5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Table Tennis/Ping Pong

pingpang
post Jul 3 2009, 11:04 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(tabletennis @ Jul 2 2009, 04:06 PM)
chinese rubber top sheet is tacky...means a little bit sticky..it tends to hold the ball for a longer time so it would be easier to loop ...and the loops are slightly diff from the europeans,the ball wont jump taht high after hitting the table...
Yes, Chinese rubber top sheet is rather tacky (ie sticky) and sometimes you can stick a ping pong ball to the rubber too.
Furthermore Chinese rubbers are cheaper compared to Japanese rubbers (Butterfly, Yasaka) or European rubbers like Stiga (Sweden), Andro, Tibhar & Donic (all from Germany)

Added on July 3, 2009, 11:13 am
QUOTE(full @ Jun 17 2009, 06:20 PM)
yo... today off early... so, got chance to online n can go to play later!!!  rclxm9.gif  seems there are lots of discussion over here about the rubbers. FYI, there is rubber n sponge selling separately. u can try to find 729 rubber(best surface) and sponge(donno what brand is good). then glue them together. this can make the best rubber. last time, national players were playing these kind of rubber. (now maybe still got ppl playing these rubbers, but i'm not sure la..) but bare in mind that, once u glue senget or... glue not nicely... then gone de la.. lol....

but normally "rubber" we talking about, and selling in the market one is together with sponge n rubber one. and ya, Palio Macro Pro is very nice!! just a bit pricey, maybe RM90(if the price still maintain). but not last long. The side will deteriorate n drop off quite fast.  blush.gif 
The gluing together sponge and top sheet used to be done my most "McGuyvers" in ping pong to determine which combination is the "best". For example German sponge with Chinese topsheet (not can buy off the shelves) which was rare previously.

In my opinion, if you have the $$ & time, you can try pairing different sponge with the different topsheet. For example the DHS No. 20 sponge with other topsheet.

QUOTE(full @ Jun 17 2009, 06:20 PM)
bro... if u want to try a good rubber, try Donic. it is more expensive, RM90(if the price still maintain). sive $$ and give it a try once. it's worth! the best rubber i played b4 is still Donic Desto F1. it gives you great spin, speed with really soft sponge. but the only pitfall is it broke easily if u have direct hit on the table with the F1.  blush.gif

Give it a try man!!  thumbup.gif
Yes, agree with you that Desto F1 is a good rubber for a mid-table looper/spinner. It comes with a soft sponge and is a good combination with a stiffer blade. But my experience with this rubber is that it is not that durable.

This post has been edited by pingpang: Jul 3 2009, 12:03 PM
pingpang
post Jul 7 2009, 05:56 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(aiez2608 @ Jul 7 2009, 12:59 PM)
hai. iwant to buy robo pong.. anybody no where i can get it. my budget 2k
You can try the Gold Medal Sports Trading at UE3. The address should be found earlier in this thread as posted by one of the member here.
pingpang
post Jul 21 2009, 11:07 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(full @ Jul 8 2009, 02:09 PM)
i think Stiga Mendo Energy is not a tensor rubber, its top sheet is the same as Stiga Mendo, just using softer sponge. the true power of the rubber will still be perform. the speed glue is just to provide more speed n maybe spin for the few hours you re-glue with speed glue only. correct me is i'm wrong.

notworthy.gif
Yes, speed glue will make the rubber have more speed and spin, the couple of hours after re-gluing with the speed glue(Note : speed glue was banned in all ITTF sanctioned tournament due to health issues).

Many tt players still uses speed glue at the club level. One sniff on their bat, and you know if they speed glue their rubber or not.

Added on July 21, 2009, 11:37 am
QUOTE(tabletennis @ Jul 16 2009, 03:59 PM)
can recommend me some rubbers that are very light in weight but stil has some power? want to change my bh rubber to a lighter 1...the best is chinese characteristic rubber
Light in weight, chinese characteristic rubber - for me it is the LKT Pro series (if want speed- Pro XP, if want control Pro XT)

Added on July 21, 2009, 11:45 amhi cckthechun,

where r u located? KL ? PJ? Subang jaya?
from page 40+ to 75+, there are a group of lyn members based in PJ played in UTAR. some from cyberjaya plays around there.

