12,047 posts

Rm18 for about 3kg I think...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 28 2006, 08:57 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Hahah... Mottleds.... they look adventurous liao heheeh...

Now I got more mottleds and spotteds liao... Who wants? Hahahah.... Now got new colours also, agouti and argentes...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 28 2006, 09:11 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(InfiniteVoid @ Nov 28 2006, 08:57 AM)
My boy boy very keng... I don't know what to phrase him. Smart or horny?

The story started like this... I placed the female container and the male container next to each other. The female container only contains Eek Eek alone. This happen 1 night ago where I don't know how my boy boy manage to climb over to Eek Eek's container. I wake up in the morning and got a shock. "What the... how did he reach there?"

Today, the same situation. I wake up and found my boy boy in Eek Eek's container. sweat.gif Well, I guess he must have rape Eek Eek sweat.gif
have to prepare for baby... sigh.... so horny or smart?
Horny and smart lah hehehehe.... so keng. Yah, better prepare just in case.

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Nov 28 2006, 08:59 AM)
er...any of u guys had experience that ur WW really turn white b4??
I mean in Malaysia shouldn't happen rite? the whether not cold mah......
But one of my male WW hor...it turn white!! really white!!! dunno y......I think mayb he always hide in the essential oil burner, at night only come out.........normal ah?
They do not need winter to turn white lah. If you let it live in a dark room with no sun light, instinct will make the hamster think it is winter since winter has less daylight and more night. Then it would change colour. They will be inactive during this time also.

QUOTE(Princess Shmoosh @ Nov 28 2006, 08:59 AM)
i am currently in a dilemma. i bought two hammies frm a college fair. at first i wanted one bt the girl assured me that two females wont fight when kept together. and they didnt fight until two days ago. and both of them are slightly injured. not seriously but just a bit reddish at the mouth and a bit at the tail.

as soon as i saw that, i immediately separated them. shmoosh appears to be extremely terrified (doesnt even try to come out to play when i open the cage door anymore) and i have noticed it trembling violently while sleeping. bt now, it has calmed down.

the other one, dhoosh, is in a plastic container and a basket full of small holes on top coz i dont want lizards trying to get inside. the problem is, dhoosh loves running on a wheel and the plastic container is too low to put in a running wheel. the cage is the best because it has two layers, a running wheel, a wooden house, a ladder, a lot of toilet paper rolls and lots of space.

would it ever be safe enough to put them together again? coz i feel really bad for dhoosh for nt having a wheel. i gave her two toilet paper rolls to play with but i dont think she's too happy abt it.
This is why, never listen to those people that sells pets for business.... Coz they will say can can but later you see it go cannot cannot.

To test is they still fight or not, place them on your table. A nuetral place where they have never been before. If they start to fight even on nuetral place, then you cannot put them together.

So get a seperate cage for it.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 29 2006, 08:54 AM

12,047 posts

AHahah... You hamster winter coat mode lah. It is not weird. Very normal. Keep her in a bright place like near to a window where got light. Sure she will slowly change back into normal coat colour.

This is just natural instinct kicking in. When we do not give them proper sun light, they will think it is winter and change colour. In the wild, a white coat in snow cannot be seen by predators... but also, when they change into their winter coat. Their fertility rate drop... they become infertile during winter period. This is cause it is impossible to keep babies warm and fed during cold winters so the hamsters make themselves stop breeding.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 29 2006, 04:21 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Princess Shmoosh @ Nov 29 2006, 01:40 PM)
okay, i put my hams together in a basket and immediately dhoosh started sniffing at shmoosh. then after abt 5 minutes, dhoosh attacked shmoosh. and shmoosh was terrified and laid on its back and squeaked like crazy. so i definitely cant put them together again? why is this happening? i thought campbells can be put in a pair? before this, they never fought. it only started 4 days ago.
Sometimes hamster bicker with each other.... argue... but if they bite and you find injuries and wounds on the hamsters... better seperate. Sometimes these things happen... especially when buy hamsters from large quantities... coz they don't bond properly when they are housed in say 10 to 20 hamsters together so sometimes this can cause fighting... normally if my hamsters argue, I'll look and see... if no wounds or biting then I leave them alone. If this continues to happen every day... means bullying loh... so better seperate before one gets bullied till sick...

