6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

The Rolex / Tudor Watches Club V1, Is time to have this now?

Kelvw
post Dec 16 2017, 07:25 PM

1,591 posts

Just put my name down for the Ceramic Daytona...the waiting begins lol
Not sure which if it's going to be black or white but I'm edging towards the white more.
Kelvw
post Dec 26 2017, 07:07 AM

1,591 posts

You bought another non date sub? 😮
Kelvw
post Feb 5 2018, 12:40 AM

1,591 posts

Still loving the BLNR cool2.gif

Kelvw
post Feb 13 2018, 09:10 AM

1,591 posts

Picked up a hulk on Sunday at my local AD biggrin.gif
Still boxed up in the case

Kelvw
post Feb 13 2018, 05:02 PM

1,591 posts

QUOTE(BotakPrince @ Feb 13 2018, 09:43 AM)
Congratulations and wear it in good health.

How much was it?
Thanks! RRP at £6600 (RM36,000)
Kelvw
post Feb 13 2018, 08:16 PM

1,591 posts

QUOTE(avantasia @ Feb 13 2018, 05:34 PM)
Very reasonable price. Can get 1 for me? Will be at London 11 March
Doubt so, my AD told me Rolex is a bit cautious with customers purchasing the same model twice in a short time. They are coming down hard on flippers.

Kelvw
post Feb 13 2018, 10:14 PM

1,591 posts

Haha...UK is very short on SS. The situation is as bad as anywhere else, you can't just walk in and ask for a sub. The waiting list just as long...some quoting a year to 2 years unless the AD knows you wink.gif

I didn't have to wait long for mine as I know the AD well and helps being local to the area biggrin.gif but then no harm asking when you're in London but don't be surprised as London is probably the worst place to look for a SS watch. There's almost nothing in the window except for PMs and Datejusts.

Kelvw
post Feb 17 2018, 07:00 PM

1,591 posts

QUOTE(avantasia @ Feb 17 2018, 08:08 AM)
How long u r on their waiting list?
Just slightly over a month cool2.gif but it's an exception. I have the white ceramic daytona on order as well, so hopefully not too long.
Kelvw
post Mar 29 2018, 02:52 PM

1,591 posts

Beautiful coke!! Congrats! The red still intact and not faded off. Nice!

I tried one too in Bangkok and also came across a 1976 pepsi. Was tempted with the pepsi but no box, paper or the original bracelet. Wasn't sure if I should have pulled the trigger at £6350? Too much of a minefield in vintage watches.

Anyone ordered the new steel BLRO??

This post has been edited by Kelvw: Mar 29 2018, 03:03 PM
Kelvw
post Apr 10 2018, 07:38 AM

1,591 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 9 2018, 11:13 AM)
Yeah, the same reply i received when i asked for the BLRO.

I received a different reply thou when I asked for the new Daytona laugh.gif
What was the response for Daytona?
Kelvw
post Apr 18 2018, 06:03 AM

1,591 posts

I spent couple of days in Singapore last month after my business trip in Bangkok. I knew I had to check out the Marina Square Rolex boutique as I've heard they had a small permanent exhibition which is quite unique.

At the entrance, I knew it's going to be something special

On the inside, it looks like any other ADs but much bigger. I asked to see exhibition which they happily took me on a guided tour. Fortunately the salesperson allowed me to take some photos along the way which I was told later by other staff members that I couldn't. Oh well, too late

Once inside and past the watch displays. It's a world on its own. Corporate greens and browns with a wall of LCDs and displays on the side.

Round the back is where it truly shines, the Rolex way

Just like the book, it showcases all the components

How the case is made from a block

The parachrom hairspring is being produced in stages

Kelvw
post Apr 18 2018, 06:06 AM

1,591 posts

The movement is on a rotating display

Bracelet breakdown

There were more stuff to see but were difficult to capture due to glass display. It was pretty informative to see it in person

On the way out, there's a Rolex themes bar. Sadly I wasn't offered any drinks

Lastly I picked up a magazine before having a browse around all the Datejusts and PM models Lol. There's non of the popular SS models around unfortunately.

