Table Tennis/Ping Pong

tsd
post Jul 11 2009, 09:34 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(korroy @ Jul 11 2009, 01:12 AM)
walao so many team taking part arhhh .... //
how many day it take to final ?/...  is on the same day or ......//
i think i will going there to support our team ...... !!! everyone come n support
if follow last time format, two days should be enough. First day, round robin... ussually finish during day 1. After that it is knockout stage... this stage is very fast. ussually second day will be quarterfinals, semifinals and finals.

This post has been edited by tsd: Jul 11 2009, 03:40 PM
tsd
post Jul 11 2009, 10:50 AM

49 posts

This sunday I got a Church tournament at St Francis Xaviour Church in Jalan Gasing PJ smile.gif 8.30am start. Luckily I have two training session at Sunway Lagoon Club ( last tuesday and thursday ) after not playing for more than 1 year. Hopefully this sunday can play better smile.gif

Anyway, I finally get to use my Kong Ling Hui Special for the first time in real games. Power wise, slower than my previous bat ( Sardius ) but decent enough to kill a ball. Best thing about this bat is, very good control and feeling. Can play very fine touch game, no need to attack like mad when I was with Sardius. Bryce Speed works pretty well with Kong Ling Hui Special.. my only complain is my backhand rubber ( Inspirit Quattro UltraLight ) is too thick 2.3mm.. not much feeling, but still can play pretty decent. I bought the 2.3mm because I got no choice that day, they ran out of 2.1mm, only have 2.3mm... since already there so I just take lah. Another thing is that my Bryce Speed is already more than 1 year old, suprising that it is still performing very well.

below rm50 which rubber is the best for fast attack? backhadn.limited budget.. only for a while before change to better rubber.. need to change today before go to UTAR
You may also try the Dawei Inspirit Quattro Ultra Light, I used it for my backhand... pretty decent all round rubber. Less than RM50.

This post has been edited by tsd: Jul 11 2009, 11:00 AM
tsd
post Jul 12 2009, 11:17 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(sheong80 @ Jul 12 2009, 09:52 PM)
Hi TSD,

How's your tournament? Must be great...church standard sometimes very good...especially those senior uncle..keke
I lost sad.gif lose 2-3 to a chinese penhold fellow. Very good attacking player. I make too many mistakes, very regret lah... should not play so much attacking when I have not been playing for such a long time. Should have played more defensive and let him make mistake.

it is abit sad to hear how sometimes ping-pong is associated with senior uncles game, where senior uncles dominates...

This post has been edited by tsd: Jul 13 2009, 10:38 AM
tsd
post Jul 20 2009, 03:51 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(K2002 @ Jul 17 2009, 09:17 AM)
Chong Wen Primary School. Along the old klang road before reach pearl point shopping complex. After Tmn Desa Junction. U should be able to reach the school. Anyone having problem to reach there can wait me at LRT station Maluri or Miharja or Masjid Jamek then i can pick u guys there.
what happend ? got win or not ? hows the game ?
tsd
post Jul 20 2009, 10:42 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(K2002 @ Jul 20 2009, 09:53 PM)
Lost terribly. Supposedly can win and go to next round but i lost to someone that i suppose to win. too nervous i think and too cold. Even my hand shivering before the ball toss up. really disappointing. So the whole team lost. we already leading 2~0 then lost 2~3 starting from my match.
well, nevermind... close enough. Maybe can try again in the next tournament. How about game with Arox ?
tsd
post Jul 21 2009, 06:13 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(pingpang @ Jul 21 2009, 11:07 AM)
I think I played with you before on tuesday at the sunway lagoon club (7/7/09) as I was outstation on 9/7.
When r u free again for a game, tsd?

It's good you start playing again as i was looking for people to "ping pang" with.

Cheers.

Not really associated with senior uncle games. Most uncles "eat salt more than we eat rice" therefore they are more experience and reduces their mistake more than us. Even myself (took uo this game just 2/3 years ago due to injury in other sports) oso consider "old" as I am in my 40s.

tsd,
I believe you can improve better if you give yourself another 3 months. You looks young and can improve some more.
not really start playing again, it is a one off game for me smile.gif I am back to hibernation... maybe will start playing in 2-3 years time. I love to play but because of small children at home, I got ho choice but to stop. The other day I play is because of the tournament. Luckily I have about 4 hours training with you guys at Sunway Lagoon Club and it does help after not playing for such a long time. thanks. Although I lost... at least can give that fellow a hard time smile.gif

The reason I say ping pong is dominated by senior uncle is that very few youngster are interested in ping-pong. Maybe ping-pong is harder to play compared to other games. From my own experience in the past, most youngsters just give up after a few sessions. The ball dont just fly across the net like the badminton, it also spins. Any contact with the ball will be very delicate.

