[V27] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

justnits
post Aug 11 2015, 01:57 PM

Mechanical Keyboard Addict
2,968 posts

QUOTE(misterAy @ Aug 11 2015, 01:48 PM)
Can anyone suggest a good mkb based their own experience.

So many choices to choose from. Already test a few switch, I'm comfortable with brown type.

Sorry, I've no idea regarding which one a good or which one to avoid mkb.  icon_question.gif
if possible, do visit the first page of this thread smile.gif

otherwise, read on.

i can vouch for ducky brand but unfortunately, i'm not too sure about their latest range.

if you don't mind having no led backlight, then go for filco.

if you are a bit tight on budget (RM250-RM300), i'd recommend ducky zero.

any lower than that you might have to resort to 2nd hand keyboards or china boards (some of them are not cherry mx switch, but compatible/clone mx switch which some are pretty good and can stand toe to toe with cherry, sometimes better.)
misterAy
post Aug 11 2015, 02:10 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Aug 11 2015, 01:57 PM)
if possible, do visit the first page of this thread smile.gif
I do read read several pages from start, except that i need feedback from experience user.
My budget around 450 max..
From that price view, for a new mkb what possible i might get and for 2nd mkb what the best i might get.
I dont mind about backlighting..I do need several extra programmable key as it assist me in work.
Nursh
post Aug 11 2015, 02:26 PM

314 posts

Hey guys i got a problem with my Ducky Shine 3. Please do refer to my image here : http://imgur.com/a/L43m5
The problem i got is that when i press FN+F9 , the F5 LED will light up while F1-F4 & F6-F8 didnt light up. At 1st only 17 LED r dead, i do the soldering but even more LED die. I dont even know why, probably because i got shocked a few time during soldering process? will this cause more led to die?
alpha001
post Aug 11 2015, 02:31 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(Nursh @ Aug 11 2015, 03:26 PM)
Hey guys i got a problem with my Ducky Shine 3. Please do refer to my image here : http://imgur.com/a/L43m5
The problem i got is that when i press FN+F9 , the F5 LED will light up while F1-F4 & F6-F8 didnt light up. At 1st only 17 LED r dead, i do the soldering but even more LED die. I dont even know why, probably because i got shocked a few time during soldering process? will this cause more led to die?
led are sensitive to heat. maybe the heat from the soldering process cause it. hmm.gif
justnits
post Aug 11 2015, 02:33 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(misterAy @ Aug 11 2015, 02:10 PM)
I do read read several pages from start, except that i need feedback from experience user.
My budget around 450 max..
From that price view, for a new mkb what possible i might get and for 2nd mkb what the best i might get.
I dont mind about backlighting..I do need several extra programmable key as it assist me in work.
while i'm sure razer, corsair and logitech has keyboards that has macro functions, i'm still putting the ability to change keycaps with standard layout keys as one of the priority in my recommendations.
there's keymapping software out there, such as AutoHotKey.
use this with any keyboard, you get yourself a keyboard with the ability to keymap or macro it.

you can't go wrong with filco if what you are looking for is quality.
HOWEVER, one downside about filco is the stabs they use, which is COSTAR stabs, which i'll explain briefly later.
otherwise the other best option would be ducky.
i have ducky shine 2 and filco majestouch 2 tkl, hopefully that makes my explanation slightly more reliable HAHA! tongue.gif

Pros of COSTAR stabs - Keypress feeling is very natural for the big modifier keys.
Cons of COSTAR stabs - Changing keycaps will take more time compared to CHERRY stabs, and sometimes have the risk of breaking the inserts (or losing it). So if you like to change keycaps often, you will get pissed off with COSTAR stabs.

Pros of CHERRY stabs - Changing keycaps is a breeze, won't risk losing any part of the stabs or breaking it.
Cons of CHERRY stabs - Keypress feeling can be mushy and annoying for the big modifier keys. HOWEVER, this can be fixed by doing leg clipping mod on the stabs (but this requires you to open up the keyboard and desolder some keys, if not all, to remove the stabilizers and mod it.)

quadcube
post Aug 11 2015, 02:47 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(Nursh @ Aug 11 2015, 02:26 PM)
shocked?u should check your soldering iron,been soldering for almost 10 years,never got shocked before while soldering sweat.gif
justnits
post Aug 11 2015, 02:49 PM

2,968 posts

that doesn't look like a clean solder sweat.gif
also, when soldering LED, you must not "solder" it for too long (over 4 seconds on 300 degree) as what alpha001 mentions, heat will kill off the led.
best practice is solder one of the leg first, then proceed with other led before soldering the second leg, this is to give it time to cool off first before the 2nd burn.

if you desolder the led and then resolder it back, chances are some of the led might have died in the process since to desolder the factory solder requires high temp.

you can get new leds to replace the old ones or those which is not working, or just go to this link WTS Mechanical Keyboard & Accessories & Repair rclxms.gif

EDIT:
eh, i baru nampak your statement saying that you kena shock a few times when soldering sweat.gif
sounds like electro static discharge to me.

