129 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V25,, Please follow the format :)

TSpandera999
post Jul 18 2015, 12:41 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(maxteoh @ Jul 17 2015, 11:39 PM)
Thanks PANDERA999 thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  For the recommendation, can i ask the Asus GL552JX-DM174H can set dota2 graphic to high setting? Is it 4gb enough for gaming? I am new to laptop spec. That why i am here  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  and forget to say my preferable size for laptop is 15.6" .
pretty can do well.. for your budget... only you can get is this asus ROG series. the mid-end range. high-entry usually have gtx960 gddr5... but gtx950m ddr3 can handle it very well. yes.. max setting dota 2.. can.. you can upgrade your ram next time. for time being 4gb is kinda minimum... laptop always have extra slot for ram. so.. dont worry about it. its 1 stick of 4gb ram.
Angel01
post Jul 18 2015, 12:54 AM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

pandera, the RM 3074 for GL552 price, any recommendation which seller to go to?
By the way, whats the difference between DM014H and DM174H?

Also What does M.2 Slot allow you to do? Does it let you run a SSD and HDD together?

This post has been edited by Angel01: Jul 18 2015, 01:39 AM
maxteoh
post Jul 18 2015, 01:16 AM

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Jul 18 2015, 12:41 AM)
pretty can do well.. for your budget... only you can get is this asus ROG series. the mid-end range. high-entry usually have gtx960 gddr5... but gtx950m ddr3 can handle it very well. yes.. max setting dota 2.. can.. you can upgrade your ram next time. for time being 4gb is kinda minimum... laptop always have extra slot for ram. so.. dont worry about it. its 1 stick of 4gb ram.
Thanks for your advice,i think i might get this one ..is it now the market price rm3074 ? why i saw the internet price rm32xx++ http://www.techhypermart.com/asus-rog-gl55...x950m-w8-1.html.

Is it the market price fixed?
Dafetti
post Jul 18 2015, 04:53 AM

Anyone curious about the ASUS GL552 should check a few reviews on the laptop here https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3616041 notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Dafetti: Jul 18 2015, 04:53 AM
TSpandera999
post Jul 18 2015, 09:46 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ Jul 18 2015, 12:54 AM)

Also What does M.2 Slot allow you to do? Does it let you run a SSD and HDD together?
can consider this seller.. try browsing around.. there is always be trusted seller. dont go for undisputed tag seller laugh.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3551766

M.2 slot means... hdd is using ssd cache.. kinda turbo charge for hdd.. you can imagine it like dat laugh.gif boost up hdd performance actually.

i din see any any much different. i think must be hdd capacity or any equip with ssd cache or not lo.
TSpandera999
post Jul 18 2015, 09:48 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(maxteoh @ Jul 18 2015, 01:16 AM)
Thanks for your advice,i think i might get this one ..is it now the market price rm3074 ? why i saw the internet price rm32xx++ http://www.techhypermart.com/asus-rog-gl55...x950m-w8-1.html.

Is it the market price fixed?
refer to this price as well
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3551766 hmm.gif
not sure if market price is fix or not. what i see is, its keep changing these 2 months (shops) not online price. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Dafetti @ Jul 18 2015, 04:53 AM)
Anyone curious about the ASUS GL552 should check a few reviews on the laptop here https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3616041 notworthy.gif
thanks for the info notworthy.gif
AthrunIJ
post Jul 18 2015, 09:56 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ Jul 18 2015, 12:54 AM)

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Jul 18 2015, 09:46 AM)
can consider this seller.. try browsing around.. there is always be trusted seller. dont go for undisputed tag seller  laugh.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3551766

M.2 slot means... hdd is using ssd cache.. kinda turbo charge for hdd.. you can imagine it like dat  laugh.gif  boost up hdd performance actually.

i din see any any much different. i think must be hdd capacity or any equip with ssd cache or not lo.
M.2 SSD is just another variant for connection. And is good for laptop because it is small size.

Not entirely true.

Not necessary m.2 ssd only used as a cache. As long as you configure it properly and motherboard supports it. You can get a 512 gb m.2 ssd and use it as the main drive and/or with a hdd as secondary drive.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Jul 18 2015, 09:56 AM
Angel01
post Jul 18 2015, 10:32 AM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Jul 18 2015, 09:56 AM)
M.2 SSD is just another variant for connection. And is good for laptop because it is small size.

Not entirely true.

Not necessary m.2 ssd only used as a cache. As long as you configure it properly and motherboard supports it. You can get a 512 gb m.2 ssd and use it as the main drive and/or with a hdd as secondary drive.
Oh i see, so a m2 ssd can act like a ssd working together with a HDD..
Whats the Difference between DM014 and DM 174? their specs looks exactly the same.

Also, there is this screen flickering on GL552 im hearing about, is this serious?
Is it on malaysian models?

Any other laptop recommendations? I kinda have the same requirement as maxteoh. Need it for work and D2 .

This post has been edited by Angel01: Jul 18 2015, 10:45 AM
AthrunIJ
post Jul 18 2015, 10:52 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ Jul 18 2015, 10:32 AM)
Whats the Difference between DM014 and DM 174? their specs looks exactly the same.

Also, there is this screen flickering on GL552 im hearing about, is this serious?

Any other laptop recommendations? I kinda have the same requirement as maxteoh. Need it for work and D2 .
Cant comment much because i'm not a user.
You can ask fellow users of the G series from other thread.

Other recommendation is what pandera has added.

