terradrive
post Feb 21 2015, 03:09 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 21 2015, 02:58 PM)
Anyone messed around with this?
http://store.steampowered.com/app/267130/

Seems like a CPU hog than GPU.
Of course it is a big CPU hog on DirectX 11, it is used to demonstrate the usefulness of Mantle (and maybe DirectX 12).
terradrive
post Feb 22 2015, 11:39 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Feb 22 2015, 11:04 AM)
There are multiple factors in play, some off the top of my head;
1. Architecture of the GPU
2. Memory addressing/compression techniques involved
3. Process step in semiconductor fabrication (ie 32nm, 22nm, 14nm and so forth)

So it's not as clear cut as comparing 128bit to 256bit to 384bit to 512bit etc etc.
128, 256 bits isn't important anyways, it's the end result of memory bandwidth that's important. It's a more appropriate to compare rather than comparing what bits it have.

Bear in mind I didn't mention about the GPU core yet, just comparing memory.
terradrive
post Feb 22 2015, 12:03 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Feb 22 2015, 11:43 AM)
I think you're confusing which side of the argument I'm on.
I'm just adding only, not arguing with you haha
terradrive
post Feb 22 2015, 01:33 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 22 2015, 12:59 PM)
Not an apple orange comparison. nVidia purposely cripple gtx960.
Yeah, but I am comparing bandwidth also. Its quite low.

Benchmark is cheating because nVidia have optimized the driver to do compression. In real life, compression is less efficient causing GTX 960 to be way slower compared to benchmark FPS.

GTX960 is doomed. It will not sell. Unless some gamer are too blind to see the terrible bandwidth it has.
It is the same like GTX 680 low memory bandwidth. But just like GTX 680, the true core of Maxwell is not with 960, 970 and 980 series. It will be the full fat maxwell with big memory bandwidth too like the 780 & 780 Ti.
terradrive
post Mar 2 2015, 02:10 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Mar 2 2015, 07:47 AM)
The cooler is really that bad? I thought GTX 960 doesn't produce much heat, review say that even the reference cooled cards are below 70C under load. AFAIK reaching that high temps (above 80C) means you lose boost speed.

Anyway you can't change the cooler like that, if its from older nvidia cards (say GTX 760, GTX 560) it might fit, but from AMD to nvidia it's nearly 100% unlikely it will fit.
Most review sites have cold room temperatures. I think not all malaysians have aircond in their room.
terradrive
post Mar 2 2015, 07:52 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 2 2015, 07:47 PM)
Below is my test

card + setting load temp on Furmark BIT
Palit GeForce GTX 960 Super JetStream (auto) 72
Palit GeForce GTX 960 Super JetStream (manual – full) 61

1. burn in card makes the card run warmer than usual.
2. the above is using a higher clocked card with custom cooler
3. above temps are taken with room temps around 25c.

From my experience the GTX 960 even on reference cooler shouldn't be reaching 80c on games unless
1. fan set to auto (not always the best setting)
2. casing airflow is not good
3. room is really really warm, as in above 30c.

Reference cards often run at lower clocks too, much lower than the one as on the Palit JetStream.

I'm currently running the card on folding@home with room temperature, fan duty at 42%. temperature holding at low 70s.
My room temperature without aircond hovers around 30-34C sweat.gif
It really sucks not to have any airconds.
terradrive
post Mar 12 2015, 07:48 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Mar 11 2015, 09:46 PM)
Even though it has 4GB,i expect the prices of the 4GB versions from the likes of Asus,Gigabyte and MSI to be priced around the cheapest GTX970 which costs RM1099 or even more than it.Not worth it. tongue.gif
Yeah, GTX 970 us much faster, why buy GTX 960 lol

Can just lower the texture setting if VRAM uses too much.
terradrive
post Mar 17 2015, 08:01 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

They are going to launch Titan X in less than a day right?
terradrive
post Mar 18 2015, 05:52 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

Great overclocker but you'll go deaf with it at thr same time. Almost the same amount of noise with 290X ref cooler if you overclock the titan x =_=

Titan x inly comes with blower type cooler?

This post has been edited by terradrive: Mar 18 2015, 05:53 AM
terradrive
post Mar 18 2015, 06:11 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Mar 18 2015, 06:02 AM)
They pretty much expecting "if you are rich enough to buy titan x, you probably rich enough to have custom loop for it..."
I think many people still running the original titan with it's cooler and not on liquid cooling...
terradrive
post Mar 18 2015, 08:32 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 18 2015, 08:17 AM)

Same or better performance than 970 SLI. Fuiyo.

