TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 3 2007, 10:31 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Feb 3 2007, 10:15 PM)
Oh oh.. icic.. but his camera quality isn't that good wor.. i cant see any red at all  blink.gif
hahaha... Anyway, I'm not sure whether my hamster is sapphire or pearl.. looks like pearl. I'll take a pic and upload it tomorrow.

Btw crazymouse, I need some advice.. here's what I feed my hamster now...
A mix between Habitrail, Prestige Dwarf hamster, alfafa.. the ratio is like 1:1:0.4 because I don't think you need to feed the hammie too much alfafa right? Mealworms once every week... carrots once every 3 days. Is it okay? I'm more curious about alfafa because I don't see many breeders feeding alfafa.
Another question, I saw this deodorant in the petshop for small animals, hamsters being one of them.. it's written that its made from 100% natural ingredients and harmless to animals(even wrote can spray into the hamsters drinking water blink.gif ).. is it worth the money? My mom complains about my hamster's odour. My current bedding now is mainly corn corbs and a layer of chipsi plus on top.
Coz he mentioned in his post that they got Red eyes mah.... hahahah... but then from the pic, the colours are not Winter Whites. They are the colours of campbells.

Now my photobucket is loading very very slow, later if it loads properly I got some pictures of font, side and top view of hamsters.

The food you are giving is ok. Do not worry. Hamsters are not grass eaters so they do not eat alfalfa. They nibble and chew only. They rarely consume alfalfa. Anywa, you can minus the alfalfa since the pellets in Prestige contains some alfalfa, enough for them.

The smell is from the pee. I never trust products that are given internally to lessen smell... it is weird loh and also the animals cannot give feed back to humans also, so we would never know if it causes them harm until they fall sick and die.

Change your bedding. I would suggest Breeder's Select/ Celect... sorry, I can't remember the name but it sounds like that lah. It is made of recycled newspaper. I used it once and can tell you, never change bedding 3 weeks also no smell hahaha.... it absorbs pee and odour really good. Another bedding you can use is Careline Wood Pellet Cat litter. Even the Breeder's Select is a kind of cat litter. These litters cost around RM15 to Rm17 lah.... but can last long and won't smell bad. You only need to put the amount that covers up the flooring, no need 2cm or 3cm... just enough would do.

Also, from the bedding you using, it is the Chipsi that is harboring the smell.

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Feb 3 2007, 10:21 PM)
Erm.. because the pictures I've seen so far on the net does not match the colour of my hamster.. lol.. it's mostly white.. only a small grey line in the middle.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 3 2007, 10:52 PM

12,047 posts

Some pictures to show hahaha...

Argente Russian Campbell hamster

Mottled Black Russian Campbell hamster

Agouti Russian Campbell hamster

Spotted Dove Russian Campbell hamster

Added on February 3, 2007, 10:54 pm
QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Feb 3 2007, 10:43 PM)
i use also use chiPsi (Plus aPPle) but its not smelly ah... weird.. or is it tt i like the smell so i never thought its smelly? wads hamster  Pee smells like? careline  Pellet Cat litter can use to ww? will they feel comfortable? coz its  Pellet oh. i do  Prefer  Pellet coz cleaner. is it sold at  Pw midvalley?
Apple smell? It is not healthy to have scented wood shavings coz the perfume is bad for them, not for us.

The cat litter, if it is made of wood pellets or recycled newspaper then can use. Never use those clumping or sand cat litter coz the dust is dangerous for them to inhale too much.

They will feel comfortable if provided with hay for nesting material. I am not sure PW midvalley sell or not but I went there and did not notice them. Can get at Pet Safari and at Pet Family.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Feb 3 2007, 10:54 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 3 2007, 11:18 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(cyt @ Feb 3 2007, 11:03 PM)
yeah, he's really cute....he even knows how to terbalik when i put my finger to "geli" his stomach...i can lift him up like that coz he's too fat....all those are his fatty tisssues...but very cute lah...hahaha

dont be fooled by his size...he can run super fast coz he always train in his running wheel in the cage...and when he runs, the butt will bounce...super cute..

heres the small one...very adorable..
hahaha... cute hamster.

Would be easier to identify the kind of dwarf hamster if you can take a picture of the top view and side view.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 3 2007, 11:55 PM

12,047 posts

Robos are different from campbells and winter whites. The first page already got some pictures to show the differences...

