Perfumes for Guys v4, Discussion anything about fragrance
t0n3
Jun 11 2019, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(mujinkun @ Jun 11 2019, 03:41 PM) Sifus...Does EDT will expired and lost its perfumes? I'm no sifu but 3 main killers of perfume is light, heat and air. Avoid that and your perfume will last indefinitely. Having said that it will never be the same as new one as they will age like wine. Evaporation of alcohol and water and the sort. Most vintage perfumes will lose its top notes (lighter molecules). Speaking of which, my Labdanum 18 by Le Labo bottled few years ago has turned because it's not air tight and leaking. What a shame as it's quite pricey. This post has been edited by t0n3: Jun 11 2019, 05:23 PM
t0n3
Jun 12 2019, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(TAZIO.N @ Jun 11 2019, 07:52 PM) Even the great Serge Gainsbourg and his glamorous girlfriend Jane Birkin (Hermes Birkin bag is named after her) used to promote this iconic perfumes.Check out this promo song sing by them Speaking of which, she makes me want to wear L'Air de Rien by Miller Harris today, which was created for her. Mine is in new/current packaging. Got this cheap from strawberrynet in Dec 2014 for RM243.
t0n3
Jun 12 2019, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(TAZIO.N @ Jun 12 2019, 04:17 PM) Never try this but many said it has similarities with Bal A Versailles edc.Can you comment on that since you also have BAV edc right? I don't find both smell the same but it does share the same musky vibe. Let me wear BaV EdC tomorrow to confirm. This post has been edited by t0n3: Jun 12 2019, 04:46 PM
t0n3
Jun 13 2019, 10:27 AM
SOTDBal à Versailles by Jean Desprez (EdC). Based on the packaging it should be from the late 70's. I got my 30ml canister from evil bay for USD40 with shipping on Aug 2014. Trying it on again, I don't get the musky vibe. It's definitely different than L'Air de Rien to my nose. The EdC has too much alcohol it stings my skin upon spraying. It's a powdery civet bomb with a touch of leather. Projection and longevity are below average. For the price, I wouldn't complain.
t0n3
Jun 13 2019, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(TAZIO.N @ Jun 13 2019, 11:36 AM) Thanks bro.. Guys,if you're want to know more about animalic perfumes,can ask this man  Haha... For those who like civet note or perfumes from the bygone era, besides BaV also try La Nuit by Paco Rabanne (already discontinued which I have a small bottle of), Maai by Bogue and Civet by Zoologist (which I had samples of). This post has been edited by t0n3: Jun 13 2019, 12:44 PM
t0n3
Jun 14 2019, 11:29 AM
SOTD - Le Maroc Pour Elle by Tauer PerfumesThis is the best Jasmine scent for me. Balsamic syrupy jasmine. Men can totally rock this. Got it from essenza-nobile.de for EUR88.24 in June 2014. Any Tauer fan here?
t0n3
Jun 14 2019, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(province86 @ Jun 14 2019, 11:53 AM) I only have no 02. Nice price . U bought during your birthday promo? Yeah. To contra off the shipping fee. I see that the price has increased to EUR105 for EdP. I also have the 02 I got in Apr 2014, which was EUR83 excluding EUR10 shipping. BTW, nice collection you've got there. This post has been edited by t0n3: Jun 14 2019, 12:08 PM
t0n3
Jun 14 2019, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(province86 @ Jun 14 2019, 01:23 PM) Now, their shipping fee is very expensive. 58euro. lol Wow. Indeed it is. What a pitty. QUOTE(TAZIO.N @ Jun 14 2019, 12:45 PM) Nice... Iinm,LADDM is the "lighter"version of this one right? So how much similarity between no 1 and no 2? I think you also have both right? Tauer created a lighter version of his interpretation of Morocco scent but LDDM has zero similarity with LMPE. It's a dry dusty spicy amber. LDDM totally evokes image of Moroccan market to me although personally I've not been there.  This post has been edited by t0n3: Jun 14 2019, 03:34 PM
t0n3
Jun 14 2019, 04:49 PM
QUOTE(cocooh @ Jun 14 2019, 04:26 PM) Any of you guys ordered from fragrancex or fragrancenet before? Would like to get some comments about these two sites. Malaysian custom likes to check parcels from fragX. Keep it under RM500 and you should be fine but not sure if the rule is still the same after introduction of GST. I've ordered many fragrances from fragX in the past (last purchase in 2016), I've had received two warning letters from MOH saying I'm not allowed to purchase fragrance (cosmetic) without permit but I just ignored them. Just checked. GST was introduced in Apr 2015 so my last purchase from fragX got thru safely. This post has been edited by t0n3: Jun 14 2019, 04:52 PM
t0n3
Jun 15 2019, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(GuyzNexDoor @ Jun 15 2019, 12:22 PM) This morning received a parcel from DHL [attachmentid=10264548] My haul today [attachmentid=10264550] [attachmentid=10264552] Hopefully the next 2 years, i dont need to buy any frags  Congratulations on your hauls. Where did you get them from?