That's all folks, hope you enjoyed the pics as I have with the overall experience

This post has been edited by Kelvw: Apr 18 2018, 06:07 AM
Kelvw
post May 4 2018, 12:32 AM

1,591 posts

My invite just came through the post. Looking forward to trying on some of the new releases soon biggrin.gif

Kelvw
post May 5 2018, 09:40 AM

1,591 posts

incoming biggrin.gif

Kelvw
post May 6 2018, 06:14 PM

1,591 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ May 5 2018, 09:53 PM)
Should be the 100 pc Limited Edition "Hulk" Tudor exclusive to Harrods? laugh.gif
Haha spot on. No surprises there but then it could be a Breitling?

We had a good chat about watches whilst picking it up. I waited long enough for it despite having my name down before the annoucement.
Very pleased with it and the green is subtle enough.

Fresh out from the box too

Couple of swags included which they normally don't do biggrin.gif

Think it compliments the LV really well

I got to try on some H.Mosers as well. Incredible looking watches but sadly my bank acc. says no
Kelvw
post May 6 2018, 08:41 PM

1,591 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ May 6 2018, 07:05 PM)
The Tudor Hulk does look impressive.

I am envious that you are part of the 100 exclusive person on planet earth to be owning one smile.gif

Wear it in good health!
Unfortunately Harrods/Tudor decided to extend the run a bit more and fortunately that means those who wants one would probably be able to get one. It's still not easy to get one as the waiting list is still quite long and will have to be collected in person at Harrods.
Kelvw
post May 19 2018, 05:59 PM

1,591 posts

Was invited to the Baselworld preview evening organised by our local ADs. The venue was at the Botanical Gardens this year although I did much prefer last years as it was more intimate.
There were free flow of canpes and champagnes whilst trying on the new watches. I was really looking forward to the GMT Jubilee, despite seeing and trying on the older WG model a couple times previously.

It was an interesting evening to see what others are wearing on the night. I saw plenty of AP, Patek, Gold Datejusts, Yatchmasters, Daytonas, Greensubs.

A nice refreshing change no pun, surrounded by exotic plants.

Venue was held in a large-ish hall.

We were given wristband as we enter, I guess everyone could try an Augmented Reality watch of your choice instead. TBH it was a bit fiddly and I rather check out the real thing instead.

Cabinets of watches on sale on the night, sadly non of the popular models are available.

Although the New Rosegold GMT is available for purchase on the spot. I'm surprised it wasn't snapped up.

More for sale

Anyway I finally got to try on the pepsi and I really like it. My AD already knows I wanted it since day 1, hopefully the wait isn't too long.

This post has been edited by Kelvw: May 19 2018, 06:14 PM
Kelvw
post May 19 2018, 06:03 PM

1,591 posts

Yes or no? I quite like it

The new Yatchmaster. A bit too much bling for me lol. Was told there's about 400+ diamonds on the 40mm dial.

No giveaways this year unlike last year with a box of Rolex chocolates. But the catalogues and wristband would do haha

Kelvw
post Jul 25 2018, 10:12 PM

1,591 posts

I've decided to try out a new Tudor rubber strap by VanguardStraps. Pretty reasonably priced at USD120 compared to RubberB or Everest. Delivery was super quick as they are based in Dubai.
First impression was good, it came in a rather large box with foam padding. I think it's a bit of an overkill for the strap which won't get damaged anyway but still nice to see that care has been taken.
The strap is soft, flexible but yet sturdy. What I really like is the adjustment holes as compared to Rubber B which is spaced further apart.
Material wise, it has a quite a matte finish in comparison to Rubber B's slight sheen. Doubt it attracts dust as any particles are brushed off easily.

Length comparisons. Buckle on the Rubber B looks/feels sturdier but nothing wrong with Vanguard's, although I think they had to go for that option due to the rounded holes?
The tudor width is slightly wider to fit the BlackBay. The Rubber B is for the Subs here.

Looks like there's reinforcement by the look of it.

Fitting wise
Very easy to fit, of course with the right tools. That said I have no problems installing Rubber B either.
No scratches here as I triples-stack taped with Kapton tape and another layer of masking tape to be sure. With the right technique, there is minimal fiddling to get the spring bar into the lugs. I also used a magnifier whilst guiding the pins in. It's a good fit, snug and secure. Very pleased with it so far.

Kelvw
post Sep 30 2018, 09:12 PM

1,591 posts

Picked up another book from Mondani and a couple of magazines. Will keep me busy next couple of weeks

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0264sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:52 AM