Modded xbox 360 console

TSkinwai
post Oct 1 2006, 01:30 AM

hmmm, i not sure how to say about the situation here..

i guess, if u come over to stay for a few mth , u will realise u need to spend a lot a lot here.. haha..

so being greedy ( getting cheaper version ) is ok to me tongue.gif

btw, how come all so late haven't sleep? haha.. not bad, this forum very active also
stringfellow
post Oct 1 2006, 01:31 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I could make it big there? Naaaahh, i wouldnt last an hour over there, seeing how intense the rat race is.

But dont you think it is not fair that you are living in a place where standards of living conditions are improved, and you get to enjoy all the perks and benefits of those aftermaths, but you still want to be greedy beyond your reasonable means? Your Singaporean peers and gaming buddies made the gaming atmosphere and the scene there what it is right now, while we here in Malaysia can only swallow our saliva, salivating about how it could be if we could enjoy the same gaming privileges as you have there. Instead, you continue to enjoy these privileges there, but instead of helping things improve for the better here , you took a dump and continue to exercise "shrewd habits" in Malaysia? Malaysia ni dumping grounds ke? blink.gif

TSkinwai
post Oct 1 2006, 01:36 AM

how to help to improve?

if i'm one of the gov people i will.. hahah...

stringfellow
post Oct 1 2006, 01:37 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Let's put things in persepctive , okay? Dont compare with me, let's see.....who should i bring up...

How about a husband of one very young little girl (his princess, growing up, needs lots of funds to save up for her future), who is still studying with no stable income and such, BUT STILL can buy and STAY TRUE to ORIGINAL because , deep down, i think, he believes he's doing the right thing? I give you, our own Judge-The!

How about a high school student who had saved and saved from his allowances all that he can, so that he can enjoy his online addiction with his favourite game, Test Drive Unlimited, using ORIGINAL copy of the game, so that he can play LIVE with his other gaming buddies here? Keantan, take a bow!

There are lots of other examples here, of people, not so much different in their living conditions, or maybe less fortunate than you, who stayed TRUE to ORIGINALITY, because to them, it is the right thing to do? What's your excuse, brother Kinwai? smile.gif
TSkinwai
post Oct 1 2006, 01:43 AM

yes yes ! some people choose to STAY TRUE to ORIGINAL biggrin.gif

i admit i'm not those.. haha..

let me put it this way, if singapore police is to raid our HDB flat, 98 to 99% of them (with computers and youngster) will have pirated stuff...

do your house have pirated stuff? cds, dvd, etc..

if u don't have, i bow to u smile.gif
simple... u are respectable guy !!!
stringfellow
post Oct 1 2006, 01:50 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I think you'd hold more weight to your stand in here, if you dont step around the issue. Sure, all of us have crossed paths with pirated products before, but what we do once we have the chance to change that, is also an important thing to think about.

Some chose to stay in Jack Sparrow's scurvy crew even when they can afford designer clothes, while other have their conscience telling them to do the right thing. What's more shameful than a pimped out businessman in designer clothes, Dolce Gabbana Limited Edition Motorola V3i, driving in 7 series BMW who keeps on being thrifty with his gaming purchases, seeing the wrong of his way when he sees a school kid, saving up his school allowances to buy his favourite game, in ORIGINAL LEGITIMATE copy? Where to put face after that, huh?

Sure, you might say, you're NOT a businessman i described above, but if a school kid or a husband of a young family can do it, arent you shameful that someone with a steady income like you still cross the Causeway to get your "fix" with these "Uncle Ho" kinds? I know i would be embarassed to show my face around after that fact. wink.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Oct 1 2006, 01:51 AM
TSkinwai
post Oct 1 2006, 02:10 AM

hmm, what 'uncle ho' means ah? some slang?

seriously, i don't feel ashamed when u say that.. maybe cause i'm just too poor to afford original stuff...

when u say a school kids are saving up to buy original games, i guess he have no other better alternative, there's always some reason behind it..

Unless u are telling me, he always buy original games like rm $120 but his allowance per mth is like rm$60 , he need to save for 2 mth or 3 mths before he can buy... if so , he is one in the million

There's always classic example...

just like a programmer himself will have some pirated stuff before but after he do some program, of coz he wish his stuff will not have copied edition

ie, singapore gov always think that we are rich.. a few c doesn't cost much to us... they never think that our pay is never increasing at all but yet all the bills , taxes are keep on increasing...

stringfellow
post Oct 1 2006, 02:35 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Your excuses are no different than local Malaysians using as well. So nothing new here. Yes, that school kid is one in a million, and he is setting such a good example, that making others who can afford to do, but didnt do, feel embarassed about themselves.

