal has been quite well, and I think I have progressed quite significantly in my current job. But, the insecurity is always there, and I am really really afraid as I just married early this year and also blessed with a beautiful baby just a month ago. To shorten the story, I was offered another job, in another industry, as a permanent staff, slightly higher pay (current 3.5k, they offer 3.9k) but NOT as an engineer. So I am dilemma, should I pursue my dream to become a professional engineer in O&G industry, or change course for job security? If I was a single man, this would be much easier decision to make, but now, having a wife and a baby, permanent position at a new company seems to be a better choice, at least in current O&G situation. I couldn't imagine if somehow my company (local fabricator) decided to not renew my contract. Currently, I am the breadwinner for the family. Hope to get advice from all sifus here. Thank you. Do not dream but ACT. This post has been edited by ch_teo: Dec 20 2015, 12:29 AM |
Dec 20 2015, 12:31 AM
707 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(beetch @ Dec 19 2015, 09:27 PM) Trust me, in OnG, when ppl say will absorb you into the service, it means YOU HAVE BEEN WORKING AS CONTRACTOR FOR AT LEAST 10 years with them. With only 2 years in contract in OnG, sorry to say this: NOT GONNA HAPPEN. NEVER WILL. STOP DREAMING.THERE IS A REASON WHY THERE IS CONTRACT AND PERMANENT IN OnG INDUSTRY. Firstly, thank you for the advice. I really appreciate the effort that u made to response to my post.My advice, stay with the OnG now with minimum 5 years in it (doesn't matter if it is contract), then you can choose to move out to another industry. 5 years exp in a resume will LOOK DAMN GOOD, compared to only 2 years then switch to other industry. Remember, 2 years in OnG vs 5 years in OnG resume is a lot of difference and tells a lot about you. However, regarding to the absorption to permanent, apologies if this sounds different as compared to what u said, did happened to my friends, within the same company, at around the same level of experience, just different timing. They got the offer just a little earlier before the oil industry turned into what it is today. Thanks sir for the advice. But if u were in my shoes, will u take the risks of stagnant salary / losing job when u are about to start a family? And with a contract post, the medical benefit does not cover my family as well, not to mention some other benefits that are reduced currently. |
Dec 20 2015, 12:34 AM
208 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
Dec 20 2015, 12:39 AM
707 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(ch_teo @ Dec 20 2015, 12:28 AM) There are part time tutor/trainer jobs available in the market if you have the right qualifications and attitude just in case the contract not renewed. Thanks for the advice. I guess I didn't make myself really clear just now. I did act actually, and that's why now the other company offered me the job, I applied, attended two stages of interviews sessions, and thank God I was offered the job. If I am just dreaming, how could I possibly got the new job offer? Or even scored good kpi (exceed expectation ) at current company for that matter? Do not dream but ACT. However, thanks a lot for the advices guys. |
Dec 20 2015, 06:38 AM
888 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(hidz7 @ Dec 20 2015, 12:31 AM) Firstly, thank you for the advice. I really appreciate the effort that u made to response to my post. Two years experience with RM3.5k and contract post is pretty low salary. You probably be better off in the construction industry. From what I understand from your post your got two concerns. One is job security and one is salary. Both criteria is at stake now in O&G for everyone due to current known situation.However, regarding to the absorption to permanent, apologies if this sounds different as compared to what u said, did happened to my friends, within the same company, at around the same level of experience, just different timing. They got the offer just a little earlier before the oil industry turned into what it is today. Thanks sir for the advice. But if u were in my shoes, will u take the risks of stagnant salary / losing job when u are about to start a family? And with a contract post, the medical benefit does not cover my family as well, not to mention some other benefits that are reduced currently. Since your new job have fulfilled that criteria which is more pay and job security just go for it. Job scope/position does not matter now. I say this because I start off working in IT field for 2 years in the end now I am working in O&G operator as an engineer back. |
Dec 20 2015, 11:14 AM
1,922 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Constellation Cygnus |
QUOTE(beetch @ Dec 19 2015, 09:27 PM) Trust me, in OnG, when ppl say will absorb you into the service, it means YOU HAVE BEEN WORKING AS CONTRACTOR FOR AT LEAST 10 years with them. With only 2 years in contract in OnG, sorry to say this: NOT GONNA HAPPEN. NEVER WILL. STOP DREAMING.THERE IS A REASON WHY THERE IS CONTRACT AND PERMANENT IN OnG INDUSTRY. Oh..my former colleague worked with contractor for 7 months only..then absorbed into client side. Another one worked for 2 years also absorbed to client side. Are they damn good? Average..both got looks lah..Lady My advice, stay with the OnG now with minimum 5 years in it (doesn't matter if it is contract), then you can choose to move out to another industry. 5 years exp in a resume will LOOK DAMN GOOD, compared to only 2 years then switch to other industry. Remember, 2 years in OnG vs 5 years in OnG resume is a lot of difference and tells a lot about you. This post has been edited by feekle: Dec 20 2015, 11:15 AM |
Dec 20 2015, 12:33 PM
