1.6 sure can go very fast..
my 1.6 +1.3 gearbox also can go 93MPH liao lo...
now i'm in kuantan...damn sien...online also cannot...sigh...
The Classic VW Beetle Thread, Comeon! Show some love!
Dec 14 2008, 10:15 AM
382 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
1.6 sure can go very fast..
my 1.6 +1.3 gearbox also can go 93MPH liao lo... now i'm in kuantan...damn sien...online also cannot...sigh... |
Dec 30 2008, 02:08 AM
try berjaya sompo,there's also an insurance company just for vintage car,but i forgot the name,try google AMC Malaysia,insurance.
Added on December 30, 2008, 2:10 amhttp://www.amcmotorsasia.com/insurance.html here u go...surprisingly it's called multipupose insurance... lol...i guess the name just changed...caz last time it wasnt called this name. Added on December 30, 2008, 2:11 ammalay company...jerneh? lousy company...lol... by the way did i mentioned that the multipurpose insurance which collaberated by AMC covers first party insurance?(optional) This post has been edited by askar_lcy: Dec 30 2008, 02:11 AM |
Jan 8 2009, 09:51 AM
hi tunzworld~
when u say rag top....u mean make it completely a cabriolet?or semi convertible which means cut a square hole on the roof and put leather cover which could be pulled open / close? i guess it should be the latter. i'm not from JB but as what i can see,High way motors and most of his frequent customers had Rag top or sun roof on their bugs,so i guess that is the shop u should consult.but mind u,the job would be very pricey.1st of all the parts aren't easy to find unless u want to use cheap skate japanese car's parts.i've seen a few with japanese cars top,the fit,but for ppl who loves VW very much they notice it's not ori once they look at it.if you're going for ori VW parts,do not go for mexican/china make.they worn out too fast. highway motors does engine overhauling too,and ofcaz upgrades of engine. anyway,can i ask for a pic or two of your bugs? last but not least,nice to meet u. |
Jan 10 2009, 03:33 AM
oh ya kah...
anyway heard of that guy before too. tunzworld,if u wan,i can intro my fren to u,he can bring u to all those workshop,n he has many rare parts kept... see if u're lucky then u can get one or two. anyway this guy can help u bargain alot and also show u to good place. he's very senior in beetle.. oh actually not one but three person that i know of plays beetle in JB.but one just had a new born baby so maybe not free to take u around. |
Jan 13 2009, 01:02 PM
having problem with my browser,can u pls sms me?
thanks. soya that is my friend ma haha. |
Jan 19 2009, 12:17 PM
Creative Joe,
depending on what u expect from ur ride. I'm still in U but i bought this beetle,condition is worse than so-so. but it can run,not much problem and i have time to "understand" the problem. more importantly is that u have the time or will to meet up people like GNandGS or other pro from his forum,u'll learn alot and they're all willing to teach. Without having any knowledge about EITHER cars,u'll just end up getting CONed over and over again.trust me because i've almost gave up once. but lastly someone point me the right direction and now i'm happy with my ride. I don't have much money but what i did was important for the car,save for the other first.i keep track of what i've done til to dates and accesories i've bought,my total spent (excluding fixing disc breaks) is around 3.5k and the car runs quite well.u can believe me when i say it runs well as i've travelled to Penang,Ipoh,Kuantan,Malacca,Seremban with it. spare parts,for me it isn't really a problem,Both mini and VW has cheap and expensive spare parts.it all depends on who u mix with,and how well u know the boss.alot people are saying spare parts for mini are easy to find,vw is harder.it depends,i believe most of the time they are talking about performance parts,or simply accesories and rare parts. that's for sure.because we import stuffs from Japan "Legally",and Japan has more mini than VW.but if u just need a car to get u from point A to point B (for the time being) standard parts which u can get almost anywhere is enough for u.if u want accesories and rare parts,look slowly.Thai,Indonesia,Phil,U.S are the place for u to look for. but more important is,do u have enough time to do up/repair either of the car?do u have the time to understands it? if u need to work and solely depends on the only car u have,i would say,go for GNandGS's advice.get another car. if u're yet to get a job and has too much free time,and u really like these cars. go ahead! i will join u for some experimental stuffs any more questions,do post up more and i'll try to help (as a student's view) and soya could help too (as a grad view/experience) and much complicated stuffs,GNandGS could give more advice. |
Jan 20 2009, 12:38 AM
combi price are going high now.
