Smart Home, Let's discuss

alucard89
post Sep 9 2018, 06:42 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 9 2018, 02:40 PM)
hmm.gif Can use on Lenovo Smart Display?
I only know Echo Show can use with IP Cam.

But if you ask me, unless can control the camera PTZ and it has some AI then only very nice to use.  cool2.gif
By default can, seems like straightforward setup with Lenovo Smart Display.
alucard89
post Sep 9 2018, 08:10 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 9 2018, 07:53 PM)
sifu, Im still undecided to use xiaomi ecosystem in my bathroom, ie aqara smart light switch, xiaomi motion sensor and xiaomi gateway , mainly due  to the price , the total cost will be rm 260 just for the bathroom, do you think is worth since for the other project that im thinking about just to replace all light switch that near to AC to sonoff. But for sure , some light switch im also need Xiaomi due to the place is far from AC socket.

what your opinion
Maybe just use sonoff t1 + pir sensor combo?
Probably can save more on that
alucard89
post Sep 11 2018, 02:57 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 11 2018, 02:09 PM)
Planning to do some home automation with voice and need your opinions.

1.)Alexa vs Google Home , which is easier to integrate? What are your experience with both of them?

2.) light switches without neutral line. Is  broadlink and xiaomi aqara my only choice for wallswitches?

3.) Is broadlink switches compatible with alexa or google home?
1) depends on your device, now with iftt/hass you can integrate and use both.

2) try to avoid broadlink switch since they don't last long. There's also chuguan brand ( i have this one and still working since last year) and other rf switch you can find at taobao

3) both compatible now there's alexa & google home skills.
alucard89
post Sep 12 2018, 02:04 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Sep 12 2018, 11:29 AM)
hi guys.. just wondering if it is possible to do a mixture of xiaomi smart devices and sonoff smart switches together ? eg. using xiaomi motion sensor to turn on smart switchs from sonoff t2 ? I read somewhere that such integration is possible through home assistant in raspberry pi.. anyone comment on this ?
Yes, it can be done
But please note you won't be able to restore back to original firmware after flashing custom one. So be sure to setup mqtt server and others to control your sonoff devices.
alucard89
post Sep 13 2018, 02:12 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 13 2018, 12:23 PM)
It’s wierd but Samsung Smarthings doesn’t seem to be sold here in Malaysia. Couldnt find any online shops that sells this.
Is it because it’s not supported here?
Nope, not offically sold here nor comes with msia zwave frequency. If you wanna get one, make sure your hub z-wave frequency is compatible with your z wave devices.
For example, I got a us smartthings hub to pair with my Yale smart lock.
alucard89
post Sep 13 2018, 03:52 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 13 2018, 03:19 PM)
If i am looking to use only the zigbee portion , shouldn’t be an issue right?
AFAIK zigbee frequency is standard worldwide, just z-wave is different based on region. You can pair with xiaomi sensors to the hub.
alucard89
post Sep 13 2018, 11:28 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(kokwei @ Sep 13 2018, 11:05 PM)
Thanks for your speedy response. Looks like I've hit a road block then smile.gif
Can add sonoff to the autogate motherboard, this was discussed before. Maybe you can search or scroll a few pages back
alucard89
post Sep 19 2018, 04:07 PM

4,454 posts

Google home hub coming soon
I'll probably just pick this one

https://www.lowyat.net/2018/169880/google-h...ogle-assistant/

Hopefully get price cut like what amazon is doing with their echo show promo
alucard89
post Sep 19 2018, 05:39 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 19 2018, 05:13 PM)
You not getting the Lenovo Smart Display?
Will be sometime before got discount for Google Home Hub.
Prefer something directly from google, but will see if both got price drop later when black friday sales come.
alucard89
post Sep 21 2018, 05:03 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 21 2018, 09:09 AM)
WTS Echo Dot (2nd Gen)

lol....just kidding.
I dun need better speaker, I want better microphones. 7 far field mics but still cant hear me....🤦🏻‍♂️

Even the Echo Show got a new edition. No wonder the discount given lately

Im more interested in this -
now those fellas who got autogate can do this -

Holy crap, already 2nd gen & bunch of other alexa devices
That microwave though 🤔
alucard89
post Sep 22 2018, 11:30 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 22 2018, 11:19 PM)
Today make 1 more achievement, install sonoff t1 3 gang by myself by doing looping the neutral wire from A/C switch and link to google home.