Anyway, here are some pics of winter whites:

Pearl Winter White hamster

Agouti Winter White hamster in her winter coat and when in the middle of changing

Agouti Winter white

Saphhire Winter White

Pudding Winter White Hybrid

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 4 2007, 10:00 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Feb 4 2007, 03:53 PM)
wah crazy... how ur agouti change 1..... envy...
That is when my female I keep in a dark corner of my room.... took her bout 1 month to change. I gave her to Kembara liao hahaha.

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Feb 4 2007, 06:14 PM)
my hamster..err..male scent gland...look swollen...wat happen?
Swollen? Red? Brown?

QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Feb 4 2007, 07:13 PM)
hi all gurus, thnxx for telling me the breed of my  wub.gif  wub.gif hummies woww,   notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  i am using old old camera la, they r red eyes one, now only i know they r RC, the idxxx keeper told me "they r hamster la, wat RC/WW/ xyz&*)%#???"  sweat.gif  sweat.gif and even told me "this is mini hamster la, u dont know meh??" wahlaoooo  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif i dont care la....as long as they r cute.....hahahaha  rclxm9.gif  wub.gif  thnxxx again all gurus  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Ai, some petshops or keepers are like that wan. But you got yourself really good looking RCs, and got red eyes hehehe... you so suka red eye hamsters ah?

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Feb 4 2007, 07:48 PM)
Well here is my hamster ppl! Erm.. I haven't give it a name yet.. If the ppl in the petshop didn't bullshit me, this hamster should be about 5 months old now. Doesn't have a name yet though.. LOL.. do all of you actually name each of your hamster?

Yups, that is a pearl. So you bought from Pet Family? Hahah... Sapphire, go get one loh... so many sapphires around if you like sapphires so much.

QUOTE(bizen @ Feb 4 2007, 08:27 PM)
Wow... how do you manage to get such a good shot? My little brother's pudding likes to move alot so I can't get a good shot everytime...
It's the camera.... fast shutter speed, good digital lens and flash... Kodak got great macro setting... but my pics were taken using dslr heheheh...

Added on February 4, 2007, 10:13 pm
QUOTE(mustang @ Feb 4 2007, 08:42 PM)
I managed to take some pictures from my 17 days old pups. So based on the pictures below, is it a male ? Kind of hard to see properly. And all my pups seem to have the below characteristics.  hmm.gif

user posted image user posted image
Hmm... They are still young to see... I can roughly assume the left pic is female and the right pic is male... maybe you show some new pics after 1 week.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Feb 4 2007, 10:13 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 4 2007, 10:20 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Feb 4 2007, 10:16 PM)
ok im still working on it.. but wad if i on my room lights during nite leh? and at nite i will use a cloth to cover the cage coz in the morning the sunlight will shine in.. is this going to work?
Yes, that can be done but make sure got the small house for it to hide inside lah... and wait for 1 month.

Now my 2 puddings turning to winter coat hahahah...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 4 2007, 10:42 PM

12,047 posts

Hahah... now can't really notice coz the eye brow turn white only... wait lah, later become whiter I post a pic.

well, all I can say is just try lah. Coz turning winter coat depends on the hamster wan. If he feels that he wants to turn winter coat then he will... if he dun have that feeling then he won't.

It takes 1 month to change into white... but then it also depends on each individual hamsters. 1 month means from white eye brow to whole body white. When will a hamster start to change? Again you won't know coz it is up to the hamster lah.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 4 2007, 10:53 PM

12,047 posts

Haha... yah... normally the eye grow or nose area would change first... can say face first before other parts.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 5 2007, 09:20 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(kembara @ Feb 5 2007, 11:23 AM)
???challenging you??
plz explain la blueheng..i dont understand.. rclxub.gif  hmm.gif

btw these are jumpy latest picture..furry critter..

Added on February 5, 2007, 11:40 amand these are the newbies in my hamster's clan..two weeks and few days old..this 9/2 will reach three weeks..

Hey, those are argente babies hahah... you view my sales thread lah, same colour as Andante I think.

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Feb 5 2007, 01:58 PM)
erm, actually wad factors shows tt a hamster is tame? is mine tame?
A tame hamster would not bite on purpose. A tame hamster would not jump out of hands in an instant. A tame hamster would not struggle too much when held.

