To Sustain A Law Firm, Urgently need a tips on this

cfa28
post Feb 18 2015, 11:22 AM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(CommonPeople @ Feb 18 2015, 11:16 AM)
Good Morning bro , tak balik kampung or holiday ke ? hehhe

Anyway , Yea 3 offices but maybe , the ones in kuala kangsar will be closed soon due to internal probs.

About the lawyers , if im not mistaken , taiping 3 , ipoh 2 , KK 2..
Duration of employment.. i am not too sure about that. 

Risk of loosing the staffs are quite high thou since they all are old people and maybe waayyyy too comfort with the current style of work.. i am considering to buang half of them in order to increase the productivity ..
Tak balik kampung cos orang KL

You must know that it is very HARD to actually sack someone in MY - especially since you are dealing with people who are conversant with Law.

You plus your wife really need to sit down with your FIL

Running any biz today is not the same as 20-years ago. Landscape, competition is very different.

You're from the F&B Line right, perhaps your wife can offer Legal Services to them such as

- Tenancy Agreement - with Landlord
- Contract Agreements - with suppliers
- HR Contracts - with staff

TSCommonPeople
post Feb 18 2015, 11:46 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Feb 18 2015, 11:22 AM)
Tak balik kampung cos orang KL

You must know that it is very HARD to actually sack someone in MY - especially since you are dealing with people who are conversant with Law.

You plus your wife really need to sit down with your FIL

Running any biz today is not the same as 20-years ago. Landscape, competition is very different.

You're from the F&B Line right, perhaps your wife can offer Legal Services to them such as

- Tenancy Agreement - with Landlord
- Contract Agreements - with suppliers
- HR Contracts - with staff
Kan .. i really have to sit down with him and have a intense talk. Before this , i thought managing an office would be easy and simple.. hahaha.

I am not from F&B line.. S/M for corporate hotel offices..
cfa28
post Feb 18 2015, 11:48 AM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(CommonPeople @ Feb 18 2015, 11:46 AM)
Kan ..  i really have to sit down with him and have a intense talk. Before this , i thought managing an office would be easy and simple.. hahaha.

I am not from F&B line.. S/M for corporate hotel offices..
sorry, quite close lah

Use your contacts to get the Hotel contracts Legal Work
TSCommonPeople
post Feb 18 2015, 11:53 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Feb 18 2015, 11:48 AM)
sorry, quite close lah

Use your contacts to get the Hotel contracts Legal Work
hahahah. Boleh ke bro approach just like that ? actually the whole topic was about this.. i am trying to know whether
can i approach clients with emails , portfolios , visits etc like what we always do in S/m..

Cause i asked my wife and she said law firm doesn't work that way.. lol.. idk..

This post has been edited by CommonPeople: Feb 18 2015, 11:54 AM
cfa28
post Feb 18 2015, 12:02 PM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(CommonPeople @ Feb 18 2015, 11:53 AM)
hahahah. Boleh ke bro approach just like that ? actually the whole topic was about this.. i am trying to know whether
can i approach clients with emails , portfolios , visits etc like what we always do in S/m..

Cause i asked my wife and she said law firm doesn't work that way.. lol.. idk..
Not e-mails but visits with pitches and portfolios - YES

Big Legal Firms do that for Big Clients / Existing Clients - Talk about Firm Background, expertise, past portfolio etc

But not to sound too desperate lah

Pitch to Group Legal of the respective Firms,and also marketing departments like say Corporate Banking, Investment Banking, etc

Good way to create awarness is to offer "Free Legal Seminars" for prospective clients

Say - "Dispute and Arbitration process for Human Resources Department"

"Tenancy vs Lease - Pros and Cons" for Property Department / Legal Dept of the Hotel

Big Law Firms also do very Nice CV for their Partners / Lawyers

http://www.zicolaw.com/profile/david-lee-kim-meng/

http://www.lh-ag.com/s-saravana-kumar/

http://www.logan.com.my/html/people.html

This post has been edited by cfa28: Feb 18 2015, 12:13 PM
chastise
post Feb 18 2015, 03:49 PM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Feb 16 2015, 09:29 AM)
Read, understand, and re-apply? this kind of lawyer is the easiest to defeat.
Oh yaaa? What is there to defeat ?
chastise
post Feb 18 2015, 03:56 PM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

TS, you can start building your contacts by approaching friends and family. Make known to them that you are running a law firm. Then it will spread from there.

