Smart Home, Let's discuss

Zot
post Jan 11 2018, 11:25 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 11 2018, 11:12 AM)
got box but white color, not black
I think the white one is for surface mount. That is why the hole is big. It will need very fine job the place the mounting socket flushed to surface and straight to properly place the switch panel. The black mounting box is a bit smaller and the switch facet will act like bezel to cover the hole.

I just use that white cement plaster from Pye to patch. If you mix it right, it will not shrink .
Zot
post Jan 11 2018, 11:49 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 11 2018, 11:34 AM)
must mix? i use it straight from the tub... biggrin.gif
mix with water?
They sell both pre-mix and powder form in box. Much cheaper in powder form and can store it almost forever laugh.gif . I still have some left from several years ago and it is still not caking smile.gif
Zot
post Jan 14 2018, 01:11 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(mixologist84 @ Jan 14 2018, 02:09 AM)
Guys, need some advice, as i have been adding more connected device, im experiencing drops in connection, this happens mostly on the ipcams and now even on echo dot. is there a limit of devices /sub devices that can be connected ? i think i have about 40 connection with around 15 subdevices

i am currently using mavis fiber 10mbps, i have connected mi router to the main network all devices to be connected to the network on xiaomi router, reason being, fr the ipcams to dump the recording in the hdd attached to the router and easier to manage all devices under single network
Wireless AP can say that it can connect to more than 50 devices. In fact, you have 254 addresses in same network but in reality if you have streaming data you will notice slow down probably after 6 devices smile.gif

SOHO wireless router is not design for heavy traffic. It has slow CPU and small buffer. The way to improve this is by having multiple wireless APs connected through a switch and segment your LAN network size
Zot
post Jan 14 2018, 03:44 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 14 2018, 01:45 PM)
Dunno Mesh Wi-Fi would handle it better?
I think the mesh is for different purpose. It is for seamless roaming among wireless AP. So, if the signal from adjacent AP is stronger, the device will switch AP and the load will move to another AP. Using separate AP on different subnet would be more logical for loading purpose. So, using mesh would ease load also but not much on your control like separately configured LANs, I would say.
Zot
post Jan 17 2018, 06:02 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Jan 17 2018, 05:06 PM)
Well, the "Dual", I planned to control my two ventilation fans in kitchen.
Right now they are running 24/7, now I would like to run only between certain time frame.

The "POW", I planned to monitor my refrigerator power consumption, this one I will have to DIY the plug and socket.
You cook 24 hrs all week long? Why need 24/7 ventilation hmm.gif
Zot
post Jan 17 2018, 06:07 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 17 2018, 06:05 PM)
I have the 12" in the kitchen.

Remember I ON it quite often and the bill increase few RM.

Than reduce the usage to only cooking time.

Seldom using now as I know now how to control the temperature inside the house.
You don't use cooking hob?
Zot
post Jan 18 2018, 09:13 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Jan 17 2018, 08:55 PM)
So I have some time to be spared just now to test out the Sonoff POW, I decided to test it on my ventilation fan.
Luckily after the testing, I am still alive and here is the picture:

[attachmentid=9526024]

The power consumption measured by Sonoff POW is as follow:

[attachmentid=9526048]

From the measurement obtained, 17W versus from the spec 34.4W.
The indicated power rating on the fan probably not the motor electrical power usage but mechanical shaft power rating.

I'm not sure if the Sonoff pow is measuring just real power only or both real and reactive power. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Zot: Jan 18 2018, 09:19 AM
Zot
post Jan 18 2018, 11:33 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 18 2018, 11:26 AM)
I use Yellow Live and L1 Red wire to lamp also trips - really weird
So that means if got one red and one yellow in the circuit it will trip
If yellow and yellow - okay
Or Red and Red - okay
laugh.gif Looks like ozak has explained the reason. I thought the color was some lazy contractor using leftover wire of whatever color biggrin.gif
Zot
post Jan 18 2018, 11:36 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 18 2018, 11:27 AM)
OH I see !, shit. liddat how? I think only way is to rewire my ceiling lights to all same phase  bangwall.gif
Can rewire at the CB side?

Or to have an external switch with a box outside my regular wall switches - fugly lor  doh.gif
If you know which one goes to which one, why not? You can separate them in DB box. Of course wires are separated by color coding in DB, right?
Zot
post Jan 18 2018, 11:55 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 18 2018, 11:44 AM)
yes all nicely separated 
sigh but DB side I dare not work on it. needs an electrician sad.gif
The main incoming switch will cut off all supply. Additional isolation would be pulling out all phase fuses outside the house at the meter smile.gif
Zot
post Jan 18 2018, 12:05 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 18 2018, 12:02 PM)
im not so brave and bodo clever like advocado
seriously just now switching the damn thing on also gives me a heart attack....i damn sked the breaker trips  sweat.gif
Yes. Big and bulky switches look scary. Once you start doing and get use to it, you become lazy and careless, like no need to go downstairs to switch MCB off laugh.gif
Zot
post Jan 18 2018, 08:04 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 18 2018, 05:44 PM)
1. I think rewiring at the DB end would be cleanest. If I’m not mistaken I only need to switch the Red Neutral with the Yellow Neutral (depending on which Live phase I use)

2. Or Xiaomi suddenly makes a three gang switch. This would solve all my problems

3. Or like you said, separate switch but since there is no more lobang, have to use external box. My boss sure won’t approve so ugly
How would you rewire if the wire is embedded in wall? YOu can rewire in the DB but you will have different phase color in another phase group. Will cause confusion for electrician in future.