387 posts Joined: Sep 2014 |
Im currently working in national oil n gas company, doing utilities. Despite the oil price fall, my company unit still lunching some new projects. Guess the price fall doesn't hit much on gas n utilities business
Dec 20 2015, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(zuhairabakar @ Dec 20 2015, 12:33 PM) Im currently working in national oil n gas company, doing utilities. Despite the oil price fall, my company unit still lunching some new projects. Guess the price fall doesn't hit much on gas n utilities business What is the job scope under utilities? Is it like building maintenance. |
Dec 20 2015, 06:17 PM
QUOTE(MEngineer @ Dec 20 2015, 03:06 PM) We provide steam, electricity, oxygen, nitrogen etcs to the neighbouring plants (optimal, petlin, ammonia). Our nature of business not much like oil or gas processing plant but we are part of it |
Dec 20 2015, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(zuhairabakar @ Dec 20 2015, 06:17 PM) We provide steam, electricity, oxygen, nitrogen etcs to the neighbouring plants (optimal, petlin, ammonia). Our nature of business not much like oil or gas processing plant but we are part of it Oh that is because when crude oil price is low, the downstream business is much more profitable due to the simple fact that the feedstock cost is cheap now. That is why you don't see much slow down for downstream side of the industry. |
Dec 20 2015, 08:05 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
4,351 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Bintulu, Sarawak |
Dec 20 2015, 09:22 PM
40 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Penang/Selangor/KL/Putrajaya |
QUOTE(zuhairabakar @ Dec 20 2015, 12:33 PM) Im currently working in national oil n gas company, doing utilities. Despite the oil price fall, my company unit still lunching some new projects. Guess the price fall doesn't hit much on gas n utilities business Must be CUF. Perhaps the price fall only hit the upstream business. Most downstream subsidiary (except refinery), e.g petchem will benefit from current scenario as they bought at low price and sell at standard/market/high price. |
Dec 20 2015, 09:55 PM
4,864 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(hidz7 @ Dec 20 2015, 12:39 AM) Thanks for the advice. I guess I didn't make myself really clear just now. I did act actually, and that's why now the other company offered me the job, I applied, attended two stages of interviews sessions, and thank God I was offered the job. If I am just dreaming, how could I possibly got the new job offer? Or even scored good kpi (exceed expectation ) at current company for that matter? Since job security is a priority to you, then you should take up the new job. However, thanks a lot for the advices guys. In my opinion if you work in private sector, there's no such thing as a permanent position. No company can guarantee you a permanent job. This post has been edited by Stamp: Dec 20 2015, 09:57 PM |
Dec 21 2015, 08:40 AM
312 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
QUOTE(hidz7 @ Dec 19 2015, 11:58 AM) Hi all taikos and sifus, If you are satisfied with the new job scope then I would say go for it. Job position does not matter as long as you are okay with the job scope. And most importantly if you think you get to learn on the new job then go for it. Insecurity might not be easy to deal with so just go for the one that you feel secured and it does actually offer slightly more money. If you are meant to be working in the O&G industry then I am sure you can bounce back after the oil situation gets better.It's good to see a lot of discussions here in this forum. I still remember my last post here asking whether to jump ship from construction industry (permanent post) to O&G (contract post), and finally I did. However, currently I am in dilemma, I am fairly new to this industry, about 2 years of experiences and on contract basis. My contract has been renewed in April this year without salary revision, reason is that industry is in very bad situation (also the reason why I am not absorbed into permanent position although my bosses had recommended my name to the HR). And since it is just 1 year extension, it is more or less about 3 months plus until the expiry of my current contract. I have discussed with my boss and he cannot guarantee that I will be absorbed into permanent position at current situation, or getting any salary revision next year (if HR approves to extend my contract for another year). Fyi, my year end appraisal has been quite well, and I think I have progressed quite significantly in my current job. But, the insecurity is always there, and I am really really afraid as I just married early this year and also blessed with a beautiful baby just a month ago. To shorten the story, I was offered another job, in another industry, as a permanent staff, slightly higher pay (current 3.5k, they offer 3.9k) but NOT as an engineer. So I am dilemma, should I pursue my dream to become a professional engineer in O&G industry, or change course for job security? If I was a single man, this would be much easier decision to make, but now, having a wife and a baby, permanent position at a new company seems to be a better choice, at least in current O&G situation. I couldn't imagine if somehow my company (local fabricator) decided to not renew my contract. Currently, I am the breadwinner for the family. Hope to get advice from all sifus here. Thank you. |