Don't worry if you aren't specialising in certain field. As long as you have interest in doing it, you can start somewhere and slowly learn more about it.

Being a lawyer is not about winning or losing (those who think that way prolly watched too much movies).

This post has been edited by chastise: Feb 18 2015, 03:57 PM
aromachong
post Feb 18 2015, 04:57 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by aromachong: Nov 1 2016, 05:17 PM
chastise
post Feb 23 2015, 03:25 AM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Feb 18 2015, 04:57 PM)
Being a lawyer is not about winning or losing? (oh wake up, don't like in a virtual world) !

*shrugs*
are u one? whistling.gif
sarahdee
post Feb 24 2015, 11:59 AM

171 posts

What does your wife do now?? Is she a practicing lawyer with another firm? If she is practicing, she should hop over to your fil's firm for the next few years, so she gets to know his clients etc. You're a long way from hiring and firing my friend. You will have to give those old staff compensation etc. You can't hypothetically deduce how to run a business you're not involved in.

This post has been edited by sarahdee: Feb 24 2015, 12:01 PM
TSCommonPeople
post Feb 24 2015, 05:35 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Feb 18 2015, 12:02 PM)
Not e-mails but visits with pitches and portfolios - YES

Big Legal Firms do that for Big Clients / Existing Clients - Talk about Firm Background, expertise, past portfolio etc

But not to sound too desperate lah

Pitch to Group Legal of the respective Firms,and also marketing departments like say Corporate Banking, Investment Banking, etc

Good way to create awarness is to offer "Free Legal Seminars" for prospective clients

Say - "Dispute and Arbitration process for Human Resources Department"

"Tenancy vs Lease - Pros and Cons" for Property Department / Legal Dept of the Hotel

Big Law Firms also do very Nice CV for their Partners / Lawyers

http://www.zicolaw.com/profile/david-lee-kim-meng/

http://www.lh-ag.com/s-saravana-kumar/

http://www.logan.com.my/html/people.html
Thanks again for the info bro..You really helped me a lot. I guess i need to read and study more about the whole thing..Cant simply tembak...Anyway , appreciated your help bro notworthy.gif
TSCommonPeople
post Feb 24 2015, 05:39 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(sarahdee @ Feb 24 2015, 11:59 AM)
What does your wife do now?? Is she a practicing lawyer with another firm? If she is practicing, she should hop over to your fil's firm for the next few years, so she gets to know his clients etc. You're a long way from hiring and firing my friend. You will have to give those old staff compensation etc. You can't hypothetically deduce how to run a business you're not involved in.
Hi ,

Shes working in a corporate firm in the center of KL..

Hmm about firing them , i really really have to do something about that because they are old , slow and outdated. You know like an old computer ? haha . I just need a good fresh start for the company to have her glorious time once more..
TSCommonPeople
post Feb 24 2015, 05:42 PM

168 posts

Those that i did not replied your replies , thanks a lot for taking your time and efforts to read my silly topic. I really really appreciated with all the replies and hope i can learn something from that. Faith in Humanity Restored smile.gif
thumbup.gif notworthy.gif
me_1980s
post Feb 26 2015, 01:06 PM

161 posts

TS, you really should have an intense talk with your wife and FIL. Running three firms at the same time is not easy if without expertise in management includes human management, accounts and admin.

If there are only three lawyers and three branches, I believe each branch will have a lawyer stationed there, am I right? If so, you need to know each branch's clients' portfolios.

First thing you need to make clear is what is your role in the firm. Who is going to take care admin, accounts and management? Do other partners of the firm agree with the arrangement or the lawyers in the firm are mere legal assistant?
Please take note that a law firm cannot use a "marketing officer".

With your background as S/M will definitely of help to your beloved wife. You may want to learn a little bit of law also. Suggest you to attend some seminars organised by the Perak Bar in relations to the field that you want. Further, enroll yourself to work in the firms to know more how a firm works. Without hands-on experience, it's very difficult for you to stand.