The only thing that i want to ask is to go with google home or amazon echo for long term. Pls advice
Nice, might as well stick with google since you already have one.
Then maybe grab the newer google smart display once they're out.

Better question would be if you wanna use with ewelink cloud or flash with custom firmware to not rely on cloud.

alucard89
post Sep 23 2018, 07:38 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 22 2018, 11:52 PM)
Just asking since i have both google hole and amazon echo. In order to expand i need to know which one the best to maintain

Yes next project will flash the firmware. Now use  ewelink first.
Both are competing right now for improvement
Good thing for us anyway since more features
I got both, and I also wanna try the newer echo speakers that just came out. The echo dot 7 mike system responds to wake word better than mini at least when in noisy room or playing loud music
alucard89
post Sep 23 2018, 03:29 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 23 2018, 03:15 PM)
Jusy want to ask, would like to buy more sonoff, which web sell cheaper. At moment im buying from Bangood
Shopee, or taobao. Cheap to free shipping also for both
alucard89
post Sep 23 2018, 05:24 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 23 2018, 05:12 PM)
Ya shopee , do you have any recommeded seller,  coz im worry about oem item.
Oh and gearbest too, I don't really have a preference
I just picked whichever's selling cheapest
alucard89
post Sep 24 2018, 05:22 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Sep 24 2018, 03:26 PM)
guys a noob question here, if we use a mix of aqara and sonoff switches can we linked them together to google home?
You mean for aqara switch only?
There's already mihome skill now so you could just group the aqara and sonoff switch together
alucard89
post Dec 20 2018, 09:40 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 19 2018, 02:15 PM)
Much much better than 2nd gen dots
One thing though, while using it as a Bluetooth speaker playing from my phone, sometimes the sound cracked. I think I’m moving too far away?
If you've got more than 2 echo 3rd gen. Can outsput music to them all? I noticed they've got stereo mode
alucard89
post Dec 31 2018, 01:43 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Dec 31 2018, 01:37 PM)
Sigh anyone looking for a mijia hub and not using home assistant? Will sell it cheap.
Bought this as my 2nd hub for my 2nd floor but it cannot connect with home assistant despite it working perfectly in the mi home app. After 10 hours of troubleshooting and googling , apparently there are certain batches that has disabled local developer mode(speculation only).
Is yours the early model? (Not the 2nd edition one)
That's the one that enabled yet
alucard89
post Jan 15 2019, 08:35 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(lennylsl @ Jan 14 2019, 04:54 PM)
Sorry for the noob question but for HA on QNAP, can i just buy any zigbee / zwave usb stick and i'll work? or only from a certain brand??
Better to get the ones already tested and working from the HA forum.
For z-wave stick, just make sure it's on the same frequency for your z-wave devices since they vary based on region.
alucard89
post Jan 15 2019, 12:59 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(lennylsl @ Jan 15 2019, 12:52 PM)
Thanks....  will any zwave stick work as in compatible with HA? or must be from a few brands only....
You can check the list here

https://www.home-assistant.io/docs/z-wave/controllers/
alucard89
post Apr 30 2019, 08:50 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(3scamry @ Apr 29 2019, 02:25 PM)
Hi just wanna share my home setup with Sonoff Touch switch and Amazon Echo Dot. Cheers.

Interesting, Alexa has definitely improved a lot in terms of response and capturing command since last time I used it.

56 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.6746sec    1.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:27 AM