5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Table Tennis/Ping Pong

pingpang
post Sep 15 2010, 10:12 AM

171 posts

Next week 16 of the world-ranked women table tennis will descend to KL for the Women's Table Tennis World Cup sponsored by Volkswagen.

For everyone information, since 2000, the World Table Tennis Championship has been split into two separate competitions. Team events are now held in even numbered years, whilst individual events (singles and doubles) are held in odd numbered years.

Germany’s Wu Jiaduo, Poland’s Natalia Partyka, Mexico’s Yadira Silva and Chinese Taipei’s Huang Yi-Hua are theplayers who will be making their debuts in a Women’s World Cup competition when play commences in Kuala Lumpur on Friday 24th September.

Also, It is now almost 30 years since the last defensively minded player won a singles title at a World Championships, in 1981 in Novi Sad, China’s Tong Ling was crowned Women’s Singles champion. In the intervening years, the attacking player has dominated the scene. But in KL next week we will see 2 world top ten backspin players in the form of Kim Kyung Ah and Park Mi Young, both from South Korea.

Tickets priced at RM30.00 for all three days.

pingpang
post Nov 12 2010, 05:11 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(K2002 @ Nov 9 2010, 04:10 PM)
not too sure.....hmmm try ask the shop owner smile.gif top secret it seems...
Yep, it is true. Over a month ago, the owner is in deep financial trouble and suppliers are hounding him for payment for goods supplied.
Heard also somebody is suing the owner, but this is unconfirmed.
The story behind is that the owner made loss in gambling. To find out more, please ask the owner.

Cheers.

pingpang
post Nov 16 2010, 10:52 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(sachindere @ Nov 13 2010, 03:44 AM)
Thts sad to hear.was planning  to come down frm spore to buy more stuff
Never mind, still got other place to buy TT stuss.
In Malaysia, for Butterfly (Japan) products - get from Mr Tay Tong Kee at Pertama Kompleks, KL
For other products like Dawei, Stiga, Palio etc, can get from Mr Ling TS at Gold Medal Sports Trading at Kompleks UE3, Tmn Miharja, KL (very near Table Tennis Trading)
For Andro and other various brands, can get from Mr Ben of Trioxe Sports in PJ (the shop who runs Presports.com) - this also can buy through internet.
There could be others which I am not aware of.

Cheers.

Added on November 16, 2010, 10:56 am
QUOTE(fanshu @ Nov 15 2010, 11:29 AM)
hey does anyone play during weekdays?
There are many places one can play during weekdays, for eg. at KLOld Station, Kelab BTHO (Bdr Tun Huseein Onn), Union Club PJ etc. Look for PP4M forum for details.

This post has been edited by pingpang: Nov 16 2010, 10:56 AM
pingpang
post Feb 14 2011, 10:44 AM

171 posts

Hi Zamrud,

Do you guys play every Saturday? Can accomodate one more player? (Me - between beginner & intermediate)

pingpang
post Feb 23 2011, 10:17 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(fazrul90 @ Feb 18 2011, 09:58 PM)
i stay in malacca and very beginner..
anyone stay here??
where can i play?
is there any shop sell tt acessories in here
In Melaka there are a couple of places to play.
Near Ayer Keroh, the prison warden there have some practice session, at the Nanyang Newspaper (I think) or some Chinese Dialect Association clubhouse, there are people practising (some former state/national).
I understand that the Army Camp near Alor Gajah also started a table tennis session recently.

Added on February 23, 2011, 10:42 am
QUOTE(fazrul90 @ Feb 20 2011, 10:25 AM)
anyone who sale stiga blade 2nd please do pm me...
prefer stiga carbo 7.6 wrb or stiga carbonix wrb with master handle..
my current blade is already broke...
Please refer pp4m.com.my forum for 2nd hand blade

Added on February 23, 2011, 10:46 am
QUOTE(Steven_aka_G @ Feb 20 2011, 08:46 PM)
Anyone playing this coming weekend?
As far as I know, got 3 tournaments this weekend, Men3 side spin (organised by Kelab Belia Jln Menteri), BTHO Mini Series (by Kelab PingPong Bandar Tun Hussein Onn) and one more at Bukit Kiara (sorry, I don't have much information).

Added on February 23, 2011, 10:50 am
QUOTE(Steven_aka_G @ Feb 22 2011, 10:23 PM)
Hey, how much are coaches nowadays? Thinking of getting a coach so that I can get the basics down. XD
To my knowledge, coaches ranging from RM50/hour to RM100/hour.
The cheaper one will be in groups, eg. at the school level where one coach to 10 or more students.
The higher one may be 1 to two or three students. For 1 to 1 coaching, will be more expensive.

