Oil & Gas Careers V8, Upstream and Downstream, Crude Oil (WTI): USD 45.22/bbl

prophetjul
post Dec 22 2015, 01:51 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(felixthecat @ Dec 22 2015, 01:46 PM)
Im not fully agree with your statement. I believe on the consultant side, most of them require their engineers to be registered with the board.
I dont have the statistics but having work in both manufacturing and oil and gas industry, I feel very secure in OnG  compared to manufacturing.
The safety aspects must be followed religiously or else you will be punished. Although it is not uniform across the industry, e.g petronas has their own standard (Zeto rules), petrofac (CoW) got their own, shell, etc etc but their goal is always to make the workplace safe.

p.s Im not SHO. I hate them. They cause me so much trouble at site  laugh.gif  . But their intention is noble. They want everyone come to work and going home safely. So I have to thank them  icon_rolleyes.gif
Do you know there are 2 registration bodies for engineers/

The BEM and the IEM where the former is required to practice.
Here you are going on about workplace safety rather than engineering safety. biggrin.gif

Perhaps the best way is to know: How many O & G engineers are registered Professional Engineers with IR ? biggrin.gif
mohdyakup
post Dec 22 2015, 01:57 PM

4,351 posts

I used to prepare contracting package for FEED works, and yes BEM requirement is a must in the contract. All PSC's must follow direction by MPM/PMU.
prophetjul
post Dec 22 2015, 02:02 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Dec 22 2015, 01:57 PM)
I used to prepare contracting package for FEED works, and yes BEM requirement is a must in the contract. All PSC's must follow direction by MPM/PMU.
Registering as an engineer with BEM is nothing much to shout about.
Registering with BEM as a qualified Professional Engineer and maintaining the status takes some effort
felixthecat
post Dec 22 2015, 02:02 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 22 2015, 01:51 PM)

Here you are going on about workplace safety rather than engineering safety.  biggrin.gif

Perhaps the best way is to know: How many O & G engineers are registered Professional Engineers with IR ?  biggrin.gif
Haha yeah sorry I misinterpreted. So back to discussion. Engineering safety. So, anyone can pinpoint the statistics?
Me not even graduate engineer. I involved in electrical so normally the drawing at least has the .Ir stamp. ..Other than that I have no idea.

ZZMsia
post Dec 22 2015, 03:08 PM

3,491 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Dec 22 2015, 01:57 AM)
Super sound younger brother has joined the forum.
Doesn't he know all engineering package must be signed off by IR?
thoyol
post Dec 22 2015, 03:35 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Dec 22 2015, 01:17 PM)
Please don't lump all the O&G engineers in one basket. If there are so many "poor", "unprofessional" engineers, you would hear of platform collapses/deaths on a monthly basis in Malaysia. That does not happen, does it?

Most engineers at my company are registered with BEM. In fact, Petronas is very strict about it now.
true. My company also required to maintain the number of Ir that we have in house.
feekle
post Dec 22 2015, 03:41 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 22 2015, 10:39 AM)
Hi

Congrats on your new baby!   thumbup.gif

BTW there are no 'professional' engineers in the O & G industry. Heck! they don't even bother to register with the Institutions and Board!
There is no O&G section in the Institution of engineers. They are just not bothered.
So essentially most so called engineers here are mercenaries, not professionals. Many are very poor at their so called profession.
But that's just the industry.
u can find so many engineer title i.e. operation engineer, planning engineer, drilling engineer, mud engineer, sales engineer, rotating engineer, lifting engineer, commissioning engineer etc. in comparison to the more traditional title i.e. mechanical engr, civil engr, electrical engr, chemical engr etc. I don't think BEM is rajin to take a deep look into those titles.

This post has been edited by feekle: Dec 22 2015, 03:43 PM
meonkutu11
post Dec 22 2015, 03:51 PM

1,597 posts

This guy is a fellow, IEM and his technical division is active in conducting seminars & courses.
https://razmahwata.wordpress.com/tag/iem/

I guess many of the drilling engineers, completion engineers, reservoir engineers, etc prefer SPE.

Stamp
post Dec 22 2015, 05:03 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 22 2015, 01:51 PM)

Here you are going on about workplace safety rather than engineering safety.   biggrin.gif

Perhaps the best way is to know: How many O & G engineers are registered Professional Engineers with IR ?  biggrin.gif
I'm a PE with BEM for over 2 decades, and I have been in oil and gas industry my whole career. I know many PEs in oil and gas as I had worked in most oil and gas consultants. PETRONAS requires all lead engineers to have PE in their respective disciplines, and all drawings need to be PE stamped and signed by PEs.

BEM is the regulatory engineering body that has the power to award PE to qualified engineers and give them license to practice as PEs. It is compulsory for engineers to register with BEM if they want to practice engineering. IEM is a professional engineering "club" and registration with IEM is on voluntary basis. IEM is authorized by BEM to conduct PE exams on its behalf, though during my time BEM also conducted PE exams themselves. There is an Oil & Gas section in IEM, and I used to be one of the commitee members.