Ya, I also hope that I can still improve, a lot of self-inflicted mistakes smile.gif

Added on July 21, 2009, 6:16 pm
QUOTE(cckthechun @ Jul 21 2009, 04:55 PM)
im located at bandar utama, near 1utama T.T i nid some proz to train me~ anyone pls pm me ^^
These two place got real pros with proper training sessions, of cos you need to pay abit for their training but I think its worth. It is very important for you to get a proper foundation especially when u are a newcomer. With proper foundation, you can improve faster.

1) tabletennistrading
1-1, 1st Floor, Jalan 3/93, Taman Miharja, Cheras, 55200 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
Telephone/Fax: +(603)-9200 1028, Handphone: +(6016)-228 0021, +(6016)-229 0021
email: tabletennistrading@gmail.com

3) Gold medal sports trading
2.73, 2nd Floor, Plaza Uncang Emas (UE3), 85, Jalan Loke Yew, Kuala Lumpur 55200 Wilayah Persekutuan
03-9205 1637
(I think they have shifted , but to a different block in UE3)

This post has been edited by tsd: Jul 21 2009, 06:23 PM
tsd
post Jul 31 2009, 06:03 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(alphafiz @ Jul 29 2009, 02:35 PM)
old railway station? where is that?

Added on July 31, 2009, 10:59 amlast night i went to play at titiwangsa..
there is a group playing also.. all pro i think.. lol..
me and my friend shy2 play.. bcoz we r noobs.. lol
when the guys play, the sound was like "ktak! ktak! ktak! ktak!"
when i play with my fren, the sound was like "ktak.................. ktak" then the ball went out edi.. wahahaha...

still need lots of practice.. *sigh*
last time when I first started playing I also feel abit shy to play with advanced player. Then I practice alot a home on the wall... it does help to improve to be able to hit more accurately. This is what you can do...

1. Stand about 6-7 feet away from the wall, hit ball down to the floor about 2 feet away from the wall, let the ball bounce off to the wall and ball will fly towards you to about your chest height, you hit ball down to the floor again to let it bounce off the wall again.. repeat the whole thing over and over again. Have alot of practice, after a while you will be able to hit ping-pong ball more accurately with your bat. You will also be able to improve the control of the ball when you hit the ball with your bat. You will soon able to play the "ktak ktak ktak ktak" with those guys and you wont feel shy anymore smile.gif

While doing that you should also practice your footwork and body movement... get some ping-pong training video and see how body and footwork should be when hitting the ball.

2. Put ball on the table, roll the ball with your ping pong bat... adjust your bat movement by just touching the ball lightly on top... this will help you improve your looping/topsin by brushing the ball, also help you to feel the ball.

there are more practice you can do... but these two exercise I still practice whenever I have the time.

This post has been edited by tsd: Jul 31 2009, 06:08 PM
tsd
post Aug 3 2009, 03:52 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(pingpang @ Aug 3 2009, 02:58 PM)
No need woli, wan.
Just ask, " Abang-abang sekalian, caya budak baru belajar, kalau silap, tolong tunjukkan". That is how we all learn, right? Don't feel shy-shy wan.

Added on August 3, 2009, 3:17 pm

You mean if anyone is a member of tropicana club and plays tt, to pm U?
I thought u r a member and invite the rest to play wit u.
tropicana club is very interesting, last time ( 15 years ago ) got Ang Moh ( Mat Salleh ) playing there and plays very well also. Very interesting, dunno still got or not nowadays.

This post has been edited by tsd: Aug 3 2009, 03:57 PM
tsd
post Aug 8 2009, 01:36 AM

49 posts

I hope one day I can play again.

tsd
post Aug 11 2009, 02:23 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Aug 9 2009, 08:05 AM)
if pingpong racquet as huge as tennis, than i play...
there are no rules on the size of the pingpong racquet... u can have it as big as u want smile.gif
tsd
post Jan 8 2010, 07:22 PM

49 posts

I need to buy table tennis table, does anyone know any supplier that gives the best price ? time to train my 4 yr old son to play on real table smile.gif
tsd
post Jan 8 2010, 11:16 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Jan 8 2010, 07:50 PM)
There is a shop called Triox Table Tennis in JayaOne PJ and the other one in Taman Miharja, Cheras. smile.gif

The link: Table Tennis Equipment

Have fun
Thanks...

wow, looks like u have quite a fair bit of involvement in Table Tennis.. already have 2 sets of Table Tennis blade/rubber smile.gif
tsd
post Jan 9 2010, 12:44 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Jan 9 2010, 12:39 AM)
smile.gif from oc to table tennis wink.gif yeah i love the game smile.gif
yep.. its healthier too...

where do you play table tennis ? I have stop playing for 12 years... then resume playing actively for 1 year plus.. then stop again for another 2 years until now, I only play at home on the walls lately. Cant wait to play actively again. Maybe in another 3-4 years time when my boy is older, I plan to make a team to compete in competitions... are u interested to join me ?