QUOTE(3_monkey @ Nov 29 2006, 02:36 PM)
is't ok to put normal sand(the sand that used to make house) in hamster cage/house or tank....
Normal sand... well, those type of sand is not clean. It may contain germs, bacteria or parasites.... also, fine sand is not good since it can go into their lungs...

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Nov 29 2006, 04:17 PM)
sand...i dunno its good for them or not, but i tell u, the hamsters love them.
I use a small plate to put some sand on it. They always go on top of the sand and rub their back against the sand...cute..........
They should never live on sand.... have a small bowl or container with proper hamster sand bath is ok but not normal contruction sand or beach sand.

The sand that is for hamsters helps clean their fur. It is called sand bath. Wild animals such as cows, pigs, horses and birds do it.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 29 2006, 04:41 PM

12,047 posts

No no.... tanah is still dirty with parasites... you would think it is natural but it will make you faint with the smell. Pee doesn't mix well with normal sand and soil. You will end up cleaning the tank more than once a week. Also, sand and soil, when wet can harbour bacteria. This is why you do not see people keep hamsters in soil.

Aquarium sand also not good. They are stones... small gravel stones.... can hurt their feet and cause uncomfortable sleep for hamsters.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 29 2006, 05:06 PM

12,047 posts

It is a new type of bedding. 1 tin cost Rm30.... also it may last say 2 or 3 weeks then throw all away.... well, we not sure cos this is new bedding and not everywhere sell. It is made of WOOD, not sand or soil. 1 container of the soil can use... well, fill up a 2ft tank ngam ngam, that is what I heard.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 30 2006, 08:10 PM

12,047 posts

It is common for campbells to bite. I breed them and tame them from young.... well, so far I do know 2 that bites from the litter of babies which is Spackles(baru know only) and Salsa(I'm keeping).... but the rest has never bitten... yet....

Campbells are a bit different from WW.... they have a mind of their own and if they do not like you, then nip nip and bite bite.... but if you handle them long and show them you are not afraid of being bitten... the campbells won't bite again until it feels threaten.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 2 2006, 12:10 AM

12,047 posts

PW sell... Rm68 loh....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 2 2006, 12:22 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(kembara @ Dec 2 2006, 12:14 AM)
what crazymouse said was true
rc can be tame la...
me myself succesfull tamed three of my five rc...after long time..
two of the tamed hammies are fat one heheh..
Good that you can tame them hehehe... I also tame my 1st 2 RCs... bought from Acey last time... at first couldn't handle much but now they are so tame, never chew me at all.... smile.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 4 2006, 09:20 PM

12,047 posts

It just depends on the hamsters.... some can get along and some cannot.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 6 2006, 09:06 PM

12,047 posts

Escaped hamster... if you do not set a trap... and if the hamster is not hand tame... then it would be hard to catch back. I lost 1 Syrian.... he went missing and never came back.... well, I live on landed property so kinda hard to find him in my house...

Anyway, do set a rat trap, hang a piece of chicken.. well, the smell would attract a hungry hamster.

QUOTE(shinobikit @ Dec 6 2006, 06:46 PM)
just now i put my ww into robo cage... omfg... they fight!@!@!..
then fast fast take the ww out..
Why did you do that? People already said cannot mix but you still go experiement? Eeee.... you cruel lah....

QUOTE(kembara @ Dec 6 2006, 08:03 PM)
guys,
have you all hear about "panda hamster"??
i find this thing in lyn pets trading...in the december list for sell...
It is actually Syrian.... the black and white syrian... people just put such a name to make them interesting loh. Maybe I'll get one some time later. They are very cute. But the price may be costly I think...

