656 Pages « < 258 259 260 261 262 > » Bottom

Smart Home, Let's discuss

halcyon27
post Mar 5 2019, 11:36 AM

2,140 posts

Came across this article on a provider's IOT outage. What's even interesting is how in the comments, one forumer, Manolo, detailed his smart home setup using Raspberry Pi running Domoticz which he connects to his smart meter by USB; receives data from personal weather station over 868MHz, switches on/off lights on 433MHz, Z-Wave usb stick connected to various sensors, Wi-Fi to receive variously placed readings from temp and humidity sensors. Cost him less than £500 to build it but of course, he took his time to learn to set it up.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Mar 5 2019, 11:38 AM
soonwai
post Mar 5 2019, 11:59 AM

11,460 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Mar 4 2019, 09:44 AM)
Why don't you use Xiaomi IR controller since you are using Xiaomi products?
Don't think can use UK 3 plug for aircon control. Socket type also different.
Do you use any IR blasters? Which is good? I just ordered the RM Mini 3. Was also considering the Xiaomi but the RM Mini is so cheap. Probably plan to use to control Toshiba TV, UniFi Huawei STB, Deka ceiling fan and Midea AC.

No native Homekit support but that's fine.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Mar 5 2019, 11:59 AM
Fubar20
post Mar 5 2019, 12:24 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Mar 5 2019, 11:36 AM)
Came across this article on a provider's IOT outage. What's even interesting is how in the comments, one forumer, Manolo, detailed his smart home setup using Raspberry Pi running Domoticz which he connects to his smart meter by USB; receives data from personal weather station over 868MHz, switches on/off lights on 433MHz, Z-Wave usb stick connected to various sensors, Wi-Fi to receive variously placed readings from temp and humidity sensors. Cost him less than £500 to build it but of course, he took his time to learn to set it up.
Yup, Cloud = held to ransom.
When your connection is stable and cloud server is up, all is fine and dandy.
When it fuck up, then you will be cursing around.
Use some kind of local control via Home Assistant to have the actual control to your devices.

QUOTE(soonwai @ Mar 5 2019, 11:59 AM)
Do you use any IR blasters? Which is good? I just ordered the RM Mini 3. Was also considering the Xiaomi but the RM Mini is so cheap. Probably plan to use to control Toshiba TV, UniFi Huawei STB, Deka ceiling fan and Midea AC.

No native Homekit support but that's fine.
Yes, same as yours. Good choice for IR blaster.
Want cheap can also DIY yourself but nobody here want to do that. laugh.gif
Pain4UrsinZ
post Mar 5 2019, 04:48 PM

1,861 posts

Any idea where can we install an smart exhaust fans in a pigeonhole apartment?
omnimech
post Mar 5 2019, 04:54 PM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Apr 18 2015, 10:17 AM)
there are another model which comes with keys for manual overwrite

but the particular model i wanted you can use 9V battery to power up the door when the inside batteries are flat
what smart home system are you using at home ?
post Mar 6 2019, 09:04 AM

Workaholic
2,744 posts

Too many info scattered around
Would like to know if I buy sonoff to replace light switches, what should I take note?
Is there any issue with having neutral or not?
Fubar20
post Mar 6 2019, 10:11 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Mar 6 2019, 09:04 AM)
Too many info scattered around
Would like to know if I buy sonoff to replace light switches, what should I take note?
Is there any issue with having neutral or not?
No neutral, no Sonoff
post Mar 6 2019, 10:54 AM

Workaholic
2,744 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Mar 6 2019, 10:11 AM)
No neutral, no Sonoff
then for our normal terrace house, is there neutral line?
kelembai
post Mar 6 2019, 10:57 AM

357 posts

Sifu, my sonooff switch all blinkiing, dont know why. Delete it and do the pairings again and fail , whatthe prob , can give solution?
kelembai
post Mar 6 2019, 10:58 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Mar 6 2019, 10:54 AM)
Pull from your air cond switch
soonwai
post Mar 6 2019, 11:29 AM

11,460 posts

So far 100% of light switches I've seen have no neutral. My house all light switches have no neutral. I don't use Sonoff but Aqara/Xiaomi.
yop da great
post Mar 6 2019, 11:44 AM

583 posts

Guys,
I'm a bit confused with no neutral or got neutral smart switch.
If no neutral, how do you power up the smart switch? Using battery?
Fubar20
post Mar 6 2019, 12:23 PM

1,187 posts

Everyone's house confirm got neutral line. But your switch got neutral line or not, 95% sure don't have.