Obviously you knew sh*t about engineers in oil and gas. Keep your opinions to yourself as not to make you look like a fool. There are many very smart people in oil and gas, so don't try to out smart them.

This post has been edited by Stamp: Dec 22 2015, 05:10 PM
prophetjul
post Dec 22 2015, 05:12 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Dec 22 2015, 05:03 PM)
I'm a PE with BEM for over 2 decades, and I have been in oil and gas industry my whole career.  I know many PEs in oil and gas as I had worked in most oil and gas consultants. PETRONAS requires all lead engineers to have PE in their respective disciplines, and all drawings need to be PE stamped and signed by PEs.

BEM is the regulatory engineering body that has the power to award PE to qualified engineers and give them license to practice as PEs. IEM is authorized by BEM to conduct PE exams on its behalf, though during my time BEM also conducted PE exams themselves. There is an Oil & Gas section in IEM, and I used to be one of the commitee members.

Obviously you knew sh*t about engineers in oil and gas. Keep your opinions to yourself as not to make you look like a fool. There are many very smart people in oil and gas, so don't try to out smart them.
i have been a PE longer than you matey! 38 years in total!
i have also worked with many consultants, including O n G. Signing the pieces of design drawings means squat. That's signed by the PE. Does he check? Nought.
Seen so many freaking problems with them engineering drawings, you wonder if the design engineers have been to site!

There may be an O n G section accomodated for such. It it active? laugh.gif
There are smart people very where, just not so many in O n G.

You should maybe also keep yer gob shut about DAP. Listen to yer own advice. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Dec 22 2015, 05:14 PM
Stamp
post Dec 22 2015, 05:14 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Dec 22 2015, 03:51 PM)
This guy is a fellow, IEM and his technical division is active in conducting seminars & courses.
https://razmahwata.wordpress.com/tag/iem/

I guess many of the drilling engineers, completion engineers, reservoir engineers, etc prefer SPE.
I know him. He's an active FIEM.
Stamp
post Dec 22 2015, 05:17 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 22 2015, 05:12 PM)
i have been a PE longer than you matey! 38 years in total!
i have also worked with many consultants, including O n G. Signing the pieces of design drawings means squat. That's signed by the PE. Does he check? Nought.
Seen so many freaking problems with them engineering drawings, you wonder if the design engineers have been to site!

There may be an O n G section accomodated for such. It it active?  laugh.gif
There are smart people very where, just not so many in O n G.

You should maybe also keep yer gob shut about DAP. Listen to yer own advice.  laugh.gif
Confirmed, another bigot racist idiot in the forum. Supersound's idiot distant cousin, perhaps.
theaxia
post Dec 22 2015, 05:17 PM

38 posts

i think oil and gas is one of the top industry in the world, on par if not higher ranking than aviation industry.

so i think its funny to say oil and gas job no standard one, as if these big companies just do their job the way they like.
prophetjul
post Dec 22 2015, 05:23 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Dec 22 2015, 05:17 PM)
Confirmed, another bigot racist idiot in the forum. Supersound's idiot distant cousin, perhaps.
Yeah. Right. Can't discuss proper. So he has to stoop down to ad hominem.

Racist? Looks like you don't even know the meaning of the word! i could have sworn we were on O n G stuff! laugh.gif
meonkutu11
post Dec 22 2015, 05:47 PM

1,597 posts

Good job both of you as a PE! Now shall we keep 'racist // racism' issue aside. Or you can continue it offline...cheers...
ZZMsia
post Dec 22 2015, 07:12 PM

3,491 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Dec 22 2015, 05:03 AM)
I'm a PE with BEM for over 2 decades, and I have been in oil and gas industry my whole career.  I know many PEs in oil and gas as I had worked in most oil and gas consultants. PETRONAS requires all lead engineers to have PE in their respective disciplines, and all drawings need to be PE stamped and signed by PEs.

BEM is the regulatory engineering body that has the power to award PE to qualified engineers and give them license to practice as PEs. It is compulsory for engineers to register with BEM if they want to practice engineering. IEM is a professional engineering "club" and registration with IEM is on voluntary basis. IEM is authorized by BEM to conduct PE exams on its behalf, though during my time BEM also conducted PE exams themselves. There is an Oil & Gas section in IEM, and I used to be one of the commitee members.