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 6 2006, 09:27 PM

12,047 posts

Yups... heheheh... I know petswonderland got... and garage sales got heheheh.... Really nice but must see I got room 1st or not... the colour is very tempting heheheh.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 6 2006, 09:32 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(hao @ Dec 6 2006, 09:30 PM)
Oh, panda hamsters. Got one when i bred my hamsters long long time ago, i still can remember it's a girl and it's the only one in the litter with black and white colour, the rest are just golden... laugh.gif
Got some looks like black but actually is dark grey.... with white rimmed eyes.. it's called Sable hehhee... I also got 1 now biggrin.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 9 2006, 04:10 PM

12,047 posts

Look around... sure you will find one that you will like... Oh, dun get from Pet Safari... seems some of their Syrians infected with Wet Tail.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 11 2006, 12:24 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Dec 10 2006, 11:32 PM)
Hello.  I just bought 2 syrians today.  They were like attacking each other as if kittens are playing.  I'm not sure if they're playing or really attacking each other.  Do syrians play like kittens ?
OMG.... why did you buy 2? Do you know they can fight till death? Syrians are TERRITORIAL.... they will kill each other by nature. Syrians are Solitary.... play like kittens.... that is bikering already... they will fight to death one day. PLEASE SEPERATE THEM.

QUOTE(Syrian @ Dec 10 2006, 11:36 PM)
I keep them in toyogo container with water bottle and food dish as well as the running wheel.  But both my babies just like want to jump out from the container - is there something wrong with it ?
It is not wrong to jump about.... they are not used to storage boxes....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 11 2006, 12:44 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Yaozz @ Dec 11 2006, 12:33 AM)
Means syrian only can be put alone?Errr..How to see which is boy and which is girl?How to see if the hamster is pregnant?
Yups... they need to be alone.

Syrians are the easiest to sex.... males got balls and females dun loh hahahah.... you just look at the genitals... it is easy to see if adult.

A hamster will only show her pregnancy when she is around a week pregnant... sometimes you can only see when 2 weeks already coz it depends on how many babies inside.... they will look big.

Just google for some pictures.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 11 2006, 01:19 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(silencio87 @ Dec 11 2006, 01:11 AM)
Urm..ive got a question..btw..its me again:) silencio87 tongue.gif

Right..ive got 2 hammies and both are WW.However,they both can Never,never be friends sad.gif I tried putting them in each other cages,so they know each other but Ack!!, they're still aggressive with one another.

After a few months,i realised that one of my hamy is bigger than the other one  ,i meant by its size.  So,probably because of the size,they cant get along well with each other? Also,can we put imported WW with local WW together? It could be one of my hamy is imported...i dunno..does it matter? unsure.gif
Some hamsters, they cannot mix at all... it is just natural. and I think it could be coz you bought them from different places? Sure fight if like that. Local or imported... mix also nothing wrong... it is just the hamsters hate each other only. So best is KEEP on seperating them. You want the hamster to be happy right? So keep them seperately makes them happier coz at peace.

Petshops will always sell in a pair because they want to get rid of it fast and earn more from customers.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 11 2006, 01:21 AM

12,047 posts

I wonder.... semut_merah006 and harima007.... who are you guys? Related?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 11 2006, 10:16 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(mustang @ Dec 11 2006, 03:11 PM)
Hello all, I just bought my hammies last week and I am sort of new in this stuff -> How often do you bath your hamster? And from what I know, hamster itself likes cleanliness, so from time to time, they will always groom themselves, so is it advisable to bath it often? thanks
Rena_Blue already said the basics.... never ever bath with WATER!!!!! It does more harm then good.... people may say their hamsters no probelm after a shampoo and water both but then.... can a hamster talk? No rite? Dogs and cats different coz lots of research and experiements have been done on them but not on small animals like hamsters.

So do use sand bath that is specially made for hamsters. You can find it at most petshops.

14 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0479sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:03 AM