Smart Home, Let's discuss

enriquelee
post Dec 27 2016, 09:05 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 26 2016, 06:01 PM)
Btw these type of things will never be 100% reliable. You just got to use it for non-critical task
Seems like the technology is still not mature huh.
idoblu
post Dec 27 2016, 09:07 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Dec 27 2016, 09:05 AM)
Seems like the technology is still not mature huh.
like i said it will never be. internet can be down anytime.
you are not going to use your smart plug to turn on some life saving incubator or whatnots....so dont worry about it
ozak
post Dec 27 2016, 09:41 AM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 26 2016, 06:01 PM)
Btw these type of things will never be 100% reliable. You just got to use it for non-critical task
I guess the memory card cannot fit into the bulb. biggrin.gif
enriquelee
post Dec 27 2016, 09:51 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 27 2016, 09:07 AM)
like i said it will never be. internet can be down anytime.
you are not going to use your smart plug to turn on some life saving incubator or whatnots....so dont worry about it
If only internet connection then still ok. I have been rely on internet for many other things, so far ok la.
What i worry more is the hardware or software immature nature kind of thing.
alucard89
post Dec 28 2016, 06:45 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Dec 24 2016, 02:18 PM)
Bought all xiaomi stuff

Managed to get it up and running ! Now it works with Siri as well and it can control

The app is in Engrish , but its a lousy app. Good for pairing and enabling developer mode. After that you can use homebridge + homekit + Siri to control and automate it

Now I need to replace the light switch
Hi, can you provide links or some guide how you configure them to work with siri?
Also, did you manage to get google now working with xiaomi hub?
Just starting to have interest on getting voice commands to work with automated device after seeing some videos people using tasker app and combo with harmony hub
idoblu
post Dec 30 2016, 06:31 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

I saw this Sony Qrio Smart Lock at the Sony Building Ginza. It cost 18000 Yen which is about Rm700
Its very easy to install but unfortunately it doesnt fit my locks. My thumb turner is round instead of flat.
And its is not convenient to take out smartphone to unlock doors as compare to conventional keys
It has auto lock but no auto open. If only it can sense Im approaching and unlocks itself when it pairs with the smartphone
But I like the idea of "sharing" the key with another person

This post has been edited by idoblu: Dec 30 2016, 06:32 PM
hikashi
post Jan 1 2017, 04:24 PM

Pusheeeeeeeett
1,065 posts

I plan to use tplink smart plug for controlling the lightings in badminton court remotely.

Will the smart plug able to handle the load? Lets say one plug controlling 40 tubes of 20w led t8. Thanks!
idoblu
post Jan 1 2017, 09:43 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(hikashi @ Jan 1 2017, 04:24 PM)
I plan to use tplink smart plug for controlling the lightings in badminton court remotely.

Will the smart plug able to handle the load? Lets say one plug controlling 40 tubes of 20w led t8. Thanks!
all your 40 tubes of light bulbs connected to one 3 pin plug? shocking.gif
hikashi
post Jan 1 2017, 09:49 PM

Pusheeeeeeeett
1,065 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 1 2017, 09:43 PM)
all your 40 tubes of light bulbs connected to one 3 pin plug?  shocking.gif
Total its only 800w though.

alucard89
post Jan 12 2017, 02:29 PM

4,454 posts

Anyone using amazon echo dot here?
Thinking about buying one and getting it work to with broadlink rm like in this video

Sonoff seems to be a low cost alternative to smart plugs, curious to know how long it can last hmm.gif

My friend bought broadlink tc2 smart switch but it stopped working after a few months
loki
post Jan 12 2017, 02:32 PM

2,109 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 18 2015, 02:15 PM)
I always read and hear people said this same thing.

For me, it is just a waste of energy and time. Doesn't really usefull. The only reason I can think of is, it is a luxury thing.
This is another way to impress girls...
idoblu
post Jan 12 2017, 02:39 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 12 2017, 02:29 PM)
Anyone using amazon echo dot here?

Sonoff seems to be a low cost alternative to smart plugs, curious to know how long it can last  hmm.gif

My friend bought broadlink tc2 smart switch but it stopped working after a few months
hmmm this Sonoff looks good...
ozak what do you think?

This post has been edited by idoblu: Jan 12 2017, 02:39 PM
ozak
post Jan 12 2017, 04:48 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 12 2017, 02:39 PM)
hmmm this Sonoff looks good...
ozak what do you think?
Look good.

Where is the prg save?

In the cloud or the device?
idoblu
post Jan 12 2017, 05:41 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 12 2017, 04:48 PM)
Look good.

Where is the prg save?

In the cloud or the device?
everything also cloud.... biggrin.gif
in china cloud summore....

anyway i just ordered 4 to try.....cannot go wrong for $5 each
only hope that it doesnt burn down my house sweat.gif
ozak
post Jan 12 2017, 06:15 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 12 2017, 05:41 PM)
everything also cloud.... biggrin.gif
in china cloud summore....

anyway i just ordered 4 to try.....cannot go wrong for $5 each
only hope that it doesnt burn down my house  sweat.gif
Later prc hack your house. biggrin.gif

Actually I m doubt with that price about quality.

Since you offer as a white rat 1st, tell me later the result. tongue.gif
idoblu
post Jan 12 2017, 06:35 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 12 2017, 06:15 PM)
Later prc hack your house.  biggrin.gif

Actually I m doubt with that price about quality.

Since you offer as a white rat 1st, tell me later the result.  tongue.gif
I sked also. If PRC knows my IP address can masuk my network or not? 😅
ozak
post Jan 12 2017, 06:48 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 12 2017, 06:35 PM)
I sked also. If PRC knows my IP address can masuk my network or not? 😅
Definitely la.

2yrs ago, I went to china help the branch there. Sometime access my NAS back home. To get some file and manage media file for my wife.

Than comeback. Suddenly don't no why sometime my NAS access so slow.

Check the log file in the NAS.

Fuuuuck.... Got somebody keep hacking in, in certain hour. Everyday, everyweek.

I google the IP. And you know from where? It is the fucking china IP. ranting.gif
idoblu
post Jan 12 2017, 07:00 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 12 2017, 06:48 PM)
Definitely la.

2yrs ago, I went to china help the branch there. Sometime access my NAS back home. To get some file and manage media file for my wife.

Than comeback. Suddenly don't no why sometime my NAS access so slow.

Check the log file in the NAS.

Fuuuuck.... Got somebody keep hacking in, in certain hour. Everyday, everyweek.

I google the IP. And you know from where? It is the fucking china IP.  ranting.gif
Wah so scary wei 😣
No need password to masuk?
How about using another third party app like this
https://www.yonomi.co
At least not from china

One more thing, you can buy the RF version that don't use wifi

This post has been edited by idoblu: Jan 12 2017, 07:07 PM
weikee
post Jan 12 2017, 07:16 PM

12,019 posts

Depending how the nas is access loh, sometime maybe due to house pc downloading and got Trojan.

Back to so called smart hokes, Actually, smart home is overrated. Smart is not the word to use. Is just bunch of sensor operate base on the logic someone program inside. It should be called programed home, not smart.
idoblu
post Jan 12 2017, 07:40 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 12 2017, 07:16 PM)
Depending how the nas is access loh,  sometime maybe due to house pc downloading and got Trojan.

Back to so called smart hokes,  Actually,  smart home is overrated. Smart is not the word to use. Is just bunch of sensor operate base on the logic someone program inside. It should be called programed home,  not smart.
Smart home is nothing more than a glorified remote control with timer function 😂

656 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:39 PM