good luck. cabriolet? yes there is. |
Feb 5 2009, 06:47 AM
yo..
working now and very busy... everyday OT...til 9 or 10pm ny reach home... will only online during week ends maybe. hope someone organize some meet ups here during week ends... then we can convoy |
Feb 6 2009, 10:57 AM
ah liew,what brand is your headlamp?
there're two types and yours if it's seal beam,which is the older type... yes if burnt u have to change whole lamp.and it will be dimmer than new ones. but it last longer thou. Fentul... i don't think the law says anything about beetle. AFAIK,the law says that car earlier than 1995 don't need rear seat belts, earlier than 1965 don't need front. didn't heard of any ammendment. |
Feb 12 2009, 12:52 AM
in india?wat do u mean?
Feb 12 2009, 11:36 PM
have heard about it...
will ask for u.... but i might forget about it caz nowadays work loads are heavy... so hope u could wait n reminds me often..hehhe |
Feb 22 2009, 11:03 AM
maybe just like me?"
busy working.... |
Apr 25 2009, 03:21 PM
Fairuz, please go to volksriders then u can find alot of camper drivers.
Added on June 3, 2009, 9:23 pmthis topic slowly dies off already... sad.... This post has been edited by askar_lcy: Jun 3 2009, 09:23 PM |
Jun 11 2009, 10:23 AM
TS,u finished study?
how's ur bug? long time never see your pic...put up some lar! |
Jun 12 2009, 06:27 PM
it depends on what type u looking for.
Air filter cover is not expensive as there's alot still selling now. some even modified K&N (or memang got K&N) to fit into the engine. Alternator, u wan cheap, there's china make. u wan better, there's mexican make but somewhat expensive. if i'm not wrong, there's also Brazillian make... price i dono. Alternator price(the china ones), have seen somewhere in some other forums, need to search search.i think around rm200-300? Any picture for the engine? what's the engine code? AS? AD? if you don't mind maybe u can let me know how much u got it? |
Jun 15 2009, 08:18 PM
my beetle is 1.6 engine matching with 1.3 gearbox. i think alot outside is with this matching.
1.6 with 1.2 i don't think so, can't match la. well... 1.6 match 1.3, pick up is much more better. but it limits your top speed. anyway my top speed is 93mph. Yes, high speed is rougher, because the gear ratio is lower than 1.6 gearbox. and much petrol consuming as well. 2k i think is a good price BUT providing the engine is ok and the code is some famous ones. u know where to look for engine code right? Added on June 20, 2009, 9:32 pmguys~ there's bug fest in Summit (as usual) this year. instead of Aug 31st, it's at Aug 16th~! This post has been edited by askar_lcy: Jun 20 2009, 09:32 PM |
Jun 27 2009, 11:46 AM
yup true as well.
how about connect it to breather holes?(if any) |
Jul 23 2009, 03:07 PM
nice one...
a history which many of us have known yet many still doesn't know that this small lil materpiece was having such historical background. just like many of us know it's aircooled and rear engine yet still alot outside were surprised when we tell them about it. good to have people keep posting up these history which is one of the factor that could make some other interest in VW. |
Jul 24 2009, 01:46 PM
i might be going...
but not confirm if with my bug... hahaha |
Jul 28 2009, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Jul 26 2009, 11:16 PM) Hi, help needed. hi...Please recommend a good mechanic for classic VW around bangsar/KL/klang valley area. My classic VW 1300cc unused 3 years and leaking oil and cannot start. Need mechanic. thx there're quite a few mech for VW in kl/selangor. one old uncle in jalan ipoh is renowned for fixing beetle. also one in subang area near Giant one in USJ 1 also somewhere near giant mydin one in klang but known to be quite expensive two in puchong and also etc area. u might want to try the jalan ipoh one since u were asking about klang valley area...it's pretty obvious la his shop.. just beside the main road and it's a wooden shop lot. u'll see a few VW parked outside. |
| Change to: | 0.0324sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:35 PM |