QUOTE(kelembai @ Mar 6 2019, 10:57 AM)
Sifu, my sonooff switch  all blinkiing, dont know why. Delete it and do the pairings again and fail , whatthe prob , can give solution?
Blinking because cannot connect to your router. What did u do ah? hmm.gif

QUOTE(yop da great @ Mar 6 2019, 11:44 AM)
Guys,
I'm a bit confused with no neutral or got neutral smart switch.
If no neutral, how do you power up the smart switch? Using battery?
No neutral switch will let some current go to the load to keep the switch on, IINM.
kelembai
post Mar 6 2019, 03:46 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Mar 6 2019, 12:23 PM)
Everyone's house confirm got neutral line. But your switch got neutral line or not, 95% sure don't have.
Blinking because cannot connect to your router. What did u do ah?  hmm.gif
No neutral switch will let some current go to the load to keep the switch on, IINM.
Already switch off and off the router but still got same problem, how to solve the problem?
Fubar20
post Mar 6 2019, 03:53 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Mar 6 2019, 03:46 PM)
Already switch off and off the router but still got same problem, how to solve the problem?
The Sonoff model failed to connect to your router:
The LED blinks once every 2s, and the device is offline, it means it failed to connect to your router.

There are some reasons causing this problem:

a. The WiFi strength is weak. Your router is too far away from your Sonoff model, and there may be some interference in the environment.

To solve it, please take your Sonoff close to the router. If the problem still exists, please cut off the power of Sonoff, delete the device from your account. Power it up and re-add.

b. Make sure you are not using the 5G WiFi. If you are connecting to 5G WiFi, please delete the device and re-add via 2.4G WiFi. Some WiFi Hue/Bridge may not compatible, this is rare.

c. Make sure your router settings don’t open the MAC address filter.

d. One normal router usually supports about 10-15 devices(including phone, PC, tablet, and all other devices that connects to the same router). Please make sure the number of devices currently connecting to your router doesn’t exceed its max limit.
And if possible, reserve the Sonoff IP address in the router so that every time it reconnects, it will use the same IP address.
kelembai
post Mar 6 2019, 05:47 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Mar 6 2019, 03:53 PM)
And if possible, reserve the Sonoff IP address in the router so that every time it reconnects, it will use the same IP address.
Maybe i use a many device for aqara/mijia?
Fubar20
post Mar 6 2019, 06:01 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Mar 6 2019, 05:47 PM)
Maybe i use a many device for aqara/mijia?
Don't think so because Xiaomi devices are connected by Zigbee to the hub. Nothing to do with IP address
Zot
post Mar 6 2019, 09:05 PM

7,940 posts

As far as I know houses by developers do not have N for lightings but for 3-pin socket only. Houses with N were normally renovated with N put in place.
Fubar20
post Mar 7 2019, 11:30 AM

1,187 posts

For those TLDW, if you are keen on DIY, DON"T migrate to Oz. Go to NZ. biggrin.gif
Or stay here in Malaysia Boleh. thumbup.gif
post Mar 7 2019, 01:32 PM

Workaholic
2,744 posts

Thanks for all those feedback on the mandatory for Neutral line for Sonoff.
Looks like i need to plan properly, as quite troublesome to pull neutral to all switches.

what are the light switch brand/smart devices available, and compatible with google assistance?
From what i gather here:-

1) Sonoff - need neutral line
2) Broadlink
3) Aqara/Xiaomi

656 Pages « < 258 259 260 261 262 > » Top

0.0217sec    1.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:34 PM