Dec 21 2015, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(MEngineer @ Dec 20 2015, 07:19 PM) Oh that is because when crude oil price is low, the downstream business is much more profitable due to the simple fact that the feedstock cost is cheap now. That is why you don't see much slow down for downstream side of the industry. Yup. Exectly. I also heard some rumors on relocation of upstream staff to downstream business to cope with this price fall issueQUOTE(mohdyakup @ Dec 20 2015, 08:05 PM) QUOTE(felixthecat @ Dec 20 2015, 09:22 PM) Must be CUF. Perhaps the price fall only hit the upstream business. Most downstream subsidiary (except refinery), e.g petchem will benefit from current scenario as they bought at low price and sell at standard/market/high price. Haha yup. You both got it right But now our plant has been renamed to utilities kertih aka uk for better indication rather than the lengthy 'cufk' |
Dec 22 2015, 10:39 AM
12,268 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(hidz7 @ Dec 19 2015, 11:58 AM) Hi all taikos and sifus, HiIt's good to see a lot of discussions here in this forum. I still remember my last post here asking whether to jump ship from construction industry (permanent post) to O&G (contract post), and finally I did. However, currently I am in dilemma, I am fairly new to this industry, about 2 years of experiences and on contract basis. My contract has been renewed in April this year without salary revision, reason is that industry is in very bad situation (also the reason why I am not absorbed into permanent position although my bosses had recommended my name to the HR). And since it is just 1 year extension, it is more or less about 3 months plus until the expiry of my current contract. I have discussed with my boss and he cannot guarantee that I will be absorbed into permanent position at current situation, or getting any salary revision next year (if HR approves to extend my contract for another year). Fyi, my year end appraisal has been quite well, and I think I have progressed quite significantly in my current job. But, the insecurity is always there, and I am really really afraid as I just married early this year and also blessed with a beautiful baby just a month ago. To shorten the story, I was offered another job, in another industry, as a permanent staff, slightly higher pay (current 3.5k, they offer 3.9k) but NOT as an engineer. So I am dilemma, should I pursue my dream to become a professional engineer in O&G industry, or change course for job security? If I was a single man, this would be much easier decision to make, but now, having a wife and a baby, permanent position at a new company seems to be a better choice, at least in current O&G situation. I couldn't imagine if somehow my company (local fabricator) decided to not renew my contract. Currently, I am the breadwinner for the family. Hope to get advice from all sifus here. Thank you. Congrats on your new baby! BTW there are no 'professional' engineers in the O & G industry. Heck! they don't even bother to register with the Institutions and Board! There is no O&G section in the Institution of engineers. They are just not bothered. So essentially most so called engineers here are mercenaries, not professionals. Many are very poor at their so called profession. But that's just the industry. |
Dec 22 2015, 01:17 PM
3,491 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 21 2015, 10:39 PM) Hi Please don't lump all the O&G engineers in one basket. If there are so many "poor", "unprofessional" engineers, you would hear of platform collapses/deaths on a monthly basis in Malaysia. That does not happen, does it?Congrats on your new baby! BTW there are no 'professional' engineers in the O & G industry. Heck! they don't even bother to register with the Institutions and Board! There is no O&G section in the Institution of engineers. They are just not bothered. So essentially most so called engineers here are mercenaries, not professionals. Many are very poor at their so called profession. But that's just the industry. Most engineers at my company are registered with BEM. In fact, Petronas is very strict about it now. |
Dec 22 2015, 01:43 PM
12,268 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Dec 22 2015, 01:17 PM) Please don't lump all the O&G engineers in one basket. If there are so many "poor", "unprofessional" engineers, you would hear of platform collapses/deaths on a monthly basis in Malaysia. That does not happen, does it? BEM is only a registration.Most engineers at my company are registered with BEM. In fact, Petronas is very strict about it now. What about your professional progress with the Institution of Engineers? In fact i do know of platform collapses and all. However, that's not the indication of good professional practices. You can overdesign and nothing happens. |
Dec 22 2015, 01:46 PM
40 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Penang/Selangor/KL/Putrajaya |
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 22 2015, 10:39 AM) Hi Im not fully agree with your statement. I believe on the consultant side, most of them require their engineers to be registered with the board.Congrats on your new baby! BTW there are no 'professional' engineers in the O & G industry. Heck! they don't even bother to register with the Institutions and Board! There is no O&G section in the Institution of engineers. They are just not bothered. So essentially most so called engineers here are mercenaries, not professionals. Many are very poor at their so called profession. But that's just the industry. I dont have the statistics but having work in both manufacturing and oil and gas industry, I feel very secure in OnG compared to manufacturing. The safety aspects must be followed religiously or else you will be punished. Although it is not uniform across the industry, e.g petronas has their own standard (Zeto rules), petrofac (CoW) got their own, shell, etc etc but their goal is always to make the workplace safe. p.s Im not SHO. I hate them. They cause me so much trouble at site |
| Change to: | 0.0257sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:19 AM |