Apr 14 2015, 12:30 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,455 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Apr 14 2015, 12:55 PM
9,361 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
Apr 14 2015, 01:05 PM
Apr 14 2015, 01:10 PM
629 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Wrong post..
This post has been edited by LDP: Apr 14 2015, 01:13 PM |
Apr 16 2015, 06:36 PM
QUOTE The State of the Nation: Ringgit weighed down by ‘psychological fears’ http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/s...-fears%E2%80%99 |
Apr 23 2015, 08:10 PM
rm gained over last few days as bnm did not cut opr as speculated. holding at 3.63.
post gst apr 2015, yet to see the effects. just for the record: http://www.thesundaily.my/news/1393061 |
Apr 23 2015, 08:28 PM
11,954 posts Joined: May 2007 |
QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 14 2015, 11:33 AM) Forex interventn needs capitl, so BNM taps ths captal frm its forex hldings, causng the amt of holdings to drop. The lesser holdings we hav, it translates into the poorer we are on the world stage. Wth this low forex holdings, we cant even peg anymore because no more money to defend a peg. why last time we can peg rm3.8=usd1 Now turning to issuing bonds in USD to strengthn forx holdngs. I wonder wht will the bonds be rated as, and if there are really takers for the bonds. now cannot? |
Apr 23 2015, 09:41 PM
11,554 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Apr 23 2015, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 23 2015, 08:28 PM) pegging is a 2-edge sword. it does not guarantee it is good.if u peg to say 3.8 to usd, every time someone shows u with rm3.80, u must hv usd1 to change. if u dun hv, u r finished. that can only be done if u hv lots of usd on standby and confident no panic, not too many will change. google n u will find some horror stories how some pegs did more damage than if they let it float. more so now with so much global trade. no country can stand on its own, need to trade, need confidence of foreign partners, incl currency. |
Apr 23 2015, 10:35 PM
222 posts Joined: Sep 2014 |
Wah lao this thread still hot
Apr 24 2015, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 6 2015, 11:23 PM) it's not that the banks want it, but market forces demand it. until u put capital controls. Your reply reminds me on negeri MB trying to bring few million out last time.the rm was freely traded overseas before. when the currency attack got underway, the rm was heavily sold overseas. overseas banks were offering 15-20% int for rm becos they know the result will be the rm will lose 30% value or so when it is done. thai baht, indon rupiah same result. i can tell u at that time, some people were carrying bags of rm on the plane to deposit offshore. actually even now, weak economy countries have int rates >10% like brazil, argentina, nigeria, russia. u can read more here as to how it happend - credit bubbles, hot money, etc... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1997_Asian_financial_crisis |
Apr 24 2015, 12:21 AM
256 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 23 2015, 08:28 PM) Any country has the rights to peg their exchange rate to a fixed value. It will be sustainable if the import/export balance can support it. But even if it is, it drives away lots of foreign investment due to loss of confidence as the currency is not longer traded freely, and the foreigners fear that the local BNM could abuse their peg and make them lose money, so will refrain from investing. Last time when we pegged to RM3.8, similar things have happened. And some foreign investment will pull out, and then demand the peg to be removed before they would even consider investing in Malaysia again.Not a light decision to be made. But if too much speculations is happening, then BNM could do this again. But don't think it is a good thing to those speculators, because once capital control is in place, it is easy for BNM to observe who has lots of foreign assets and maybe they will consider these as not patrioitic. Small fries will probably escape notice. But rich folks can be observed closely and those deemed to be speculating the ringgit to fall will be badly regarded in the future. |
Apr 24 2015, 12:12 PM
48,472 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: REality |
Apr 24 2015, 06:06 PM
48,472 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: REality |
Ringgit likely to stay at 3.5 level in medium term, says CIMB
QUOTE foreign holdings of Malaysian Government Securities remain stable at between 40 and 45 per cent despite the lower ringgit, signalling foreign investors' confidence http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...CIMB/?style=biz |
Apr 24 2015, 10:30 PM
14,990 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 14 2015, 11:33 AM) Forex interventn needs capitl, so BNM taps ths captal frm its forex hldings, causng the amt of holdings to drop. The lesser holdings we hav, it translates into the poorer we are on the world stage. Wth this low forex holdings, we cant even peg anymore because no more money to defend a peg. Moody's rates it A3 outlook positiveNow turning to issuing bonds in USD to strengthn forx holdngs. I wonder wht will the bonds be rated as, and if there are really takers for the bonds. http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...otes/?style=biz http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...tals/?style=biz This answer your question? PS. At least now I know who you voted for.. the people that always say what you say (they have been saying that for at least 50 years) and it never turns out to be true This post has been edited by wodenus: Apr 24 2015, 10:34 PM |
Apr 26 2015, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(wodenus @ Apr 24 2015, 11:30 PM) Moody's rates it A3 outlook positive There are three main ratings agencies. I would not trust thm even if all three gave it an AA+ (or the equivalence among the othr two). Moodys said outlook positive. Moodys said the same thing abt Bear Stearns and Lehman Bros one month before they fell, thn immdiatly changed the putlook after that, and the two companies fell.http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...otes/?style=biz http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...tals/?style=biz This answer your question? PS. At least now I know who you voted for.. the people that always say what you say (they have been saying that for at least 50 years) and it never turns out to be true Fitch said negativ. I say stay away. No need to comment abt who I votd for for this is business. Diff frm politics. This post has been edited by Hansel: Apr 26 2015, 10:28 PM |
Apr 27 2015, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 26 2015, 10:24 PM) There are three main ratings agencies. I would not trust thm even if all three gave it an AA+ (or the equivalence among the othr two). Moodys said outlook positive. Moodys said the same thing abt Bear Stearns and Lehman Bros one month before they fell, thn immdiatly changed the putlook after that, and the two companies fell. Those rating agencies are paid by speculators, so if you want Singapore to have DDD also can Fitch said negativ. I say stay away. No need to comment abt who I votd for for this is business. Diff frm politics. |
Apr 28 2015, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 27 2015, 02:29 PM) Okaylah, we all can say wht we wantd abt the rating agencies. But without proof, thn no case-lah... What that concerns invstors is tht the mrket in general is always forward-looking, and one of the indics used by the market to do this are the ratings called out by these ratings agencies. |
Apr 28 2015, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 28 2015, 03:42 PM) Okaylah, we all can say wht we wantd abt the rating agencies. But without proof, thn no case-lah... What that concerns invstors is tht the mrket in general is always forward-looking, and one of the indics used by the market to do this are the ratings called out by these ratings agencies. No speculations = no profit making |
| Change to: | 0.0305sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:56 PM |