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Feb 5 2007, 02:51 PM)
Challenge? Like he only comes to me when he needs food lor.. whenever his food bowl is full and don't need me, he'll keep on running away when I wanna catch it.. -.-"
Too smart for its own good.
Hamster is like that mah. Animals do not think like humans nor do they have emotional feelings like humans. Since you always feed him, he see you as food source. Also hamsters have tiny brains compared to dogs and they are not monogamous.

QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Feb 5 2007, 06:09 PM)
yayaya, i like red eyes very very very much.... wub.gif dont really like black eyes one....very geli.....just personal feeling......but really dont understand why they can change color  rclxub.gif the time i bought they r white + black stripe, but now turn to brown??? shocking.gif  rclxub.gif  doh.gif  sweat.gif actually i wan pudding color but cant find  cry.gif yesterday i gave them food that put in my palm, and one of them "accidentally" nib me vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif btw, how u gurus let them out n play, but later how to catch them woww?? they r so small n run like hxlllll, so tiring chasing after themm....wahlaoooo no need to go celebrity fitness liao...can save my money, just every nite let them out and chase after them...good idea to keep fit also.... drool.gif
Change colour? Hmmm.... that is really weird since got red eyes. I suspect the shop keeper mixbreed them. Again, many petshops do not know mixbreeding different species of hamsters is bad. Well, I can tell you lucky yours are ok. When I was younger, I bought hybrid hamsters before, damn weird and aggressive... and it was red eyed... change colour also.

Accidental nips are common lah. Part and parcel of owning a hamster hahahah.

Never let out a hamster freely. Really, it is worst loh when it gets lost. Normally the best is making a play pen using old cardboard boxes and make a maze for them to play. Or you can buy those hamster fencing sold at certain shops(I have been searching but can't find till now). Best is an open area like your bed but again your hamster must be tame in order to do this. For me, I let my hamsters run on my study table, that is why a few pics got stationary and keyboard hahaha...

Anyway, a hamster is happy enough if it has a wheel. Do not let it roam freely without you watching lah if you wanna let it out of the cage.

QUOTE(hoechou @ Feb 5 2007, 08:07 PM)
hello to every seniors here....
i'm new hamster owner...

Added on February 5, 2007, 8:14 pmmy hamsters r very lazy lah... always sleep at their house only... after i bought them home, i myself also feel sleepy since everytime i c them also sleep only...
morning c them ----> sleep...
noon c them ----> play or eat a while then sleep~~~
night c them ----> also sleep...
i think that i've bought the wrong pets already... not hamsters but pigs...
n y they so scare of me one? everytime i want to play with them, sure they'll try to eacape from my hand when i want to catch them out from their house... how can i solve this problem?
Why are they scared? Give you a scenario.... say you were small like a hamster, and a giant monster take you as a pet. You like? You of course scared rite? Then later you and monster also cannot communicate since got language barrier. At first you damn scared but when monster feed you, you suddenly realise got food and feel comfortable. Then all of the sudden the monster pick you up and molest you up in the air.... you also don't like rite? So it is the same with hamsters.

You gotta make them get used to you. Teach them that your hand is good and won't give pain. NEVER catch them out of their house. You are intruding into their safe haven which makes handtrusting worst than you started. Is like a stranger from the street came into your house, open your bed room door and drag you out into the road... same feeling lah.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 6 2007, 09:54 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Feb 6 2007, 01:38 AM)
crazymouse_yyh: i also think they r mix breed bcos looks not "pure" to me...hahaha, i am not dare to let them play on my bed lo, scare they pee or poo then die la me, hv to change the matress lo...only my pom n minipins can play on my bed, hahaha, so bias....hammies hv their own wheel, and i put the toilet paper roll, some tissue paper, cups for them to play lo, i didnt let them "free" in an open area la, just tat i bought a very large plastic tank, i didnt measure, but really big one...hehehe actually i stole from my dad la, he used it to keep koi one.....hehehe he didnt even notice it was missing....so at night i free them to play over there lo, each hv around 3 hrs to play over there..... wub.gif  wub.gif
Ah, that is a very good idea for a play pen heheheh... I only let my hamsters run on my table... I know some people let their hamsters play on their beds coz safer and is a big space for a hamster heheheh.