Lenovo Y50
Dell Inspiron 7447
Acer V Nitro

Link : https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3388839/+880
AthrunIJ
post Jul 18 2015, 11:26 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ Jul 18 2015, 10:32 AM)

Well, apparently you can fix it by maxing the brightness level of the screen to 100 percent.

Source
Link : http://laptopmedia.com/review/asus-rog-gl5...t-feel-like-it/
Angel01
post Jul 18 2015, 12:13 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

Yup, i saw lol. isnt 100% brightness too much for the eye. haha, IF G551 fixes this issue, then maybe can consider, like 400 difference only.
Then my natural thought would be, for 3.5k , maybe there is other laptops worth it? Any recommendation? haha
AthrunIJ
post Jul 18 2015, 01:00 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ Jul 18 2015, 12:13 PM)
Yup, i saw lol. isnt 100% brightness too much for the eye. haha, IF G551 fixes this issue, then maybe can consider, like 400 difference only.
Then my natural thought would be, for 3.5k , maybe there is other laptops worth it? Any recommendation? haha
Not really with that budget unless you dont mind upping it to RM4K that is where you get more choices.

If screen is a problem then Lenovo Y50 would not be one of them. Acer Nitro thermal cooling isnt that good, you need to tweak software setting to get good temps.

Then only choice is Asus. Quality is there but warranty suck.
Angel01
post Jul 18 2015, 01:32 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

Haha, just pray the hardware dont spoil, then nothing to worry ah?
AthrunIJ
post Jul 18 2015, 01:39 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ Jul 18 2015, 01:32 PM)
Haha, just pray the hardware dont spoil, then nothing to worry ah?
Basically that. haha.

Just do regular maintenance to your laptop and with good care can last you for a long time.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Jul 18 2015, 06:11 PM
awesomelee
post Jul 19 2015, 12:01 PM

27 posts

Hi guys, just enrol into an engineering firm for almost a month I need a laptop suit for my engineering work alry : (

Of course not forget for movie and entertainment also tongue.gif (can open dota 2 normal gaming exp is ok for me alry)

most basically for PPT, EXCEL, WORD, autocad and matlab (if can run hysys better?) hehe

Within price range (2k - 3k) Any brand is work for me la, but no Lenovo ( got post say many prob : O)

Hope pro sia 各路大神 can give some feedback and comment to me for the choice gamxia!!

TSpandera999
post Jul 19 2015, 04:51 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(awesomelee @ Jul 19 2015, 12:01 PM)
Hi guys, just enrol into an engineering firm for almost a month I need a laptop suit for my engineering work alry : (

Of course not forget for movie and entertainment also tongue.gif (can open dota 2 normal gaming exp is ok for me alry)

most basically for PPT, EXCEL, WORD, autocad and matlab (if can run hysys better?) hehe

Within price range (2k - 3k) Any brand is work for me la, but no Lenovo ( got post say many prob : O)

Hope pro sia 各路大神 can give some feedback and comment to me for the choice gamxia!!
considering this autocad and matlab...
Dell 7447 14" can?
or
GL552JX-DM174H 15.6” FHD , i7-4720 , 4GB , 1TB , GTX950 2GB , W8.1 : RM3074/-

mist8
post Jul 20 2015, 10:22 AM

93 posts

1. Preferred brand - Please advise
2. Budget - less than RM 2,000
3. Work purpose (sales app, excel, word,pdf), light game and movie.
4. Screen size - 14 inches
5. Preference - light, nice design. gold colour maybe?

Was very interested with this Acer Aspire V5-473P but currently out of stock. The salesman keeps suggesting to take i5 for better performance and long lasting. He said that if buy i3, it will become laggy when i type fast + after using for some time.

I was told that the normal lifespan for a laptop is 4 years? in that case, will it be sufficient to buy an i3 laptop?

All sifus and pros, your advise and suggestions are very much appreciated. TQ

AthrunIJ
post Jul 20 2015, 12:22 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(mist8 @ Jul 20 2015, 10:22 AM)

1. Preferred brand - Please advise
2. Budget - less than RM 2,000
3. Work purpose (sales app, excel, word,pdf), light game and movie.
4. Screen size - 14 inches
5. Preference - light, nice design. gold colour maybe?

Was very interested with this Acer Aspire V5-473P but currently out of stock. The salesman keeps suggesting to take i5 for better performance and long lasting. He said that if buy i3, it will become laggy when i type fast + after using for some time.

I was told that the normal lifespan for a laptop is 4 years? in that case, will it be sufficient to buy an i3 laptop?

All sifus and pros, your advise and suggestions are very much appreciated. TQ
Dont think so. i3 will do fine and increase the RAM to at least 4GB while the only thing will be slow is the HDD.

Lifespan of laptop depends whether you do regular maintenance and take care of your laptop. Usually is around 3 to 4 years but with good care can last even longer.
Devilicious901024
post Jul 20 2015, 01:49 PM

Hi all sifus,

Wish to get a laptop recommendations for my gf which within my budget(1.5k)

Preferred brand : Sony or nice design
Price : 1.5k (+/- 10 %)
Usage : Microsoft office, accounting softwares and movie & music

TSpandera999
post Jul 20 2015, 03:29 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(Devilicious901024 @ Jul 20 2015, 01:49 PM)
Hi all sifus,

Wish to get a laptop recommendations for my gf which within my budget(1.5k)

Preferred brand : Sony or nice design
Price : 1.5k (+/- 10 %)
Usage : Microsoft office, accounting softwares and movie & music
sony no more partnership with viao. viao is now stand alone brand.
screen preferences?

129 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:35 AM