970 & 980 is really the skipping point if anyone really wanted the flagships.
terradrive
post Mar 18 2015, 08:40 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 18 2015, 08:35 AM)
Its those min fps u need to see. Anyway expect at rm4-4.5k
390x 4gb 3.5k
Yeah, it's like SLI performance but no SLI problems.
terradrive
post Mar 18 2015, 11:19 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 18 2015, 11:06 AM)
Dont see titan x as 4k gpu. If it was jen would have been proud to announce it. He knows theres a bandwidth issue with maxwell on texture streaming. They slapped on thr 12gb just to keep the 999 price tag. Its a useless amount since the texture streaming seems to overwhelm the bandwidth. From what i saw at the 4k.

Infact if u look at the whole launch is about the middleware nvidia is releasing for deep thinking.

Its just a bigger maxwell. Nothing new like og titan.

Amd is totally gunning at 4k. I have to side with the red camp. Expecting a nvidia smackdown derby.
I think the memory bandwidth's problem is more pronounced for 4K resolutions. Texture streaming between VRAM and system RAM is still limited by the PCI-E speed.

Also what's the performance gap between max OC GTX 980 vs stock Titan X?

This post has been edited by terradrive: Mar 18 2015, 11:32 AM
terradrive
post Mar 18 2015, 08:14 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(ReverseDark @ Mar 18 2015, 07:59 PM)
Q3 2015 another wave of advancing GPU tsunami, wonder how it turns out  notworthy.gif if amd releasing 390/x and budget price point we might see nvidia slashing price again? went to inquiry on the titan x afternoon, cnytrix tech got 6 pre-order on the titan x, l'm on the 7th, but hesitated  cry.gif
Paying 2.7k for 780 Ti is already pushing the limit, now 4k shocking.gif

Hard to tahan the kegatalan to get the gpu for you? laugh.gif
terradrive
post Mar 19 2015, 09:26 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(wongtheboy92 @ Mar 19 2015, 08:52 PM)
If you were to buy nvidia mid-range gpus, would u take a GTX760 or 960? Give me ur reasons pls. Thx
Nvidia doesn't really optimized Kepler GPUs like GTX 760 anymore. They focus on Maxwell such as the GTX 960.
terradrive
post Mar 19 2015, 10:27 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(wongtheboy92 @ Mar 19 2015, 09:33 PM)
How about the memory bus? Why gtx960 only 128bit?
don't need to worry about memory bus, the memory bandwidth matters more. It got not as much of that vs GTX 760 but it performs well. But if price too close to GTX 970 then better get 970.
terradrive
post Mar 20 2015, 03:34 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Mar 20 2015, 03:30 PM)
techpowerup gave a small conclusion on that part, so far it ate close to 6GB VRAM

then COD AW ate about 7+GB? rclxub.gif
Maybe because they turn on cache sun shadow maps & cache spot shadow maps, i forgot the name of the setting that ate VRAM like crazy.
terradrive
post Mar 26 2015, 08:33 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

http://www.lowyat.net/2015/03/nvidia-gefor...ore-than-rm-4k/

In term of pricing, ASUS Malaysia has set the RRP for its Titan X at RM 4,388. As for GIGABYTE’s version, it is apparently different from one retailer to another. For example, Viewnet is selling it at RM 4,699 while Tech Armory of SS15 Subang Jaya priced it at a much lower price point of RM 4,499.

Wallets can masuk volcano already sweat.gif

Maybe even have to add RM260++ for GST next month.

This post has been edited by terradrive: Mar 26 2015, 08:34 AM
terradrive
post Mar 27 2015, 08:28 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(ReverseDark @ Mar 27 2015, 01:54 AM)
Gentlemen, gm 200 cut aka 980ti incoming!! rclxm9.gif

http://wccftech.com/nvidia-geforce-gtx-980-ti-coming-summer/
So are you going to wait?

It'll have higher clocks plus custom PCB and cooler laugh.gif

This post has been edited by terradrive: Mar 27 2015, 08:28 AM
terradrive
post Apr 5 2015, 10:37 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Apr 5 2015, 02:07 AM)
1440p better get titan x cos 980 just ok only for 1440p which is not sweet at all.
It is quite alright ba for rm2k+ GPU
Especially the EVGA Hybrid GTX 980 so hhhngnh, OCed to 1600Mhz, it's really fast.
Wonder why dealers don't bring EVGA in, their cards are nice.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0468sec    0.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:40 AM