Added on July 21, 2009, 12:11 pm
QUOTE(tsd @ Jul 11 2009, 10:50 AM)
This sunday I got a Church tournament at St Francis Xaviour Church in Jalan Gasing PJ smile.gif 8.30am start. Luckily I have two training session at Sunway Lagoon Club ( last tuesday and thursday ) after not playing for more than 1 year. Hopefully this sunday can play better smile.gif

Anyway, I finally get to use my Kong Ling Hui Special for the first time in real games. Power wise, slower than my previous bat  ( Sardius ) but decent enough to kill a ball.  Best thing about this bat is, very good control and feeling. Can play very fine touch game, no need to attack like mad when I was with Sardius. Bryce Speed works pretty well with Kong Ling Hui Special.. my only complain is my backhand rubber ( Inspirit Quattro UltraLight ) is too thick 2.3mm.. not much feeling, but still can play pretty decent. I bought the 2.3mm because I got no choice that day, they ran out of 2.1mm, only have 2.3mm... since already there so I just take lah. Another thing is that my Bryce Speed is already more than 1 year old, suprising that it is still performing very well.
You may also try the Dawei Inspirit Quattro Ultra Light, I used it for my backhand... pretty decent all round rubber.  Less than RM50.
I think I played with you before on tuesday at the sunway lagoon club (7/7/09) as I was outstation on 9/7.
When r u free again for a game, tsd?

It's good you start playing again as i was looking for people to "ping pang" with.

Cheers.

Added on July 21, 2009, 12:17 pm
QUOTE(tsd @ Jul 12 2009, 11:17 PM)
I lost sad.gif lose 2-3 to a chinese penhold fellow. Very good attacking player. I make too many mistakes, very regret lah... should not play so much attacking when I have not been playing for such a long time. Should have played more defensive and let him make mistake.

it is abit sad to hear how sometimes ping-pong is associated with senior uncles game, where senior uncles dominates...
Not really associated with senior uncle games. Most uncles "eat salt more than we eat rice" therefore they are more experience and reduces their mistake more than us. Even myself (took uo this game just 2/3 years ago due to injury in other sports) oso consider "old" as I am in my 40s.

tsd,
I believe you can improve better if you give yourself another 3 months. You looks young and can improve some more.

This post has been edited by pingpang: Jul 21 2009, 12:17 PM
pingpang
post Jul 21 2009, 03:27 PM

171 posts

You may try the following :

1) tabletennistrading
1-1, 1st Floor, Jalan 3/93, Taman Miharja, Cheras, 55200 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
Telephone/Fax: +(603)-9200 1028, Handphone: +(6016)-228 0021, +(6016)-229 0021
email: tabletennistrading@gmail.com

2) triox sports (or its website presports,com)
SG25-1 shopping gallery
Subang square
Jln SS 15/4G
47500 Subang Jaya
Selangor
Tel: 03-5633 1291

3) Gold medal sports trading
2.73, 2nd Floor, Plaza Uncang Emas (UE3), 85, Jalan Loke Yew, Kuala Lumpur 55200 Wilayah Persekutuan
03-9205 1637
(I think they have shifted , but to a different block in UE3)

This post has been edited by pingpang: Jul 21 2009, 03:35 PM
pingpang
post Jul 21 2009, 06:03 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(cckthechun @ Jul 21 2009, 04:55 PM)
im located at bandar utama, near 1utama T.T i nid some proz to train me~ anyone pls pm me ^^
From BU, you may join the group in UTAR. I think UTAR is nearer to you than Sunway/Subang.
pingpang
post Jul 23 2009, 03:24 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Mart @ Jul 22 2009, 08:01 AM)
Hey Guys,

Need some opinion, Im quite lost with so many varietys of rubbers & blades.

1) Im using a JAP Penhold style
2) I need a new single sided blade but i dont know which one suits me. My playing style is more DEFENSIVE and counterattack
3) My old rubber is a Butterfly Flextra. (I know , its pretty darn old)

Any good recommendations for a new blade & rubber ? Budget preferably below RM400.
In my opinion, a rubber like the Sriver or Mark V will be ideal for your type of play.
If you want a cheaper option, go for Chinese rubbers like the DHS PF4 (slow rubber, good for defensive player) or 729 Super FX (an all-round rubber).

