116 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Bottom

> Military Thread V15, Gong Xi Fa Cai; Huat ah

thpace
post Mar 10 2015, 12:07 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Mar 9 2015, 11:32 PM)
What's the definition of a fully functional navy?

Looking back at our own shore, what's malaysia overall capability on land, sea and air?

Are we a force to be reckon with? Or just a superpower wannabe?
Well if you were to compare naval capabilities of us to them. At least our ships are not sitting ideally on dock for along period of time. Plus, their naval seriously lack capabilities to carry out anti submarine or anti ship warfare effectively

Our case is more of a deterrent, how much ships or subs the enemy are willing to lose to overcome our naval force. We will lose for sure but it the question for the enemy to think how long will it takes and how much will they potentially lost their assets
IReallyNeed Answers
post Mar 10 2015, 12:14 AM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Mar 10 2015, 12:07 AM)
Well if you were to compare naval capabilities of us to them. At least our ships are not sitting ideally on dock for along period of time. Plus, their naval seriously lack capabilities to carry out anti submarine or anti ship warfare effectively

Our case is more of a deterrent, how much ships or subs the enemy are willing to lose to overcome our naval force. We will lose for sure but it the question for the enemy to think how long will it takes and how much will they potentially lost their assets
By this virtue, does that mean malaysia have no/very limited capability to carry major country to country offensive campaign to our enemy?

And Asean country have that capability?
thpace
post Mar 10 2015, 12:34 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Mar 10 2015, 12:14 AM)
By this virtue, does that mean malaysia have no/very limited capability to carry major country to country offensive campaign to our enemy?

And Asean country have that capability?
why would we want carry out an offensive when our doctrine is defensive by nature laugh.gif

Even our ships mostly lack the anti-land capabilities.. The naval gun of such small calibres is not much of a support. Unless we would want to upgrade our exocet to block 3 for limited land attack capabilities. But i was told the navy may not be too fond of the idea, maybe more variety in their arsenals compare to primary exocet anti ship

If were to include our 6 potential missiles corvette plus 6 gowind, we would be getting 12 hulls. We would be the country with the most surface combatant hull order in asean for now as far as i know of

would be nice, if we could include 2 more sub for penisular. LTZ would be most happy

This post has been edited by thpace: Mar 10 2015, 12:36 AM
BorneoAlliance
post Mar 10 2015, 01:09 AM

China reportedly building 2nd aircraft carrier 

Hong Kong, March 9 (CNA) Several senior Chinese officials have confirmed that China is building its second aircraft carrier and will likely adopt an improved launch system for aircraft on the ship, a Chinese-language daily in Hong Kong reported Monday. 

The Hong Kong Commercial Daily (香港商報) cited Liu Xiaojiang (劉曉江), a former political commissar of the People's Liberation Army (PLA) Navy, as saying that the government's industrial and manufacturing agencies are now in charge of the ship's construction.

http://focustaiwan.tw/news/aipl/201503090027.aspx

BorneoAlliance
post Mar 10 2015, 09:02 AM

DARPA's Anti-Ship Missile Still Less Deadly Than Chinese ‘Carrier Killer’

At 15 tons and 35 feet tall, China’s DF-21D Dong Feng missile is rumored to be able to travel at speeds as fast as Mach 10 and has an effective range of up to 1,200 miles. In the event of a conflict, the weapon would pose a major threat to US aircraft carriers off the coast of Taiwan.

In response to the Navy’s call for a similarly sophisticated weapon system, the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency spent years developing its own Long Range Anti-Ship Missile. According to DARPA, LRASM aims "to provide a leap ahead in US surface warfare capability."

The missile can operate in antiaccess/area denial or A2/AD environments with robust anti-missile defense and fierce electronic warfare with the ability for "jamming" guidance systems. LRASM can also operate independently and under remote guidance and survive GPS jamming.