Well, you lucky your hybrid hamsters are ok. Last time my hybrids were very aggressive... well, I was young that time and didn't know what were hybrids and also it was rare to find winter whites... so bought and then regreted coz they bite really hard whenever I handle them and they also cannot sit still on my palm. Well, this is very normal with petshop stock to me these days. So it really depends on luck when purchasing a hamster from a petshop.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 6 2007, 09:34 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Feb 6 2007, 05:41 PM)
eh wan to ask y my wws dun sleep on their back arh? seen so many photos of hams sleeping on their back.. so cute but never seen mine doing tat.
BlueHeng said liao... hahah...

Most hamsters have their own sleeping positions. Some like to sleep on their backs, some like to curl on their sides, some sleep on their tummies while some sleep curl in balls...

I do not think BlueHeng would be jealous of your WW turn winter coat coz his Pearl is 100% winter coat and will stay winter coat forever nod.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 7 2007, 09:50 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Feb 6 2007, 10:55 PM)
Eh guys... I have a problem now.. My cage is always infested with ANTS! I think it's because of the food. Is there anything I can do to avoid this? I don't think the ants will harm the hamster as it's not really a lot. Just a few small black ones. The common ants.
You got white vinegar at home? What you do is wipe the area with some vinegar... do not wash the area la. Like say you place on the table, you se white vinegar... smear some around the cage base and leave it to air dry. Then it should ward off ants for a short time. You gotta repeat it when you start to see ant again.

QUOTE(cyt @ Feb 7 2007, 03:00 AM)
yummy...mandarin orange is nice.... drool.gif

hiding in the tissue box...

and eating seeds of mandarin orange??
OMG... do you know oranges of any sort is dangerous for hamsters? Too much can lead to wet tail, also orange seeds and almost every kind of fruit seeds is quite dangerous since it is not digestable and can cause intestine blockage. Only seeds from flowers and nuts are safe for rodents but not fruits. Even grape seeds are dangerous.

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Feb 7 2007, 03:47 AM)
Wait.. u didn't give it orange right.. I remember sifu saying no citrus fruits for hammis.  blink.gif
Yups, you are right. Never ever feed oranges, to be on the safe side.... I mean, better safe than sorry later.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 7 2007, 10:17 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(blasturanus @ Feb 7 2007, 10:01 AM)
hi all.. my golden hamster tend to bite now.. mostly at nite when he's most active.. it bit my gf's finger till bleed .now when i put my finger near the cage it'll open it's mouth n wana bite my finger>>>

previously i posted tat tat hamster bit/killed 2 other smaller hamster namely the robosky n winteer white  which i put together in the cage..it's a 3 storey bungalow cage..

could it be the golden hamster like the taste of flesh? n now it's carnivorous>>?? help???>>~~ cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Why did you put a Golden hamster with a robo and a winter white? Do you know those 3 hamsters are different species? Did you know that it is NATURAL for your golden hamster to kill? Coz you have made him feel threaten and angry. Golden hamsters are Syrians and they do not live in groups... they are solitary and putting different species together will just made his attitude worst.

No, he bites not because he tasted flesh, is because he is angry and stressed. The biting is a habit. Never poke your fingers into the cage, you are just provoking your hamster to bite you. Hamsters hate it when peopel try to touch them in cages. I think you should stop touching and holding him for awhile. Now if you wanna handle him, do use a cup to scoop him out and place him on your paml slowly. Never put your hand into the cage to pick or catch the hamster.

The problem is not the hamster but from your previous care where you place different species together.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 7 2007, 10:24 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Feb 7 2007, 10:21 AM)
Man, whats with some people... mixing hamsters of 3 specis together, asking for trouble lar.
I think this is coz petshops never give proper advice. Some may say sunflower seeds are the best food to give....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 7 2007, 10:45 AM

12,047 posts

You poke last time... do you know you are actually provoking him and invading his territory? Syrians are solitary, they actually do not like even humans to kacau them at all. Hamsters are not like dogs that needs social attention.

Poking thru bars makes your hamster just stressed and angry.

Why is he biting the bars? Coz he is VERY bored. I think you do not provide enough mental stimulation. Is the wheel more than 8 inches? Do you provide a hide house? Are there any wooden things to chew on? If you do not provide those things, your hamster has a lot of stress harboured in side so he got no other means to release its energy so that is why he chew the bars.