See following links (from Malaysia) for blades as well as rubbers:

Trioxe Trading - http://www.presports.com/
(located in Subang Jaya)

Gold Medal Sports Trading - http://redantsweb.com/gmtt/
(located in Plaza UE3)

Table tennis trading - http://www.tabletennis.com.my/
(located in Taman Miharja)

Added on July 23, 2009, 3:30 pm
QUOTE(tsd @ Jul 21 2009, 06:13 PM)
not really start playing again, it is a one off game for me smile.gif I am back to hibernation... maybe will start playing in 2-3 years time. I love to play but because of small children at home, I got ho choice but to stop. The other day I play is because of the tournament. Luckily I have about 4 hours training with you guys at Sunway Lagoon Club and it does help after not playing for such a long time. thanks. Although I lost... at least can give that fellow a hard time smile.gif

The reason I say ping pong is dominated by senior uncle is that very few youngster are interested in ping-pong. Maybe ping-pong is harder to play compared to other games. From my own experience in the past, most youngsters just give up after a few sessions. The ball dont just fly across the net like the badminton, it also spins. Any contact with the ball will be very delicate.

Ya, I also hope that I can still improve, a lot of self-inflicted mistakes smile.gif

Added on July 21, 2009, 6:16 pm

Oh, children. I also have experience the same when my 2 kids are still babies. Now they are 5 & 3, so can play a wee bit. Anytime you come out of hibernation, you are welcome to join us at the club.

You are correct in saying that most youngsters nowadays gave up easily after a few sessions as ping-pong is harder to play compared to other games in terms of ball spins and ball trajectory.

This post has been edited by pingpang: Jul 23 2009, 03:30 PM
pingpang
post Jul 23 2009, 04:15 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(alphafiz @ Jul 23 2009, 04:03 PM)
hi guys..
rite now i'm staying at wangsa maju..
u guys know any sports centre nearby that can play tt?
i wanna play with my friends...
For KL, there is the Old Railway Station or Gold Medal Sports Trading as far as I know.
pingpang
post Jul 29 2009, 10:43 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(saksoba @ Jul 27 2009, 03:42 PM)
tonite u guys play rite? at utar.. the last time i go there, there is only 3 of us on wednesday nyte..
Only 3 tt player at UTAR? I thought from the earlier post there will be at least 6 people (that is the minimum) playing there.

Added on July 29, 2009, 10:47 am
QUOTE(lanatir @ Jul 27 2009, 05:14 PM)
yes we still play. we don't need many people - just need dedicated people smile.gif

as it is, some of the group left due to conflicting schedules.
Oh, I see.
Anyway, it is good that the 3 of you are still actively playing tt. Try to get at least 2 more people so that if one cannot make it there is still 4 among the group.

This post has been edited by pingpang: Jul 29 2009, 10:47 AM
pingpang
post Aug 3 2009, 02:58 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(alphafiz @ Jul 29 2009, 02:35 PM)
old railway station? where is that?

Added on July 31, 2009, 10:59 amlast night i went to play at titiwangsa..
there is a group playing also.. all pro i think.. lol..
me and my friend shy2 play.. bcoz we r noobs.. lol
when the guys play, the sound was like "ktak! ktak! ktak! ktak!"
when i play with my fren, the sound was like "ktak.................. ktak" then the ball went out edi.. wahahaha...

still need lots of practice.. *sigh*
No need woli, wan.
Just ask, " Abang-abang sekalian, caya budak baru belajar, kalau silap, tolong tunjukkan". That is how we all learn, right? Don't feel shy-shy wan.

Added on August 3, 2009, 3:17 pm
QUOTE(cckthechun @ Jul 31 2009, 09:23 PM)
anyone can play at tropicana club here pls pm me ^^
You mean if anyone is a member of tropicana club and plays tt, to pm U?
I thought u r a member and invite the rest to play wit u.

This post has been edited by pingpang: Aug 3 2009, 03:17 PM
pingpang
post Aug 6 2009, 11:17 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(cckthechun @ Aug 4 2009, 09:01 PM)
yep im a member. i nid pro player to train my skills xD
I am no pro player, but if you need someone to play ping pong with, you may pm or call me.
I am available this Sunday.
pingpang
post Aug 7 2009, 10:35 AM

171 posts

So are we on on Sunday? Time?
pingpang
post Aug 10 2009, 09:57 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(cckthechun @ Aug 9 2009, 12:28 PM)
awesome, finally get to play pingpong again xD thx pingpang. anymore proz out there wanna play? xD
Thanks for the game, cckthechun, by the way I am no pro lah. Just an average guy ping-ponging around.