The missile, designed by defense contractor Lockheed Martin, can guide itself to targets using "autonomous guidance algorithms" even in the absence of remote control or GPS by pinpointing strike targets independently.

LRASM has completed three successful flight tests, according to DARPA, and is targeted for a deployment date sometime in 2018.

As another countermeasure to China’s “carrier killer,” the Pentagon paid Raytheon millions of dollars to develop a RIM-162 ESSM "Evolved SeaSparrow" antimissile missile. The hope is that such a defensive weapon will be able to shoot down DF-21D, despite its high speed and high trajectory.

In a keynote address on American Society of Naval Engineers’ Day on March 4, Sean Stackley, the Navy’s acquisition chief, stressed the importance of modernizing ships in the fleet.

To help reach that goal, the Navy has embarked on a 30-year research and development plan to ensure that it remains not only the largest such force in the world, but also the most powerful.

http://sputniknews.com/news/20150310/1019279301.html

BorneoAlliance
post Mar 10 2015, 09:04 AM

Ukraine says rebels attack near Mariupol, NATO deploys Baltics troops 

http://www.rappler.com/world/regions/europ...oogle.com.my%2F

xtemujin
post Mar 10 2015, 10:25 AM

318 posts

Mei Kuan ‏@MeiKKuan 26m26 minutes ago
Congrats to #TUDM @airforcenextgen on the delivery of their first #A400M @AirbusDS @HishammuddinH2O @1MinDef

Hishammuddin Hussein ‏@HishammuddinH2O 2h2 hours ago
Taking delivery of our 1st A400M in Saville Spain. Harap selamat & sempat untukHarap selamat & sempat untuk @LIMAExhibitions.

This post has been edited by xtemujin: Mar 10 2015, 10:36 AM
BorneoAlliance
post Mar 10 2015, 11:17 AM

Baltic: US Sends Heavy Military Equipment Amid Russia Threat

The Baltic states need to protect themselves for 72 hours

The President of Lithuania Dalia Grybauskaite, who compared the Russian President Vladimir Putin to Joseph Stalin and Adolf Hitler back in summer 2014, has recently said that the Baltic states are facing a real threat and must be prepared to independently protect themselves for 72 hours in case of a military aggression until NATO allies arrive to help.

http://www.valuewalk.com/2015/03/baltic-us...ilitary-russia/
BorneoAlliance
post Mar 10 2015, 11:27 AM

Stratfor Explores Russia's Military Options in Ukraine

Stratfor's three-part editorial series on Russia's military options covers:

Part 1, "Gaming a Russian Offensive" - An overview of military scenarios that Russia could potentially exercise in Ukraine, including harassment operations and an all out invasion of eastern Ukraine up to the Dnieper River.  VIDEO: Watch a narrated animation from Stratfor outlining six offensive military options Russia could conduct in Ukraine. 

Part 2, "What the West Could Do" - A look at the potential responses from the United States or a coalition of NATO countries if Russia were to pursue any of the military scenarios identified by Stratfor. 

Part 3, "Russia Weighs the Cost" - An examination of the cost and benefits Russian military planners and policymakers will have to consider when deciding whether any of the military options in Ukraine serve a strategic purpose and meet their political requirements.

Part one of Stratfor's editorial series, "Russia's Military Options in Ukraine," can be accessed on the company's website at www.stratfor.com/analysis/gaming-russian-offensive.

VIDEO: Stratfor's George Friedman discusses the concept of wargaming with an eye toward the Russia-Ukraine conflict.

http://www.marketwired.com/press-release/s...ine-1998551.htm
MilitaryMadness
post Mar 10 2015, 11:58 AM

1,302 posts

Since we are using essentially T-72 tanks in the form of the PT-91, is it a good idea to buy some of those tube-launched ATGMs like Svir or Refleks? Seems like a pretty sound idea if you asked me.

