Smart Home, Let's discuss

Kiding
post Sep 4 2018, 12:22 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 3 2018, 10:52 PM)
At the end, my bathroom fill with so many sensor and better use my hand switch to on and off hahahaha

Anyway if you easy solution just let me know
I'm using microwave motion sensor in my master bathroom, it works perfectly, a slight movement will trigger lights on, unlike PIR, it is 360 degree detection

The microwave motion sensor can be bought in Taobao or Aliexpress, Taobao is more cheaper, becareful if you get 5.8Ghz one, it could interfere with 5Ghz WIFI.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/220V-Auto-I...iceBeautifyAB=0

This post has been edited by Kiding: Sep 4 2018, 12:22 AM
Zot
post Sep 4 2018, 08:05 AM

7,940 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 3 2018, 10:52 PM)
At the end, my bathroom fill with so many sensor and better use my hand switch to on and off hahahaha

Anyway if you easy solution just let me know
The PIR Motion sensor:

https://www.clipsal.com/sensors
https://shopee.com.my/TB-220V-240V-Infrared...AiABEgLGZvD_BwE
Zot
post Sep 4 2018, 08:06 AM

7,940 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 3 2018, 06:21 PM)
If i take a shower , PIR still detect or not?
It can detect the body heat even if you shower with ice laugh.gif
Zot
post Sep 4 2018, 08:07 AM

7,940 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 3 2018, 06:24 PM)
If you use Aqara human motion sensor to turn off if don't detect motion in so many minutes, you will suddenly find yourself in a dark room πŸ˜…

What you need is two motion sensors. One inside bathroom set to detect no motion in say 2 minutes. The other motion sensor must be inside the bedroom- set to detect motion. Both conditions must be met before it can turn off the bathroom lights. This can only work if you got an ensuite bathroom

My way I use door sensor only cause I don’t completely close my door. So open door - turn on lights (only at certain time) and off when door closes. Simple and fail safe πŸ˜…
Like I mentioned, use PIR motion sensor, i.e. it detects motion and body heat at the same time.
idoblu
post Sep 4 2018, 08:11 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 4 2018, 08:07 AM)
Like I mentioned, use PIR motion sensor, i.e. it detects motion and body heat at the same time.
how many you install in your house?
Zot
post Sep 4 2018, 08:18 AM

7,940 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 3 2018, 06:44 PM)
Not really understand, yes when i enter the bathroom i will close the bathroom door and at same time the light will on , for sure will make movement and the light will still on until i gooing out. Can it be like that?
The motion sensor will detect motion for sure. So, so as long as there is movement, it will be kept triggered. If you have bathroom curtain, the wind might move the curtain and trigger the light. That is why I proposed PIR motion sensor. This sensor will prevent false triggering of the light. The PIR sensor uses both motion and infrared (through body heat) to trigger. This is not expensive and easy to install. You can set the ambient light, trigger when the bathroom is dark to certain level. It also has timer to delay power off in most model.

I actually do not understand why people talk about connecting the sensor to sonoff. The sensor is already smart by itself and require no intervention. What else need to be remotely controlled. You can bypass the sensor using the existing switch to bypass sensor. You just need to connect sensor in parallel to the switch. So, either sensor or wall switch can light up the light in the bathroom.
Zot
post Sep 4 2018, 08:20 AM

7,940 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 4 2018, 08:11 AM)
how many you install in your house?
No, I do not have any motion sensor in my house. blush.gif Always thinking of putting but never did. Maybe because it is not a problem to switch light on and off once enter or leave the bathroom etc. Never forget about the light either laugh.gif
idoblu
post Sep 4 2018, 08:28 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 4 2018, 08:20 AM)
No, I do not have any motion sensor in my house.  blush.gif  Always thinking of putting but never did. Maybe because it is not a problem to switch light on and off once enter or leave the bathroom etc. Never forget about the light either  laugh.gif
i have some Aqara motion sensors which are PIR and for some reason they will turn off your lights even when you are still standing there.
I read other brands also act the same way. If you depend on them to keep the lights on then you will realize that they dont always work biggrin.gif
kelembai
post Sep 4 2018, 08:33 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 4 2018, 08:06 AM)
It can detect the body heat even if you shower with ice  laugh.gif
Fuhhh very good
Zot
post Sep 4 2018, 08:39 AM

7,940 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 4 2018, 08:33 AM)
Fuhhh very good
A good one should be able to set sensitivity. You don't want to light to switch on when your cat is having shower. Cat does not need light laugh.gif
kelembai
post Sep 4 2018, 08:42 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 4 2018, 08:39 AM)
A good one should be able to set sensitivity. You don't want to light to switch on when your cat is having shower. Cat does not need light  laugh.gif
Setuju2
Fubar20
post Sep 4 2018, 08:43 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 4 2018, 08:07 AM)
Don't detect motion lah. The actual name is Passive Infra Red (PIR)

WIKI
The sensor macam the Predator hunter eye that see Arnold Susahnakeja. flex.gif
Don't believe ah? Try moving a 'cold' object across the sensor and see it got trigger or not.

