[V27] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

Nursh
post Aug 1 2015, 05:40 PM

314 posts

i have a ducky shine 3 with led problems. Due to curiousity i tried to fix the led myself and it end up badly. Due to amature skill of soldering, i probably overheat or scratched board a little.

Now, when my keyboard is set to All Led off, some led are lighten up. Even when i set to All Led On, some led didnt light up. Is there any possible way to fix it?
picture

Nursh
post Aug 9 2015, 03:39 PM

314 posts

hey guys can any1 tell me what's happening to my Ducky Shine 3? After i solder properly but then more LED died(12 pcs different places), im pretty sure i didnt mess anything up.
Is it ok if i swap my CapsLock Key's white LED to red? since red LED and white LED have different voltage/amp
Some LED became super bright, i can even feel the heat on the board.

This post has been edited by Nursh: Aug 9 2015, 04:02 PM
Nursh
post Aug 9 2015, 04:23 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Aug 9 2015, 04:10 PM)
Very nicely done.
I google around and found online store sell it: https://wmsmarketing.com/products.php?brand=2&product=44
btw how are the keycaps surface after dyed, remain the same or can feel the coating/other texture?
If this dye is long lasting will be nice to us to customize the blank pbt keycaps to colors we likedĀ  tongue.gif
Check if u solder the led -ve and +ve pin correctly or not.
yeah im sure they r correct, long 1 is positive

This post has been edited by Nursh: Aug 9 2015, 04:25 PM
Nursh
post Aug 11 2015, 02:26 PM

314 posts

Hey guys i got a problem with my Ducky Shine 3. Please do refer to my image here : http://imgur.com/a/L43m5
The problem i got is that when i press FN+F9 , the F5 LED will light up while F1-F4 & F6-F8 didnt light up. At 1st only 17 LED r dead, i do the soldering but even more LED die. I dont even know why, probably because i got shocked a few time during soldering process? will this cause more led to die?
Nursh
post Aug 11 2015, 03:15 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Aug 11 2015, 02:49 PM)

that doesn't look like a clean solder  sweat.gif
also, when soldering LED, you must not "solder" it for too long (over 4 seconds on 300 degree) as what alpha001 mentions, heat will kill off the led.
best practice is solder one of the leg first, then proceed with other led before soldering the second leg, this is to give it time to cool off first before the 2nd burn.

if you desolder the led and then resolder it back, chances are some of the led might have died in the process since to desolder the factory solder requires high temp.

you can get new leds to replace the old ones or those which is not working, or just go to this link WTS Mechanical Keyboard & Accessories & Repair  rclxms.gif
EDIT:
eh, i baru nampak your statement saying that you kena shock a few times when soldering  sweat.gif
sounds like electro static discharge to me.

1) you need to invest in a good soldering station with variable temperature and with ESD safe feature.
2) practice some soldering first before going in for the board.
3) i hope that you didn't connect your keyboard to your pc usb when soldering?
i didnt connect my pc usb while soldering. I think the electricity from the solder transmitted to the pcb then to me

0.0470sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:42 AM