This post has been edited by tsd: Jan 9 2010, 12:46 AM
tsd
post Jan 9 2010, 01:03 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Jan 9 2010, 12:58 AM)
any time wink.gif at the moment i play in sunway college. Btw we have met each other in one or few computer part trades, if u remember me, an indian guy from sunway college lol. At the moment there are competitions, and we can build a team if you want smile.gif
yep... I still remember you smile.gif I love to go for competition... unfortunately I have small kids at home, I am grounded. I am waiting for my boy to grow older abit ( too bad still have to wait for 3-4 years ), so I can let him come along with me for competition. He is now 4+, I am going to start training him on the table soon... previously I just let him play on the floor only.

Added on January 9, 2010, 2:23 am
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Jan 9 2010, 12:58 AM)
any time wink.gif at the moment i play in sunway college. Btw we have met each other in one or few computer part trades, if u remember me, an indian guy from sunway college lol. At the moment there are competitions, and we can build a team if you want smile.gif
5-7 Feb 2010 got tournament, are u interested to join ?

http://pp4m.com/v2/distribution/viewtopic....&t=1567&start=0

This post has been edited by tsd: Jan 9 2010, 02:23 AM
tsd
post Feb 1 2010, 02:56 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(pingpang @ Jan 27 2010, 05:06 PM)
2. tsd
For table, look up the pp4m forum, there do mention Hurricane tt table costing RM450 under the Men_3 tournament thread. Otherwise, look for Syam, he is one of the organiser for the Men_3 tournament.
thanks.. I already ordered one from him when I saw his posting in PP4M. Since you are going to his tournament, pls send my regards to him if you happens to meet him there.

I am now trying to build a ping-pong robot so that I can play at home on my own biggrin.gif

Added on February 1, 2010, 3:13 pm
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Jan 20 2010, 06:48 PM)
Well i am in Sunway, i often play in Sunway College.

Added on January 20, 2010, 6:50 pm

Eh bro.. i am not so pro la.. i see the tournament, wow so many.. pro.. but its worth trying. Ill check it out and let you know bro. i still have your number, i think wink.gif ill sms u. By the way, is there any time soon you wanna hit some table tennis balls with me wink.gif?
At the moment still difficult for me to find time to play table tennis. Just keep me informed in this forum when you guys have game together and if I happens to be free at the time, I might want to join in as well. I have not played for a long long time already so my game will be very rusty... be prepared to pick ping-pong balls.. hahaha

This post has been edited by tsd: Feb 1 2010, 03:13 PM
tsd
post Feb 7 2010, 05:36 PM

49 posts

I am building one too smile.gif once done I will take some photos, progress is very slow cos problem is in Klang Valley very hard to get spare parts.

This post has been edited by tsd: Feb 7 2010, 05:37 PM
tsd
post Feb 7 2010, 11:11 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Feb 7 2010, 05:47 PM)
@all i can pass it to tsd, or we meet la wink.gif then can play play table tennis abit biggrin.gif

by the way anyone looking for tabletennis bats?? pm me wink.gif selling some off smile.gif

tsd do let me knwo when its built, i might be your first customer biggrin.gif
aiyoo... my ping-pong robot is for personal use lah, very crude design. My drawings on paper was nice but alot of components cannot get, so now reduced to very basic ping-pong robot, even that also having trouble getting parts. By the way, do you know of anyone who have 120mm casing fan selling cheap?, I need 2 of the same size/type. I have trouble mounting the ordinary dc motors onto my ping-pong robot, now wants to try out casing fan instead. I also believe casing fan can operate longer time compared to ordinary dc motor without overheating.

wow!!! selling bats ? How many bats do you have ? I hope you are not upgrading like your computer OC time tongue.gif . It can be very costly.

As for me, from 1984 until 2008, I have used only 3 different bat.