hmm.gif
waja2000
post Mar 10 2015, 02:00 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(xtemujin @ Mar 10 2015, 10:25 AM)
Mei Kuan ‏@MeiKKuan  26m26 minutes ago
Congrats to #TUDM @airforcenextgen on the delivery of their first #A400M @AirbusDS @HishammuddinH2O @1MinDef

Hishammuddin Hussein ‏@HishammuddinH2O  2h2 hours ago
Taking delivery of our 1st A400M in Saville Spain. Harap selamat & sempat untukHarap selamat & sempat untuk @LIMAExhibitions.

now is how A400M flying back, and stop in which country. A400M expected bring back some 5-8 tons of manual,tools,etc...
i think should be
1. Saville Spain-Turkey-India- Subang , turkey will be in Turkey AF which station A400M, so have facility to check again.
2. Saville Spain-UAE-Subang, UAE to stop and refuel
xtemujin
post Mar 10 2015, 02:10 PM

318 posts

I've no idea the route home for the RMAF A400M.

Looking forward to see the PLAAF J10 which is now making it's way to the 2015 LIMA.

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Mar 10 2015, 02:00 PM)
now is how A400M flying back, and stop in which country. A400M expected bring back some 5-8 tons of manual,tools,etc...
i think should be
1.  Saville Spain-Turkey-India- Subang , turkey will be in Turkey AF which station A400M, so have facility to check again.
2.  Saville Spain-UAE-Subang, UAE to stop and refuel
atreyuangel
post Mar 10 2015, 02:19 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Mar 10 2015, 12:34 AM)
why would we want carry out an offensive when our doctrine is defensive by nature laugh.gif

Even our ships mostly lack the anti-land capabilities.. The naval gun of such small calibres is not much of a support. Unless we would want to upgrade our exocet to block 3 for limited land attack capabilities. But i was told the navy may not be too fond of the idea, maybe more variety in their arsenals compare to primary exocet anti ship

If were to include our 6 potential missiles corvette plus 6 gowind, we would be getting 12 hulls. We would be the country with the most surface combatant hull order in asean for now as far as i know of

would be nice, if we could include 2 more sub for penisular. LTZ would be most happy
8 is the best number!
thpace
post Mar 10 2015, 02:28 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Mar 10 2015, 02:19 PM)
8 is the best number!
8 sub?

BTW the dsme missile corvettes was it 8 or 6 biji

Contract signed was for 6 biji... but some claimed ROI was for 8 biji

Or 6 with option for 2 more hmm.gif
MichaelJohn
post Mar 10 2015, 02:39 PM

Pan Paka Pan <3
2,514 posts

QUOTE(xtemujin @ Mar 10 2015, 02:10 PM)

Looking forward to see the PLAAF J10 which is now making it's way to the 2015 LIMA.
confirmed edi?

niceeeee

QUOTE(thpace @ Mar 10 2015, 02:28 PM)
8 sub?

I thought it was originally 6 with addition of 2 more ?

atreyuangel
post Mar 10 2015, 02:41 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Mar 10 2015, 02:28 PM)
8 sub?

2 addition
waja2000
post Mar 10 2015, 02:42 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(xtemujin @ Mar 10 2015, 02:10 PM)
I've no idea the route home for the RMAF A400M.

just 81 acrobatic team using J10 tongue.gif
waja2000
post Mar 10 2015, 02:43 PM

137 posts

well event new still ASW version/General propose version which lack of good air defense capability, Formidable class still best ship in Asean, event 10 year old by 2018.

This post has been edited by waja2000: Mar 10 2015, 02:53 PM
toekong
post Mar 10 2015, 02:44 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(KYPMbangi @ Jan 24 2015, 11:23 PM)
A400M both angle pics

Wow can do midair refueling... Anyone know if we are getting the tankers?
pcboss00
post Mar 10 2015, 02:50 PM

177 posts

From here they mention 2 times we planning 8 missile corvette. a mistake?
http://defencereviewasia.realviewtechnolog...113892#folio=28

116 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0295sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:05 PM