Games LYN Official Pokemon Thread, Stunning Black and Awesome White!
db_88
Oct 2 2006, 05:28 PM
NO CROSS GEN TRADING for JP Diamond/Pearl and EN R/S/E/FR/LG
Clearer explanation:
english R/S/E/FR/LG -> compatible <- japanese R/S/E/FR/LG english D/P -> compatible <- japanese D/P english R/S/E/FR/LG -> not compatible <- japanese D/P
Phoenix_Cypher_K1
Oct 2 2006, 05:35 PM

^^ Thats just one incentive to tell you NOT to import Diamond/Pearl. Unless you have a Jap GBA Ru/Sa/FR/LG/Emerald.
BTW...that's from Serebii forums wasn't it?
TSbidfordun
Oct 2 2006, 05:39 PM
it doesnt bother me since i dun have gba pokemon. u can always get those pokemon online la.
Phoenix_Cypher_K1
Oct 2 2006, 05:43 PM

On second thought, it may be worth the import if you intend to get a headstart over everyone else, since JP D/P will trade with US D/P.
Bidfordun: Well true also actually...you won't lose out so much with WiFi trading available.
TSbidfordun
Oct 2 2006, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(Phoenix_Cypher_K1 @ Oct 2 2006, 05:43 PM) On second thought, it may be worth the import if you intend to get a headstart over everyone else, since JP D/P will trade with US D/P. Bidfordun: Well true also actually...you won't lose out so much with WiFi trading available. but i cant read japanese, or else i will buy edy, haiz, i want this game so much.
ying123
Oct 2 2006, 07:06 PM

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Oct 2 2006, 05:39 PM) it doesnt bother me since i dun have gba pokemon. u can always get those pokemon online la. It may be a bit harder to get starter pokemons from previous games
TSbidfordun
Oct 2 2006, 07:59 PM
QUOTE(ying123 @ Oct 2 2006, 07:06 PM) It may be a bit harder to get starter pokemons from previous games may i know why did u say so?
db_88
Oct 2 2006, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(ying123 @ Oct 2 2006, 07:06 PM) It may be a bit harder to get starter pokemons from previous games i don't think it's hard to get the starter cos u can trade it over wifi..
TSbidfordun
Oct 2 2006, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(db_88 @ Oct 2 2006, 08:02 PM) i don't think it's hard to get the starter cos u can trade it over wifi.. second that. and with the clone technique in pokemon emerald, i think many pokemon may pop up in internet. let us just wait and c.
Phoenix_Cypher_K1
Oct 2 2006, 08:09 PM

What he PROBABLY means is, because the starter pokemon from previous games only is a one-shot deal (pick one). So he may think that trainers may be reluctant to trade them over WiFi.
Which I don't think is a problem - After all, you can breed the starters and get multiples of them.
The only Pokemons that I think you will have problem finding online are the rare Event only Pokemon such as Mew, Celebi, Jirachi,Deoxys and Manaphy. Not to say that there won't be people trading them, but since these are only available through events and nothing else.
TSbidfordun
Oct 2 2006, 08:14 PM
QUOTE(Phoenix_Cypher_K1 @ Oct 2 2006, 08:09 PM) What he PROBABLY means is, because the starter pokemon from previous games only is a one-shot deal (pick one). So he may think that trainers may be reluctant to trade them over WiFi. Which I don't think is a problem - After all, you can breed the starters and get multiples of them. The only Pokemons that I think you will have problem finding online are the rare Event only Pokemon such as Mew, Celebi, Jirachi,Deoxys and Manaphy. Not to say that there won't be people trading them, but since these are only available through events and nothing else. true, i hope that i can get mew and celebi as i havent used them b4. but for mew, i dun think it is a problem since in usa now u can get a mew at toy r us and i can c many are going to get it. hopefully, there will be similar event in usa again to obtain other rare pokemon such as manafi, celebi, jirachi and deoxys. btw, i hope that with the new wifi feature, i will be able to complete the pokedex since i have never ever been complete the pokedex. i am thinking to buy pokemon emerald too rite now. let c if i can get this game online.
Phoenix_Cypher_K1
Oct 2 2006, 08:22 PM

Haha, for me, I'm just happy if I even just have the entry to the Pokedex for the event rares.
db_88
Oct 2 2006, 09:43 PM
rare Event only Pokemon such as Mew, Celebi, Jirachi,Deoxys EXCLUDE manaphy can be cloned in emerald, only 2 pokemon that cannot be cloned: rayquaza & kyogre..
TSbidfordun
Oct 2 2006, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(db_88 @ Oct 2 2006, 09:43 PM) rare Event only Pokemon such as Mew, Celebi, Jirachi,Deoxys EXCLUDE manaphy can be cloned in emerald, only 2 pokemon that cannot be cloned: rayquaza & kyogre.. may i know why raquaza and kyogre cannot be clonned?
db_88
Oct 2 2006, 09:52 PM
dunno, it's juz can't be cloned, i try it dy..
db_88
Oct 2 2006, 10:04 PM
u can only clone ur pokemon after u beat the elite four u clone it in battle frontier and can be access after the elite 4
Phoenix_Cypher_K1
Oct 2 2006, 10:09 PM

I know of that glitch. It depends whether is it worth the risk or not. I DO know that if it failed, the pokemon you tried to clone will be gone. I saw the thread at Serebii forums and I saw some people failed and lost their Pokemon from failing to do it correctly.
I never tried exploiting the glitch, and I don't think I will. Sorry, but I won't put my save file at risk, considering I have the Pokedex done at 380(if I got the 6 legends of Mew, Ho-Oh, Lugia, Celebi, Jirachi and Deoxys, I'm done with the Dex).
db_88
Oct 2 2006, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(Phoenix_Cypher_K1 @ Oct 2 2006, 10:09 PM) I know of that glitch. It depends whether is it worth the risk or not. I DO know that if it failed, the pokemon you tried to clone will be gone. I saw the thread at Serebii forums and I saw some people failed and lost their Pokemon from failing to do it correctly. I never tried exploiting the glitch, and I don't think I will. Sorry, but I won't put my save file at risk, considering I have the Pokedex done at 380(if I got the 6 legends of Mew, Ho-Oh, Lugia, Celebi, Jirachi and Deoxys, I'm done with the Dex). i mostly clone berries only..the kyogre one i read from somewhere said tat it can't be cloned, so i try it..but my kyogre is still with me..heehe..it depends on how u clone it though..u can read how to clone it in serebii forums..the 1st time, i also afraid tat my items will be gone.. Wah, u have the johto starters??? i prefer all the starters to legendaries..
Phoenix_Cypher_K1
Oct 2 2006, 10:28 PM

Heh, I don't dare, and won't dare. If I had an extra cart to do so, I'd try. But not on this one which has the Dex completed bar the event pokes. Johto starters you can get by completing the Hoenn pokedex (excluding Jirachi and Deoxys) in Emerald ONLY (Ruby and Sapphire players are out of luck). However you can only pick one out of the three. (I picked Cyndaquil) I'm lucky enough to have friends with Emerald so we each picked one, and made eggs, hatched them, and sent them over to each of our games.
db_88
Oct 2 2006, 10:34 PM
wah..so nice. i would love to have the johto starters..hehe..
i wish tat US vers D/P comes out sooner cos i feel like i'm too old for this game lol..