In conclusion:-
Identify your role in the firm and enroll yourself in seminars.

TSCommonPeople
post Feb 26 2015, 03:03 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(me_1980s @ Feb 26 2015, 01:06 PM)
TS, you really should have an intense talk with your wife and FIL. Running three firms at the same time is not easy if without expertise in management includes human management, accounts and admin.

If there are only three lawyers and three branches, I believe each branch will have a lawyer stationed there, am I right? If so, you need to know each branch's clients' portfolios.

First thing you need to make clear is what is your role in the firm. Who is going to take care admin, accounts and management? Do other partners of the firm agree with the arrangement or the lawyers in the firm are mere legal assistant?
Please take note that a law firm cannot use a "marketing officer". 

With your background as S/M will definitely of help to your beloved wife. You may want to learn a little bit of law also. Suggest you to attend some seminars organised by the Perak Bar in relations to the field that you want. Further, enroll yourself to work in the firms to know more how a firm works. Without hands-on experience, it's very difficult for you to stand.

In conclusion:-
Identify your role in the firm and enroll yourself in seminars.
Dear Bro ,

Thanks for the information and advice. as for my role in the firms , my wife told me that i need to manage the managements site which are as you mentioned above. I do have a diploma in business management and hopefully the studies that ive learnt 10 years ago could be applied later .

Seminars ? it is a good idea thou. I have a thought of that actually.. Will try to take a look about that. I myself had bought some law books and had been searching around the net on how to manage/work a firm. No doubt its not as easy as it looks . Once again i would like to thank you for giving me such opinions. notworthy.gif
me_1980s
post Feb 26 2015, 05:50 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(CommonPeople @ Feb 26 2015, 03:03 PM)
Dear Bro ,

Thanks for the information and advice. as for my role in the firms , my wife told me that i need to manage the managements site which are as you mentioned above. I do have a diploma in business management and hopefully the studies that ive learnt 10 years ago could be applied later .

Seminars ? it is a good idea thou. I have a thought of that actually.. Will try to take a look about that. I myself had bought some law books and had been searching around the net on how to manage/work a firm. No doubt its not as easy as it looks . Once again i would like to thank you for giving me such opinions. notworthy.gif
As you have made clear in your position, will be easier to guide you.

You should read more books on practical side rather than substantive law (this applies for seminar too). For eg books like conveyancing practice rather than land law (I believe your wife would be a better guide than this forum as we can only give you some pointers). At the same time, pick up a conveyancing file from the firm and start from scratch to know the process (again, only your wife can be a better guide). Position yourself as a legal clerk first, learn the basic trades first. Then only start to market yourself and the firm. It's a service industry, people will return if your service if good. Even if you have connection or big big cable, you will still lose clients if your service is not up to their satisfaction.

As for management, same skills that you had learned from previous companies are applicable (eg office politics and control of wastage). In a law firm, more importantly is the file management and not office management (not to say the latter is not important, just that emphasis should place more on the former).
poobalanc
post Apr 3 2023, 05:02 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(CommonPeople @ Feb 12 2015, 04:57 PM)
Greetings people !

Well , as you can see , i am trying to figure it out on how to sustain a Law Firm ?

In two years time , my wife's dad will be handing over his medium size Law firm to my wife.

The thing is , my wife is just an ordinary lawyer without any business orientate. So it leaves to me to handle the business. With my 6 years experience of Sales and marketing , can i succeed this ? I am in hospitality industry right now and basically its almost the same thing which is we sells services to customers.

I asked her on how did you father managed to find his clients ? She said the dad just waited for the clients to come by at the office and deal.. Her dad is doing so-so right now. Average 1-2 cases a month sometimes none.

Anyway , i am still blur on how to boost the sales figure for the business. We have enough staffs to work but no enough clients/case to deal.

Her parents are putting a big hope to me to handle the business since we are the first born child for both families and my wife has 4 younger siblings to take care of later.

The main question now is can i apply the same method on S/M for a Law firm ?

What strategy should i use ?rclxub.gif
so, how is business bro?

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0200sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:18 PM