108 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Careers V8, Upstream and Downstream, Crude Oil (WTI): USD 45.22/bbl

budak minyak
post Oct 21 2015, 09:21 AM

257 posts

Guys, is Field Development Engineer is a good position? And do u think this position can help me to hop from one to another company?
SUSsupersound
post Oct 21 2015, 10:52 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(budak minyak @ Oct 21 2015, 09:21 AM)
Guys, is Field Development Engineer is a good position? And do u think this position can help me to hop from one to another company?
Only the person that sitting in that post do the best only the post will be good. If he just sleep in that post, he will be flushed out soon.
engrfeez
post Oct 21 2015, 10:56 AM

Ironman
316 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 20 2015, 03:11 PM)
Well, there's pros and cons on this, for me I'll just take the offer and work for few years. Then will jump to Middle East which will be higher salary.
Gain more experience on this bad time will be good to pave way for later thumbup.gif
While I have no interest on your pay, can say how many % of reduction hmm.gif
is about 45% reduction from current salary.. Haha.. Petronas ohh Petronas... the logic is simple for them..taken as this position is permanent or stay with your high salary but ready for no jobs at all due to slow of economy..

I might think better sell goreng pisang... to rich it not depends which company you been hired but how much money u gets in hand.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
SUSsupersound
post Oct 21 2015, 11:02 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(engrfeez @ Oct 21 2015, 10:56 AM)
is about 45% reduction from current salary.. Haha.. Petronas ohh Petronas... the logic is simple for them..taken as this position is permanent or stay with your high salary but ready for no jobs at all due to slow of economy..

I might think better sell goreng pisang... to rich it not depends which company you been hired but how much money u gets in hand.. biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Well, that's why I'm willing to get "sacked" and becoming a hawker now but I got under table agreement with my "previous" boss for this icon_rolleyes.gif
The return is I still can go in as visiting engineer and get paid, tax free.
But as permanent staff, you get some extra benefits that not contract staff can get, so is better you read the bloody T&C properly before decide. Like my friend join MNC just because his son got some sickness and require long term treatment.
budak minyak
post Oct 21 2015, 11:51 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 21 2015, 10:52 AM)
Only the person that sitting in that post do the best only the post will be good. If he just sleep in that post, he will be flushed out soon.
Huh? I dont get your point.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 21 2015, 02:25 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(budak minyak @ Oct 21 2015, 11:51 AM)
Huh? I dont get your point.
You need to contribute to the company, not company contribute money to you only whistling.gif
budak minyak
post Oct 21 2015, 02:38 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 21 2015, 02:25 PM)
You need to contribute to the company, not company contribute money to you only whistling.gif
u dont even answer my question.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 21 2015, 02:53 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(budak minyak @ Oct 21 2015, 02:38 PM)
u dont even answer my question.
Well, is you that never get my point.
As said, any post would be good only if you can perform and contribute.
If your intention is to join a company and get a blind post, guess you only need PLP skills shocking.gif
Stamp
post Oct 21 2015, 03:41 PM

4,864 posts

Yes! But maybe I'm biased since I am working as one now! brows.gif

It's very interesting to work on developing a new field or redeveloping an existing field, from concept till execution stage. I love the challenges that come with the job.

The potential is there to hop from one to another company. But not at this present time though.

This post has been edited by Stamp: Oct 21 2015, 03:53 PM
ZZMsia
post Oct 21 2015, 08:40 PM

3,491 posts

QUOTE(budak minyak @ Oct 20 2015, 09:21 PM)
FDP-good. But not many new FDP's being approved now.. You will learn a lot about facilities improvement.. Mostly clients have field development engineer..Are you from chemical background?
ivanau88
post Oct 21 2015, 11:34 PM

3,777 posts

i would think if you like doing doing conceptual till feed type of work this will be one of the godlike post to grow your cv.
knowledge like reservoir, facilities, process, hardware, piping and cost estimates will be vital where you need to pull most money from the hydrocarbon fields.

if you're an operation type of guy, all these means nothing but heck lot of lengthy meetings with bosses and heck lots of paper work
Salary
post Oct 22 2015, 12:08 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(ivanau88 @ Oct 21 2015, 11:34 PM)
i would think if you like doing doing conceptual till feed type of work this will be one of the godlike post to grow your cv.
knowledge like reservoir, facilities, process, hardware, piping and cost estimates will be vital where you need to pull most money from the hydrocarbon fields.

if you're an operation type of guy, all these means nothing but heck lot of lengthy meetings with bosses and heck lots of paper work
Conceptual design comes after FEED bro... blush.gif
jimbet1337
post Oct 22 2015, 12:30 AM

meh
2,671 posts

QUOTE(Salary @ Oct 22 2015, 12:08 AM)
Conceptual design comes after FEED bro...  blush.gif
Ya meh? In my case, Conceptual > FEED > DD
meonkutu11
post Oct 22 2015, 07:19 AM

1,597 posts

Services giant Weatherford said Wednesday it plans to lay off 3000 more employees by the end of the year, with cuts targeting support positions.
Salary
post Oct 22 2015, 07:21 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Oct 22 2015, 12:30 AM)
Oh, perhaps definition changes by organisation. My previous and current project start from FEED where they lock in the optimum concept, followed by CD where the preliminary P&IDs and most importantly, LLI TRPs are issued, then after Petronas's equivalent of MR4, we start DD.
budak minyak
post Oct 22 2015, 08:34 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Oct 21 2015, 08:40 PM)
FDP-good. But not many new FDP's being approved now.. You will learn a lot about facilities improvement.. Mostly clients have field development engineer..Are you from chemical background?
No Im coming from mechanical background.

QUOTE(ivanau88 @ Oct 21 2015, 11:34 PM)

Ya couldnt agree more..LOTS OF meetings, presentation slides and paperwork...hope it will helps me to climb the career ladder someday....
mhyug
post Oct 22 2015, 09:47 AM

1,553 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Oct 22 2015, 07:19 AM)
Services giant Weatherford said Wednesday it plans to lay off 3000 more employees by the end of the year, with cuts targeting support positions.
more like services "ikan bilis" bro. the giant is misconception smile.gif
mohdyakup
post Oct 22 2015, 10:13 AM

4,351 posts

Am currently having an interview today with one of Upstream operator somewhere belakang KLCC. Hope to get back to Upstream again...
Stamp
post Oct 22 2015, 11:49 AM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Oct 22 2015, 12:30 AM)
Yes, same as mine. nod.gif
ivanau88
post Oct 22 2015, 11:59 AM

3,777 posts

QUOTE(Salary @ Oct 22 2015, 12:08 AM)
Conceptual design comes after FEED bro...  blush.gif
from where i came from...
conceptual is a stage by itself, some may interpret it same as pre-feed or a stage before pre feed...

guess diff organization got diff understanding

108 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:37 PM