Smart Home, Let's discuss

Fubar20
post Sep 11 2018, 02:31 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 11 2018, 02:09 PM)
Planning to do some home automation with voice and need your opinions.

1.)Alexa vs Google Home , which is easier to integrate? What are your experience with both of them? Alexa easier but Google Assistant voice is more natural.

2.) light switches without neutral line. Is  broadlink and xiaomi aqara my only choice for wallswitches? Never used both but most reviews here are that Broadlink switches sucks.

3.) Is broadlink switches compatible with alexa or google home? Both compatible.
WELCOME! rclxms.gif
alucard89
post Sep 11 2018, 02:57 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 11 2018, 02:09 PM)
Planning to do some home automation with voice and need your opinions.

1.)Alexa vs Google Home , which is easier to integrate? What are your experience with both of them?

2.) light switches without neutral line. Is  broadlink and xiaomi aqara my only choice for wallswitches?

3.) Is broadlink switches compatible with alexa or google home?
1) depends on your device, now with iftt/hass you can integrate and use both.

2) try to avoid broadlink switch since they don't last long. There's also chuguan brand ( i have this one and still working since last year) and other rf switch you can find at taobao

3) both compatible now there's alexa & google home skills.
Drian
post Sep 12 2018, 01:33 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 11 2018, 02:31 PM)
WELCOME!  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(alucard89 @ Sep 11 2018, 02:57 PM)
1) depends on your device, now with iftt/hass you can integrate and use both.

2) try to avoid broadlink switch since they don't last long. There's also chuguan brand ( i have this one and still working since last year) and other rf switch you can find at taobao

3) both compatible now there's alexa & google home skills.
How about Aqara, seems like still not compatible with alexa at this point in time. Any workarounds ?
Drian
post Sep 12 2018, 02:11 AM

4,999 posts

Anyone using rasberry pi home assisatant?

Man this home automation is so confusing , and layers and layers of gateway.

Fubar20
post Sep 12 2018, 07:41 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 12 2018, 01:33 AM)
How about Aqara, seems like still not compatible with alexa at this point in time. Any workarounds ?
There's news saying it will be supported by end of the year.

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 12 2018, 02:11 AM)

I am using Pi Zero W for one.
Steep learning but a lot of community support.
What gateway? Only use the pi as server and MQTT.
ozak
post Sep 12 2018, 10:06 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 12 2018, 02:11 AM)

What so confuse ?

Just use Xiaomi la.
Drian
post Sep 12 2018, 11:02 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 12 2018, 10:06 AM)
What so confuse ?

Just use Xiaomi la.
But it can't natively connect to alexa right?

I see most people are using Home assistant(ras pi with aqara hub) to integrate alexa with xiaomi aqara line.

Then again I also see people integrating xiaomi aqara with alexa through samsung smarthings.

This post has been edited by Drian: Sep 12 2018, 11:03 AM
Fubar20
post Sep 12 2018, 11:07 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 12 2018, 11:02 AM)
I see most people are using Home assistant(ras pi with aqara hub) to integrate alexa with xiaomi aqara line.

Then again I also see people integrating xiaomi aqara with alexa through samsung smarthings.
This is correct.
What problems you want to solve with using aqara or wifi switches?
Alexa and Google Assistant are just a minor part in the smart home. Can run from your android phone app for testing before u buy the smart speakers.
ozak
post Sep 12 2018, 11:12 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 12 2018, 11:02 AM)

Ask this sifu idoblu
Drian
post Sep 12 2018, 11:27 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 12 2018, 11:07 AM)
This is correct.
What problems you want to solve with using aqara or wifi switches?
Alexa and Google Assistant are just a minor part in the smart home. Can run from your android phone app for testing before u buy the smart speakers.
I would like to use aqara wall switches that does not use neutral line .

My other option is to use broadlink TC2 or Chuguan.

This post has been edited by Drian: Sep 12 2018, 11:43 AM
zzzhhhzzz
post Sep 12 2018, 11:29 AM

1,671 posts

hi guys.. just wondering if it is possible to do a mixture of xiaomi smart devices and sonoff smart switches together ? eg. using xiaomi motion sensor to turn on smart switchs from sonoff t2 ? I read somewhere that such integration is possible through home assistant in raspberry pi.. anyone comment on this ?
Fubar20
post Sep 12 2018, 11:30 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 12 2018, 11:27 AM)
I would like to use aqara wall switches that does not use neutral line.
You already mentioned it earlier.
You want to change your dumb switch for Aqara switch to do what? Be another switch? confused.gif

Fubar20
post Sep 12 2018, 11:33 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Sep 12 2018, 11:29 AM)
hi guys.. just wondering if it is possible to do a mixture of xiaomi smart devices and sonoff smart switches together ? eg. using xiaomi motion sensor to turn on smart switchs from sonoff t2 ? I read somewhere that such integration is possible through home assistant in raspberry pi.. anyone comment on this ?
Yup, can do. Must flash Sonoff T1 with custom firmware.
Refer here : Xiaomi Aqara
Drian
post Sep 12 2018, 11:38 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 12 2018, 11:30 AM)
You already mentioned it earlier.
You want to change your dumb switch for Aqara switch to do what? Be another switch?  confused.gif
Be a controllable switch both physical and through wifi(gateway)

My current switch is controlling a few downlight at once.
Fubar20
post Sep 12 2018, 11:48 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 12 2018, 11:38 AM)
Be a controllable switch both physical and through wifi(gateway)

My current switch is controlling a few downlight at once.
OK. For Xiaomi Aqara, trigger idoblu.
For Sonoff, anyone also can answer. brows.gif
If the lights are using less than 10A, can use Sonoff Basic. If more, can use TH10 or TH16.
idoblu
post Sep 12 2018, 12:44 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 12 2018, 11:12 AM)
Ask this sifu idoblu
paiseh, im no sifu. only started my smart home journey late last year....
but if use xiaomi, its rather simple. seriously if i can understand it, anybody can.

as for the question of voice control - Homekit is ready now. Just need to get the new Aqara gateway
Alexa is supposed to be available too but i think not ready yet
Google Home - no news....

Unfortunately for me, I dont care for Homekit at the moment even though my phone, tablet and computer are Apple sweat.gif
Reason being Apple's smart speaker is too expensive.

Anyway most of my stuff are running automatically by themselves. No need to touch the switches or to voice control it to do something. Its cool to have but not necessary

This post has been edited by idoblu: Sep 12 2018, 12:44 PM
mikechan86
post Sep 12 2018, 12:48 PM

why nowadays ppl like everything auto?
soon u just lay on bed and will have robot run your whole life for you.
Fubar20
post Sep 12 2018, 01:02 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(mikechan86 @ Sep 12 2018, 12:48 PM)
why nowadays ppl like everything auto?
soon u just lay on bed and will have robot run your whole life for you.
U must like to open a door to walk into a shopping mall, flush the toilet using your hand, open and close the tap manually and use paper to wipe it, right?
And your robot example is not automation but it is actually a slave. biggrin.gif
alucard89
post Sep 12 2018, 02:04 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Sep 12 2018, 11:29 AM)
Yes, it can be done
But please note you won't be able to restore back to original firmware after flashing custom one. So be sure to setup mqtt server and others to control your sonoff devices.
idoblu
post Sep 12 2018, 08:48 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 10 2018, 11:46 AM)
rugi not buy the Xiao fang, rm 61 , forgot and fall asleep wake up already 12:00 midnight
Here’s another chance. Selling now at 62.9
I rather buy the Dafang for a little more though
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/original...rce=Newsletters

656 Pages « < 187 188 189 190 191 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:52 AM