This post has been edited by pingpang: Feb 24 2011, 12:04 PM
pingpang
post Feb 23 2011, 06:45 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Steven_aka_G @ Feb 23 2011, 11:11 AM)
Geez... That is expensive.. Anyone here willing to coach me for a cheaper price? =/
For starters we can coach each other and learn from one another.
Sharing is caring, right?

Hope can join the Serdang 3K group next Sat as I have prior engagement this weekend.

Have a Good weekend.
pingpang
post Feb 24 2011, 12:02 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(zamrud @ Feb 24 2011, 09:23 AM)
...... the session is on as always every Saturday between 10am-1pm.
:

OK, noted.

QUOTE(zamrud @ Feb 24 2011, 09:23 AM)
I agree with u that we 'coach' or rather spar with each other since getting a coach is too expensive these days. I have the experience of guiding a university team last time....maybe we can share the knowledge. For starters, we can start with multiple balls drilling and then move onto real match simulation, ie 3 ball attack etc. And I have the equipment for it.

I'm not saying that I'm a good player though, only that I have once sampled a proper training during the course of my playing days. Just started playing back a month or so ago from 2 years since. The time I played with Steven was my 5th time since then.

:

Ya, myself is "self learn" since I retired from badminton due to injury. For multiball training, maybe I will bring about 10 balls to share and practice.
Another way to practice is stroking forehand-to-forehand, backhand-to-backhand, alternate forehand/backhand etc.

Me, too, not a very good player but would like to learn from friends and other people.

This post has been edited by pingpang: Feb 24 2011, 12:05 PM
pingpang
post Feb 24 2011, 04:36 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Steven_aka_G @ Feb 24 2011, 01:56 PM)
Yeah.. I think I'm still lacking of experience in playing so any comments and criticism is always welcomed =)
Then play more games with different people will build up your exposure.

pingpang
post Feb 24 2011, 05:11 PM

171 posts

Hi Steve,

I see that you are from Sg Long/Kajang.
To my understanding, there is a couple of places you can play :
1) Kelab Ping Pong Bandar Tun Hussein Onn (BTHO)
2) Kelab Warden Penjara Kajang
3) Batu 11 Cheras
4) Batu 9 Cheras

The first & second, you may refer to PP4M forum for contacts and playing days.
The third and fourth are both clubs and training center for Selangor team for under 12, 15 and 17 years old. There are many ex-state/national players around here apart from school students under going training sessions.

I, myself has played twice at BTHO (since I stay in Sg Buloh, way up north) and the club has 6 tables with cement flooring. The chairman of the club is Encik Ridzuan, also a National Umpire.

pingpang
post Feb 25 2011, 06:31 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(fazrul90 @ Feb 25 2011, 03:00 PM)
ping pang..what's ur name in pp4m.com??
since u know so much about pp..
u should be a otai then?
hehe
Hi Fazrul,

Not an otai lah. Just an "ayam" onli.
Got a couple of friends that I met over from pp4m - aliens, gg, ezreen, blackdragon etc.

My knowledge comes from reading (over the internet) and other forums like pp4m (M'sia), mytabletennis.com (Canada), ooak (Australia) etc.

Was an EJ (equipment junkie) about one year earlier with many blades and rubbers but sold and given away most of it. Now have 5 blades (one HS, 2 J-pen, 2-cpen).
That time, even the "bola" pun pakai macam-macam brand - ikan kembar, dhs, butterfly, nittaku (2 types - japan & premium), andro, joola, tibhar, sunflex and 2 or 3 other made in china "no brand" balls.

Have a good weekend.
pingpang
post Mar 1 2011, 02:47 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(deadevil @ Feb 25 2011, 11:25 PM)
Wondering why u guys got so many blade ?

Anyone using waterbase glue now ?
Like I mentioned before, I was an EJ (equipment junkie). More towards the technical aspect - feel of blade, bounciness, stiffness of blade, soft/hard rubber, sponge thickness etc.

Water based glue is being used all over the world now since the ban on speed glue which has excessive VOC (a kind of chemical fume). But in Malaysia, at club level and below, most players still used the "bicycle glue", a kind of rubber glue similar to the old speed glue.

Added on March 1, 2011, 2:52 pm
QUOTE(Steven_aka_G @ Feb 26 2011, 04:21 PM)
I stay at Sungai Long. But I study in Taylor's Lakeside so I am in Sunway regularly =)
I believe Taylor's also have a couple of fellas practicing table tennis.
I used to join some Sunway University College's student for practice at their campus over 1 1/2 year ago.

