ringgit Malaysia drop , how to I change my RM to USD

wodenus
post Mar 11 2015, 01:21 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 11 2015, 12:23 AM)
this is always the question - is it too early or too late to do it now?

nobody knows... but we do know:

.. just about all currencies have declined against usd incl aud n yen.
.. aud has not fared better than rm; worse, in fact.
.. aud recovery will have to come from strong demand in commodities incl iron ore which looks unlikely for now.
.. there has been scanty reports of some usd profit taking of late
.. us int rate hike now expected in june but is not a sure thing, may be later
.. "buy on the rumur, sell on the news"?!

if u spend usd regularly, why bother with aud or yen? why not just buy n hold usd?
Depends on what the spread is.. and seriously, how much are you going to make for all that trouble?

wodenus
post Apr 13 2015, 08:01 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 11 2015, 05:51 PM)
if bernama (dun forget the usual "optimism") has this to say, it's worth watching next week.

rm closed 3.6685 yesterday.
and what is it that we keep hearing this fund, that fund all taking money offshore and not show nice major local investments that bring good pay jobs and wealth right here, strengthen the rm?
They are smart.. UK property is a pretty good buy now. Office space is like 300gbp per person per month, and that's just table space. say they can fit about 40 people there, so we are talking about 12,000GBP a month. Subtract power and water and cleaning, and it's still a good long-term investment.

wodenus
post Apr 13 2015, 08:03 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(pustapazik @ Apr 13 2015, 07:43 PM)
Best of luck guys
Yea, do you see what I see?
wodenus
post Apr 24 2015, 10:30 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 14 2015, 11:33 AM)
Forex interventn needs capitl, so BNM taps ths captal frm its forex hldings, causng the amt of holdings to drop. The lesser holdings we hav, it translates into the poorer we are on the world stage. Wth this low forex holdings, we cant even peg anymore because no more money to defend a peg.

Now turning to issuing bonds in USD to strengthn forx holdngs. I wonder wht will the bonds be rated as, and if there are really takers for the bonds.
Moody's rates it A3 outlook positive

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...otes/?style=biz

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...tals/?style=biz

This answer your question? smile.gif

PS. At least now I know who you voted for.. the people that always say what you say (they have been saying that for at least 50 years) and it never turns out to be true smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Apr 24 2015, 10:34 PM
wodenus
post May 14 2015, 07:36 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ May 14 2015, 04:56 PM)
Should we throw the experts away and get new ones ? Kakaka ....
Probably.. from 3.70 drop until 3.57 now.. still can't explain smile.gif People can't tell a drop from a rise smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: May 14 2015, 07:36 PM
wodenus
post Jun 5 2015, 01:44 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(kopifan @ Jun 4 2015, 07:03 PM)
Ringgit all time low vs. SGD  cry.gif
I can see the central bank intervention.. let's see if it works.
wodenus
post Jun 9 2015, 06:51 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 8 2015, 06:05 PM)
for that... yen, sgd, tbh also not bad.

5pm, usd... 3.772. lost 1.4% in 1 day.

no intervention by bank negara?
There was until Jun 5, then it stopped.. may have started again.
wodenus
post Jul 19 2015, 02:09 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(dwin95 @ Jul 2 2015, 11:09 AM)
And I have 2 years left of studies in the States.. Mati la.. Just converted RM50k for one semester fees at 3.801 at bank man I feel like 16 floor right now
You can't get a job?
wodenus
post Sep 6 2015, 09:55 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 6 2015, 08:45 AM)
In summary, Malaysia may not recover from this at all.

Here it is, wait for it.. soon he will say we are doomed again. That will be the time to buy smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Sep 6 2015, 09:59 AM
wodenus
post Sep 7 2015, 11:05 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(cwhong @ Sep 7 2015, 06:38 PM)
yeah, cheaper for exporter translate into bigger foreign buying.......

yeah for importer, strong USD will boost your products from the rapidly influx of foreigner tourists.......

both also good ......
hmm.gif

then who will suffer then? hmm.gif
Mostly people who have to pay foreign currency (people who study outside the country or employ foreign staff.) People who are paid in foreign currency will benefit.

0.0521sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:33 PM