Better you change his house from a cage to a storage box or a glass aquarium. The bigger the better.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 7 2007, 11:09 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(blasturanus @ Feb 7 2007, 10:59 AM)
o ok... but he's now alone in a 3 storey cage wo,,, the wheel ar.. i thought standard size 1?? no hide house wo.. i think i'll guive him the toilet paper cylinder cardboard instaed..hehe..

dem..i think i'll leave him alone for now... don kacau him for a moment...btw thanks for the advice
Size is not standard if you look at hobbyist terms... petshops that give cheap stuff will sell 1 size and is not suitable for syrian hamsters. The ones normally comes with the cage is the right size for dwarf hamster. Syrians, really must buy proper wheel.

A 3 storey cage is not amazing for a hamster... rats and mice only like 3 storey
cages coz they can climb and have a tail to support.Hamsters are more to ground dwelling... a bit of height is ok.

Toilet paper cylinder is too small for a syrian to feel safe. Do get a hide house for it. You will make his life so much happier.

Yes, leave him alone. Stop trying to touch or poke him. Also, use a cup or glove to pick him up, not catch him coz it would terrify him if you were to catch him.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 7 2007, 09:14 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(kembara @ Feb 7 2007, 06:57 PM)
as  crazymouse said before..feeding hammies with only sunflower seeds are like feeding ourselve with cheeseburger everyday... we will become chubby but not healthy one..

notty you are blueheng...the "bleck" is bcoz my handphone camera la...murah one..
reanne, can we give the un-eaten alfafa palets in hamster mix  to rabbit?? hmm.gif
heheh you give them what food aa...must be good food and pricey rite??
Haha... you remembered bout the cheeseburger thing.

Yah, the alfalfa pellets you can give your rabbits. For me not a problem since my hamsters try and finish all their food. Leave only a few alfalfa pellets and some wheat grain.

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Feb 7 2007, 06:57 PM)
wah, Wad did u feed ur ham?
Why the ham dunwan eat the alfalfa pellets ?
i wish they could becoz look nutricious to me.
Alfalfa is not tasty to hamsters. Also, hamsters are seed eaters, not grass eaters. Alfalfa is actually a type of grass that is high protein and high calcium. Usually rabbits and guinea pigs love these since tasty but hamsters would only nibble at it.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 7 2007, 09:39 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Feb 7 2007, 09:33 PM)
im headache.. my hams would leave the alfafa and grains.. i dunoe how to handle those left overs but to throw them away since i now only got hams as pet.. im starting not to like delikate. i wan to giv a try to prestige.. delikate there's only very little of peas which they like and those tt they like were very little only. those that they dislike got a big holy bunch of them. but i felt kinda wasted.. the left overs i mean.
usually the hamsters will finish all the food in prestige? even the pellets?
Delikate smart... they know not many people can tell bout hamster food. Actually, the alfalfa pellets and wheat grains are one of the cheapest pelleted food and grains around so they use it to make their food packet look big and heavy only.

Anyway, I mix 4 brands of hamster food to form 1 BIG stock of food for my pets hahaha... but from what I can see, they finish everything but leave a few alfalfa pellets and small wheat grain(Habitrail), some red pellets(Prestige) and a few corn pellets. That's all. Usually I find everything finished tongue.gif Bowl clean clean wan.. Only my Syrians leave more of the alfalfa pellets around.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 7 2007, 10:10 PM

12,047 posts

Some sleeping hamster pics.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Feb 7 2007, 10:18 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 7 2007, 10:25 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Feb 7 2007, 10:18 PM)
Yerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.....so cutes the pups slp with their mother.
is it a tank tt u gave them? those normal 1 with coloured cover.. cheap 1 ?  question... actually i wan to buy them a habitrail cage for them. coz now the cage i got for them is quite small(to me) , no time go pw buy yet. so should i get them those cheap normal 1s or habitrail cage?
Yes, it is the normal plastic tank with the red, blue, pink or green cover. Cheap.... well, I can say RM30 can buy you a size better than a cage.

My advice is buy tank coz it gives less stress to your hamsters and also make it easier for you to see and take pictures of them. Habitrail is not worth it lah.... then RM30 plastic tank is much better. Safer.

14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0525sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:47 AM