1984 to 1992 ( Jap Penhold, Champion Brand )
1992 to 2008 ( Shakehand, Butterfly Sardius )
2008 till now ( Shakehand, Butterfly KLH Special ... still hardly got chance played with it )

This post has been edited by tsd: Feb 7 2010, 11:14 PM
tsd
post Feb 8 2010, 12:11 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Feb 7 2010, 11:39 PM)
woohoo.. tongue.gif no la, not as bad as OC days, i am much more stable now tongue.gif tongue.gif

well, here goes wink.gif

199* - 2004 - Butterfly Jap Penhold (Butterfly Tackiness C)
2008           - Primorac Carbon C-Pen ( Sriver G2, Stiga Innova)(Bryce)
2008 - 2009 - Butterfly Jap Penhold (Senkoh 5, Xiom Omega 3 TB, Friendship Highpoint)
2009 - Now  - Butterfly Gergely Carbon (Yasaka Mark V, Nittaku Narucross EX)(TG Skyline 3, Yasaka Mark V XS)

You are more old school than me, bro. I am using my fathers Gergely btw, its rare now, since the wood is different in the late 1980s.

Bryce speed huh, how is it?
I believe Gergely is quite similar to my Sardius smile.gif this is a very good blade.

When I bought Butterfly Sardius, I just switched from pen-hold to Shakehand and I have no idea what it is... hahaha its all Tong Kee's ( Lucky Sports ) fault, he recomends, I just buy lah.

As for Bryce Speed, I have been using Bryce in the past... so naturally, I try to use the same rubber. I think I might switch Bryce Speed to something cheaper in the future. Not sure what yet. Any recomendations ? I tried Inspirit Quattro ultra light on my backhand, quite nice. Last time I use Bryce on both forehand and backhand.

What I can say about Bryce Speed is that, similar to the regular Bryce when you execute top spin, it fly fast and low across the net, makes it harder for people to smash back at me smile.gif although they can still block and topspin back to me, at least I have less one troubles to deal with. It is very good for blocks, the harder the opponent topspins to me, the more effective the block wil be. As for chop, it is almost useless. Service also not much spin but can be low and fast.

Problem now is that these Japanese rubber are getting too expensive.

This post has been edited by tsd: Feb 8 2010, 12:16 AM
tsd
post Feb 9 2010, 09:55 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Feb 8 2010, 12:44 AM)
you can try donic jo or stiga boost wink.gif add me in msn or yahoo bro wink.gif sure we can have hours of good chat tongue.gif

jap rubbers for BUTTERFLY YES not for nittaku wink.gif
my msn is tsding@live.com, display as tsd

Donic and Stiga rubber are quite expensive too. I am now looking mostly on China brand rubber. In the past China rubber mostly sticky type and heavy, which I have trouble playing with.

Nowadays, China rubber also have Jap/Euro like rubber. For example, my backhand rubber, Inspirit Quattro Ultralight is very different from traditional China sticky rubber. Inspirit is almost ideal for me, unfortuantely it is not durable and slight lack of speed.

Added on February 9, 2010, 9:57 pm
QUOTE(nevland @ Feb 8 2010, 08:50 PM)
for all you table tennis discussion you can join us at www.pp4m.com

pingpong for malaysia
sometimes I also chat in that forum and I have join their friendly matches before in the past, quite nice people there.

Nowadays hardly got a chance to play table tennis, so I spend most of the time in this forum since I am also reading stock market info and also computer IT stuff. Thats why spend more time in this forum than pp4m.com

Added on February 9, 2010, 10:00 pm
QUOTE(kayent @ Feb 9 2010, 12:50 AM)
btw...im looking for a ping pong table. new or 2nd. pm me.
I just bought one unit from men-3 in pp4m.com used in a tournament, not sure he still have or not.

This post has been edited by tsd: Feb 9 2010, 10:01 PM
tsd
post Feb 9 2010, 10:14 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Feb 9 2010, 10:02 PM)
I have been contemplating on whether to change from shakehand to penhold or not. Up until now, I'm still having problems with looping the ball with my BH. And I realise that my forehand strokes lack accuracy compared to using penhold grip (try out penhold for fun). Any videos on penhold grip techniques? (stroke, counter, loop,chop) I found tonnes of shakehands vid on youtube but seem less for penhold.

How do you know if a certain grip actually suits you better? I'm using shake hand and most of the time my out balls are actually off the table at the opponent side baseline (not left and right). Maybe around 1-3 inches off.

Any advice?
Many years back, I give up on penhold to convert to Shakehand smile.gif and never regrets over it. There is a huge improvement over my game. Shakehand is more suitable for me. Everyone is different, all depends on each individuals.

Since you mentioned most of the time your balls off the table... so there are some which are accurately in, try to recall how you make it go in accurately and try to repeat it.

It is always difficult to loop with backhand, because you have smaller area to swing your bat... although you can still do it. For start, just do backhand blocks and once you are good at it already can venture into back-hand drive, then finally you can try back-hand loops. For me, I am still having troubles with back-hand drive and loop, most of the time I block with my back-hand.

This post has been edited by tsd: Feb 9 2010, 10:17 PM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0424sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:14 PM