Added on March 1, 2011, 2:55 pm
QUOTE(tsd @ Feb 27 2011, 12:26 AM)
Hi PingPang,

u guys still playing at Sunway Club or not ?

I have not played for a long long time already.

This EJ habbit are very hard to kick.
Hi tsd,

Yes we are still there Tuesday & Thursday. But I have stopped the last 3 months being renovation and moving house.
Just join back last week and really rusty with my shots.
If you are free, do join us. Terry also was not feeling too well since CNY (maybe the food or the weather) and is still recovering.

This post has been edited by pingpang: Mar 1 2011, 02:58 PM
pingpang
post Mar 2 2011, 03:31 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(fazrul90 @ Mar 1 2011, 04:07 PM)
to pingpang
Nanyang Newspaper (I think) or some Chinese Dialect Association clubhouse..
where is exactly this place?
The Nanyang Newspaper Group' staff used to play at Jalan Tun Ali, Melaka. Try to contact them and see where they train now.
The Chinese Dialect Association clubhouse is the Melaka Hainan Association (in BM it is the Persatuan Hainan Melaka).

Added on March 2, 2011, 3:47 pm
QUOTE(tsd @ Mar 1 2011, 06:37 PM)
Nobody will be as rusty as me... hahaha... I stop playing since 1994, then stars playing again from 2004, then stop again in 2006... Since 2006, until today I played not more than 10 times, 2-3 hours max each time. The last time I played was during that time I join u guys few month back. I only keep myself in touch with table tennis by bouncing ping pong ball with my bat against the wall  biggrin.gif  Even though I dont play, the EJ in me never dies... guess what, I just bought a new blade.
Wah! New bat. When are you free to try it out? What brand and set-up (rubber combination)
Come out and stroke lah, tsd.

Added on March 2, 2011, 4:01 pmTo steven / zamrud,

The viscaria and the persson blade are both good blades.
Before one choose which one, try both in your hand and give it a couple of stroke to get the "feel right" experience.
Then you can choose the blade most suitable to you.

My opinion on both blades :
1) Viscaria Light - Butterfly Viscaria is a pretty good offensive blade with solid speed and control. It is extremely light, since it is very thin and you may get this kind of feathery feeling. As a result, it is not easy to get momentum with it, but you can still make some pretty fast and powerful shots, depending on your arm/body movement mechanics.

2) Persson Power Carbon - a stiff blade, hence this carbon-glass blade is for players who wants optimum acceleration without speed glueing, but through the blade. The carbon-glass-fiber blade is more elastic than ordinary
carbon-fiber blades. Despite the high stiffness, it offers superb feel. When combined with a rubber suited to the players style of play, the blade produces speed, power and spin without loss of control.

Another suggestion, why not meet up this Saturday with zamrud at 3K there and feel both blades before you choose which blade.

Have a good week ahead.

This post has been edited by pingpang: Mar 2 2011, 04:01 PM
pingpang
post Mar 4 2011, 03:20 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(zamrud @ Mar 4 2011, 12:36 PM)
Please be informed that the PP session this Saturaday in Serdang is off due to work.  doh.gif

Hope to see u guys next week though.  notworthy.gif
Oh! I thought I could join you guys this Saturday.
Nevermind, next Saturday, then.
pingpang
post Mar 9 2011, 10:37 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(longman07 @ Mar 9 2011, 09:51 AM)
already mentioned.. i bought online from presport but it has been sold out.... try this one:
http://www.hypertt.com/catalog/entry/yvfmw...category=YASAKA

the price cheaper but the shipping higher than presports... but in total it still cheap by rm0.60...
If I am not mistaken, this hypertt is located in Penang, right? Whereas presports is located in PJ.
pingpang
post Apr 9 2011, 07:28 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(juDas_x @ Mar 27 2011, 06:24 PM)
just got back into Table Tennis a few months back, very rusty lol

i use a Cypress S w/ Palio Macro Pro blade

any training sessions I can join around PJ?

Yes. Ritc 729 or Palio Cj 8000 plays similar toSriver.
pingpang
post Apr 16 2011, 08:54 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(beederbest @ Apr 16 2011, 04:30 AM)
thumbup.gif any game in KL around early june? wanna go watch.
June have Sukan Malaysia in OCM,KL.
Go watch.
pingpang
post Apr 26 2011, 10:16 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(deadevil @ Apr 21 2011, 12:54 PM)
I already register for the tournament,heard that "poh wong a.k.a ah lek gor" from sri petaling also coming to play.
Ah Lek gor never come for this round. Last round he was playing and I saw him playing against a senior citizen but beginner level and Ah Lk gor won 3-1. He starts each game at 0-8 because of the handicap.