1) you need to invest in a good soldering station with variable temperature and with ESD safe feature.
2) practice some soldering first before going in for the board.
3) i hope that you didn't connect your keyboard to your pc usb when soldering?

This post has been edited by justnits: Aug 11 2015, 02:55 PM
xplodingplastix
post Aug 11 2015, 03:00 PM

224 posts

beginner's tip: always apply some soldering paste lightly on board before solder sucking or soldering, it helps the process so much better.

anyways. ur soldering some are too much lead. it ate some of the other lines. u need to redo some of it. also, you better google how to check if your led transistor is ok or not.
Nursh
post Aug 11 2015, 03:15 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Aug 11 2015, 02:49 PM)

that doesn't look like a clean solder  sweat.gif
also, when soldering LED, you must not "solder" it for too long (over 4 seconds on 300 degree) as what alpha001 mentions, heat will kill off the led.
best practice is solder one of the leg first, then proceed with other led before soldering the second leg, this is to give it time to cool off first before the 2nd burn.

if you desolder the led and then resolder it back, chances are some of the led might have died in the process since to desolder the factory solder requires high temp.

you can get new leds to replace the old ones or those which is not working, or just go to this link WTS Mechanical Keyboard & Accessories & Repair  rclxms.gif
EDIT:
eh, i baru nampak your statement saying that you kena shock a few times when soldering  sweat.gif
sounds like electro static discharge to me.

1) you need to invest in a good soldering station with variable temperature and with ESD safe feature.
2) practice some soldering first before going in for the board.
3) i hope that you didn't connect your keyboard to your pc usb when soldering?
i didnt connect my pc usb while soldering. I think the electricity from the solder transmitted to the pcb then to me
misterAy
post Aug 11 2015, 03:19 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Aug 11 2015, 02:33 PM)
while i'm sure razer, corsair and logitech has keyboards that has macro functions, i'm still putting the ability to change keycaps with standard layout keys as one of the priority in my recommendations.
there's keymapping software out there, such as AutoHotKey.
use this with any keyboard, you get yourself a keyboard with the ability to keymap or macro it.

you can't go wrong with filco if what you are looking for is quality.
HOWEVER, one downside about filco is the stabs they use, which is COSTAR stabs, which i'll explain briefly later.
otherwise the other best option would be ducky.
i have ducky shine 2 and filco majestouch 2 tkl, hopefully that makes my explanation slightly more reliable HAHA! tongue.gif

Pros of COSTAR stabs - Keypress feeling is very natural for the big modifier keys.
Cons of COSTAR stabs - Changing keycaps will take more time compared to CHERRY stabs, and sometimes have the risk of breaking the inserts (or losing it). So if you like to change keycaps often, you will get pissed off with COSTAR stabs.

Pros of CHERRY stabs - Changing keycaps is a breeze, won't risk losing any part of the stabs or breaking it.
Cons of CHERRY stabs - Keypress feeling can be mushy and annoying for the big modifier keys. HOWEVER, this can be fixed by doing leg clipping mod on the stabs (but this requires you to open up the keyboard and desolder some keys, if not all, to remove the stabilizers and mod it.)
Sure i'll look into that. Thank for the great explanation. thumbup.gif

From what i understand :
1. Filco for quality
2. Ducky for backlit
3. Others were costly bcause of branding

IINM, majestouch 2 doesnt have numpad. Or does it come with full size?
Which one of your kb that you use most?
TSquovadis123
post Aug 11 2015, 03:20 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(misterAy @ Aug 11 2015, 03:19 PM)
Sure i'll look into that. Thank for the great explanation.  thumbup.gif

From what i understand :
1. Filco for quality
2. Ducky for backlit

Majestouch 2 do have full layout (with Numpad) or TKL (tenkeyless) version. nod.gif
justnits
post Aug 11 2015, 04:05 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(misterAy @ Aug 11 2015, 03:19 PM)
Sure i'll look into that. Thank for the great explanation.  thumbup.gif