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 4 2018, 08:18 AM)
The motion sensor will detect motion for sure. So, so as long as there is movement, it will be kept triggered. If you have bathroom curtain, the wind might move the curtain and trigger the light. That is why I proposed PIR motion sensor. This sensor will prevent false triggering of the light. The PIR sensor uses both motion and infrared (through body heat) to trigger. This is not expensive and easy to install. You can set the ambient light, trigger when the bathroom is dark to certain level. It also has timer to delay power off in most model.

I actually do not understand why people talk about connecting the sensor to sonoff. The sensor is already smart by itself and require no intervention. What else need to be remotely controlled. You can bypass the sensor using the existing switch to bypass sensor. You just need to connect sensor in parallel to the switch. So, either sensor or wall switch can light up the light in the bathroom.
The Sonoff is just one of the way of implementing the trigger to the light. Same as the door sensor with On and Off code.
There is a lot of ways to implement smart home and it is just a matter of preference.

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 4 2018, 08:28 AM)
i have some Aqara motion sensors which are PIR and for some reason they will turn off your lights even when you are still standing there.
I read other brands also act the same way. If you depend on them to keep the lights on then you will realize that they dont always work  biggrin.gif
Yup, some PIR are wonky mia. rclxub.gif
Zot
post Sep 4 2018, 08:47 AM

7,940 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 4 2018, 08:28 AM)
I read other brands also act the same way. If you depend on them to keep the lights on then you will realize that they dont always work  biggrin.gif
Wah... so poor. I guess it depends on the sensor sensitivity. Anything above 0 Kelvin emits heat energy. So, is depends on how sensitive the PIR sensor. The sensor does not radiate any signal because it is passive. ..... or perhaps ypu are cold blooded laugh.gif
Zot
post Sep 4 2018, 08:48 AM

7,940 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 4 2018, 08:43 AM)
That is why I said PIR Motion sensor, not PIR sensor. PIR motion sensor combines both IR and Motion sensors. smile.gif
Fubar20
post Sep 4 2018, 09:05 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 4 2018, 08:48 AM)
That is why I said PIR Motion sensor, not PIR sensor. PIR motion sensor combines both IR and Motion sensors.  smile.gif
Can you please explain the 'Motion' part, please? How it works?
kelembai
post Sep 4 2018, 09:08 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 3 2018, 09:00 PM)
Huh? you have bad experience before ? biggrin.gif  Never heard of people lock in the bathroom.

I don't close the bathroom door at all. Beside the door cannot close complete as the door wood expand into the frame at the lock side.

Didn't repair it as I don't use the door at all. Also too hot if taken hot bath. Let have some air flow.
Anyone can enter your bathroon line that la
kelembai
post Sep 4 2018, 09:10 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 4 2018, 08:47 AM)
Wah... so poor. I guess it depends on the sensor sensitivity. Anything above 0 Kelvin emits heat energy. So, is depends on how sensitive the PIR sensor. The sensor does not radiate any signal because it is passive. ..... or perhaps ypu are cold blooded  laugh.gif
Is it becoz of the setting, anyone have other fedback pn this aqara PIR,
kelembai
post Sep 4 2018, 09:12 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 4 2018, 08:18 AM)

The reason need to connect to other sensor is to light on the light and no depend on the PIR light which not so bright

This post has been edited by kelembai: Sep 4 2018, 09:18 AM
Kiding
post Sep 4 2018, 09:16 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 4 2018, 08:43 AM)

WIKI
The sensor macam the Predator hunter eye that see Arnold Susahnakeja.  flex.gif 
Don't believe ah? Try moving a 'cold' object across the sensor and see it got trigger or not.
The Sonoff is just one of the way of implementing the trigger to the light. Same as the door sensor with On and Off code.
There is a lot of ways to implement smart home and it is just a matter of preference.
Yup, some PIR are wonky mia.  rclxub.gif
PIR sensor has detection angle issue, it can only detect motion at certain angles, and sometimes if your body is cold (after taking cold shower), it will be difficult to detect human body motion.
idoblu
post Sep 4 2018, 09:18 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 4 2018, 09:10 AM)
Is it becoz of the setting, anyone have other fedback pn this aqara PIR,
because thats how it works la
i quote, "it detects human movement using passive infrared"

https://cdn.cnbj2.fds.api.mi-img.com/cdn/aq...art%20Guide.pdf

bottom line is it must detect motion or no motion in order to do something. please show me a PIR sensor that detects stagnant body heat only

This post has been edited by idoblu: Sep 4 2018, 09:21 AM

656 Pages « < 179 180 181 182 183 > » Top

0.0181sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:37 PM