Anyway, deadevil, Congratulations to you for getting 4th placing. Your match against Chew KS was superb.
For everyone info. the matches worth watching was between
1) deadevil & his Eng choon club senior, Chew, in the semi-final.
2) Azman Shah, ex-Selangor state aged 43 vs Munawar Abdul Samad, current Selangor state, age 23.(in quarter final)
3) Chew vs Munawar (Final)

Added on April 26, 2011, 10:29 am
QUOTE(tsd @ Apr 25 2011, 12:40 PM)
My body are also aching all over, until today still pain... but feeling fresh, very good exercise.

Well, your backhand is much much better than mine, I think you can improve more from there... I was a total disaster first time using pimples, any ball go to my backhand I will lose 1 point already. I end up standing all the way at the left corner all the time.. then my forhand pulak become hard to play also because of bad positioning. Thats why I think I need to switch back to smooth rubber for my backhand. I did not know it was so difficult to play pimples... well, learn my lesson already.. the grass is now always greener at the other side smile.gif

Added on April 25, 2011, 12:44 pm

Why not you and jkaitan go and join the game also.. it was very fun smile.gif especially when top players panic playing with weaker players by giving away handicap points. They have this game every 2 weeks. Next one will be on 7 May 2011... unfortunately I cannot join this time because I have something else to do. Maybe the following game I will join.

It took me 25-30 mins drive from Subang Jaya using the Puncak Alam road at quite a slow drive. Final game completed at around 11.30pm. Although game were supposed to start at 5pm, alot of people were late... I think 6.30pm only start. If not I think Game will complete much earlier.
Ya, it was fun, especially the match between myself and Munawar. Because of handicap, I was leading 2-1 at one stage (8-11,12-10,13-11) until I blew it in the last 2 games and lost 2-3. Anyway, it was worth the experience, whether for beginner or expert players.

tsd, I think you stick to smooth rubber will make a better player than that day.

This post has been edited by pingpang: Apr 26 2011, 10:29 AM
pingpang
post May 25 2011, 12:06 PM

171 posts

tsd,

Remember the home-made robot whereby the problem in feeding the ball?
Saw from youtube and would like to see your comment :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kZgHcZWsC4k&feature=related
pingpang
post Jun 1 2011, 12:20 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Mickey C @ May 30 2011, 07:37 PM)
Can anyone tell where can I replace my ping pong blade rubber???? Because my rubber is very old.... Please help...
I from Kepong Kuala Lumpur...
You can change it from any of the table tennis shops located around KL like Pertama Complex, Plaze UE3 (now renamed Viva Home).

Added on June 1, 2011, 12:21 pm
QUOTE(kinkeet @ May 31 2011, 12:21 PM)
hi, any recommended shops to get ping pong equipments around penang?? unsure.gif
Try hypermatt in Penang. For address, please google it.

Added on June 1, 2011, 12:25 pm
QUOTE(hafizul @ May 6 2011, 02:27 PM)

Is there anyone playing in cheras area, i'm staying near taman ley sen.
Or where to play near cheras, usually go to miharja Table tennis trading, but now close alreodi.... icon_question.gif
Try Tmn Bolton or Batu 9 Jalan Cheras or Batu 11 Jalan Cheras.
For adddress, please search under pp4m forum.

This post has been edited by pingpang: Jun 1 2011, 12:25 PM
pingpang
post Jul 4 2011, 02:48 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(simsim @ Jul 1 2011, 05:29 PM)
i am picking up ping pong again... its been a long time and i need to invest on a new bat, my old one has deteriorated quite a bit.

can some of you sifus here please intro one for me and where is the best place to get it in KL/PJ? im more into speed than spin right now because i havent been playing for quite a bit.

i have been looking for a place to play as well, but im struggling to find one near my friends who live at Taman Mayang. anyone got a suggestion for me?
Looking for a place to play in PJ - try to look for Union Club at PAramount Garden. If you can go further, opposite IOI MAll in Puchong. (Please refer K2002 posting earlier).

Added on July 4, 2011, 2:52 pm
QUOTE(kinkeet @ Jul 1 2011, 09:38 PM)
hi, any recommended sport shops in penang to make a new bat??
To make a new bat - no idea. But if want to get new bat, check out steven_aka_G's reply.

This post has been edited by pingpang: Jul 4 2011, 02:52 PM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0302sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:25 PM