I think any ganged switch would have 1 common Live input. So, would not solve the problem

Enlarge the hole for another wall switch wouldn't be hard I think. It will look as nice but will have a look of two separate switch

I think there is a way you solve the problem. I'm refering back to the original wiring that you provided:

As you can see from left to right:

1) Red wire to bulb
2) Red wire L coupled for looping
3) Yellow Wire to bulb
4) Yellow wire L coupled for looping

I use different color to denote different phases (orange more visible than yellow smile.gif )

So, you just chose to use the Red or Yellow phase. Then connect the Red lamp and Yellow lamp to the switch (L1 and L2 if not mistaken). Then just joint the looping wire (either Red or Yellow) using connector by themselves.

This should work. No need to rewire anything. This is what I meant (not sure if your switch is like this. I didn't have one biggrin.gif )

This post has been edited by Zot: Jan 19 2018, 08:22 AM
Zot
post Jan 19 2018, 09:23 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 19 2018, 08:39 AM)
Yes I already joined the looping wire but which will you use for the inputs to Aqara L terminal? Either one will trip because you have one Yellow L1 going to lamp and another Red L2 going to another lamp.
I think no need swap the two Live wires from MCB. Both Red and Yellow Live remain as they are because I would use only one - example, I use only Yellow Live as the input for the Aqara switch end. What needs to be change is the Neutral. Need to swap one of the Neutral going to that lamp. Need to find that Red return wire. Correct me if I am wrong

Please see my two pictures - before and after
I dont have Yellow pen so I use Blue
Original Position
[attachmentid=9529111]

Swap Position
[attachmentid=9529112]
As far as I know the Neutral line is common to all 3 phases. House wiring is Y connection. So, not sure why you have separate N for different phase.

Zot
post Jan 19 2018, 10:03 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 19 2018, 09:51 AM)
I dunno about how all these electrical works. I only based my drawings by logical assumptions because ozak says using two different phases will cause it to trip. Since I only use either Red Live or Yellow Live, I am only using one phase. The other end of the circuit goes to the two lamps - so it must have different Neutrals for different phases
Your 2nd drawing (after) is like what I mentioned. It should not trip anything. I wonder if you did not mix up the yellow/red wire to the bulb with the L wire. If you did, it will trip the CB.
Zot
post Jan 19 2018, 10:37 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 19 2018, 10:08 AM)
the second drawing - i didnt try that. I only drew it this morning.

Here is what I tried yesterday - it trips the elcb
[attachmentid=9529189]
If the N is common to all phases, then both drawing are basically the same. I'm wondering if you mixed up the looping wire and the wire to the bulb.

Anyway, the CB tripped when you switched on L1 or L2 or either one?
Zot
post Jan 19 2018, 02:42 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 19 2018, 01:02 PM)
Installed one Aqara today. Started at 10.30am, now about 12.30pm only sau kung..... biggrin.gif
Really suck at DIY. If tar kung, sure kena fired in a minute.... laugh.gif

It replaces a two way switch. On paper already figure how to do but after bukak the existing switch, see all these wires then confused liao
[attachmentid=9529420]

Lucky the other end much less wires to figure out. I intend to remove this secondary 2-way switch and just hardwired it. Later I will add one wireless switch to this location so I still get two way controls
[attachmentid=9529423]

One thing I noticed on every wall switch and power socket - all the wires are badly stripped. Lets say supposed to have 12 strands of copper become like 3-4 strands left only....WTF. Our electrician so char. No wire stripper also can do nicely ma doh.gif
We are not expert and hardly do these thing. So, it will take longer time but good or bad, you have satisfaction doing it because you know you do it as careful as possible. smile.gif

It is not really badly stripped. When they need to loop bigger wire you need to twist two wires together. The size is normally not double but bigger than two wires diameter. So, the easy way is to remove as many strand to easily fit the connector hole. Therefore, forget about your 2.5mm 4mm wire load laugh.gif
Zot
post Jan 19 2018, 08:23 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jan 19 2018, 06:52 PM)
it will not work.
neutral will still be unbalanced when the yellow circuit is turned on because current sourced from red through red RCB but returned to yellow phase without through the red rcb.
because he has a secondary RCB just for the red phase. or just for that red circuit. deswai it trips when he connect L1 and L2 to different phase. because of neutral imbalance.
N can be separated for an isolated, dedicated circuit with dedicated RCB just to monitor that particular circuit.
before being joined at the common N busbar and monitored by a primary RCB.
Agreed. If the RCB is in the path, the RCB will trip because it will detect imbalance in the circuit. thumbsup.gif

In rewiring the N at the bulb, I'm not sure if the N of other phase it available at the lamp point that belong to another phase. The only way probably to change the return N at the DB and that would change phase for a group of lighting points. It also will have one wire with different phase going to another phase. Am I right?
Zot
post Jan 23 2018, 09:29 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Jan 23 2018, 09:21 AM)
Lucky u. Mayb new house nowaways use different RCCB for 16A circuit & 10A
My 10 years old house only have classic ELCB only biggrin.gif
Zot
post Jan 23 2018, 09:41 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Jan 23 2018, 09:33 AM)
Maybe the usage is too small to detect? Not really sure how RCCB working or house wiring.. Hopefully nothing harm in long term.. What I understand all neutral goes to same place in DB.

OK, after reading about RCCB.. As long as the current from live wire and out to neutral wire is the same than it will not trip..
This is good reference:

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/what-differe...elcab-engineers
Zot
post Jan 23 2018, 10:50 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Jan 23 2018, 10:26 AM)
So detailed.. where you get that? Developer?

Anyway just confirm I just got 1 63A RCCB.. That's why it's not tripping.
You need yours to trip once a day? laugh.gif

46 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.3229sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:14 PM