Yes said it the right way. Someone must have been retrenched and is taking it out on the members of this forum.. Supersound is back!!
mohdyakup
post Dec 22 2015, 07:35 PM

4,351 posts

http://www.4-traders.com/news/MMHE-Malaysi...-and--21592889/

MMHE Malaysia Marine and Heavy Engineering Holdi : MHB Secures F12 Wellhead Platform, and Piping and Plate Fabrication Contracts Worth RM527 Million

Kuala Lumpur, 22 December 2015

MHB Secures F12 Wellhead Platform, and Piping and Plate Fabrication Contracts Worth RM527 Million

Fabrication of the F12 Kumang Cluster gas field development wellhead platform ("WHP") topside, jacket and the associated system tie-ins

RAPID Package-5 centralised piping fabrication work

RAPID Package-5 RoG area piping and structural work

RAPID Package-3 electro-mechanical, piping and structural work

RAPID Package-22 plate structure prefabrication and fabrication work

Malaysia Marine and Heavy Engineering Holdings Berhad (MHB) is pleased to announce that its wholly owned subsidiary, Malaysia Marine and Heavy Engineering Sdn Bhd (MMHE), has secured contracts worth RM527 million (based on RM4.30/USD exchange rate) for offshore structure fabrication works and the Refinery and Petrochemical Integrated Development (RAPID) electro-mechanical, piping and structural works.

The first contract entails the Engineering, Procurement, Construction and Commissioning (EPCC) of the WHP topside and jacket, telecommunication and instrumentation system tie-ins of the new F12 platform and telecommunication and instrumentation system tie-ins modification of the existing platform. The F12 facilities is located in the Kumang Cluster gas fields, 180km north-west of Bintulu, Sarawak in a water depth of 101m. The project, which was awarded by PETRONAS Carigali Sdn Bhd, is scheduled for delivery within 12 months of the signing of the Letter Of Award.

Earlier in August, MHB had secured two contracts for the RAPID project from Toyo Engineering Corporation. The first involves centralised piping fabrication for the Package-5 steam cracker complex. The primary fabrication work is expected to end in December 2016 and the overall completion in April 2017. The subsequent contract is the piping and steel structure work for a steam cracker complex at the refinery of gas (RoG) area.

For the fourth contract, MHB, in a consortium with China Huanqiu Contracting & Engineering Corporation (HQC), has been awarded the electro-mechanical works for RAPID Package-3. The project is inclusive of pipe rack, flare tower, mechanical, piping electrical & instrument and insulation. The contract was awarded by Technicas Reunidas and is expected to commence in January 2016 and complete in July 2017.

MHB has also been awarded another RAPID subcontract work by Punj Lloyd Sdn Bhd for RAPID Package-22. The scope of work involves plate structure prefabrication, fabrication, painting, rolling and blasting. The contract is expected to commence in December 2015 and complete in December 2016.

MHB Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Tuan Haji Abu Fitri Abdul Jalil said, "We are doing our level best to continue replenishing our work order. With these latest contracts, MHB has now secured an estimated RM975 million worth of projects for the year to-date. We continue to be on the lookout for offshore and onshore projects as well as for marine repair works, both domestically and internationally."
mohdyakup
post Dec 22 2015, 07:38 PM

4,351 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...ract/?style=biz

Mudajaya bags RM220mil Petronas contract

Tuesday, 22 December 2015 | MYT 6:34 PM
Mudajaya bags RM220mil Petronas contract

KUALA LUMPUR: Mudajaya Group Bhd has bagged a RM220mil contract for the engineering, procurement, construction and commissioning of warehouses and workshops for Petroliam Nasional Bhd’s (Petronas) Rapid project in Pengerang, Johor.

The construction and property development firm told Bursa Malaysia that its unit, Mudajaya Corp Bhd, received the contract on Dec 11 from Petronas’ subsidiary PRPC Utilities and Facilities Sdn Bhd to undertake the works.

It said the job was targeted to be fully completed by January 2018, with a construction period of 25 months from the date of the contract.

None of the directors or major shareholders of Mudajaya or persons connected with them has any direct or indirect interest in the contract.
mohdyakup
post Dec 22 2015, 07:49 PM

4,351 posts

Malaysia O&G - melayu, cina, india, iban, kadazan, murut, melanau, bumi, non-bumi etc buat puak kem sendiri, back mouth each other, stabbing from behind etc.

Yang tepuk tangan - Expat angmoh, pinoy, indian from India buat tak kisah. ambik job from Malaysian locals.

Yang putih mata - Malaysian sendiri.

Bawak bertenang saudara-saudari sekalian. Keep your tits calm.

Stamp
post Dec 22 2015, 08:22 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Dec 22 2015, 07:49 PM)
Malaysia O&G - melayu, cina, india, iban, kadazan, murut, melanau, bumi, non-bumi etc buat puak kem sendiri, back mouth each other, stabbing from behind etc.

Yang tepuk tangan - Expat angmoh, pinoy, indian from India buat tak kisah. ambik job from Malaysian locals.

Yang putih mata - Malaysian sendiri.

Bawak bertenang saudara-saudari sekalian. Keep your tits calm.
The big brother looks the other way for "certain" parties when it comes to hiring non-Malaysians. Would you expect the rest of PSCs going to bother to "abide" to the so-called Malaysianization purportedly part of PSC conditions?

That is an open secret, my man! Don't put the blame on the locals only.

This post has been edited by Stamp: Dec 22 2015, 08:24 PM

108 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:30 PM