From what i understand :
1. Filco for quality
2. Ducky for backlit

partially true, but also because:-
1) they are using non-standard layout, thus causing difficulties in getting full keycaps replacement for it. but who knows, over time, things might change in the keycaps industries smile.gif
2) some are using cheap switches

quovadis123 has already answer your question regarding whether filco comes in full size or not. yes they do come in full size.

hmm, how to say ah, i use them all quite equally?
my ducky shine 2 (also my first mkb back in 2013!) had gone through some major overhaul (change switch to gateron red, led, nonslip mat and spray mod) and it's still working wonderfully.
i'm using this in my main office.
my filco majestouch 2 mx blue just gone through some minor mods (spray and non-slip mat mod) and i'm using it in my 2nd office.
at my home i'm using nerd tkl.
CAL V
post Aug 11 2015, 04:16 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Aug 11 2015, 04:05 PM)
partially true, but also because:-
1) they are using non-standard layout, thus causing difficulties in getting full keycaps replacement for it. but who knows, over time, things might change in the keycaps industries smile.gif
2) some are using cheap switches

quovadis123 has already answer your question regarding whether filco comes in full size or not. yes they do come in full size.

hmm, how to say ah, i use them all quite equally?
my ducky shine 2 (also my first mkb back in 2013!) had gone through some major overhaul (change switch to gateron red, led, nonslip mat and spray mod) and it's still working wonderfully.
i'm using this in my main office.
my filco majestouch 2 mx blue just gone through some minor mods (spray and non-slip mat mod) and i'm using it in my 2nd office.
at my home i'm using nerd tkl.
NerD TKL ... notworthy.gif

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 11 2015, 04:50 PM

4,453 posts

QUOTE(misterAy @ Aug 11 2015, 01:48 PM)
Can anyone suggest a good mkb based their own experience.

So many choices to choose from. Already test a few switch, I'm comfortable with brown type.

Sorry, I've no idea regarding which one a good or which one to avoid mkb.  icon_question.gif
well from my testing. red linear and soft springs felt very comfortable. my only concern was, it may be too light.

cause i have a habit of light resting fingers on the keys at times. so on a linear soft switch like red, i could be pressing accidentally doh.gif

so safer bet is mx brown for myself. besides i'm a fan of tactile feedback. cause from feel alone i can know it actuated without having to think about it. My muscle memory just registers the actuation from the tactile :}

for pure hardcore competitive gamers, they rather prioritize speed so forgo tactile for linear just for faster input without caring about tactile. thats understandable doh.gif

it depends what type of typist you area :]
quadcube
post Aug 11 2015, 05:05 PM

1,924 posts

anyone wanna sell off their extra keycap puller? smile.gif
hairy9802
post Aug 11 2015, 05:29 PM

202 posts

Just got these in my mail today~~

HKP TROOPERS potato pic

This post has been edited by hairy9802: Aug 11 2015, 06:00 PM
chongtiensum
post Aug 11 2015, 05:47 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(hairy9802 @ Aug 11 2015, 05:29 PM)
Just got these in my mail today~~

HKP PROJECT TROOPER potato pic

wao so nice... ayam rike laugh.gif
CAL V
post Aug 11 2015, 06:10 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Aug 11 2015, 09:46 AM)
this kind of mini usb setup is the best imho.
It's a custom anyway, so the design is a little bit different. biggrin.gif
SgtPepper
post Aug 11 2015, 08:36 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Aug 10 2015, 11:24 PM)
ducky can search at lowyat laugh.gif if Filco want find blue switch TKL,no need find,coz i bought the last one rolleyes.gif
haha call yourself lucky. I'm just helping out a friend who wants to get his first mkb. Must be around 300-350 and no backlighting. Haven't mention the type of switches yet. Oh god
quadcube
post Aug 11 2015, 08:46 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(SgtPepper @ Aug 11 2015, 08:36 PM)
haha call yourself lucky. I'm just helping out a friend who wants to get his first mkb. Must be around 300-350 and no backlighting. Haven't mention the type of switches yet. Oh god
yea,i told the guy at the shop to reserve that for me while i went to search other shop for more choices laugh.gif found a few limited edition yellow TKL Filco,but too bad,red switches,in the end have to go back to that shop to buy

125 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Top

0.0352sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:30 AM