How poor are you when you can work in Singapore and splurge on your salary back home? Just curious. Some people consider themselves poor, even though they drive Jaguars and live in mansions. that's because they have allocated less funds on gaming and more on other things, which in turn make them buy pirated products. If your case is the same as that, i guess you dont really hold gaming as something important in your heart. *shrugs*
TSkinwai
post Oct 1 2006, 02:56 AM

i do support original games tongue.gif
ie: wc3 collectable edition (those warcraft series)

calvin
post Oct 1 2006, 11:43 AM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

the grass is always greener on the other side.. tongue.gif
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Oct 1 2006, 12:03 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

nice debate goin on here. i'd have to say that both parties have points that i agree too..but let it be at that.

my question is..for those who can afford to buy original games:

a) how much do you earn/save a month?

b) how often do you buy the games and how many at one time(average)?

c) do you practice trades/garage sales for used games?

the reason for these questions is simply of surveying purposes. i admit that i'm a jack sparrow crewster just like many of us shameless malaysians, and for all the same reasons we shameless people give.

however, i'm thinking of quitting the decks and sails and jump ship to originality. i just started work and i wasn't the kind of guy who has 'savings' as a routine so i admit it was my mistake for not being able to set my priorities right - which made me become part of the sparrow clan.

now that i'm earning something, i know sacrifice is in order to ensure enough monetary funds to actually spend on original games. so those questions are like a benchmark for me.

what i know now is that i love games. i don't think i'll be putting down the joypads even when i have children (God Willing). i need to start doing the right things sooner or later..so hey...there's nothing as sooner..as now.

wow..i sound like some kind of anti-piracy infomercial.. laugh.gif laugh.gif

but it's true!

scpt
post Oct 1 2006, 12:33 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(kinwai @ Oct 1 2006, 02:10 AM)
when u say a school kids are saving up to buy original games, i guess he have no other better alternative, there's always some reason behind it..

Unless u are telling me, he always buy original games like rm $120 but his allowance per mth is like rm$60 , he need to save for 2 mth or 3 mths before he can buy...  if so , he is one in the million
ur assumptions are all wrong! who says when a kid is buying ori games he has no other choice? it's becoz he choose to buy ori

alot of ppl are doing just that! saving money to buy ori games every 1 or 2 months, so nothing special if anyone, especially a student is doing it. why can't u?

seriously, i don't feel ashamed when u say that.. maybe cause i'm just too poor to afford original stuff...

nobody is "too poor" to support original
marauderz
post Oct 1 2006, 01:01 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

If you feel that you're too poor to buy original games, why did you spend money on a console in the first place? Please get your priorities correct.
acougan
post Oct 1 2006, 04:06 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Oct 1 2006, 12:03 PM)
nice debate goin on here. i'd have to say that both parties have points that i agree too..but let it be at that.

what i know now is that i love games. i don't think i'll be putting down the joypads even when i have children (God Willing). i need to start doing the right things sooner or later..so hey...there's nothing as sooner..as now.

haha, do it like me. buy 1 ori to every 4 ahems tongue.gif that evens out the 3.7 rate

anyway, i guess ppl who wish to support ori can buy/selll/trade/rent with each others here. cost-sharing & time-sharing thumbup.gif

i'm curious if they are any used game/rented games at ori Singapore shops. if they are, mr. TS has got his priorities a little off-skew. does Custom SG have specially trained hounds to sniff-out durian dvds? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by acougan: Oct 1 2006, 04:09 PM
TSkinwai
post Oct 1 2006, 04:11 PM

durian dvd means?

btw, i got my console free, it's from the local ISP, i signed up 2 yr plan from them...

hmmm...
acougan
post Oct 1 2006, 04:20 PM

590 posts

durian as in made-in Malaysia, chap durian tongue.gif

really i am curious, since i havnt been to Spore for long time. do shops there trade in used games? any shops offering renting service?

another curious question, official ps2 in Spore is NTSC/J, correct? how to play all those ori imported English NTSC/UC games w/o modding?

and yeah, what happens when customs bust ur ass for smuggling durian discs? they force u to swallow them all, laugh.gif ?

This post has been edited by acougan: Oct 1 2006, 04:22 PM
TSkinwai
post Oct 1 2006, 05:56 PM

shops offering renting i think got but i not very sure

can check out www.bob.com.sg , surf around

xbox 360 here is ntuc/j lor... some games cannot play .. sad.gif
like dynastry warrior 5 all that...

those no region code games like just cause can play lor , just suck thumb sad.gif

custom found durian arh.. if little i think they will let u pass, a lot den give one 1 x jia lat jia lat.. see ya in court? hahaha

singapore is a FINE city... i seldom get pirated games across the causeway so never get caught before tongue.gif

acougan
post Oct 2 2006, 12:17 AM

590 posts

http://www.bob.com.sg/forum/showthread.php?t=26571

^hmm, the kiosk trading concept sounds promising. a great idea for fast-paced lifestyles in a metropolitan city thumbup.gif hmm, i wonder if they have similar system in HK?
PrivateJohn
post Oct 2 2006, 08:06 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Honestly...get ori, Xbox live!!!

Other than that...i don't know what else to say. Getting abit tired with the piracy debate.

So...i gona close it. Sorry tongue.gif

0.0162sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:08 AM