t0n3
Jun 17 2019, 10:46 AM
Good morning fellow Malaysians! My scent and watch of the day!
t0n3
Jun 17 2019, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(gl0be.iv @ Jun 17 2019, 03:21 PM) Woah anteus. Hairy chested castoreum beaver ball sack 80s masculine porn star 😆👍👍 The hairy beast is now a well-trimmed cub. Very tamed. Mine is a current formulation. Any Dior Homme Parfum fans here? Almost pulled the trigger as a father's day gift for myself but the retail price of RM452 for a high end designer is a little steep for me. I remember it was only RM350-ish few years ago. Owned and sold DHI but I like DHP better. I still have DH I wear once in a while.
t0n3
Jun 18 2019, 10:08 AM
Scent/Watch of the day - Cuir by Mona di OrioSweet ashy leather. Not your typical suede leather. Got it from essenza-nobile.de in Feb 2016 for EUR117.65 excluding shipping. This post has been edited by t0n3: Jun 18 2019, 10:11 AM
t0n3
Jun 18 2019, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(izam7 @ Jun 18 2019, 10:18 AM) Welcome back bro Tony  Love to see again your daily postage Thanks bro! Saw your WTS, I see that you've have grown your collection quite a bit. I'm trying each and everyone in my collection to see which I want to get rid of. Need to downsize. I currently have 40 full sized bottles.
t0n3
Jun 18 2019, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(province86 @ Jun 18 2019, 10:19 AM) Interesting. Sweet ashy leather. Is it animalic? Castoreum never smells animalic/skanky to me. I associate animalic notes to the likes of baby poo smell of civet (vintage Mouchoir de Monsieur by Guerlain), indolic of white floral (A La Nuit by Serge Lutens), stale urine of honey (vintage Kouros by Yves Saint Laurent and Absolue Pour le Soir by Maison Francis Kurkdjian), barnyard smell of oud, BO smell of cumin and the infamous sperm smell in Secretions Magnifiques by Etat Libre d'Orange people are talking about but on my skin I just got a nice milky iris with Tauer's plasticky Reverie with a metallic tinge. This post has been edited by t0n3: Jun 18 2019, 10:58 AM
t0n3
Jun 18 2019, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(izam7 @ Jun 18 2019, 10:24 AM) Hihi...same here also... Already downsizing kaw2... Left only what i really love. If want to let go,don forget to roger me first. U still have my number right?  I'll have to dig through the messages. Don't worry, I'll be sure to PM you before I add any bottle to my WTS thread.
t0n3
Jun 18 2019, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(TAZIO.N @ Jun 18 2019, 11:50 AM) Thanks bro Btw,My SOTD: [attachmentid=10266244] Wow. I only have the current formulation.
t0n3
Jun 20 2019, 09:46 AM
QUOTE(cocooh @ Jun 19 2019, 09:58 PM)  Double haul Got Lavender Extreme from Tom Ford KLCC while Lost Cherry from Selfridges  Need to test LE more often. Both LE and LC dry down has its similarities due to the same tonka being used. Nevertheless, if you like LC, do not hesitate to try LE. Wow, congrats! My 3rd tester bottle of PAPHI has also just arrived yesterday from luxuryperfumemalaysia.com. Got it for RM330 shipped. The previous tester bottle I got from bestbuyworld in July 2014 was only RM220. A total of RM110 price increase over the past 5 years. Now that I've finally got my PAPHI I might be selling my Tom Ford Noir in the near future.
t0n3
Jun 20 2019, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(cocooh @ Jun 20 2019, 10:49 AM) From what i have experienced, its 10% SST. So UK price, minus 10% to get its final price (20% vat refund for UK goods) Well, inflation. And Malaysia perfume is gonna get more expensive soon. Apparently people in the states are so lucky. Walmart is now selling niche perfumes. A 100ml Amouage Interlude is only $150! https://www.walmart.com/ip/Amouage-Interlud...-4-Oz/154689564This post has been edited by t0n3: Jun 20 2019, 11:53 AM
t0n3
Jun 21 2019, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(GuyzNexDoor @ Jun 20 2019, 09:50 PM) PAPHI was released first in 2011 and TFN was released one year later in 2012 but I sniffed TFN first because every guy in London buses was wearing either TFN or Spicebomb that year. PAPHI and TFN smell very similar with the same patchouli+amber+vanilla combo. The nuances that set them apart is that PAPHI has added myrrh and TFN has Guerlinade accord, which I also love. Oh yeah, the EdT version of TFN smells very close to Habit Rouge EdP. TGIF, I'm wearing Calling All Angels by April Aromatics. The only certified organic perfume in my collection. Winner of the 2013 Artisan category Art and Olfaction Awards. I bought it directly through aprilaromatics.com on xmas eve of 2015 during promo for EUR120 shipped. I've checked just now, the selling price is still the same at EUR142 excluding shipping. It's an incense amber bomb. I bought it for the same spiritual reasons I bought Incense Avignon.