Added on August 10, 2009, 9:59 am
QUOTE(tsd @ Aug 8 2009, 01:36 AM)
I hope one day I can play again.
Sure you will, my fren. Anyway, you can get in touch with Perry Yee (from the same church as yourself) for a game once a while at the Sunway Lagoon Club.

Added on August 10, 2009, 10:01 am
QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Aug 9 2009, 08:05 AM)
if pingpong racquet as huge as tennis, than i play...
If pingpong racquet as huge as tennis, it will not be called "table tennis".

Added on August 10, 2009, 12:42 pmBTW, anyone have try the Goldway brand of table tennis rubbers? Any comments?

This post has been edited by pingpang: Aug 10 2009, 12:42 PM
pingpang
post Aug 12 2009, 11:33 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(K2002 @ Aug 11 2009, 03:37 PM)
Ya ya even is square or triangle, or rectangle also can be able to play smile.gif hehehe
Ya, but 80% or 85% of the material of the racket must be made from wood.
Doesn't matter what size or shape, but the major composition must be wood with inverted or pips-out rubber. (Note : this is only for ITTF sanction game, if you play for fun, I wonder if we can use a badminton racket and play with a ping pong ball?)
pingpang
post Aug 13 2009, 06:29 PM

171 posts

Oh, I see. So many uncles play ar? They must be "pro" level.
pingpang
post Aug 17 2009, 06:18 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Aug 15 2009, 04:53 PM)
hi all...
i want to join play tt...
im from Janda Baik...so which is the nearest place that i can join u guys?
Janda Baik is in Pahang, right? Maybe near Bukit Tinggi there or Genting Highland is nearer.

Added on August 17, 2009, 6:24 pm
QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Aug 16 2009, 11:30 AM)
got many people play there? enter the golf and country resort now need sticker right?
Not many people played in Tropicana Golf & country club. At the entrance where the checkpoint is, tell the guards that you are going to the Club & you will be given a A4 size pass to put in frount of the dashboard of your car & you drive up & park your car at the Guest section.
Then you walk into the club (non-golfing) and look for the table tennis rooms (there are 2) at 1st floor near the indoor tennis court.

This post has been edited by pingpang: Aug 17 2009, 06:24 PM
pingpang
post Aug 18 2009, 11:48 AM

171 posts

This Sunday OK for me. Will sms u.
pingpang
post Aug 20 2009, 12:19 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(alphafiz @ Aug 19 2009, 03:40 PM)
i stay at wangsa maju...
but dunno where to play ere...
I thought wangsa maju got some forum member playing there. Please see earlier posts (between pages 40 - 70)
pingpang
post Aug 21 2009, 10:29 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(KTS @ Aug 20 2009, 10:07 PM)
hello guys...
I want sell my japanese penhold, RSM Gold with box....
price is RM220 and can nego...new price is rm420
KTS,

(Your initial stand for Kim Taek Soo, is it? biggrin.gif )
Wow, that must be a Xiom brand. How old and how many ply is the blade?

pingpang
post Aug 27 2009, 09:53 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(doublek @ Aug 26 2009, 11:57 AM)
any know where to buy butterfly ping pong bad near puchong or serdang?
For the one nearer to puchong/serdang, there are 2 shops :

1) Equal Master (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd
No. 26, Jalan Petaling Utama 5, 6 1/2 Miles, Jalan Kelang Lama, Petaling Jaya

2) Triox Sports (http://presports.com)
SG 25-1 Shopping Gallery,
Subang Square,
Jalan SS15/4G,
47500 Subang Jaya,
Selangor Darul Ehsan,
West Malaysia.

Added on August 27, 2009, 10:15 am
QUOTE(71ers @ Aug 26 2009, 04:34 PM)
any recommendation ??
For ping pong bat below RM50/= usually a pre-made bat(blade + rubber) will suffice for beginner. This can be bought off the shelf from shopping complex like Carrefour, Giant, Tesco etc or at specialised ping pong store (as mentioned by various members here).

For most ping pong player, they normally buy a blade and rubber separately, but this will cost more than your budget of RM50.

This post has been edited by pingpang: Aug 27 2009, 10:15 AM
pingpang
post Aug 28 2009, 09:57 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(leanonme @ Aug 27 2009, 11:58 AM)
Anybody participate in the Tanjung Sepat Open Table Tennis Championship held on this national day?
What is the rules & regulations? Closing date for registration?

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0491sec    1.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:27 AM